Customer Reviews for

The Tommyknockers

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

My First Stephen King

I was 16 when I first read Tommyknockers. From there I was swept into years of reading every Stephen King novel I could get my hands on. It remains my favorite.

posted by Libragirl213 on March 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Somewhat disappointing!

I remembered reading excerpts from this book when I was much younger and thinking that it was an interesting story. Finally as an adult I managed to pick up a copy and read the whole thing through from front to back and I have to admit that I was hoping for something......
I remembered reading excerpts from this book when I was much younger and thinking that it was an interesting story. Finally as an adult I managed to pick up a copy and read the whole thing through from front to back and I have to admit that I was hoping for something... different, I guess. I know that a lot of Stephen King novels are far-fetched and, in general, a little out there, but this is a little below the standard that I have come to expect from one of his books. I'm not saying that it's not well written, because that it is; and it has a little of almost everything thrown into it. However, he has definitely written better books, and with as long as this one is, it is probably a better use of time to read something else; perhaps even another of his novels.

posted by BrownEyedGirl85 on May 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Somewhat disappointing!

    I remembered reading excerpts from this book when I was much younger and thinking that it was an interesting story. Finally as an adult I managed to pick up a copy and read the whole thing through from front to back and I have to admit that I was hoping for something... different, I guess. I know that a lot of Stephen King novels are far-fetched and, in general, a little out there, but this is a little below the standard that I have come to expect from one of his books. I'm not saying that it's not well written, because that it is; and it has a little of almost everything thrown into it. However, he has definitely written better books, and with as long as this one is, it is probably a better use of time to read something else; perhaps even another of his novels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Not bad but not the best

    I LOVE Stephen King books!!! I love how he ties so many different characters together but really helps you understand who they are as individuals. I was so excited to read this because it involved the entire town of Haven. BUT as the story went on, I felt that he didn't do a very good job of letting you get to know several of the recurring characters, which made them easy to forget. As I read, different names would pop up and I would stop and have to think about who the character was. That has NEVER happened to me while reading a King book before. Not even in The Stand or Under The Dome, which are a lot bigger stories that involve so many people. On the whole, I thought this book was good and kept me entertained, but it wasn't my favorite. If you like King then you will probably enjoy The Tommyknockers, but it wasn't his greatest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    KING'S TOMMYKNOCKERS

    i picked this book up at a used books store for 50 cents. i think if i would have spent the money to buy it new, i would have been disappointed. not king's best work, but he still manages to out do many authors. i find it amasing the ammount of research he puts in his books. he really goes above and beyond

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Not my favorite King book.

    No... really. This wan't my favorite of his books. Good at times, drags out at others. Not my least favorite of his books either. But, like I said... not my favorite. *~Justin~*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    Mediocre 'alien invasion' story

    The conception for The 'Tommyknockers' seemed great in theory but just didn't have the overall effect on paper that it should have had. This is one of the few Steven King novels that I felt I was painfully forcing myself to get through. That's not to say that the book isn't good, but I probably would have rated it a little higher had the book been cut by about 200 pages or so. (The first third of the novel drags unmercifully.) On the positive side of things, The Tommyknockers does force a person to hypothesize about the concept of science and how little we as humans have tapped into the stratosphere of knowledge. I also find it quite interesting how King includes a little tie-in to 'IT' and 'Pet Sematary' in the book as well. Overerall SK and sci-fi fans will probably enjoy this prose but this particular piece of work is certainly no more than '3 star' material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2001

    Annoyingly Interesting Novel

    This book is very hard to get into but once hooked you won't put it down. The explicit details of characters and scenes helps the reader relate to this unbelievable situation of the characters. The story is good but gets a little long by the end. If you enjoy King You will enjoy this small twist of his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    I've read better but I've worse

    It took me two months to read but it was worth it. The book had it's suspenseful horrifing chapters, and it had it's boring pointless chapters (but dosen,t every book?). But who could of thought of better person than Bobby to lead the tommyknockers to destroy every person in Haven?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2