Customer Reviews for

Tonight I Said Goodbye (Lincoln Perry Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book I've read in years, no kidding!

    I am not always a fan of mystery or private investigator stories, and I tend more toward fantasy/sci-fi/supernatural but I found out Michael Koryta was speaking at my departmental graduation ceremony so I decided to check out his books. First of all, I was thinking local, 21-year-old author... okay... I guess I could find some time to at least skim over something. I WAS SO WRONG! Less than a chapter into Tonight I Said Goodbye, I had to stop to buy the book (which is rare for us poor college students!) and couldn't put it down until I finished, despite finals and papers with rapidly approaching due dates. The next day I went and got the next book in the series. Not only did I want to read more by the same author, but I could not bring myself to say goodbye - tonight or any other time - to Lincoln Perry (the main character). Rare is the author who can develop a character SO WELL that I feel like we're old friends and I had to find out what would happen to him next!

    So Tonight I Said Goodbye starts out with the plot and character development in the first paragraph and just gets better from there. I never do this but I find I cannot convey why I wasn't able to stop reading any way but to show you the first paragraph:

    "The last time John Weston saw his son alive, it was a frigid afternoon in the first week of March, and John's granddaughter was building a snowman as the two men stood in the driveway and talked. Before he left, John gave his son a fatherly pat on the shoulder and promised to see him again soon. He saw him soon - stretched out in a morgue less than forty-eight hours later, dead of a small-caliber gunshot wound to the head. John was saved the horror of viewing his granddaughter in a similar state, but the reason for that was a hollow consolation: Five-year-old Betsy Weston and her mother were missing."

    Within the next few pages, Lincoln Perry - former cop and new private investigator - gets hired to find out what happened. What seems like it will follow a predictable PI novel pattern soon takes off completely away from the typical template of the genre into more twists and turns than I could have imagined! Koryta does an amazing job with developing characters so that you feel like you not only know ABOUT them, but you KNOW them. The plot, while totally intense, fast-paced, and unpredictable, is also somehow completely believable.

    And before you believe that I am just praising a local author... of Tonight I Said Goodbye, Lee Child said: "A terrific, first-class debut full of suspense, tension, tricks, and charm," the Library Journal claims, "The twenty-one-year-old author excels at building characters and story..." and Steve Hamilton (author of Ice Run) says, "Michael Koryta hits the ground running with this masterful debut. He's already so good, it's scary." I don't have enough room to keep on this tack but there's plenty more!

    While I have my own favorite genres, I am ALWAYS willing to read something that is incredibly well-written no matter what it is about. This is one of those books. I don't care if you don't like PI novels or mystery or thrillers: it's completely and totally worth it to drop whatever you're in the middle of and read this! As much as I'd love to extol the book and the author for a few pages more, I have to get back to the next book...

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Great Debut Novel - yes, highly recommended!

    I was hooked from the first page. I found this book accidentally while reading reviews of another reader [who also gave it 5 stars] and I am so glad I did. This was a very, very good book and I had trouble putting it down to go to sleep. I'm always looking for a "series" book and can't wait to begin the second one in the series tonight. Just before writing this review, I was very surprised to read the author was only 21 years old when he wrote this book; WOW! Mr. Koryta has a great talent for such a young man. I hope he continues to write for years and years.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    Great Debut By A Writer To Watch!

    Michael Koryta's first mystery is, hands-down, the best debut mystery of the year. Koryta brings a veteran's touch to his first book despite being a remarkably young writer. The novel starts with a dead private investigator whose family is missing, and from there Lincoln Perry and his partner Joe Pritchard move from the cold beaches of Lake Erie to the warm beach of South Carolina, unraveling a mystery that is extremely well plotted, full of twists that do not seem at all contrived. Koryta's greatest strength is his dialogue, and the action scenes will make you turn the pages of this wonderful book quickly. Put this one at the top of your Christmas list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    awesome book

    very good book by this author. all his books are really good. You won't waste ur money if u buy. In fact i have read all of his books and not one has disappointed me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    A Must Read!

    I was so into this book;it became very hard for me to focus on anything during the day because of this book. Keeps you guessing and intrigued. Since reading this book, I ordered 2 more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    The phrase "tonight I said goodbye" is found in a litt

    The phrase "tonight I said goodbye" is found in a little girl's diary, but the little girl and her mother are missing when her father is found murdered in their home.  Police rule it a suicide, and suspect the man has murdered his wife and daughter and hid their bodies somewhere before he shot himself.  The little girls grandfather is adamant that his son was murdered, so he hires PIs Lincoln Perry and Joe Pritchard to prove this, and to find his daughter in law and granddaughter---dead or alive.  




    The dead man was a PI himself, and Perry and Pritchard discover that he was working for a very powerful man, with connections to the Russian mob.  The more they discover, the desperate and deadlier the results become.  When they stumble upon the wife and daughter hiding out in another state, things become dangerous for everyone.




    With this first book in the Perry and Pritchard series, we learn a lot about the background of these characters while they pursue and are pursued.  The mystery is fast passed, with the addition of a child and mother that adds an additional element of suspense.  Looking forward to reading more from this young talented author.  Thankfully, there are a number waiting out there to be read already. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Anxious to read the next Lincoln Perry novel

    At times it was a little slow moving but towards the end I couldn't put it down until I got to the end - 4 1/2 hours later!

    I'm a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    If you like books with the same main and supporting characters, you'll like this one. Unfortunately there are only four in the series. I have read all of them and would readily purchase another if it were ever to be written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Promising new author.

    Good debut. It had quite a twist towards the end that was not evident earlier! Plan to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    Flawless series-starter! Suspenseful plot, skilled writing and r

    Flawless series-starter! Suspenseful plot, skilled writing and rounded-out characters make for a great read. I hope this author keeps writing, because I love his style!
    Also recommended: Lee Child, Sue Grafton and Ruth Rendell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    a good quick read

    I went back to this after reading two of Koryta's more recent books and this is a solid crime novel - I bought it to read on my commute and at the gym and it was perfect for that. I liked "So Cold the River" and "The Cypress House" better, but they are a different sort of novel, and definitely show his development as an author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprise page turner - Enjoyed this new author and so will you.

    Found this book by accident when I was looking for something to read on my new Nook that was in my price range. This is the 1st book I read by Mickael Koryta and was thrilled to find it was a page turner. Definately worth reading. Young author with great potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    excellent private investigator tale

    In the Cleveland suburb of West Olmsted, John Weston hires private investigators Lincoln Perry and Joe Pritchard to learn who killed his son Wayne and what happened to his missing daughter-in-law Julie and five year old granddaughter Betsy. The police suspect a murder-suicide though they have not found two of the corpses while the media insist that Wayne killed his wife and child. John insists he just saw Wayne who was too contented to suddenly within forty-eight hours commit the horrors the press assert he did.---- Though reluctant to get in the middle of an on-going official investigation, Lincoln accepts the case for a larger than normal fee. As he and his partner investigate an intriguing money trail that leads to gambling and South Carolina, several divergent parties threaten to kill the two sleuths if they do not drop the case; others try to hit home runs using the heads of Lincoln and Joe as baseballs. Still the increasingly dogmatic detectives dig deeper.---- The dual mysteries of murder and missing people are cleverly handled so that readers accompany the sleuths as they follow the clues and antagonists in turn pursue them. The suspense increases by the moment with threats to harm or kill Perry and Pritchard if they fail to back off. Although an excellent investigative plot, the key that supports why TONIGHT I SAID GOODBYE won the 2003 St. Martin¿s Press Best First PI Novel award is the cast. Lincoln especially is fully developed but the prime support players including Joe, the deceased and his family, some media and police, and the villains seem genuine. Michael Kortya makes an impressive debut.---- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2