Customer Reviews for

Tony Hillerman's Landscape: On the Road with Chee and Leaphorn

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Outstanding For Those Who Love Tony Hillerman

    Since his death there is a sadness that no more Tony Hillerman books will appear on the shelves. This book was a very welcome surprise. It will inspire me to reread the complete library of my Hillerman books. Interesting background information and great photographs. Gene Russell

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    A touching memorial for a well loved father and great interpreter of the culture of the native peoples of the 4 Corners area of the Southwest.

    Several other books have been published dealing with generally the same topic, but none have the intimacy and insight that Anne Hillerman has provided in her visual and verbal tour of the country that her father loved so well. The primary commentary is meaningful in guiding the casual traveler through this beloved landscape, but the real genius of the work is her memories of travels to these places while accompanying her father or listening to his recollections. Not only regarding the Leaphorn and Chee novels, but also in respect for the people who have lived there for at least 600 years, their reverence for the land, and their belief system which embraces its sometimes awful, but always awesome, natural beauty.

    Definitely a Collector's Item, but for me a nostalgic journey across the region and through the memory of a man who loved this land like few others have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Must Read

    If you have read any or all of Tony Hillerman's books, then this is a book you need to have. Written by his daughter, it takes you to all the places that Tony talks about in his books.
    Anne Hillerman was in Estes Park,CO., June 30th giving a presentation and signing books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    A Great Pass Along Book

    Beautiful photography with a homespun commentary by Anne, the daughter. Those of us who looked forward to each new Tony Hillerman book can truly appreciate this added bonus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Very interesting.

    I ordered this book after reading the first two of Tony Hillerman's novels in the Joe Leaphorn & Jim Chee series. The "Landscape" book is quite informative and makes an excellent companion to the novels in Hillerman's series. There are some beautiful photos. Each of the novels are briefly described and introduced in the "Landscape" book along with the illustrations/photos of some locations mentioned in the novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Beautiful! Thank you!

    I bought this and Hillerman's first Leaphorn mystery for my dad, who loves visiting this part of the country. Before delivering them, I enjoyed reading and viewing the landscape book myself. Though it's been a while since I read the mysteries, the excerpts and photographs enriched my appreciation for the people, the places, and Tony Hillerman's writing. Anne did a fine job selecting excerpts to accompany the many places pictured. Arranging the photographs by books and somewhat by chronology (and topic) built upon my already solid appreciation for "Tony Hillerman country". And we may have a new fan for the mysteries now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Tony Hillerman's Landscape

    The best of the several books which interpret or describe the scenes of Tony Hillerman's Southwest mysteries. The photography is beautiful-makes one one to pack up and leave for the region. Anne Hillerman's writing flows beautifully with the photography. Definitely one of my new favorites about the Southwest and a fine addition to the Tony Hillerman collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    About one of my favorite authors.

    This is about Tony Hillerman, by his daughter and son-in-law's photos. Having wanted to teach in the Indian school in the Navajo reservation at one time, Tony's stories about the people and country has had a great appeal to me. As a kid I loved Zane Grey's novels, and his word pictures of the landscapes where his stories took place. Likewise Tony Hillerman does the same in the vast Four Corner area of our nation. His daughter and her husband,takes us on a tour of the country Tony wrote about, with fabulous photos. And she ties his stories into the landscape as they visit it.
    She definitely has Tony's writing genes. Two years ago at my daughter's invitation, my wife and I got to visit that country, and Ann,and Don's work, give me pleasant memories of the trip. I can't praise the book enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A Book for your Senses

    The essence of the backgrounds of Tony Hillerman's books is captured by Anne Hillerman's description and history of the subjects and Don Strel's striking photography of the land. Combined, they speak to the soul. This is a fine book for those who have enjoyed Tony Hillerman's Leaphorn and Chee books and a wonderful introduction for those who have not yet had the pleasure of reading these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Beautiful Book!

    This is a beauatiful book as well as an informative one. As a huge fan of Tony Hillerman, I am enjoying it very much. It makes his stories come alive. This part of the Southwest is my favorite area of the US but I have not been to all the places in the book--would love to do that some daya. This is a coffee table book that is for reading,, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1