Customer Reviews for

Too Close to Home (Women of Justice Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 590 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(239)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Is there anything higher than 5 stars?!

I do not know why it took me so long to buy this book. I love mystery books but "Too Close to Home" was the best mystery/suspense I ever read, hands down! It was so hard to put down. I cannot WAIT for the second book, "Don't Look Back," to come out in October!

posted by BookWormAnn on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Christian soapbox--just a warning

This was by far the most irritating book that I have ever read. I am a Christian but I absolutely HATE having an author force feed me their religious beliefs every other page. On one page the characters will be lamenting how someone isn't going to church and accepting ...
This was by far the most irritating book that I have ever read. I am a Christian but I absolutely HATE having an author force feed me their religious beliefs every other page. On one page the characters will be lamenting how someone isn't going to church and accepting God in their life--on another, they will take time from a murder investigation to call up their church prayer group to ask them to pray. I respect the author's right to write anything she wants--but there should be a warning label that says "Author's religious beliefs at every turn of the page." Truly, it felt like that. Thank goodness I got it for free.

posted by cheeze2 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 591 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Is there anything higher than 5 stars?!

    I do not know why it took me so long to buy this book. I love mystery books but "Too Close to Home" was the best mystery/suspense I ever read, hands down! It was so hard to put down. I cannot WAIT for the second book, "Don't Look Back," to come out in October!

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Excellent mix of mystery, suspense & a dash of romance

    I liked that the woman was portrayed as intelligent & strong. It had a well formed story line that was easy to follow & stayed true. The characters were well developed & had great personalities. I liked that there was disagreement between the characters & it wasn't all syrupy sweet. Parts of the story could make you cry, so have a box of tissue near.

    Definitely will read more of this author.

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Christian soapbox--just a warning

    This was by far the most irritating book that I have ever read. I am a Christian but I absolutely HATE having an author force feed me their religious beliefs every other page. On one page the characters will be lamenting how someone isn't going to church and accepting God in their life--on another, they will take time from a murder investigation to call up their church prayer group to ask them to pray. I respect the author's right to write anything she wants--but there should be a warning label that says "Author's religious beliefs at every turn of the page." Truly, it felt like that. Thank goodness I got it for free.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    AMAZING!!

    This is such a great book! One that had me interested until the very end. There are unexpected twists and turns that keep you reading until you are finished. I absolutely loved the Chrisitian-based dialogue, and the amazing characters behind it. Lynette is a very good Christian writer and should be commended on her fantastic ability to write. I strongly suggest you get this book!!! You will love it!!!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Couldnt read the whole book

    I thought the plot and the mystery were great it was probably one of the better murder mysteries i have atarted ina long time. However, it was so loaded down with going to church, loving the Lord, why does God hate yhe main detective and things along that line that is detracted from thw actual story. I made it through about the first 150 pages and kwpt telling myself to finish it but it ao unrelenting in trying to get acoss the point that you should go to church that i just skipped to the last three chapters to find out how it ended. I wish it would have just been abou ttge mystery because i think it would have been a 5 star book.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    To the person saying:Stop telling the story!

    Okay even if people are doing that why would you rate the story one star because of their actions?Your vote affects the review too.You voted it one star because they were 'telling the story'.That makes no sense at all.

    10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    A very intense book. I loved the reference to God and church. A pure read for the person who does not like a lot sex in their reading material.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Recommended but beware, alot of Christian discussion

    This book was a really good book, with a great story line. The author used to much, in my opinion, christian additions to the story. The characters talked about going to church, trying to talk the other characters into going to church, praying and more praying then more discussion of church. I am a christian, but I also believe that there is a time and a place for it, and the author ruined the story by the continued discussion of religion. Some would of been fine, but the further you went in the book the thicker it become. Made me disappointed in the author. I read another book of hers, and it was one of the best books I have read in awhile, so when I saw this one I couldn't wait to read it, then I had trouble finishing it due to all the discussion of religion. Sad but true...

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    A good read if you like Christian mystery

    I enjoyed this novel. I tis well written. It kept my attention. The only draw back I had with it is that it is a Christian mystery. I am not a Christian, and I wasn't aware of that fact before I got into the story. i skipped over much of the preachy stuff and tried to just stick to the storyline. If you are Christian, I think you will love that part. Like I stated, it's a great story, I enjoyed it. I will admit, it took me a few days to get through it, I didn't stay up all night like I have with other books, but I did enjoy it.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    couldn't finish it

    I tried really hard to get through it, but I only got half way before I had to quit. One of only 2 books I haven't finished since I got out of high school. It was just too cliche. The Hero's daughter disregarding everything he warned her about just to spite him even though her friend was the last one to be kidnapped and found dead, every time a new character was introduced there was some lame excuse for bringing them into their investigation, and the constant pounding into the reader's head about God and believing and everything. I won't read another of this author's books. I only gave it one star because I could not submit a review without at least one, but I think this book should give the stars back.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    I'm going to try to just give my spoiler-free two cents: If I

    I'm going to try to just give my spoiler-free two cents:

    If I could give half stars, this would likely have been a three and a half. I thought it was a decent suspense story, and the romance was cute, but not too overdone. If you enjoy crime thrillers and suspense, you may enjoy this. There are definitely some "No! Nononono don't do that!" moments, where a character is doing something that you just know is a bad idea, or will end badly. It didn't blow me away, but I have to say that I was interested in what was going to happen throughout the book, and I found it easy to read through. If you feel interested in trying this book out as you read this page, it'll probably be worth a read for you. Enjoy!

    Since many reviewers are bringing up the Christian aspect, here is what I think in case you are on the fence - I'm agnostic, but the religious bits in novels like this one don't bother me. If you are comfortable with your own beliefs, even if they do not align with what is in the book, this shouldn't be a big deal. If you are uncomfortable with religion being mentioned often, or characters praying in dire situations, this may not be for you. If you think you can look past it, or if you enjoy it, I would recommend you give this a try, because it is a pretty good, well-written story with good pacing.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    A great read!

    A GREAT READ. CAN'T WAIT TO READ MORE OF HER BOOKS. COULDN'T BELIEVE THIS WAS A FREE BOOK

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Wonderful!

    What an exclting story, full of action, drama and Love!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Alittle bit of everything.

    This is a cozy mystery by a christian author. It had a good story line with believable characters. You learn about life, love, family and a crazy serial killer in this debut.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Exciting Read!

    Set in the state of South Carolina, this is a good, suspense-filled detective story with little bit of romance and a Christian witness. Was hard to put the book down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Meh.

    Okay book. Predictable and cliche. Boy meets girl. One christian one not. Fall in love but christian cant due to unshared faith. Sad thing happens and non christian is saved and they get together. More focused on the romance than necessary. Had potential. Fell short. Predictable. Silly dialogue. Good thing it is free.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Good+Read

    It+was+an+overall+good+read.+However%2C+the+lack+of+page+breaks+between+scenes+made+the+story+hard+to+follow.+And+at+times+the+religious+overtones+took+away+from+the+main+plot+of+the+story.+

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Indoctrinated

    Agreed that this is a work of fiction, but I'll get my dose of it in church; if I wanted that. Thank you very much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Won't be reading this author again

    Predictable, cliche, preachy (and yes, I am a believer.) Disjointed transitions, silly situations. I have to guess that most of the reviewers have never read quality literature to give this five stars.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Great Storyline

    I really enjoyed this book! Unexpected ending that had my jaw drop.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 591 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30