Customer Reviews for

Too Close to Home (Women of Justice Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 583 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(234)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Is there anything higher than 5 stars?!

I do not know why it took me so long to buy this book. I love mystery books but "Too Close to Home" was the best mystery/suspense I ever read, hands down! It was so hard to put down. I cannot WAIT for the second book, "Don't Look Back," to come out in October!

posted by BookWormAnn on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Christian soapbox--just a warning

This was by far the most irritating book that I have ever read. I am a Christian but I absolutely HATE having an author force feed me their religious beliefs every other page. On one page the characters will be lamenting how someone isn't going to church and accepting ...
This was by far the most irritating book that I have ever read. I am a Christian but I absolutely HATE having an author force feed me their religious beliefs every other page. On one page the characters will be lamenting how someone isn't going to church and accepting God in their life--on another, they will take time from a murder investigation to call up their church prayer group to ask them to pray. I respect the author's right to write anything she wants--but there should be a warning label that says "Author's religious beliefs at every turn of the page." Truly, it felt like that. Thank goodness I got it for free.

posted by cheeze2 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Christian soapbox--just a warning

    This was by far the most irritating book that I have ever read. I am a Christian but I absolutely HATE having an author force feed me their religious beliefs every other page. On one page the characters will be lamenting how someone isn't going to church and accepting God in their life--on another, they will take time from a murder investigation to call up their church prayer group to ask them to pray. I respect the author's right to write anything she wants--but there should be a warning label that says "Author's religious beliefs at every turn of the page." Truly, it felt like that. Thank goodness I got it for free.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Couldnt read the whole book

    I thought the plot and the mystery were great it was probably one of the better murder mysteries i have atarted ina long time. However, it was so loaded down with going to church, loving the Lord, why does God hate yhe main detective and things along that line that is detracted from thw actual story. I made it through about the first 150 pages and kwpt telling myself to finish it but it ao unrelenting in trying to get acoss the point that you should go to church that i just skipped to the last three chapters to find out how it ended. I wish it would have just been abou ttge mystery because i think it would have been a 5 star book.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    couldn't finish it

    I tried really hard to get through it, but I only got half way before I had to quit. One of only 2 books I haven't finished since I got out of high school. It was just too cliche. The Hero's daughter disregarding everything he warned her about just to spite him even though her friend was the last one to be kidnapped and found dead, every time a new character was introduced there was some lame excuse for bringing them into their investigation, and the constant pounding into the reader's head about God and believing and everything. I won't read another of this author's books. I only gave it one star because I could not submit a review without at least one, but I think this book should give the stars back.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Indoctrinated

    Agreed that this is a work of fiction, but I'll get my dose of it in church; if I wanted that. Thank you very much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Won't be reading this author again

    Predictable, cliche, preachy (and yes, I am a believer.) Disjointed transitions, silly situations. I have to guess that most of the reviewers have never read quality literature to give this five stars.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Offensively sophomoric religious twaddle

    Preaching about a loving omnipotent God in a book about sadistic serial murdering of little girls seems inappropriate without a little more thought to why He/She/It allows or causes such things to happen? The author's litmus test for whether a man is an acceptable suitor for her sister is "Is he a Christian?" God forgive she should love a Jew, a Muslim, or one of the many nobel prize winning atheists!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Book summary: Christians talking a lot about religion. Why do n

    Book summary: Christians talking a lot about religion.

    Why do none of these authors also tag Christianity as well?
    Do not want.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Way to predictable .....very disappointed 

    Way to predictable .....very disappointed 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Don't bother

    This book looked promising, but it did not pan out. Extremeky,,ly predictable. Horrible character development. Waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Not my type of book

    not only had I figured out who "the agent" was by page 52 - I found the rest of the book forced - the romantic connections and the testimonials throughout the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    ?

    I'm 10 should I read this.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Not for me.

    Couldn't get into this book. It was just boring to me, and slow-paced. Another "busy police father with angst-ridden teenage daughter" subplot that I just didn't care about because the characters were not developed into likeable people. I stopped reading at about page 80 and will delete this from my Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Preachy

    Too preachy. Story line would be better without sermonizing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    This book has an obvious plot, shallow characterization, charact

    This book has an obvious plot, shallow characterization, characters doing dumb things just to advance
    the plot, and other such hallmarks of bad writing.

    The constant preaching brings the book to a screeching halt all the time, and the religious talk
    sits very oddly with a serial killer plot. WWJD? Not read about serial killers for one thing, and
    hopefully not waste His time with bad books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    It reads like it would be a good book to read

    It reads like it would be a good book to read

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    I haven't read this book yet so the rating doesn't mean anything

    I haven't read this book yet so the rating doesn't mean anything. We were supposed to get 3 free books this week. Only one of the three is free and this is not it. What gives?????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    This book was free last week why is it $8.99 now?

    Why did it go from free to $8.99?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3