Customer Reviews for

Too Close to Home (Women of Justice Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 593 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(241)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Is there anything higher than 5 stars?!

I do not know why it took me so long to buy this book. I love mystery books but "Too Close to Home" was the best mystery/suspense I ever read, hands down! It was so hard to put down. I cannot WAIT for the second book, "Don't Look Back," to come out in October!

posted by BookWormAnn on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Christian soapbox--just a warning

This was by far the most irritating book that I have ever read. I am a Christian but I absolutely HATE having an author force feed me their religious beliefs every other page. On one page the characters will be lamenting how someone isn't going to church and accepting ...
This was by far the most irritating book that I have ever read. I am a Christian but I absolutely HATE having an author force feed me their religious beliefs every other page. On one page the characters will be lamenting how someone isn't going to church and accepting God in their life--on another, they will take time from a murder investigation to call up their church prayer group to ask them to pray. I respect the author's right to write anything she wants--but there should be a warning label that says "Author's religious beliefs at every turn of the page." Truly, it felt like that. Thank goodness I got it for free.

posted by cheeze2 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    To the person saying:Stop telling the story!

    Okay even if people are doing that why would you rate the story one star because of their actions?Your vote affects the review too.You voted it one star because they were 'telling the story'.That makes no sense at all.

    10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Great Storyline

    I really enjoyed this book! Unexpected ending that had my jaw drop.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Enjoyable writing style

    This Christian romantic suspense offers an enjoyable writing style, a compelling premise, and interesting characters but falls down in the execution. Despite that, I would read more of Lynette Eason's books, even more of this series, hoping this book is an aberration. I don't mind feeling a little smarter than the average bear, but it seemed to me that the hero, Connor Wolfe (and, later, Samantha), missed putting together a lot of clues that were laid out for them--not just available to the reader through the killer's POV. For one thing, the fact that the investigators didn't consider the possibility of an adoption ring right off seems implausible, as does the form some of the clues take: for example, what kid doing something her parents wouldn't approve of prints out an IM? The police procedure and interagency ops, particularly with the car bombing, also didn't seem realistic. The conflict between being a cop and being a dad is powerful and plausible, though; I'll grant the author some extra points on that aspect of Connor's character. But why would a cop dad fail to inform his daughter about the specific danger posed by this Internet stalker--after she's been threatened? I know that's not how it works in my own extended family. A few other points likewise pulled me out of the story, and I nearly didn't finish this book. Would middle-class girls really need to go to a backroom abortion clinic rather than Planned Parenthood? In what normal medical clinic can these would-be models get complete physicals without their parents knowing... or getting a bill? Why would a police officer who knows he's a target fail to wear his protective vest? As some of the other reviewers have noted, the identity of the Agent was clear to me early on. I was expecting Boss to be someone of the opposite sex, though, so the author did surprise me on that account.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    INTENSE is the best way I know to describe this book! I'm a huge

    INTENSE is the best way I know to describe this book! I'm a huge fan of Lynette Eason's books and have been looking forward to dive into some of her older books for a while. Too Close to Home was a great book, with lots of action, and plenty of details that pulled me further into the story. It was hard for me to put the book down. My only regret is that I waited so long (years!) to read this book! [4.5 stars]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Desricption is off a little

    All in all this was a very good book with an awesome story line. Although the desription is a little to vague you still have a decent idea of what is going to happen. My biggest complaint is there is a lot of religous talk throughout. God will save you from this or that, put your faith in god. I would have liked to have been warned it was religous before reading, since I normally shy away from such books. In the beginning it was easy to ignore but towards the end it got laid on a little too thick. By that time you want to find out the ending though i guess. It was worth it though. I probably will not read the second due to that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Check it out!

    Good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2014

    I enjoyed this book and it held my interest to a anticipated but

    I enjoyed this book and it held my interest to a anticipated but surprising ending.0 The author is identified as a Christian Fiction writer, so if you don't want to read anything related to the genre style of this writer, look elsewhere.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Great series. Looking forward to reading more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Terrific!

    The suspense kept me reading until the wee hours. Although I guessed who the bad guys were, I wasn't 100% sure. Needs a little more editing (mostly some blank lines after a few paragraphs). Not enough to ruin the story, just a quick pause to reread previous sentence.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Loved this book...Just bought the next one in the series..

    Loved this book...Just bought the next one in the series..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book...good story without all the garbage/trash talk. I will definitely read more of her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Liked it

    It was a good, fast read. I figured it out half way through but i still enjoyed reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    I enjoyed this book

    I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    To close to hpme

    Slow to start but it gets good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Highly Recommended:

    If you like suspense you will love this story! Get it while its free, is turned out to be a great storyline. I hope they continue the same characters in another novel soon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    I thought this story was very suspenseful, I found it hard to pu

    I thought this story was very suspenseful, I found it hard to put down! I hope the story continues in another novel soon with the 2 main charactors, I really loved the touch of Christian attraction into the mix! I didn't care for the narrative switching back and forth from the bad guy to the good guys without space but it did let you into the bad guys head so I understand how that happened. Well written!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Richmond texas

    Good read it will keep your attention....But somebody from the police department, that is so well what you say unlawfully abiding.....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Easy reading

    A lot of twist and kept my interest. Emotional baggage was very realistic , I am starting book #2 of the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Must read

    no comment

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Good read

    Just reading this book now. Really enjoying it. Mystery and romance both make it very enjoyable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9