Customer Reviews for

Too Fat to Fish

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

If you are a fan of Artie, this is a must read book

I love Artie on the Howard Stern Show. I think he is an amazing comedian. So I bought the book expecting to laugh my ass off, instead I cried. The book shows a great insight into Artie's life. Yes, he did tell most of the stories on the Howard Stern Show, but on the...
I love Artie on the Howard Stern Show. I think he is an amazing comedian. So I bought the book expecting to laugh my ass off, instead I cried. The book shows a great insight into Artie's life. Yes, he did tell most of the stories on the Howard Stern Show, but on the show they came off as mostly funny, Howard's making jokes and Fred's playing sad music. The book shows the stories in a truer context. At times Artie bares his soul to the readers. I think this is one of the most revealing book I've read. If you are a fan of Artie, this is a must read book.

posted by Jobrien477 on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Too shi##y to read

this book is awful. Most of these stories are repeats of what we have already heard on the show, and let me tell you that reading them for the second time is horrible. I like him on the show, but he has no talent past being on the show, and even that is debateable. Anyw...
this book is awful. Most of these stories are repeats of what we have already heard on the show, and let me tell you that reading them for the second time is horrible. I like him on the show, but he has no talent past being on the show, and even that is debateable. Anyway, he dissappointed me again, first with his bad movie and now this.

posted by pancho89 on November 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    If you like Artie...

    If you are a fan of Artie or The Howard Stern show, this is a great read. Even if you're just looking for some humor, get the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    A fan will truly enjoy this book

    While many of the stories told in this book have been heard on the Howard Stern Show, the raw emotion and the feelings are intense when you read the book. Laughter, sadness, hapiness. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great autobiography, a great father-son story, and a great illustration of the tough life of an addict...

    This is another of my book recommendations. Too Fat To Fish by Artie Lange with Anthony Bozza

    First of all, I love Howard Stern. Artie is on the Howard Stern Show, which is how I discovered him. He's in the movie Dirty Work and was on MadTV, and I had seen him in those, but never thought about who he was.

    Anyway, I'm keeping this book to undoubtedly read again. Artie has issues. Lots of issues. He's an addict, he has some commitment problems, relationships are definite issues, etc. He's so amazingly honest about all of this, though, which I love. You really get to see the true grit of it all.

    Probably the coolest part of the book are the stories about his relationship with his father. Some of the stories reminded me of my father, but you'll definitely get a great laugh from some of them.

    Read it, read it, read it. I would tell some stories here, but I don't want to ruin Artie's stories. He tells them too well for me to repeat them appropriately.

    Oh, and you don't need to love the Howard Stern Show to love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    Great book

    Very funny. A book worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's Artie!

    If you love The Artie-meister, this is a the book for you. If you love drug addled, hooker buying, temper blowing sidekicks, then you will love Artie's book. Way better than Robin's book and almost as good as Howard's, Artie is sooooo worth a look.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Artie Lange - unplugged

    I highly recommend this boof for Howard Stern show fans, and more so, Artie Lange fans (yes, there are some out there!). This is a more in depth and candid side of Artie that you knew was always there - just hidden behind the drugs and booze! The book is great - all of the stories provide some details that had not been divulged before, and contains quite a few stories that have not been heard on the Stern show.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story

    I am a huge Artie Lange and Howard Stern fan, so it was easy for me to get into this book. My wife, not really an Artie fan, read this book and loved it. I think it's incredibly sad and funny, often at the same time. I think most people can relate in one way or another to Artie, and it makes his successes and problems all the more real.<BR/><BR/>I would recommend this book to anyone, even they have no interest/knowledge of Artie Lange.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Great read! Very entertaining.

    Artie is quite the character. His life has many ups and downs. The chapter about his dad is great. Good book-goes by quick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    Great Book

    Couldnt put it down. Funny & sad, an easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Artie is one hell of a mess up.

    He could have named this book 101 things not to do during your lifetime. Artie is a comedian, and like most comedians, he has many stories of his short-comings. Artie has been kicked off of MadTv for cocaine use. That story was a memorable moment on the Howard Stern show, that caught Howard's attention, and kept Artie on Howard's mind when Jackie "the jokeman" Martling quit the show. Artie has told many of these stories on the Stern show, where I originally heard them, yet I still had one hell of a time reading this book. Not for the weak stomached or anyone strongly against the success of a drug addict, but a great read otherwise. In my opinion, this is the greatest storied autobiography I have ever read and cannot wait for its sequel. I also root for Artie to keep himself clean, and keep delivering laughs to me day in and out on the Howard Stern show every morning on Sirius satellite radio channel 100.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    Funny and heartbreaking, all at the same time--Must-read for all Howard Stern show fans.

    Daily Howard Stern listeners already know more about Artie than the average Artie fan, so this is a chance to go deeper, and really understand why he's the way he is. I'm amazed at the way he completely opened himself up to the world; anybody who wants to know all about him, here it is...literally in black and white. Totally absorbing, funny, tragic, and sad all at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    Excellent read!

    Artie Lange does not disappoint. This is an excellent read with great stories and a truly touching side of Artie that doesn't always come out on the Stern Show. He gives us a unique look into the relationship he had with his father and how important his family is to his success. Yes, some of the stories in this book have already been shared on the Stern Show but they are classic laugh out loud experiences that are worth reading again. You don't have to be a Lange fan to enjoy this read. It is a classic rags to riches story that will make you cry from laughter and shed a few tears from heartfelt emotion. He writes this applying his creative wit and makes you feel like the average Joe while reading it. Worth an investment without a doubt. While I am a Lange fan I was prepared to be let down after reading this book but am happy to say that I was not. There are some shocking revelations that open some fascinating windows into a man that so many of us have grown to love over the years as a comedian and great entertainer. I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Author, Light at the End of My Pen

    This guy is funny, funny, funny! Ordering a copy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    !!!

    Great book. Long live artie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended to all Howard fans

    If you're a Howard Stern fan or even know of Arite Lange you're going to like this book. Found myself laughing out loud many times and could hear Artie's voice as I read through. Although comical, found some very touching moments all throughout the book. If you didn't know it already, you really get a sense for how much he loved his dad, how hard he worked at his craft and how so many people really cared for him and tried to keep him "under control". It's a shame how abuse can spoil a good thing, we wish him luck and speedy recovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    awesome

    i loved reading this book....i wish artie would realize what a genius he really is and how much his work is loved and valued by his fans. come back to howard artie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    awesome book, FIRE!!!!!!!!

    Artie is truely 1 of the funniest people EVER! I miss him being on Stern and hope he comes back to the show one day. If he doesn't, then maybe another book? love u artie!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Tragic Figure

    I love Howard Stern and everything about that show. I loved (and miss) hearing Artie. The book if facination.. but I came away with the feeling of what a tragic & sad person Artie Lange is. It's hard to understand that someone with so much talent is so messed up like Sam Kinison. I hope Artie figures his life out, but after reading his book I doubt that will happen. I guess reading this book is like watching a car wreck. You hate people getting hurt but fascinated with the accident.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Awsome

    I have had a real bad drug habit, so I know what Artie kinda is going through. So yeah,this book can be inspiring, definatly entertaining, and motivating. Like I did anyone should at least sample it, and in twenty minutes you'll own it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Telling

    If you're a listener of Howard Stern, most of the stories in this book won't surprise you. You'll definitely find yourself laughing one minute, then shaking your head the next. It's a great collection of stories about someone who genuinely wrestles with his demons daily. Artie covers both ends of the spectrum, from having a heart of gold to having really dark and deep vices that he can't seem to avoid.

    I think this is an interesting book and worth the money. You won't find deep context or mind stimulating writing, but it's definitely worth its price in laughs and gives you a glimpse into Artie's extraordinary life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8