Customer Reviews for

Too Fat to Fish

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

If you are a fan of Artie, this is a must read book

I love Artie on the Howard Stern Show. I think he is an amazing comedian. So I bought the book expecting to laugh my ass off, instead I cried. The book shows a great insight into Artie's life. Yes, he did tell most of the stories on the Howard Stern Show, but on the...
I love Artie on the Howard Stern Show. I think he is an amazing comedian. So I bought the book expecting to laugh my ass off, instead I cried. The book shows a great insight into Artie's life. Yes, he did tell most of the stories on the Howard Stern Show, but on the show they came off as mostly funny, Howard's making jokes and Fred's playing sad music. The book shows the stories in a truer context. At times Artie bares his soul to the readers. I think this is one of the most revealing book I've read. If you are a fan of Artie, this is a must read book.

posted by Jobrien477 on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Too shi##y to read

this book is awful. Most of these stories are repeats of what we have already heard on the show, and let me tell you that reading them for the second time is horrible. I like him on the show, but he has no talent past being on the show, and even that is debateable. Anyw...
this book is awful. Most of these stories are repeats of what we have already heard on the show, and let me tell you that reading them for the second time is horrible. I like him on the show, but he has no talent past being on the show, and even that is debateable. Anyway, he dissappointed me again, first with his bad movie and now this.

posted by pancho89 on November 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    If you are a fan of Artie, this is a must read book

    I love Artie on the Howard Stern Show. I think he is an amazing comedian. So I bought the book expecting to laugh my ass off, instead I cried. The book shows a great insight into Artie's life. Yes, he did tell most of the stories on the Howard Stern Show, but on the show they came off as mostly funny, Howard's making jokes and Fred's playing sad music. The book shows the stories in a truer context. At times Artie bares his soul to the readers. I think this is one of the most revealing book I've read. If you are a fan of Artie, this is a must read book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    Great title seems fitting for this story

    One of the funniest and honest autobiographies I've read in a long time. Artie Lange is a true talent and has demonstrated this not only through his comedy but his ability to tell a great story in a written form. Each page I read created a realistic image in my mind.<BR/>Hope Artie musters up the courage to do this all over again...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    More refreshing than MAMBO!

    Tragic, emotional, and funny as hell, is Too fat to Fish! This book will make a great gift for yourself and everyone else on your list!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The most important book of our time

    You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll be completely disgusted by the endearing story of the obese, drug addled comedian who did everything he could to throw it all away, but made it anyway!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    great book

    I love you Artie and I loved the book. So real and absorbing. I cant wait for the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great memoir

    For any Howard Stern fan especially, you know how direct Artie is. Usually with a story like this, with drugs, alcohol and depression playing such a major part, the dark parts of one's life are kept hidden, but what I admired in him was his honesty and courage in bringing it to light and examining it for what it is, many times at his own expense. I've never read anything quite so brutally frank about one's addictions before, and it was eye-opening. What appeals to most fans is the fact that he's without pretense and truly is "one of us," so there are parts of his story that I think all can identify with. I certainly did. And, as a fan, I wish Artie the best and look forward to the second book sometime in the future.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    Too shi##y to read

    this book is awful. Most of these stories are repeats of what we have already heard on the show, and let me tell you that reading them for the second time is horrible. I like him on the show, but he has no talent past being on the show, and even that is debateable. Anyway, he dissappointed me again, first with his bad movie and now this.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    I CAN'T WAIT for this book

    I have heard a lot about the book already from listening to the Stern show. I absolutely LOVE Artie's honesty and his story telling demeanor. He is sooooooo interesting and I am always riveted. The date is on my calendar--I have pre-ordered 3 copies and will start reading it the day it arrives. I am also excited to read the foreward written by Howard Stern. Even a non-Stern fanatic would enjoy Artie's ability to tell stories and his candidness. He has a heart of gold and is definitely someone who you'd want to know and would DEFINITELY want to read his book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    you brighten my day

    I listen to you everyday. I know this book will keep me in stitches as you do on Howard Stern's Show. Satellite radio was the best thing i ever invested in. I love you laugh and feel sad for your loses. Beer league is great . my friends thought so to. I can't wait to read your book you will be the topic of conversation in work amongst us ladies. good luck

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Reading Artie is like getting a root canal.

    The book started out pretty good. I liked his early in life stories about his Dad and the Boston red Sox. When His dad dies so does Artie, in every sense of the word. His drug and alcohol addiction was morbidly interesting for a chapter, but after the middle of the book it wasn't so much a drain, as it was a sewer to read. Sucking me down so I read down the middle to alleviate the pain. In my opinion its not worth the money because Artie is a true loser with no desire to recover, and after a few chapters of nothing but relapse, lies, and embarrassing antics you'll realize he's not all that funny.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    Great Read!!

    If you are a fan of the Stern Show and Artie Lange, you will love this book. Great Job Artie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    To Fat To Fish-Artie Lange

    I laughed, I cried. I felt for this gentlemen! I am so happy to have come across a book like this

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Artie's book is hard to put down

    If you know Artie you know alot of his stories but there are alot of things about Artie that I didn't know that are in the book. I just started reading the book and I feel that it is a book that keeps you interested and hard to put down. So far I think it is well written and I can't wait to read the rest of it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    LOVE THE TITLE!

    I can't wait to read your book Artie! I have listened to you for a long time and have laughed out loud many times! Then there are times when I want to hug you, or cry, or call you and offer some silly heart-felt advice...Artie, you make us listeners and those that have seen your comedy shows feel like a part of your life. You have a special gift. Not everyone can draw people in and share so much - all while making us feel good! I suspect that your readers will be totally entertained - and will probably hope you are already writing the next book! You give us the the greatest gift Artie - laughter! And many of us can use that just about every day of our lives. Like I said..I can't wait!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Giddy With Anticipation

    Artie is the consummate storyteller. And what stories he tells! Can't wait to hear them in his voice. He IS THE 'beloved' on Howard's show (sorry Robin) and keeps giving and giving himself for the sake of the show. In combination with the sound effects maestro Fred, Fred and Artie are the engines of the great vehicle called The Howard Stern Show. Can't wait for the book and the audio version to add to my comedy collection!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    Artie Lange "Too Fat To Fish"

    This biography of Artie Lange was both funny and sad at times. He seemed to be on a road to obscurity with the drugs and fast life. Luckily, with the help of his family and friends especially from the Howard Stern Show, he seems to be rehabbing himself. Hopefully, he will give up his addictions and have a normal, healthy life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jerks and the like

    If you are a true Artie fan and you don't like this book, then you're the loser not him. This man spills his guts and talks about every thing he's ever done wrong and regretted. Some people call him a loser because he has more guts then they ever will. It's easy to cast the first stone, but it takes more courage to face the stoners and admit to your mistakes. In this book Artie does that. He blames himself, and only himself. This book is an amazing read for fans. But if you're an jerkoff you won't like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    A comic

    Bought it for my husband. He likes it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    disgusting

    I bought this book for my father, who occasionally listens to the Howard Stern show. I had heard Artie interviewed by Terrie Gross on "Fresh Air", and he sounded funny. My Dad had to throw the book out because he said the man is disgusting and he couldn't read anymore.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    I couldn't put it down!

    A very fast read. I enjoy listening to Artie on the Howard Stern show. I knew that he has even recently been going through some struggles. The story is gripping and very touching in many ways. It opened my eyes to a life very different from my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8