Customer Reviews for

Too Good to Be True

Average Rating 4
( 1537 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(695)

4 Star

(469)

3 Star

(228)

2 Star

(83)

1 Star

(62)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

too good to be true

another great little love story from Kristan Higgins. Her books are so nice and refreshing, and I enjoy the little bits of comedy that she mixes in with them. I've loved all her books so far and am anxious when a new one comes out.

posted by bonzie12 on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great!

Use The Coupons Code , OFF $5 ,it's easy! www.baby7coupon.info

posted by fgfyhh on July 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1547 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 78
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    too good to be true

    another great little love story from Kristan Higgins. Her books are so nice and refreshing, and I enjoy the little bits of comedy that she mixes in with them. I've loved all her books so far and am anxious when a new one comes out.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice and refreshing

    This is a new author author for me and I only picked up this story because it had an ex-con hero and a 'real' heroine who sounded pretty fun and cute, not like so many romance barbie dolls. The story is very simple and refreshing and I enjoyed it very much. The sex scenes were not as...detailed as I usually read but that certainly did not take away from the book for me. Please see the other books that I have really enjoyed with hero's that are ex-cons in the recommendation box.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Too Good To Be True is a wonderfully funny story meant to be shared with everyone!

    This is the first book by Kristan Higgins that I have ever read. and I could not put it down. I laughed until I cried. This story is all about 30 year old Grace Emerson, who's ex-fiance falls in love with her baby sister. In order to keep the family from feeling sorry for "Poor Grace" she makes up and imaginary boyfriend. What she does not count on is the handsome Callihan O'Shae, ex-con and hot next door neighbor.

    I am not going to give the story away, but I have to say the characters in this book will have you rolling. I could so totally see this actually happening to someone. Funny, romantic, and down right enjoyable. Had to rush out and get the other stories by this author, because if they are anything like "Too Good to be True", I know that they are going to be GREAT!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Too good to not have read before!!

    Every once in awhile you run across those authors that you wish you would've found years before and Kristan Higgins is just that person! I finished this book within a day on my Nook and laughed out loud continuously! A total delight! I immediately bought the rest of her books and am hopeful that they are all just as good!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    Cute and Funny! A Nice Summer Read!

    I bought this book because I like romantic comedies and it was very reasonably priced. Do not let the cheap price fool you! I was worth every penny and then some! Quirky characters and a fun plot. It was an easy read that also kept you on your toes. I have never heard of Kristan Higgins, but after reading this book I am definitely going to become more familiar with her and her novels. This book made me giggle :) I would say it's the perfect way to start off your summer book reading list.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wonderful book...

    This book is great for rainy days or just to escape from a stressful day. The writing is terrific and it had me laughing out loud in so many parts. This is the first book I've read from Kristan Higgins, but you can be sure I'm going to read more from her. The characters in this book are loveable, especially the main character, and Higgins puts her in so many awkward/laugh-out-loud funny situations. It's definitely not a book that makes you think/makes your head hurt. It's just a very simple, funny, relaxing book that is easy and enjoyable to read. I would recommend this to everyone out there who likes rom-com.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    Lighthearted Romance

    Kristan Higgins' latest book is another winner. If you are looking for a lighthearted romance with lots of good, sound characters and funny situations, Kristan captures that again in her latest book.<BR/><BR/>The story takes place in rural Connecticut along the Farmington River, where Grace teaches history at a posh prep school. After being dumped by her fiancee, Grace feels the need to convince her family that she is fine, so she makes up a boyfriend. This little white lie makes her life a little easier to bear for a while...that is until she meets her new neighbor, the very handsome Callahan O'Shea.<BR/><BR/>I have read Higgins' other books and this one keeps pace with the others. Well done!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Wonderful funny charming

    I absolutely love kristan higgins. I can't stop buying her books. My library doesn't carry many of them so i have bitten the bullet at this point & purchased all...not something i do often. Very good writer. One 2 watch!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended

    Funny and Romantic. Love the Westie puppy in this book. Its written in first person so you will hear a lot of what Grace feels, thinks, wants, and her comparison to her sisters. Throughout the book Grace hurts emotionally which lead her to complicated situations, and a sexy neighbor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious Book

    This book was so hilarious!! I laughed so hard at Grace trying to not be interested in Callahan O'Shea. There was not a dull moment in this book. It took me a day and a half to read this book, I could not put it down. It was romantic and funny. It would definately be good on a rainy day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    Kristan Higgins is my new favorite author! She writes in the 1st person, which is rare in romance novels. She writes interesting characters and plots. I'm so glad I saw her book at the bookstore when I was looking for something else!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Adorable!

    Great summer read. Light, silly, and fun. If you like Kinsella books you will love this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Story

    It was a cute little story. Took a while to get started but then picks up. Typical love story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    Enjoyable

    This book was definitely amusing. I read it because it was reasonably priced. So, I wasn't expecting it to be that good. However, it was extremely good. I already recommended it to friends, so I definitely recommend it to anyone that likes romance. It is filled with love, humor, and dramatic seasons that will keep you entertained!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the author- adore the book

    I love this book. It is so,so funny, I laughed so hard my roommates read it. Fantastic romance and characters. The main character is adorable, and any book that has awesome dogs in it just tops the book to perfection. The perfect blend of love and romance- steamy in just the right amount.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    Fun, Read

    I just finished Kristan Higgins "To Good To Be True". I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this one. It even has a bit of history tucked away inside. It is not a historical fiction by any means but in effect a RomCom if you will. The main Character Grace Emmerson; a history teacher at a New England prep school with a penchant for the Cival War, has a series of romantic disasters before meeting the handsome neighbor Callahan O'Shea. Callahan buys the house next to Grace and in the process gives her plenty of eye candy. In the mean time Grace invents a boyfried to get her family off her back and in the process creates some very interesting situations for herself. All in all a good fun read that gets you wishing you had a neighbor like Callahon O'Shea.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great summer read.

    This book is a great summer read or just great for a rainy day which is why i got it. The characters are very well thought out and the scenes between the two main characters are exceptional. This book kept me up all night just so i could finish and see how it ended. Kristan Higgans other books are also delightful but this one in particular had me laughing and guessing what the characters were going to do next. If your looking for a great summer read this is it. The next book that i would suggest of Higgan's is Catch of the day, it had me crying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    loved this book !

    I really enjoyed this book. From the first chapter all the way through to the end, the book was light-hearted and humorous. It isn't often that a book will get me to laugh out loud, but this book certainly did. Kristan Higgins writes with a very humorous and realistic perspective, that really allows you to understand and empathize with the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!!

    It was forst time reading something from K. Higgins. This is a refreshing novel. I enjoyed it... Loved the characters and their interactions with each other. I loved the epilogue that was different. The story was funning and realistic. I will read more from Higgins. I am looking for another book as i type this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Be ready to laugh!

    This book is a sweet romance but I laughed a lot too! This is the first Kristan Higgins book I've read and it was so good she's going on my "Must Read" List! I really enjoyed the main characters and the family. The author did a great job of blending all the everyday aspects of our heroine's life in with the love story. I couldn't stop reading until I had finished it. It was just so much fun! I think that you should give this one a try! It was great! ;-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1547 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 78