Customer Reviews for

Too Hot To Touch

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    For Mature Audiences

    I recently read a movie review in the New York Times in which the reviewer observed that the "old screwball idea of heterosexual courtship as a battle of equally matched, contending forces is close to extinct." That may be true in films these days but not in romance novels. Equally matched grown-up lovers can still be found, especially in the work of Louisa Edwards. Her first three books, the "Recipe for Love" series, featured hot chefs and smart, determined, and happily sexy women, who found adult relationships challenging and satisfying-physically, emotionally, and mentally. The first book in her second trilogy promises more of the same. In Too Hot to Touch, the hero and heroine knew each other as adolescents but meet again to find romance (and crazy hot sex) as adults. Adam, a world-traveling seeker of philosophical enlightenment and esoteric cooking techniques, has a broader range of experience than Juliet, who grew into womanhood and achieved professional standing right in the kitchen of his own family's restaurant in New York. Even so, Jules has some hard-earned wisdom of her own to share as the two learn things about each other, and themselves, in the process of falling in love while competing on the same team for a prestigious award which they hope will give the restaurant a much needed boost. They're surrounded by interesting characters, especially the judges in the contest, who include an ultra-sophisticated French woman of a certain age and a young rock-star food enthusiast who thinks she's the hottest thing since sliced baguettes. In short, Too Hot to Touch is a rich concoction for mature readers, and "mature" there doesn't just reference the sex scenes. It's a great read with characters who are just like real people we all know, except they're better looking, wittier, and lead more glamorous lives. Fun!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fun read!!!

    Review by Jen: I've been a fan of Louisa Edwards since I read her first book. In fact, we've been honored to have Louisa as a guest several times. I'm also a huge fan of cooking competition shows. The mixing of Louisa's writings and the plot of this ongoing cooking competition is very intriguing to me. So, when I received a review copy of Too Hot to Touch, I was excited to read. I was looking forward to this new series... and I wasn't disappointed.

    I think what I like most about Louisa's writing is the characters she creates. I always find that I am able to relate to them and in the end care about how their story is going to turn out. And Max and Jules are no exception. Jules is a tough girl who has found a home with her best friend's family and Max was her girlhood crush. So when he returns home to help the family restaurant, where Jules now works, and he begins hitting on her... well, what's a girl supposed to do?

    In the midst of Max and Jules budding relationship, their family restaurant was chosen to compete in a national cooking competition. It was fun to watch the competition begin to unfold, meet the chefs comprising of their team and then be left hanging for the next book in the series to see what's going to happen in the next. I for one, can't wait for Some Like It Hot (release date is November 29, 2011) to read Danny's story -- he's Max's brother and Jules' best friend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely Hot with Plenty of Touching

    Ms. Edwards has done it again with the first book of the new Rising Star Chef Series, Too Hot To Touch. Too Hot features Lundens Tavern, a New York City steak house owned by Gus and Nina Lunden, and their two sons, Max (the wanderer) and Danny (the loyal). Max is called home to help win the East Coast slot for the national challenge, with the help of Danny, Beck, Win and the beautiful Jules, who Max has known for as long as Danny and her have been best friends. He just didn't remember how beautiful she was, and he definitely hadn't felt anything back then for her, but now, oh boy does he like feeling her...I mean the way he feels when they are around each other.

    The only issue among many is that Jules is more a part of the Lunden family now than Max is, and she has one rule, Never date a co-worker again! What will happen when the kitchen heats up from all the sexual energy between Max and Jules? Can they make it as a couple even if Max is leaving for Italy as soon as the competition is over? You are going to have to go out and purchase the book to find out!!

    But I will tell you that the chemistry between Max and Jules is heating up from page one!! The pantry...oh boy, I did not think a pantry could be so HOT! I really loved Max, he was no hold bard about his feelings and just because Jules was a little gun shy about her feelings didn't mean that she couldn't appreciate the way Max just put it all out there for the world to see. Max helped Jules to see the best of herself and I like that in a hero!!

    Can't wait for Danny's book coming this winter, Some Like It Hot, where he heats it up with Ms. Eva.......and who wants more Claire and Kane...um meeeeeee!! Loved their chemistry and sexual tension....cant wait to see what happens......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Loved this!!

    Juliet Cavanagh leaves home at 17 after a huge fight with her mother and moves in with her best friend's family (best friend being Danny Lunden). The Lundens have room because Danny's older bother, Max, has left home after numerous all-out fights with his father about how best to run the family restaurant. Seven years later, Jules (as she's now known) is the restaurant's sous chef, but the restaurant is losing business. Max's parents ask him to come home to compete in the Rising Star Chef competition, in hopes that when they win, diners will return to the restaurant. Max has been traveling the world, studying with master chefs, but feels obligated to come home to help (his parents hide the fact that the restaurant is on the decline and that his father is suffering from a heart problem). Sparks fly between Max and Jules, but they both acknowledge that once the first round of competition is over, Max will head to Italy to continue his studies. Both characters have deep-seeded issues that they need to overcome to make the relationship work. I loved the interplay between the two, the hot sex and the well-drawn other characters. Definitely a read-again keeper - not to mention whetting my appetitie (pun intended) for Edwards' other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A sorcher

    Louisa Edwards pens another sizzling story in Too Hot To Touch.

    Max Lunden is a master chef who has spent the last six years traveling the world to expand his skills. With his long awaited training with a master in Italy at his fingertips, he receives a call from his mother to come home. Max left home with a lot of unresolved issues with his father and how their restaurant Lunden's Tavern was being run. He returns home to find his place in the family has been taken over by Jules Cavanaugh.

    Jules Cavanaugh has become like a beloved daughter to Gus and Nina Lunden. They were there for her when her own mother threw her out in the cold six years ago.
    Jules has become an integral part with her chef skills in the kitchen of Lunden's Tavern.
    But with Gus Lunden health not at its best they need the cooking skills of his son to win the Rising Star Chef competition. Jules is thrilled to have Max home but less then thrilled that her youthful attraction to Max has not dimmed one little bit.

    Working with Max so closely has Jules giving into her desires for the Lunden's oldest son. Jules knows max is only home for a short time but can't let this chance of being with Max being wasted. Max's growing feelings for Jules causes him to rethink what is really important to him. But once he finds out the real reasons he was summoned home will he stay or run again?

    Too Hot To Touch is a scorcher in and out of the kitchen. The tension of the competition and the family dynamics play major rules in this compelling story. You can feel the pressure building as Max and Jules team advances in the Rising Star competition. The chemistry between Max and Jules cooks on high in and out of the kitchen. This is a must have book for any romance reader. Looking forward to the next book in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    S.e.x.

    Pink res one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Drew

    I love one eyed boys. Lol sorry drew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Hey

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Pleasant

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Drew

    "So...? What's it matter you're missing an eye? And yeah, I'm pretty sure I couldn:t beat you up." She says. ((Urgh. Imposters.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! It's one of my ALL TIME FAVORITES. I have read

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! It's one of my ALL TIME FAVORITES. I have read it so many times I have lost count. I definitely recommend it to people who love romance novels. It's AMAZING! A wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    You will not fall in love with this book right away. You have to

    You will not fall in love with this book right away. You have to settle to it. The characters take a while to figure out who they are. And the author has to figure how to tell the story. So it takes some time to like the story. I had to ease into it. Stick with and be determined that a book with this great a cover must be finished. I am glad I did. As it turned out to be a good story. And I now look forward to the rest of the series. But you must be patient. I think its fun to read a story with a chef hero. And I am glad it turned out really good. I had to hold back a star because of the slow, jumbled, chaotic beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Im going to disagree

    I feel like this author shoukd have wrote a cook book instead of a romance. To me the story was lacking alot. You could have put everything in 3 chapters. She was very good at describing the food and the way it was cooked, but when it came to the actually writing the plot she fell in a big way. I saw what she was trying to do but, i think she should have worried more about her story line than the cooking. I also think she should really consider writing a cookbook. She would be great at it. Hell, there was one at the back of the book. I would rate this no.stars if i could. Also Keep in mind i read romance stories regularly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    It's a good read short and fun.

    This is about more then a cooking competition and a long time crush. It is also about a boy who is now a grown man who walked out on his family restaurant leaving his parents to depend on the younger son. The problems of the teen girl they took when he left. Who now is the chef keeping what is left of the restaurant going. Then you add in the heat between max and jules and they could cook any dish on their own.

    It's a good read short and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Sweet Romance

    Nice cooking, family, romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Pretty Good!

    This book was pretty good. I enjoyed the story line. There was time though that I thought it left a little to be desired so to speak. Not sure if I will read the next in the series???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3