Customer Reviews for

Too Many Curses

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nessy Rules!

    I love A. Lee Martinez. He has an excellent imagination and a great sense of humor. In this book, Nessy is a kobold that works for a wicked wizard. With her menagerie of cursed friends, they work together to maintain an evil castle (with a little bit of a good side) and eliminate other barriers to their happiness... A must read for lovers of curses, castles, wizards, ghosts, and funny little furry animals!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book is weird

    Too Many Curses is pretty ridiculous and over the top. The humor is hysterically funny. I love Nessy and her freak friends. Not as good as Nameless Witch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Loved it

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Great fun

    A quick, easy read. Off-beat characters. Quirky story. Loads of fun. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read.

    Funny and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect for the entire family!

    Really liked this one! More innovative than Gil's All Fright Diner. Lots of great monsters, ghouls and ghosts that you can't help but love. A classic story of good versus evil in a hilarious setting. My favorite monster - the monster under the bed. I recommended it as a funny, light-hearted read. It will keep you entertained!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Too Many Curses is too good to be cursed!

    I thoroughly enjoy A. Lee Martinez's books. This is the last one in a series of five that I recently read and ejoyed. Mr. Martinez's writing is thoroughly enjoyable and engaging. His characters, despite their mythological natures, are very realistic personalities. A very fun and exciting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    OK, But Not That Great

    I normally like this writer, but this book left me cold. Maybe he should have called it "Too Many Characters". I got lost, never connected with Nessy (what a bad choice for the lead character's name. I kept imaging Lock Ness), and didn't finish the book. I wish he'd write a sequel to "Gil's All-Fright Dinner". Now THAT was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Humorous Fantasy at its Finest

    Margle the "evil wizard" never kills his enemies, he just transforms them, and apparently he has quite an overactive imagination. The forms range from a fruit bat to a living echo to his brother Yazbip whom he keeps in a jar, at least the pieces that are left. All the action takes place in a semi-sentient castle and is overseen by an unassuming kobold named Nessy. The characters and situations are well written and very funny, the story moves well and is just great fun to read. I had a lot of fun reading this book and look forward to picking up some of Mr. Martinez' other titles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    Funny, Entertaining, and Sweet

    Picked this up on a whim when looking for something "new" to read. Absolutely hysterical book. Could not put it down. The story is like a really off-beat fairy tale gone awry. I do recommend this for Book Clubs as a shot of something different. Get away from the depressing morality of Oprah's choices, monotonous chick lit, and read something funny! Nessy is an absolute gem. All the characters keep this book fresh. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    weird fun fantasy

    Margle the Horrendous is an arrogant evil wizard who relishes his collection. His castle is loaded with his defeated foes who he has transformed into all sorts of shapes. His housekeeper Nessy the kobold detests the clutter since she wipes the dust off of her master¿s precious ensemble. She likes her job though some of the losers are pests, but would like a little adventure of her own. --- However sometimes you get what you wish for all hell breaks lose inside Margle¿s castle when he dies from one of his incantations. Suddenly his entire collection is free, but they are made up of monsters with a grudge only Nessy is around as a target for their frustrations although they admit she was kind to all of them. Nessy the pragmatic struggles with lifting curses when she has no magical skills but has some insubstantial cursed allies who in lucid moments try to help her. Adding to her inability to clean up the growing mess is Tiama the Scarred wizardess has come calling initially to make Margle her slave, but now to take over his life¿s work. --- This weird fantasy is reminiscent of Howl¿s Moving Castle is a fun tale containing a wild bunch of support characters although too many so that few get explored beyond a brief description even those who assist Nessy are never deeply described. The angst of consciously having a few body parts exist in a jar must be harrowing, but Lee Martinez never explores it. Still this is a fast-paced tale starring a likable competent housekeeper, Margle¿s damned, and the despicable new wizard trashing the castle. Young readers will especially enjoy Nessy¿s efforts to clean up her late employer¿s latest mess. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2