Customer Reviews for

Too Tempting to Resist

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

How much trouble am I willing to get into for this love?

Gryffin Owain Dwight, the Marquess of Haddan is a man with a well-deserved reputation as a notorious troublemaker. Gryff and his other cohorts have run amok through proper social protocol and enjoyed every minute of it. What no one sees beneath Gryff’s surface is the ...
Gryffin Owain Dwight, the Marquess of Haddan is a man with a well-deserved reputation as a notorious troublemaker. Gryff and his other cohorts have run amok through proper social protocol and enjoyed every minute of it. What no one sees beneath Gryff’s surface is the heart of a poet and the soul of man who honors not only the beauty of flowers but their meaning as well. Gryff however has become mesmerized by something he never thought possible, a woman he just met. Gryff is not a hero but he certainly wishes to be the salvation for Eliza, Lady Brentford who is desperately in need of a white knight.

Eliza has suffered through one bad marriage and is trying desperately to manage her brother from running them straight to the poor house with the money she has left. Eliza like every woman has a plan to use her gift of painting and illustration to make her own money making it possible for her to support herself free from anymore dimwitted men. Eliza keeps a private profile to make sure no one knows her secret. She would never guess the latest book she is illustrating is for Gryff whom she just met and is as spellbound by him as she mistrustful.

These two take an immediate attraction to one another to the next level of secret rendezvous where clothing is optional. The more they dance around the relationship the more entranced they both become. Warning flags are flying high and flapping in the wind but neither of them will listen, they just want to know if the secret each of them is hiding will help the relationship or ruin it.

Cara Elliott is the master of writing a breathtaking and romantic book built around an exciting, engrossing story of suspense and intrigue. I believe she is truly one of a kind in bringing all the pieces and characters to a fulfilling conclusion yet always leaving the reader begging for the next book.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Secret training place

Secret training place

posted by 9388652 on July 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    How much trouble am I willing to get into for this love?

    Gryffin Owain Dwight, the Marquess of Haddan is a man with a well-deserved reputation as a notorious troublemaker. Gryff and his other cohorts have run amok through proper social protocol and enjoyed every minute of it. What no one sees beneath Gryff’s surface is the heart of a poet and the soul of man who honors not only the beauty of flowers but their meaning as well. Gryff however has become mesmerized by something he never thought possible, a woman he just met. Gryff is not a hero but he certainly wishes to be the salvation for Eliza, Lady Brentford who is desperately in need of a white knight.

    Eliza has suffered through one bad marriage and is trying desperately to manage her brother from running them straight to the poor house with the money she has left. Eliza like every woman has a plan to use her gift of painting and illustration to make her own money making it possible for her to support herself free from anymore dimwitted men. Eliza keeps a private profile to make sure no one knows her secret. She would never guess the latest book she is illustrating is for Gryff whom she just met and is as spellbound by him as she mistrustful.

    These two take an immediate attraction to one another to the next level of secret rendezvous where clothing is optional. The more they dance around the relationship the more entranced they both become. Warning flags are flying high and flapping in the wind but neither of them will listen, they just want to know if the secret each of them is hiding will help the relationship or ruin it.

    Cara Elliott is the master of writing a breathtaking and romantic book built around an exciting, engrossing story of suspense and intrigue. I believe she is truly one of a kind in bringing all the pieces and characters to a fulfilling conclusion yet always leaving the reader begging for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Loretta Chase's Lord of Scoundrel's did this story line better.

    Loretta Chase's Lord of Scoundrel's did this story line better.  And I liked the heroine better too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Regency romance than Cara Elliot should be a must yo

    If you love Regency romance than Cara Elliot should be a must your book shelf. Elliott sets Regency romance rocking.

    Whatever you are reading at this very moment put it down and pick up a copy of Historical romance authors TOO TEMPTING TO RESIST. This is Elliott’s second installment in her fantastically fascinating exotic Lords of Midnight domain. This group of Hellhound rogues will win your heart from the moment they enter your quixotic atmosphere.

    Cara Elliott always rocks my socks off whenever I read one of her books. She sweeps readers away with another captivating heart-stopping read in her latest installment with TOO TEMPTING TO RESIST. Tempting readers’ senses is what Cara Elliott does best. Elliott’s ability to compel her readers through the sensual romantic adventure world of the Regency is why she is captivating audiences praise far and wide. Elliot’s Lords of Midnight series has everything a reader wants: compelling characters, dangerous plots e that sweeps readers away, sensual love scenes with a bewitching love story that leaves us wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    love the series

    the first two books of the series are great. Cant wait for the third one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    What a delightful book. I could not put it down. The synopsis on

    What a delightful book. I could not put it down. The synopsis on the back of this book does not even come close to explaining everything that happens. Yes there is the love story between Hadden and Eliza but there is also the brother, the brothers despicable friends, her painting (incognito), Hadden writing (incognito) and flowers. I had no idea flowers had so many meanings and you will hear them all in this book. This is the second in the series even though is definitely stands alone. But the writing of this book makes you want to run out and read the first one and most certainly pick up the third when it comes out and I for one can not wait.

    Hadden is the typical rake we have all read about in historical romance novels but the interesting thing is even before he meets Eliza he is tired of that life and ready to make a change he is just not sure what that change is until Eliza comes into his life. He has turned to writing and wants to publish his works about landscaping and has no idea the sample work he has seen is actually Eliza’s paintings. Hadden is a “man’s man” but when he meets Eliza he has this adorably sensitive playful side that makes the reader fall in love. And Eliza is so incredibly strong. So much is happening to her and she is always trying to figure it out on her own. She does not run off begging for help. She just knows that these are things she needs to deal with and she does. She is a delightful character who does not make you feel like she is a “damsel in distress” even though she most certainly is.

    To play on the title - Read this book because it is “Too Tempting To Resist” and no lover of historical romances should resist it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Another great story

    Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Kat @ Forever Book Lover... For those of you new to the series,

    Kat @ Forever Book Lover...
    For those of you new to the series, this is the second book in the Lords of Midnight series. It is a stand alone book, though there are some reoccuring characters from the first book, you won't feel lost not having read the first book.

    Here is a quick summary of the "Hellhounds"... known for their fiery tempers, biting cynicism and taste for prowling the darker side of London, the trio of Connor Linsley, Gryffin Dwight and Cameron Daggett have been dubbed “The Hellhounds”. Though their august pedigrees allow them to roam at will through the highest circles of Society, they are seen as dangerous predators, whose appearances in the glittering ballrooms of Mayfair sends a frisson of fear through the ton.

    Too Tempting to Resist centers around Gryffin, who as we learned a bit about last time, is a typical rake. But, what we learned in this book is Gryffin has a sensitive and private side, who would have known that this rake pens books on the language of flowers. His hidden talents are in landscaping. He is penning his newest book and he is in need of an illustrator. Our heroine, Eliza, well she is a surprise. She is a woman in a man's world. She has a hidden talent of

    Our heroine, Eliza has her own private side, both personally and professionally. She has been living in a man's world and ready to escape. She is keeping her family's estate afloat despite her brother's gambling and immature ways. Where she finds her escape is in her illustrations; she has an escape plan and all she has to do is complete her this last assignment. As it is unheard of for a women in this time period, she herself uses a pen name for her work. Hmmm, can you guess how this is going to turn out....

    I learned so much about the language of flowers, I love books where I can take something away from it. You will love this book, I read it from cover to cover within a day. Cara has done a wonderful job in building the characters and keeping the pace. There is no lag time in this book. This book was "too tempting to resist", and if you are like me and love historical romance and happy ever afters, you are sure to love this book. And for those dragon lovers, wait until you learn about Gryffin's tattoo!!! Steamy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gryffin Owain Dwight, the Marquees of Haddan, also known through

    Gryffin Owain Dwight, the Marquees of Haddan, also known through certain circles as one of the notorious Hellhounds. Gryff has worked hard over the years to earn his reputation of gambling and debauchery. He would rather not let those of his acquaintance know that he is publishing a book on the language of flowers. He has kept his interest in botany and landscaping private. All he needs now is to find a talented illustrator of his book so that they can begin printing his novel.

    Lady Eliza Brentford is trying her best to keep her brother from gambling away the family fortune. She has survived one unfortunate marriage for the good the family, and she refuses to be sold to another future husband to refill her brother’s pockets. She has a plan to escape from her brother’s household and buy herself a little cottage in the Lake County. She just needs a little more time. As her brother refuses to stop his outrageous lifestyle, Eliza realizes she must use her painting talents to earn the monies necessary to make her dreams a reality.

    A chance encounter with Gryff during a house party begins an affair which brings Eliza more joy and pleasure than she has known before. She wants to let go of convention and enjoy her Hellhound before she needs to face reality and leave before her brother starts making plans which will destroy her future.

    Once again Cara Elliott creates a remarkable heroine who defies the standard convention of her time. Eliza is passionate and talented and self-assured enough to try and take control of her own future. It is quite enjoyable to watch Gryff seduce the young widow and in turn be seduced by her passions for life.

    The antagonist in this story is Lord Brighton who is so creepy and sleazy that I want to take a shower after spending time with him in the story, and you just want to punch out Eliza’s brother for trying to force his sister to marry this vile man just to save his own hide.

    This was another great novel from Cara Elliott and I am so enjoying her presentation of historical heroines who are above and beyond the usual boring ladies. Where <em>Pride and Prejudice</em>
    gave us Lizzy Bennet who was lively and defiant for her time, Cara Elliott takes her heroines just a little bit further. Lizzy Bennet wanted to marry someone who would take her for her small dowry. Cara Elliott&rsquo;s heroines take control of their own future and defy convention of the time to try to earn their own income to take care of themselves.

    I am looking forward to meeting the woman who will take down the last Hellhound, Cameron, in the last book of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Addition to the Series

    I was a big fan of the first book in this series, Too Wicked To Wed, and while I admit that I didn’t quite care for Gryff nearly as much as I adored Connor, I still found this one quite enjoyable.

    While newcomers to the series miss out on experiencing firsthand the consequences to some of Gryff’s wastrel behavior, I do think that it is made sufficiently clear that Gryff is reforming himself in this book, which makes it work well as a standalone. Eliza was a perfect foil for Gryff and they balanced each other so beautifully.

    I am simply dying to find out who Ms. Elliott pairs Cameron with, and I wait with bated breath for the final book in the trilogy.

    Recommended for fans of widows learning to be wicked, rakes who find they’re having a wee bit of trouble reforming, and beautiful grand gestures.

    A delightfully solid 4.5/5 Stars

    {This title was received, free of charge via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Full review appears on The Romanceaholic}

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1