Customer Reviews for

Too Wicked to Kiss

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sub-genre fans will enjoy this dark romantic historical and look forward to a sequel.

    In 1813 Evangeline Pemberton runs away from her abusive stepfather taking sanctuary at the home of family friend Lady Stanton. Her host's disgraced daughter Susan knows she will never marry any man not engulfed in scandal so decides alleged murderer Gavin Lioncroft will be her husband even though she believes he killed his parents. She orders guest Evangeline to help her catch the dark owner of grim gargoyle Blackberry Manor.

    Evangeline attends a party at Blackberry Manor, which she finds frightening with ravens flying overhead to greet guests. She is bit surprised by her attraction to Gavin, who is as shocked by his feelings towards her. Even more stunning to Evangeline is that when they touch her psychic skill shuts down. When a murder occurs, she vows to prove her beloved is innocent by apply her paranormal ability to solving who committed the homicide.

    This is an entertaining Regency Gothic romance starring a terrific heroine who holds the story line together, a brooding lead male with a mysterious past, a scandalous cousin, and a manor house with gargoyles on the roof and ravens flying around them. Overly dramatic yet so vividly fun to follow as the suspense filled story line is fast-paced from the moment Evangeline (Longfellow would be pleased) meets Gavin. Sub-genre fans will enjoy this dark romantic historical and look forward to a sequel.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Totally enjoyed it

    pretty enjoyable for the most part, I did catch myself rolling my eyes at the main female character Evangeline sometimes, and thinking "gee whiz lady get a clue!" She just seemed to not be able to be believable to a certain degree, in dealings with the main male character Gavin. But otherwise I liked it alot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    A true Winner!

    Erica Ridley's debut novel, TOO WICKED TO KISS is a wonderful addition to the gothic romance scene. And the title couldn't be more perfect. Just who is too wicked to kiss? Is it the hero, the darkly mysterious rumored murderer, Gavin Lioncroft? Or the heroine, Evangeline Pemberton, a strong, feisty runaway with a paranormal gift? Actually, it could also be anyone of the well drawn secondary characters because this book is just plain wicked. Wicked fun that is.

    This book has it all. A gothic romance filled with sexual tension, a touch of the paranormal, plenty of humor and a murder so tightly plotted you'll never be able to guess who "done-it". This book is a true winner and I can't wait for the next in the series. Ridley is a new author not to miss.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kill two birds with one stone with this classic mystery and Victorian Romance in one

    Too Wicked to Kiss by Erica Ridley is a must for lovers of Romance and Gothic Mystery. It's a classic Who-Done-It in the mists of a great Romantic Suspense novel.
    Erica gives readers a slam dunk with this lively, page turning novel. Her story line/plot keeps our interests while we hurry to turn page after page as her storytelling genius unfolds. The dialogue is flowing and witty and tense and goes very well with the Victorian England setting she puts us in and while her words flow she gives us distinct pictures that are easy to visualize. Her characters are all well developed and interesting and while some you love there are others that you will love to hate, but you will non-the-less want to know each one as she does intimately. Her hero the dashing and tortured Gavin Lioncroft and heroin the unsinkable Evangeline Pemberton are amazing as she turns them into a couple, but equally dominate the novel in their own right. Her mystery is the best clue game you ever played and her romance is sultry and sensual and sizzles on the page.
    So if you're a die -hard mystery fan who never thought a romance was in your future, give this one a try. And if you're a romance fanatic who's never given a mystery any thoughts I think you'll both be pleasantly surprised by this exceptional read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    Started as read in store; bought because I knew I'd read it again!

    Great spoof on gothics, laugh out loud funny with great dialog. Reminded me of early Amanda Quick, plucky heroine and brooding male lead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Loved it

    Erica writes a good story. Characters are well thought out and narrative is easy to follow. I love romances and and time I find a new author that I like it's great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book and was amazed when I read that it's Erica Ridleys first novel. It was very well written and kept me entertained from start to finish. The characters were well developed and interesting. The plot was well thought-out and intriguing, and the romance between to the two main characters was believable and paced well. I also found parts of it very funny. Also, she was very descriptive and gave the reader a strong sense of atmosphere. Very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Great

    Looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    It's a nasty mean house party

    It's a nasty mean house party. Just about each one of the guests are detestable human beings! The Hero and Heroine are well-matched in this twisted "Clue-like" who dunnit house party.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    Love the characters

    I love when a book starts off quickly and hooks you. Right away the characters were intriguing, especially Lioncroft and Evangeline. Susan is a pip, and Mrs. Stanton gives the Wicked Witch of the West a run for her money.

    The mystery contained all of my favorites: a dark gothic manor house, secret passage ways, plenty of intrigue between the party guests, a villian everyone seems to want dead, and a very exciting romance between the main characters. I loved the addition of giving the heroine a psychic gift in helping solve the murder. My only criticism of the mystery plot was that I would have liked to have seen more investigation and confrontation between the heroine, Evangeline, and the suspects as she is trying to solve the murder.

    The romance between Lioncroft and Evangeline is fantastic. I loved the romantic chase between the two characters and when they finally get together it is very steamy. I would really love to see Erica Ridley create a series of romance mystery books featuring Lioncroft and Evangeline. I'd definitely follow their love story and romance from mystery to mystery. I know that Susan's story is next and I'm hoping that Evangeline and Lioncroft make an appearance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Romance

    i love the characters in this book . Book had everything you looking for betary, romance , gothic , frienship. etc .. i cant wait want the author as has in store for us next ... looking forward to her new book in 2011.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    it's okay

    the plot was a bit weak. i did not finish the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5