BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tooled Border Brown Italian Leather Journal with Bead Tie-( 6"x8')

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    I ALWAYS FEEL GOOD WHEN I WRITE IN THIS!

    Because I'm so picky with my journals, it took me a long while to find one that I liked enough to purchase. I'm really glad that I didn't settle before or I might've never found this journal! I just LOVE writing in it and seeing it on my nightstand when i'm not using it. It's beautiful!! I've gotten a few scratches on the cover and I can tell the more wear the leather gets, the more beautiful it will be. The paper is also nice to write on. You can fit a lot in this one little book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely love this journal!!!!

    this is by far the best journal i have ever owned. i love the smell and its just gorgeous. i will definitely buy another one. the only thing is the book mark inside of it, if youre not careful, will come out really easily. but i think it's better without the marker anyway. i am going to buy more before the company stops making them!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Best Journal I have ever purchased

    I love this journal. The feel of the leather is so smooth and the smell is fantastic. The pages are easy to write on and I love the fact that the journal can expand to include saving some memorabilia within it. I have already bought my second journal so that when I have filled my first I have another one ready to go. When I received my journal I found that it far exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend this journal to all journal lovers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    Awesome journal

    I've had this journal since 2003 (the same one, I'm a slow writer and I'm not dedicated to writing daily), and as a previous reviewer stated, it does get better with the scratches, wear, and water stains that accumulate from something that's used a lot. Mine has dings, bent corners, scratches and stains from moving several times and going through several periods (and relationships) in my life. I love the fact that the journal looks like it should be from the previous couple centuries. It has an authentic feel for the most part and it's definitely a beautiful addition to the bedside table.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    The Perfect Journal for Anyone!

    I just bought this today, and it really stood out from every other one I saw at the B&N Bookstore, though the rest are outstanding as well. I really feel like I need to always get a journal that physically reflects me, because the writing in it reflects me as well. This journal really does just that, and it feels good every time I write in it. It's leather and binding makes it flexible, so its really not a battle to keep the journal open as you're writing. Very Outstanding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2006

    amazing

    i have had a few journals through the years until i found this one. this is the only one i will write in anymore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    Coolest journal ever. It calls to you.

    My son gave this to me as a gift and I guess that has a lot to do with it, but you can't help but keep up your writing with this. It's just beautiful and soulful and it feels good to touch and I love it. Lots of pages, easy on the eyes writing-wise, really free-form. And the fleur-de-lis makes it seem like what you're writing matters somehow...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Love it!!

    I have had several diffrent journals and this is my favorite. I got my first one last year on Valentines Day, and now that is the only one that I will write in

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    I just barely started a journal about a month ago. I filled a sp

    I just barely started a journal about a month ago. I filled a spiral notebook and decided since i was consistant in a one dollar notebook i deserved something a little more permanet. It took me week looking for the perfect journal. My second time heading into Barns and Noble i found this one on the very bottom self. I looked and it and knew it was perfect for me. I can't do large quantity of pages because i like the idea of diffrent journals on a regular basis, also alot of the leather journals i saw were too stiff int the covers but this one had the perfect flexability from the begining while still holding its shape beautifully. It is lined, and the writing space is ideal for any type of hand writing. I use sharpie pens and the don't bleed through. I had a personal conection to this journal because when i saw the frame stamped into the leather it gave me the filling of a forever changing picture frame. As i grow the picture in the frame changes with me. Of course this is all in my imagination, but it made this journal more personal for me. If you buy this journal you will not regret it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    After three years of owning this thing, I know I've found a good

    After three years of owning this thing, I know I've found a good journal.  This was the first journal that I've enjoyed consistently over so long of a time span.  It wears well, aesthetically, is just about the right size, and is made to last.  It was shoved in a guerrilla box all deployment long in 2011, surviving the physical abuse and taking the same heat that melted the glue out of my good headphones.  I should mention that the journal is both glued and sewn.  I'm not sure how the stitching goes exactly, whether the small segments are joined with thread or not, but that's because despite the gauntlet I've put the journal through none of the book came loose.  This worried me initially, because I thought the glue would give in after a while like my last one did (I'm left handed, and bear down on the creases pretty hard whenever I write).  None of that happened, though, and the journal is ready for a long life on my bookshelf now.  I really expect it to last longer than some leatherbound books I spend considerably more on.

    One caveat that I'll add is that if you use fountain pens and write small words, you might have to be picky about the ink on this journal.  I like the paper--the texture is nice and it feels like it has some quality to it--but there can be issues with feathering on some inks.  Ballpoint or rollerball users won't have any problems, though.

    The interior consists of a title pages with "This book belongs to _________" in it, and a "Handmade in Italy" stamp on the very back page.  It also has a flower-ish watermark centered on the bottom of each lined page that doesn't really get noticed once something is written over it.  The lines are college-ruled.

    I just remembered that there was a ribbon bookmark once.  That thing is barely glued in and won't last.  I accidently pulled mine out within a couple of months of owning the thing.  It didn't damage anything coming out, though, and I can't say that I miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    I just received the journal yesterday...It is a gift, but I"

    I just received the journal yesterday...It is a gift, but I"m sorry I didn't order one for myself. Its beautiful and everything, and more, that the description said. I will be ordering my personal one soon...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    Very Durable

    This journal lasted through a year's worth of everyday entries when I was pregnant, the birth of my son and the final months I spent taking care of my mom before she died. Two years later and I still look through it and it has not aged a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Like Butter...

    I have a slight obsession with journals, and I've tried more than I'd care to admit. I have bought 3 of this style of journal, and it's perfect. It lays flat after you've used it for a while, which is GREAT, it's bound very nicely, so the pages never fall out or tear out, and the tie is nice, so I can have it flopping around in my car without ruining the pages. I also like that the pages are lined, which is nice for text, but if you're looking for a sketch journal, this probably isn't the one for you. Overall, most of the Italian leather journals at B&N are great, and worth the couple of extra bucks above the other ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    Tooled Border Brown Italian Leather Journal

    I really like this leather journal, because it's soft, and thin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    fantastic!

    This journal is amazing, great quality and beautiful. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a good journal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2