Customer Reviews for

Top 8 (Top 8 Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

TOP 8 was a book that I didn't want to put down once I started reading.

Madison MacDonald is stuck going on a trip to the Galapagos Islands with her family for spring break. She's not thrilled about it at all. She's recently started dating Justin Williamson (s...
TOP 8 was a book that I didn't want to put down once I started reading.

Madison MacDonald is stuck going on a trip to the Galapagos Islands with her family for spring break. She's not thrilled about it at all. She's recently started dating Justin Williamson (seventeen days) and doesn't want to leave him or her friends. And to make matters worse, she can't take her cell phone or laptop with her because they'd be useless.

The trip turns out to be okay, and there was even a sort of cute boy about her own age on the trip, but the whole time she just wanted to get home. Had she known what was awaiting her return, she might have changed her mind.

The minute she got home, she ran to her temperamental laptop to check her Friendverse account. She can't believe what she sees. She's so stunned that she reboots her laptop to make sure she logged onto the correct profile. Friendverse is the latest in the Facebook/MySpace trends. Someone has totally changed her profile! The photos that are uploaded are the most unflattering possible. And the comments she's received from her friends leave her flabbergasted. The things that they're saying she's said about everyone. This just can't be right! And Justin has broken up with her!

Madison calls an emergency session with her three best friends: Schuyler, Liz, and especially Ruth. After struggling to explain the situation, all three friends believe her and vow to help her discover the culprit. Madison can't imagine why anyone would do such a thing to her. The four girls come up with a list of two possible perpetrators: Kittson Pearson, who is in charge of the junior prom and has just stolen her boyfriend, and Connor Atkins, who has lost the student secretary election to Madison.

Madison vows to discover the evildoer and to get Justin back. But what she doesn't count on is running into the sort of cute boy from her trip. He's not just sort of cute, he's really cute, and his family lives in the next town over!

Madison is far from perfect and comes to realize her faults by the end of the story. The things her friends accuse her of saying are true, in a way. But she doesn't deserve the headaches that the hacker sets her up for.

TOP 8 moves so quickly that you will find yourself determined to finish the book in one sitting. I thought I had the culprit figured out early on, but I was totally wrong in my assumptions! Ms. Finn wrote an amazing first novel. Having enjoyed this as much as I did, I can't wait to see what her future books will bring!

posted by TeensReadToo on November 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Its okay

I think this book was okay. I have certainly read better but I have also read worst. Katie Finn seems to have a lot of talent, and while this book didnt keep me on the edge of my seat, and I never really hesittated to put it down I think Finn has some talent. As time pr...
I think this book was okay. I have certainly read better but I have also read worst. Katie Finn seems to have a lot of talent, and while this book didnt keep me on the edge of my seat, and I never really hesittated to put it down I think Finn has some talent. As time progresses I'm sure her writing and her writing style will improve. The characters in the book where realistic and it made me wish i had friends like them because they're so down to earth. While I definatley don't consider this book one of my favorites and it probably would be forgettable if it was'nt on my bookshelf, I think some people will enjoy it. This plot would be something very hard to write about but Katie Finn mad it as interesting as possible. Realism wasnt really there because I know that if my myspace or facebook was hacked it would not be the end of the world for me, and it probably wouldnt help me find myself. But overall I think this book was okay and that if Katie Finn finds new plots and topics, she could be found the best-selling list. Hope this helped you!

posted by meena_mada on November 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    READ THIS!!!!

    This book was amazing, I mean really! I'm a teen girl and this is definitly a book for other teen girls! All teens these days do is go on the internet and use social networking sites. And some teens do get hacked. In this book, Katie Finn takes a fun and tasteful twist on what teens do every day. I really love this book and recomend it for other teen girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    So good

    It was good sad happy and mysterious at the same time... I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!! -I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Great Summer Reading Novel!

    Top 8 by Katie Finn is about a sixteen year-old girl named Madison MacDonald who goes on vacation and comes back and her Friendverse (like Facebook or Myspace) account has been hacked. Now everybody in her school is mad at her because of some of the embarressing- and personal- secrets that Madison's hacker has posted. Madison knows that whoever hacked hre must be a "friend" to know the secrets that they posted, since they were all true. Throughout the novel, Madison changes her victim over and over again, only to figure out that in the end, the hacker was someone you'll never expect. Madison also finds out that her ex-boyfriend she has been trying to get back isn't the guy she is really in love with. I read this novel in two days, and it is very addicting to read. This is a great book to relax on a hot summer day with. I read this for one of my summer reading novels for school, and it was worth the money I paid for it. If you want a novel with a bunch of mystery and a pinch of romance, I highly recommend you to read Top 8 by Katie Finn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    Amazing!

    One of my favorite books ever <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Comment from Gracie

    Amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Entertaining

    I liked this book. It was an easy read. I think the ending is very shocking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Great book

    this book is personally one of my faves. you get very into it and are so curiius as of who is doing this. i strongly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Top 8

    TOP 8 was a book that I didn't want to put down once I started reading.

    Madison MacDonald is stuck going on a trip to the Galapagos Islands with her family for spring break. She's not thrilled about it at all. She's recently started dating Justin Williamson (seventeen days) and doesn't want to leave him or her friends. And to make matters worse, she can't take her cell phone or laptop with her because they'd be useless.

    The minute she got home, she ran to her temperamental laptop to check her Friendverse account. She can't believe what she sees. She's so stunned that she reboots her laptop to make sure she logged onto the correct profile. Friendverse is the latest in the Facebook trends. Someone has totally changed her profile! The photos that are uploaded are the most unflattering possible. And the comments she's received from her friends leave her totally amazed.

    Madison calls an emergency meeting with her three best friends: Schuyler, Liz, and especially Ruth. After trying to explain the situation, all three friends believe her and promise to help her discover the culprit. The four girls come up with a list of two possible perpetrators: Kittson
    Pearson, who is in charge of the junior prom and has just stolen her boyfriend, and Connor Atkins, who has lost the student secretary election to Madison.

    But what she doesn't count on is running into the sort of cute boy from her trip. He's not just sort of cute, he's really cute, and his family lives in the next town over!

    Top 8 moves so quickly that you will find yourself determined to finish the book in one sitting. I thought I had the culprit figured out early on, but I was totally wrong in my assumptions!
    Ms. Finn wrote an amazing first novel. I am truly excited to read more of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Top 1?

    Reading is not something I normally do, but after I picked up top 8, I couldn't put it down! It may come off as a girls' book, but it has a good storyline. It's about a girl who has a very good life, good friends, good grades, and good boyfriend. That all changes when she goes on vacation, and someone hacks her webpage. They break up with her boyfriend, spill her best friends' secrets, and puts embarrassing pictures of her on their. Later in the book she works things out with her best friends they help her find out who hacked her. They questioned everyone, her ex-boyfriend, her friends, her brother, and even this new suspicious guy she was talking to. One night while she was alone she put all the evidence together and found out it was her best friend. They were never friends again, but she made many more. This book was a very good book and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    IT WAS AMAZING!

    this book was amazing! i solved 1 of the 2 people but i didn't expect the out come! if you get this book you wont want to put it down! TRUST ME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    AWESOME!!!

    This book is very good. It has a unexpecting ending and unpredictable. I love it. The aurthor is wonderful writing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    Top 8? More like TOP 1!

    Katie Finn writes an interesting novel that grabs you and pulls you in the second you start it. It is a great book that has some surprising twists. I liked the fact that you were able to look at the profiles designed for the story in the book. Also, it was something different. Someone getting their profile hacked and having to deal with all the hysteria about it isn't a common topic for literature. However, it was great and I liked it a lot! Top 8 has you on your toes and at the edge of your seat at every part. Top 8...more like Top 1!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    This one is in my "Top 8"!

    "Top 8" is a very good book. The story is very real to how things go on in today's world; and that's what I loved about it. I shared this book with my two best friends and they loved it as well. This book wasn't predictable at ALL, which is what I like in a book. I don't want to see the end and then be correct about it. This book definitley keeps you guessing! I can't wait for Katie Finn to get another book published. She's a very good writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    No questions left unanswered!

    Madison was a normal teenager. She had a great boyfriend of 17 days and counting, a trustworthy best friend, and 349 friends on her Friendverse profile. After a two-week long vacation out of the country with her family, Madison comes home to find her Friendverse account hacked. No more boyfriend, no more gang of people who like her . all because of the things that were written on the profile. I mean, Madison did say those things but writing them is totally different, right? While collecting clues as to who hacked her, Madison slowly starts to realize that she has made some wrong decisions, especially with the people she has made her friends. As they say, Don't trust anyone.

    Top 8 has more appeal than most books. The cover is inviting and fun and I was not let down! Sometimes the format changes to Madison's Friendverse profile and you can see all of her friends' pictures which was really fun. I knew from the start who I thought was the hacker but while discussions arose and events happened, I was led astray. So when the climax of the story was revealed, it really was a surprise. The writing was great and Author Katie Finn stuck to each character's personality. Page by page, I was more eager to see how she solved all of the problems and concluded the story. No question will be left unanswered!

    Contains:

    *brief sentence of homosexuality
    *the words 'fling' and 'hook up' used as sexual references in past tense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Top 8: Who is it?

    Thrilling, unforgettable and absorbing, Katie Finn's Top 8 will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last word. Unexpected twists and turns keep you guessing until everything is revealed, and trust me, you will not have guessed who it was. An overall great story plot, well written, and I am looking forward to reading more of Katie Finn's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Top 8

    This book was one of the most greatest books that i have read. I have read this book in the shortest amount of time that i have ever read a book and it was over 300 pages long thats how much i enjoyed it. It is in the realistic fiction genre and it is true because all of this could have in life.and you never know. But i would really reccomend this book to someone such as a teenage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    soo good &lt;3

    this was an amazing book i absolutely loved it. it left sitting on the edge of my seat until madison was actualy able to figure out who hacked her. I NEVER SAW IT COMING! it was so surprising but now that i look back on the book it makes quite abit of sense. overall the author did an amazing jib with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!!!

    This is just about the greatest book I have ever read. I think all people should read it, even though its ment for girls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Finished!

    Excellent book! I didn't understand the French thought but other than that it was soooooooo good I didn't see it coming but I kinda suspected some people who hacked her. You should definitely read it it is ah-mazing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Amazing Teen Writer!!

    I think that Katie Finn is a great new talent and I can't wait for more of her novels. Top 8--IT'S GREAT!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4