Customer Reviews for

Top Secret Boy Stuff: Off Limits Book of Stuff About Me

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

vey happy

my son loves the book...

posted by hannapAP on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A perfect how-to guide for becoming a girl-hating, narcissistic, and disrespectful boy!

The idea of having a diary geared towards boys is a great and this 'book' did contain some interesting activities and prompts for boys to think about. However, the stickers and many of the activities and graphics were blatantly anti-female - "I hate Pink," "Boys Rule,"...
The idea of having a diary geared towards boys is a great and this 'book' did contain some interesting activities and prompts for boys to think about. However, the stickers and many of the activities and graphics were blatantly anti-female - "I hate Pink," "Boys Rule," "No Girls Allowed." The book also praised highly disrespectful attitudes with stickers that read "whatever," "I didn't do it," "Chief Troublemaker," and "So." The book also promoted narcissistic attitudes with stickers declaring - "Number 1 Dude,"Super Star," "Legend," and "Genius at Work". As a high school teacher, I fight against these attitudes every day and it is shocking to see such rubbish sold in school bookdrives.

posted by vteducator on November 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    A perfect how-to guide for becoming a girl-hating, narcissistic, and disrespectful boy!

    The idea of having a diary geared towards boys is a great and this 'book' did contain some interesting activities and prompts for boys to think about. However, the stickers and many of the activities and graphics were blatantly anti-female - "I hate Pink," "Boys Rule," "No Girls Allowed." The book also praised highly disrespectful attitudes with stickers that read "whatever," "I didn't do it," "Chief Troublemaker," and "So." The book also promoted narcissistic attitudes with stickers declaring - "Number 1 Dude,"Super Star," "Legend," and "Genius at Work". As a high school teacher, I fight against these attitudes every day and it is shocking to see such rubbish sold in school bookdrives.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Great Gift

    I bought this for my 11 year old nephew for Christmas. I was concerned that he may find it too childish or too much like a diary. He LOVED it. His little sister asked him if it was a diary and he told her that it was a boy's book. He loved the different things inside and that he could make notes in the book...he really liked the section on who was and wasn't allowed in his room. He also liked that it had a lock and key so nobody could dig in his 'stuff'...(his words not mine)
    Great gift and the price was wonderful. Would most certainly recommend to anybody looking for a gift for pre-teen boy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    vey happy

    my son loves the book...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    My boys love this book.  It has kept them entertained and commun

    My boys love this book.  It has kept them entertained and communicating for ages. The only draw back is the keys need to be with a sturdier string, they constantly fall off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    cool for boys

    Son asked Santa for this and Santa delivered. Possibly his fave gift from the bearded one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Way to Get Your Kids To Write!!!

    My 10 yo son loves this book because it asks interesting questions, he can be secretive and as his parent I love it because it sneaks in writing. I may never know what he writes but it is great that he has a fun outlet to explore his thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    Awesome!

    My 6 year old son loves this book! He and his friend spend a lot of time on the phone with the "secret book" writing in it. When they get together, they make sure they bring their books. They love having a "secret". I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Great book for little boys

    My 6 yo son loved this book as it was "all his" and has a key to lock up "his stuff". I bought a bunch for boys birthdays. Interactive writing , a boys version of a fun diary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    Great gift for boys!

    I bought this "diary" for my 9 year old nephew who visited for vacation. He couldn't put it down. He enjoyed filling in the information, creating code names, interviewing family members and making the "secret boy stuff." He seemed to learn a lot about us but also himself and we all laughed a ton. The skull and cross bones on the front cover definitely takes away the "girlishness" of a traditional diary and let him write about his thoughts and feelings in a cool way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book for boys to write down their ideas

    My 8 yr old son really enjoyed writing down his thoughts and ideas in this book. It is geared towards little boy humor...he loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Something fun for boys!

    My son was very excited when I got this for him. He was especially excited about the lock on it. It's a boy's diary -- something different because he's always wanted something like it but normally they're for girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Top Secret Boy Stuff

    I saw this book in the store and imediately thought of my 8 year old son. He was thrilled with it and began recording his secrets at once. He loved the fact that he had to use a key to get into it and then be able to keep his secrets safely locked inside. I went back to purcase additional copies to give as birthday gifts to his friends. The only problem that I encountered was that other kids had rifled through the books and taken the keys out and lost them. It's sometimes hard to find books of this nature for boys, however this book with the skull and bones on the front that cleverly disguises dare I say a diary was perfect for my very secret adventuous son. He found it funny and has really enjoyed writing in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2