BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Top Secret Twenty-One (Stephanie Plum Series #21)

Average Rating 3.5
( 293 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bob eats everything, Lula in her spandex always craving for junk

Bob eats everything, Lula in her spandex always craving for junk food, domesticated Morelli (or as somebody called him Borelli) with his heartburn, another looser staying in Stephanie's apartment, weird animals, a skip, who stole some junk food and who's clothes doesn't...
Bob eats everything, Lula in her spandex always craving for junk food, domesticated Morelli (or as somebody called him Borelli) with his heartburn, another looser staying in Stephanie's apartment, weird animals, a skip, who stole some junk food and who's clothes doesn't fit, Ranger's car is exploded, Stephanie swipes her mascara, craves junk food at the most inappropriate time, lusts after Ranger but sleeps with Morelli, etc., etc., etc. Oh, and if you are out of ideas just bring in a bad Russian guy. That was funny. "Vlatko is much common name in Russia" (per Leo). Yeah, right. There is no name Vlatko in Russia, but it's commonly used in Serbia, Croatia and Macedonia. I've been a huge Stephanie Plum fan from the very beginning. I've read a few that didn't exactly ring my bell, but this one did. I love the play between the characters, it's so entertaining.
I always look forward to reading what Stephanie has gotten into next!  Lula was far more interesting in the first books, before she quickly degenerated into a two dimensional slap-stick aid, only useful for achieving desired wordcount, to turn this crappy one paragraph plot into a novel-sized read. Have I come to the end of this paragraph, well, since it's short, Lula probably wants a doughnut.  I have often wondered how an author can write over twenty books about the same characters, and still keep the story fresh. And this one started a bit slow... Frankly, I could have written the first two chapters myself. However, once we got to the guy on the roof, Grandma's "bucket list", Stephanie's unwelcome roommate, and the "minions" - I knew we had a winner!! And, of course we have the requisite car bombings (I'd hate to be Ranger's insurance guy), visits to the funeral home and Cluck-in-a-Bucket, an unholy alliance between Lula and Grandma M., and Bob the dog taking over the starring animal role (minions aside) from Rex the wonder hamster, adding up to be one of the best Stephanie Plum offerings EVER. Keep 'em coming Ms Evanovich!
  

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on September 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Where is the Magic?! I am an avid Janet Evanovich and Stephanie

Where is the Magic?!
I am an avid Janet Evanovich and Stephanie Plum fan. I have been since the very first book and I have looked forward to each new book.
And the previous statements  set the tone for this review. Kind of like " you look great" (American Idol...
Where is the Magic?!
I am an avid Janet Evanovich and Stephanie Plum fan. I have been since the very first book and I have looked forward to each new book.
And the previous statements  set the tone for this review. Kind of like " you look great" (American Idol) or, 'did you have fun?" (So You Think 
You Can Dance) right before they tell what they really thought of the performance.
All of the elements were there (SPOILER ALERT!!!).
 Stephanie is broke. Stephanies' apartment gets bombed/set on fire.
 She wants dangerous Ranger but sleeps with hot Morelli. Her car is trashed so she gets Big Blue. Ranger gives her a porche to drive and it's blown up.  
Bob eats something he's not suppose to and barfs it up. Grandma and her funerals. Lula and her trashy clothes and big gun she can never find.
Stephanie blunders through, get's injured but ultimately, it all comes out right. These points are in every book, almost in a specific order and I wonder...
has one of my favorite series run it's course?  I kept waiting for the magic to reach out and grab me and it didn't. 
 Waiting impatiently for the new book to come out and paying almost $12 for an ebook and feeling let down.
How sad and disappointing.
 I don't know where Ms Evanovich can take the series and what she can do, if anything, to bring back the magic.

posted by Softtail98 on June 20, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Where is the Magic?! I am an avid Janet Evanovich and Stephanie

    Where is the Magic?!
    I am an avid Janet Evanovich and Stephanie Plum fan. I have been since the very first book and I have looked forward to each new book.
    And the previous statements  set the tone for this review. Kind of like " you look great" (American Idol) or, 'did you have fun?" (So You Think 
    You Can Dance) right before they tell what they really thought of the performance.
    All of the elements were there (SPOILER ALERT!!!).
     Stephanie is broke. Stephanies' apartment gets bombed/set on fire.
     She wants dangerous Ranger but sleeps with hot Morelli. Her car is trashed so she gets Big Blue. Ranger gives her a porche to drive and it's blown up.  
    Bob eats something he's not suppose to and barfs it up. Grandma and her funerals. Lula and her trashy clothes and big gun she can never find.
    Stephanie blunders through, get's injured but ultimately, it all comes out right. These points are in every book, almost in a specific order and I wonder...
    has one of my favorite series run it's course?  I kept waiting for the magic to reach out and grab me and it didn't. 
     Waiting impatiently for the new book to come out and paying almost $12 for an ebook and feeling let down.
    How sad and disappointing.
     I don't know where Ms Evanovich can take the series and what she can do, if anything, to bring back the magic.

    31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Worst one yet

    Don't bother reading this book...its obvious no effort is put into writing them any longer & J Evanovich doesn't know how to honorably end a series. I completely regret reading it.
    The only big surprise was the book was released on time for once...

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Disappointed

    I am disappointed with this book! It's the same story and no change with the characters. I personally feel that ranger has outgrown the stephanie plum series. I think a series involving ranger should be started without stephanie in it. I like stephanie and morelli together, but i feel stephanie should grow up and appreciate him more. The plum series should let morelli have more action as a cop. Please make the series better or end it.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    While the book did have some funny moments, it was disappointing

    While the book did have some funny moments, it was disappointing.  Most of the usual characters were there, or at least mentioned.
    It seemed like the ending was phoned in, and the big question (you all know the one) left a bitter aftertaste. 
    three stars because there were some laugh out loud moments, but they were balanced out by the way too predictable moments.

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Sorry but I have to agree with the other comment about it being

    Sorry but I have to agree with the other comment about it being disappointing. She needs to make a decision and let either Joe or Ranger move on.
    This series is getting old and stale wich is disappointing as I loved these books until about 12. Please make Stepahine grow up

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    I debated whether purchasing this book since I have read all the

    I debated whether purchasing this book since I have read all the previous ones.  However, I think I am done.  After reading the reviews it seems to be the same plot as previous books.  How many times can you laugh at Grandma Mazur going to  a funeral., or at Lulu trying to dig in her purse for her gun while she is eating.  You would think that after twenty books Stephanie would have made a little money and gained some experience.  Apparently she is still bumbling around trying to catch the bad guys.  And the love triangle?  Come on now.  Not to mention another fire?  I am done.  Apparently nothing original here.  

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    The first and second book in the series started of with a bang.

    The first and second book in the series started of with a bang.  The series began with a more serious story-line but has become repeated 'fluff'.  Although Janet is an excellent  writer, this series is just 'more of the same'.  Stephanie started as a 'Kick a--" heroine in the fist books, but has become somewhat of a joke, rather than  getting tougher. I will start on Janet's newest series, hopefully it is a little more thrilling and less fluff. My entire book club has moved on to other series.  

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Bob eats everything, Lula in her spandex always craving for junk

    Bob eats everything, Lula in her spandex always craving for junk food, domesticated Morelli (or as somebody called him Borelli) with his heartburn, another looser staying in Stephanie's apartment, weird animals, a skip, who stole some junk food and who's clothes doesn't fit, Ranger's car is exploded, Stephanie swipes her mascara, craves junk food at the most inappropriate time, lusts after Ranger but sleeps with Morelli, etc., etc., etc. Oh, and if you are out of ideas just bring in a bad Russian guy. That was funny. "Vlatko is much common name in Russia" (per Leo). Yeah, right. There is no name Vlatko in Russia, but it's commonly used in Serbia, Croatia and Macedonia. I've been a huge Stephanie Plum fan from the very beginning. I've read a few that didn't exactly ring my bell, but this one did. I love the play between the characters, it's so entertaining.
    I always look forward to reading what Stephanie has gotten into next!  Lula was far more interesting in the first books, before she quickly degenerated into a two dimensional slap-stick aid, only useful for achieving desired wordcount, to turn this crappy one paragraph plot into a novel-sized read. Have I come to the end of this paragraph, well, since it's short, Lula probably wants a doughnut.  I have often wondered how an author can write over twenty books about the same characters, and still keep the story fresh. And this one started a bit slow... Frankly, I could have written the first two chapters myself. However, once we got to the guy on the roof, Grandma's "bucket list", Stephanie's unwelcome roommate, and the "minions" - I knew we had a winner!! And, of course we have the requisite car bombings (I'd hate to be Ranger's insurance guy), visits to the funeral home and Cluck-in-a-Bucket, an unholy alliance between Lula and Grandma M., and Bob the dog taking over the starring animal role (minions aside) from Rex the wonder hamster, adding up to be one of the best Stephanie Plum offerings EVER. Keep 'em coming Ms Evanovich!
      

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Predictable

    While I thought this book was better than the last few, it was still pretty predictable. A few good laughs and at least more content.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another Winner by Janet Evanovich!

    TOP SECRET TWENTY-ONE, another Winner by Janet Evanovich! Have read all twenty-one books in the series, and each and every one is full of action, wit, and hours of laughs.

    Always fun to catch up with Stephanie, Joe, Ranger, Lulu, Grandma Mazur and the gang! Lorelei King nailed it as narrator, once again! I am ready for another movie!

    Not sure about other fans—I am not so much concerned about the story, I buy the audiobook, to be entertained, and TOP SECRET TWENTY ONE does not disappoint, with the hilarious one-liners!

    The Plum series is my favorite, and will always root for Joe Morelli, as the hottest cop with his faithful dog Bob. Yeah, Yeah, I know everyone wants Stephanie and Ranger action; however, he controls her with his constant tracking and Joe/Stephanie are a better match for long term. (not sure she will ever choose)

    As Stephanie is in search of Jimmy Poletti things get complicated when a killer is involved—Stephanie has to use Briggs, Ranger enlists Stephanie’s help, while we get to experience the fun funeral home viewings, and Grandma Mazur’s bucket list, plus much more for a lazy day at the beach!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Fun

    I had a great day because I got to spend it with my favorite characters. I enjoyed every minute.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    The author is just ripping people off now

    The series is going no where fast. The author either need to make some real progress in the overall series plot or end it. After almost 20 years and 21+ books we should have better character depth than this. I already skipped several books due to poor online reviews. I dont think i will read any more of this series until i know it is ending.

    Extremely disappointing read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Hmmm

    I gave the book a chance even after all the bad reviews. Sad to say, I agree with them. Its the same stuff as before, nothing changes. It also brings back the duffis sleazball Randy Briggs. When I saw he was in another book, I was really annoyed. I can say without question, I laughed maybe once and it was only a slight chuckle. Same old stuff as all the other books. Nothing new.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    I have read all of the Stephanie Plum series, this one is funny,

    I have read all of the Stephanie Plum series, this one is funny, but her previous Plum  books are laugh out loud and snort funny!! I always
     think of Lulu as a,  buxom  Wanda Sykes! I love Ranger and wish he would get more time on paper! All of the characters are funny even
     the animals.  A good and fun read.  Can't wait for the next one. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    This book was a little better than they have been for a while.  

    This book was a little better than they have been for a while.  However, its the same story which is getting a little tiresome.  Let Stephanie learn from her previous experiences...please.  Spoiler alert...also, its getting old that Ranger saves her life and then she goes home with Morelli every single time.  The first 10 made me laugh out loud, but they just haven't been that funny in a long time.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    Too much of the same-old-sameold.... after 21 books character de

    Too much of the same-old-sameold.... after 21 books character development is needed. Stephanie needs to grow up and make a choice between Morelli or Ranger (I think Morelli is the best choice for her). I agree that Ranger should  have his own series without Stephanie. Either educate Lula and dress her in clothes that fit or write her out. At least she isn't eating every second in this book. Please grive Grandma another hobby besides attending viewings. Can Stephanie  stop having cars that get stolen or blown up. And please stop 
    Please change or just end the series.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    I still love thesebooks!

    I have enjoyed this series and group of characters since the beginning. This book is light and an easy read. Sometimes that's just what you need to forget about the real world! This book hit the spot!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Tes123

    Test123

    3 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Loved it!

    Liked this one better than Twenty. I like that we are finding out more about Ranger. I love all the books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    top secret twenty one

    what happened to the spunky stephanie, her grandma and her crazy stuff she did? and joe and ranger no hot romance. the last 2 books real borning. yeah they a little bit here and there but not like in her other books.i was disppointed.ok read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15