Customer Reviews for

Top Secret Twenty-One (Stephanie Plum Series #21)

Average Rating 3.5
( 322 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bob eats everything, Lula in her spandex always craving for junk

Bob eats everything, Lula in her spandex always craving for junk food, domesticated Morelli (or as somebody called him Borelli) with his heartburn, another looser staying in Stephanie's apartment, weird animals, a skip, who stole some junk food and who's clothes doesn't...
Bob eats everything, Lula in her spandex always craving for junk food, domesticated Morelli (or as somebody called him Borelli) with his heartburn, another looser staying in Stephanie's apartment, weird animals, a skip, who stole some junk food and who's clothes doesn't fit, Ranger's car is exploded, Stephanie swipes her mascara, craves junk food at the most inappropriate time, lusts after Ranger but sleeps with Morelli, etc., etc., etc. Oh, and if you are out of ideas just bring in a bad Russian guy. That was funny. "Vlatko is much common name in Russia" (per Leo). Yeah, right. There is no name Vlatko in Russia, but it's commonly used in Serbia, Croatia and Macedonia. I've been a huge Stephanie Plum fan from the very beginning. I've read a few that didn't exactly ring my bell, but this one did. I love the play between the characters, it's so entertaining.
I always look forward to reading what Stephanie has gotten into next!  Lula was far more interesting in the first books, before she quickly degenerated into a two dimensional slap-stick aid, only useful for achieving desired wordcount, to turn this crappy one paragraph plot into a novel-sized read. Have I come to the end of this paragraph, well, since it's short, Lula probably wants a doughnut.  I have often wondered how an author can write over twenty books about the same characters, and still keep the story fresh. And this one started a bit slow... Frankly, I could have written the first two chapters myself. However, once we got to the guy on the roof, Grandma's "bucket list", Stephanie's unwelcome roommate, and the "minions" - I knew we had a winner!! And, of course we have the requisite car bombings (I'd hate to be Ranger's insurance guy), visits to the funeral home and Cluck-in-a-Bucket, an unholy alliance between Lula and Grandma M., and Bob the dog taking over the starring animal role (minions aside) from Rex the wonder hamster, adding up to be one of the best Stephanie Plum offerings EVER. Keep 'em coming Ms Evanovich!
  

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on September 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Where is the Magic?! I am an avid Janet Evanovich and Stephanie

Where is the Magic?!
I am an avid Janet Evanovich and Stephanie Plum fan. I have been since the very first book and I have looked forward to each new book.
And the previous statements  set the tone for this review. Kind of like " you look great" (American Idol...
Where is the Magic?!
I am an avid Janet Evanovich and Stephanie Plum fan. I have been since the very first book and I have looked forward to each new book.
And the previous statements  set the tone for this review. Kind of like " you look great" (American Idol) or, 'did you have fun?" (So You Think 
You Can Dance) right before they tell what they really thought of the performance.
All of the elements were there (SPOILER ALERT!!!).
 Stephanie is broke. Stephanies' apartment gets bombed/set on fire.
 She wants dangerous Ranger but sleeps with hot Morelli. Her car is trashed so she gets Big Blue. Ranger gives her a porche to drive and it's blown up.  
Bob eats something he's not suppose to and barfs it up. Grandma and her funerals. Lula and her trashy clothes and big gun she can never find.
Stephanie blunders through, get's injured but ultimately, it all comes out right. These points are in every book, almost in a specific order and I wonder...
has one of my favorite series run it's course?  I kept waiting for the magic to reach out and grab me and it didn't. 
 Waiting impatiently for the new book to come out and paying almost $12 for an ebook and feeling let down.
How sad and disappointing.
 I don't know where Ms Evanovich can take the series and what she can do, if anything, to bring back the magic.

posted by Softtail98 on June 20, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 4, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Bob eats everything, Lula in her spandex always craving for junk

    Bob eats everything, Lula in her spandex always craving for junk food, domesticated Morelli (or as somebody called him Borelli) with his heartburn, another looser staying in Stephanie's apartment, weird animals, a skip, who stole some junk food and who's clothes doesn't fit, Ranger's car is exploded, Stephanie swipes her mascara, craves junk food at the most inappropriate time, lusts after Ranger but sleeps with Morelli, etc., etc., etc. Oh, and if you are out of ideas just bring in a bad Russian guy. That was funny. "Vlatko is much common name in Russia" (per Leo). Yeah, right. There is no name Vlatko in Russia, but it's commonly used in Serbia, Croatia and Macedonia. I've been a huge Stephanie Plum fan from the very beginning. I've read a few that didn't exactly ring my bell, but this one did. I love the play between the characters, it's so entertaining.
    I always look forward to reading what Stephanie has gotten into next!  Lula was far more interesting in the first books, before she quickly degenerated into a two dimensional slap-stick aid, only useful for achieving desired wordcount, to turn this crappy one paragraph plot into a novel-sized read. Have I come to the end of this paragraph, well, since it's short, Lula probably wants a doughnut.  I have often wondered how an author can write over twenty books about the same characters, and still keep the story fresh. And this one started a bit slow... Frankly, I could have written the first two chapters myself. However, once we got to the guy on the roof, Grandma's "bucket list", Stephanie's unwelcome roommate, and the "minions" - I knew we had a winner!! And, of course we have the requisite car bombings (I'd hate to be Ranger's insurance guy), visits to the funeral home and Cluck-in-a-Bucket, an unholy alliance between Lula and Grandma M., and Bob the dog taking over the starring animal role (minions aside) from Rex the wonder hamster, adding up to be one of the best Stephanie Plum offerings EVER. Keep 'em coming Ms Evanovich!
      

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another Winner by Janet Evanovich!

    TOP SECRET TWENTY-ONE, another Winner by Janet Evanovich! Have read all twenty-one books in the series, and each and every one is full of action, wit, and hours of laughs.

    Always fun to catch up with Stephanie, Joe, Ranger, Lulu, Grandma Mazur and the gang! Lorelei King nailed it as narrator, once again! I am ready for another movie!

    Not sure about other fans—I am not so much concerned about the story, I buy the audiobook, to be entertained, and TOP SECRET TWENTY ONE does not disappoint, with the hilarious one-liners!

    The Plum series is my favorite, and will always root for Joe Morelli, as the hottest cop with his faithful dog Bob. Yeah, Yeah, I know everyone wants Stephanie and Ranger action; however, he controls her with his constant tracking and Joe/Stephanie are a better match for long term. (not sure she will ever choose)

    As Stephanie is in search of Jimmy Poletti things get complicated when a killer is involved—Stephanie has to use Briggs, Ranger enlists Stephanie’s help, while we get to experience the fun funeral home viewings, and Grandma Mazur’s bucket list, plus much more for a lazy day at the beach!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    I still love thesebooks!

    I have enjoyed this series and group of characters since the beginning. This book is light and an easy read. Sometimes that's just what you need to forget about the real world! This book hit the spot!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Loved it!

    Liked this one better than Twenty. I like that we are finding out more about Ranger. I love all the books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2015

    ¿¿Someone shot a rocket-propelled firebomb into my apartment,¿ I

    “’Someone shot a rocket-propelled firebomb into my apartment,’ I said. ‘Again?’ Grandma asked.” 




    Top Secret Twenty One is the twenty-first full-length book in the popular Stephanie Plum series by American author, Janet Evanovich. Trenton Bounty Hunter, Stephanie Plum is looking for a big money skip, Jimmy Poletti. The used-car salesman has been selling more than just cars, and is proving hard to track down. But that’s not Stephanie’s only problem: Randy Briggs seems to have become the target of a rocket-wielding villain, and by association, Stephanie comes into the firing line. What is worrying Stephanie even more is the fact that Ranger seems to be the target of an assassin who seems much more dangerous. And Grandma Mazur has decided to harass Joe’s Grandma Bella. 




    Evanovich includes the usual summary of characters and their status, though fans may well wonder why this is necessary: surely no reader is going to sample the twenty-first book of a series to get a taste. The usual annoying skips feature, including the mandatory naked one (an element which is getting a bit tired now), and whereas the last book featured a giraffe, this one features a pack of feral Chihuahuas. Despite the fact that much of the humour relies on slapstick, the plot, the regular characters and their dialogue still manage to carry the novel. Grandma Mazur achieves several items on her bucket list; Bob the dog eats some vital evidence; Stephanie accompanies Ranger to New York City; there are Russian Vodka salesmen, Atlantic City casinos, a scary walk along a building ledge and a vial of Polonium-210. 




    This volume also includes a 32-page prequel to the first novel in the O’Hare and Fox series, Pros and Cons. Ignoring the irritations noted, this is still a surprisingly good read, possibly good enough to have readers looking forward to the twenty-second instalment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Stephanie Plum novels are always good for a laugh. Okay yes,

    The Stephanie Plum novels are always good for a laugh. Okay yes, there are a lot of the same elements as in the previous novels but sometimes I just need a light, fun read and Janet Evanovich never disappoints me. I will always love Ranger and as long as this series continues I will keep reading them! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Fun Read

    Always enjoy this series! Grandma and Lula are beyond funny! And I love the unspoken feelings Stephanie has for Ranger. Part of his appeal is how he takes care of her safety when she dives into trouble.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Another Stephanie blast! An absolute must for Plum fans!

    Who can resist Janet Evanovich's wonderful cast of characters in the Plum series, they feel like MY family at this point. Light-hearted and fun to read, don't look for the meaning of life, just enjoy a bright sunny day and this great book. If we only go around once in life, do it with Stephanie, Lula, Joe, Grandma Mazur, Vinnie, Connie and of course, Ranger;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    A great fun read!!

    I love all the Stephanie Plum novels...They are fun!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2015

    Secret Keeper

    Most of the boys who push doing things like that are really bad. Not all but most. Id just tell him that youve never had "it" before and you arent ready. I really dont suggest doing it till marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    Recommend

    Enjoyable. Was not the best but still very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2015

    Love these books and they always make me laugh. I also really en

    Love these books and they always make me laugh. I also really enjoy the little turn that Stephanie has done with Ranger in the last 2 books with a little investigation along with her bond work. Grandma Mazur's bucket list is a hoot and I would love to see Ranger (or Joe) naked as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Too short, but good

    This one seems to be back on track with orginal titles. Too short, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    It was  good, but not as exciting as the others.  I have most of

    It was  good, but not as exciting as the others.  I have most of her books and will continue reading !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Jared

    Wiuld you wanna again.?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Skyler is Scarlet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Getting better

    I love Stephanie Plum and crew. The books are getting less slapstick and better. I still love Lula and grandmom and an occasional blowing up of something, but it's nice to read one of the books without too many cars and apartments blowing up. I don't write about the plot because by now I've kind of forgotten it, but it is a good and worthwhile book for lovers of Janet E. or people wanting a good, fun, light mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    Light fluffy entertainment *Book source ~ Library Stephanie Pl

    Light fluffy entertainment

    *Book source ~ Library

    Stephanie Plum, Bounty Hunter. She may not have an office with a plaque on her door, but she gets the job done for her bond bailsman cousin, Vinnie. Usually. When she was a little girl she had no dreams about catching people who have skipped their court date and need to be rebonded, but here she is. Her mother thinks it’s not a becoming career, but her Grandma Mazur thinks it’s awesome. When used car salesman Jimmy Poletti skips out on a large bond, Stephanie has to track him down and bring him in. But she and her sidekick Lula aren’t having any luck and it seems all the places she’s looking leads her to a dead poker buddy of Poletti’s. Is he the killer or is he running from a killer? And did he try to kill his book cooker, Randy Briggs? Or is someone trying to kill Randy simply because he’s annoying? One thing’s for certain in the Plum Universe…Stephanie is about to get caught in the middle of it all.

    This series continues on as if in a time warp. No one ever seems to get older and Stephanie never really improves at catching her skips. She still screws up a lot, has people who help her out of jams and has some decent amount of good luck. The Morelli/Ranger question is still dragging on to the point I’m ready for a sexy firefighter or someone to come along and shake things up. Of course, then we’d probably have a love square instead of a triangle. You can count on things exploding and/or catching fire around Stephanie, some kind of wild animal popping up, Grandma Mazur and Lula being their usual selves and Morelli & Ranger being hot.

    Despite the same ol’ routine or maybe because of it, I still enjoyed this book. Why? Because it’s nice to settle down and have a light fluffy entertaining read once in awhile, one that is in a favorite series with favorite characters and favorite shenanigans. Is the plot sound? Not really, but it moved the story along at a good clip.  Plus, there is more of Ranger in this book and that is always going to go over big with me, Team Ranger fan that I am. I don’t understand what she sees in Morelli. He seems to only want a place to store his dick when he’s horny. He wants Steph to quit bounty hunting because it’s giving him ulcers. Ranger protects her as best he can and lets her do her thing. Steph says Ranger isn’t a marrying kind of guy, yet she seems allergic to marriage or she and Morelli would be married already. She whines about Ranger’s healthy eating and yet he’s said nothing to her about her junk food or eating habits. She needs to get over herself and give Ranger some dating time. If her reaction to the danger to Ranger’s life in this book is any indication then maybe she’s wising up. But probably not. All-in-all this was a mildly entertaining read with lots of yummy Ranger added in. I enjoyed it.

    One of my favorite quotes:
    “As I ran water to wash my hands, my earbud fell out of my ear and went down the drain.
    ‘Crap!’
    I hauled my cellphone out of my bag and texted Ranger. Bad news. Your earbud just went down the drain in the ladies’ room.
    It was only a matter of time, he texted back.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Yes, this book seems to follow the same format of previous Steph

    Yes, this book seems to follow the same format of previous Stephanie Plum books, with little variation.  Yes, I would like Stephanie to choose between Morelli and Ranger (she can have Morelli, I'LL take Ranger) but for the most part, I still enjoy the series.  What really makes each book a must-read for me is the voicing/narration by Lorelie King.  If you are tired of hearing Ranger say, "Babe," trying listening to Ms. King saying it.  It doesn't matter the character -- Grandma Mazur, Lula, Randy Briggs -- they all come to life with Ms. King's superb narration.  I haven't read a Stephanie book in several years as I enjoy the audio version so much.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2014

    I have read ALL of Janet Evanovich books & have found her ve

    I have read ALL of Janet Evanovich books & have found her ver;y funny.  The stories were great, but her endings of all her books ends like an Alfred Hitchcock ending, leaving it to your imagination.  If it wasn't for that flaw, then her books and series would be terrific...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4