Customer Reviews for

Topsy: The Startling Story of the Crooked Tailed Elephant, P.T. Barnum, and the American Wizard, Thomas Edison

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Topsy is a brilliant book. The subject matter is totally enthral

Topsy is a brilliant book. The subject matter is totally enthralling. Author Michael Daly displays mastery of the written word as he brings the circus animals to life. The text is rich in history. Highly recommended.

posted by AlanAbrams on July 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Zero rating. Educate yourselves and read about Tesla and elephan

Zero rating. Educate yourselves and read about Tesla and elephants.

posted by 2silverspurs on July 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Topsy is a brilliant book. The subject matter is totally enthral

    Topsy is a brilliant book. The subject matter is totally enthralling. Author Michael Daly displays mastery of the written word as he brings the circus animals to life. The text is rich in history. Highly recommended.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Michael Daly definitely knows how to tell a story. I loved Topsy

    Michael Daly definitely knows how to tell a story. I loved Topsy from start to finish. It's an amazing story told in an exciting way. Great stuff!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. I found the subject matter fascinating. Plus

    I loved this book. I found the subject matter fascinating. Plus it is told in a well written fashion that makes it easy to follow and enjoy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Zero rating. Educate yourselves and read about Tesla and elephan

    Zero rating. Educate yourselves and read about Tesla and elephants.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Moonstar to below

    YOU IMPOSTERER!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    You wanted to talk to me in private?

    Moonstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Quailkit

    THERES A IMPOSTERGI TO RES 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    A sad history of animal cruelty.  It was difficult to get throug

    A sad history of animal cruelty.  It was difficult to get through this book, because the author did such a good job vividly portraying the human arrogance and cruelty toward elephants, which are intelligent, empathetic animals. It broke my heart as they were torn from their mothers as calves and "trained" through beatings and deprivation. What makes me sadder is the uncomfortable thought that we still may not have learned to be better one hundred-plus years later. We still have instances of confining intelligent animals - whether they be elephants, orcas, or apes - in the name of profit or scientific research. This is a well-written book that makes us ponder whether we truly have progressed as human beings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Informative and Story-Like

    After you get through the first hundred pages, which do not really match up to the advertisements on the cover of the book, you are rapidly brought into a story of New York, animal abuse, and the politics of the invention and entertainment industries. A very interesting and informative read -- push past that first third of the book and you will be rewarded!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Not for the squeamish.

    I really love animals so to me this book was disturbing. Of course, it is true and true life is not always pretty. I sure view Thomas Edison in a whole new light. Makes me happy that today we have someone looking out for circus elephants even though I know there are still some mishaps and the animal usually winds up being blamed. As far as the historical value, it hit the mark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1