Customer Reviews for

Torch

Average Rating 3
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

I absolutely loved this book. It was not a predictable story as I found myself reading further just to find out how it ended. It contained joy, sorrow and real life characters that the reader could relate to.I enjoyed following the main characters through their stages o...
I absolutely loved this book. It was not a predictable story as I found myself reading further just to find out how it ended. It contained joy, sorrow and real life characters that the reader could relate to.I enjoyed following the main characters through their stages of grief and was not disappointed with the ending. It is a thought provoking, soul searching book which I would highly recommendto others.

posted by AlexJR on March 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dont Bother

I wouldnt bother reading this book. It was very slow moving. Hard to stay focused. I found myself wanting to skip over parts of the book. I thought I would enjoy the Minnesota connection but it didnt help me enjoy the book at all.

posted by WendellynT on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    Great Book

    I absolutely loved this book. It was not a predictable story as I found myself reading further just to find out how it ended. It contained joy, sorrow and real life characters that the reader could relate to.I enjoyed following the main characters through their stages of grief and was not disappointed with the ending. It is a thought provoking, soul searching book which I would highly recommendto others.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    Rendering a heartache

    The writing is excellent and the Minnnesota references hit home. The characters are real. I ached for Claire and Josh who flounder without their mother but through it all realize they can survive even without her because her memory is alive and well. Children have perhaps more resiliency than adults do. It made me realize what a gift I am in my own children's lives.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    Not a depressing story...

    I just finished Cheryl Stayed's book. I found it very descriptive which meant it took longer to read than I thought it would. I thought I had it all figured out, but it didn't end that way. Those familiar with Northern Minnesota and the ethnicity of the area will thoroughly enjoy Strayed's names and locations. A well-written, authentic story.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Beautiful story well told

    This is a beautiful story of family relationships. I really loved this book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Dont Bother

    I wouldnt bother reading this book. It was very slow moving. Hard to stay focused. I found myself wanting to skip over parts of the book. I thought I would enjoy the Minnesota connection but it didnt help me enjoy the book at all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Torch this.....

    I bought this book because i was intrigued by the premise, sadly i will never get the 32 days back it took me to read this. I found the characters unlikeable especially Claire. The development of this book after the death was long, tedious and aggrevating. It took me more than a month to finish because i never became absorbed, and im not one to give up on a book. Don't waste your time on this - crime and punishment is an easier read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    First novel flop..

    I got this book because I had heard of the author and her life, and about how a trek through the woods changed it. I also am an RN with over 40 years experience, including hospice, and am interested in how people handle grief. However, this book was just tortuous for me to get through. It did have some good writing, but I really couldn't connect with any of the characters, and felt that the writing was scattered...too many characters, too much going on. I was relieved to finally get through it!!!AGGGH.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    This book was agonizing to get through. Every time I started re

    This book was agonizing to get through. Every time I started reading it, I would fall asleep. The one good quality it has is that the writing is very descriptive, but at the same time that seemed to make the story drag on and on. The characters did not seem very relatable in my opinion. I am all for characters with flaws, but all of these characters seemed to have way too many flaws. The ending didn't seem to resolve much in the way of the relationship between the kids and their step-dad either, which I found disappointing. There were also many parts that seemed to just be filler, and only served to drag the story out even longer. I can see where the author was trying to go with this book, but I just don't think she got there. Glad I purchased this when it was on sale and only wasted $1.99.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    I am forced to give this a 1-star in order to submit my review o

    I am forced to give this a 1-star in order to submit my review otherwise, it would appear as ZERO. I wish I knew of a way I could get a refund and delete this from my Library. If only I had read ALL the reviews before purchasing this book. The foul language has me closing my Nookbook on page 22. A writer should have enough vocabulary to create a story without resorting to foul language. The overview conveniently omitted the book could be offensive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Depressing

    It was way too depressing for me..couldn't finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Could be so good

    The plot of this story was so interesting that I purchased it after reading the sample and reviews. Deleted from account after reading first section. Foul language in book was very disappointing. Why can't writers use the vast source of vocabulary that we have and leave the cursing behind-it is the lowest form of speech we have.
    Anyway, sad to waste money for a book that could have been so good to read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Torch

    Sat and sat and sat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    I read Wild first. I was riveted so I had to read Torch. As some

    I read Wild first. I was riveted so I had to read Torch. As someone thinking of writing their own story, I was fascinated by the way the author wrote it as a personal story with just hints of truth. I would love to meet this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Wild

    Most of what is in this book she also wrote in her memoir Wild so no need to read both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Mtok

    I too found this story some what tedious. Having read Wild, I wanted to know the earlier history. Sticking with it was a good thing as I could relate and empathize with all the characters. A very worth while story. I loved both books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    One of the best i've read.

    Cheryl Strayed is surely one of the best authors I have read. Both in this book and in the book Wild, as well as in Tiny Beautiful Things. What strikes me the most about her writing is her pure honesty. She is not afraid to tell it like it is. This is the story of a woman being totally overwhelmed in her grief for her mother who dies so auickly after her cancer diagnoses. Her pure love for her mother is very poignant and brought many tears to my eyes. Also the love for her brother, although they show their grief in very different ways is like it is them against the world after their mothers death. This is a very well written deeply sad and beautiful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    I enjoyed this first time novel by Cheryl Strayed but if you hav

    I enjoyed this first time novel by Cheryl Strayed but if you have already read her nonfiction bestseller "Wild" there really is no point to reading this novel as it is basically a re-telling of her childhood which she already covered in "Wild".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Good story!

    This book is very touching ..going through what a family struggles with when a mother dies. The characters and the town are very real and I could relate with them all. Well worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Couldn't finish it

    I like to finish all books I purchase. This is one I couldn't after three tries. Hard to get into the story, depressing, teens doing drugs. I just can't read anymore only 1/3 of the way into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Depressing

    Kept reading in hopes that it would get better, but it never did. It's hard to believe she wrote Wild.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3