Customer Reviews for

Torment (Lauren Kate's Fallen Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1996)

4 Star

(747)

3 Star

(343)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(92)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Spoiler! I found the Torment Summary

Torment Summary
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fa...
Torment Summary
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans. Daniel promises she will be safe here, protected from those who would kill her. At the school Luce discovers what the Shadows that have followed her all her life mean - and how to manipulate them to see into her other lives. Yet the more Luce learns about herself, the more she realizes that the past is her only key to unlocking her future...and that Daniel hasn't told her everything. What if his version of the past isn't actually the way things happened...what if Luce was really meant to be with someone else? This is the real summary for Torment that i happened to find when i was looking for spoilers of Torment, and by the looks of it, this book is going to be amazing!

posted by 694658 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

The First Book Was Far Better

I was very dissapointed in this second installment. I felt as other ratings have mentioned that Luce's character changed too much from the first book and was cheapened. I can't understand either that Luce had no patience waiting for Daniel and had to be getting into som...
I was very dissapointed in this second installment. I felt as other ratings have mentioned that Luce's character changed too much from the first book and was cheapened. I can't understand either that Luce had no patience waiting for Daniel and had to be getting into something every 5 minutes, she was down right mean to him. I felt while reading Fallen that Luce's character was portrayed as a old teen, much more mature and grown up, while Torment took years off of Luce's age to give me more of a tween feel for her. Very immature and some what annoying to read about. Don't get me wrong though I will be holding my breath for Passion, but I just beg the author for Luce to come back around to her original self.

posted by PugMonkey on October 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3302 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 166
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    (:

    I read 'Fallen' about three months ago, and when I found out the second was coming out the day after my birthday, I screamed!

    This book reminds me so much of a fairytale, Daniel is such a sweetheart. <3
    I wish every boy could be as sweet as Daniel. (:

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Torment!

    Oh. My. God. I just finished Fallen about two seconds ago, and I am just going to have to sit here and drool over the sequel until it comes out! Fallen was unbelievable, but it certainly makes you want to scream, it leaves you on such a cliff hanger!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Okay, but enjoyable

    I was skeptical about reading this book because of the reviews all saying it was dissapointing... And it was. Luce changes so much and is always complaining about not seeing Daniel. But when she does see him she seems to think he is ruining her life. For some reason, I am starting to believe that Luce is a brat, the way Shelby see's her, as a selfish person with a, may I say, wonderful life! Daniel clearly loves her, but she shows no love, well, some love back. All in all Luce seems almost mean in a way, and I dont like it. In this book she seems needy and Daniel is crutial to her very exsistance(he is but what I mean is that she needs him every minute of the day) otherwise she has this fit about how her boyfriend is absent, she is just a little crybaby! Other than Luce, I think that the book was good, and worth reading. ALSO I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE MOVIE TO COME OUT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Sweet

    This is awsome book right

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Have Tissues Handy! Very Emotional, and Exciting! Loved this 2nd book in the Fallen Series!

    Hell on earth.

    That’s what it’s like for Luce to be apart from her fallen angel boyfriend, Daniel.

    It took them an eternity to find one another, but now he has told her he must go away. Just long enough to hunt down the Outcasts—immortals who want to kill Luce. Daniel hides Luce at Shoreline, a school on the rocky California coast with unusually gifted students: Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans. (part of summary from book)

    My Review:
    This book was as good as the first one and this book was not slow at all. Not anywhere. It captured my interest from the very first page. There is So much is happening in this book and you really can't put the book down. Kept me up late at night reading, thats for sure.

    We have good vs evil, Daniel, the good guy against Cam the bad guy....or are they?? The line in the sand is sometimes a little fuzzy in Torment. You'd think it would be easy to predict the behavior of either one, but sometimes they act in unexpected ways which leaves Luce confused and questioning, and me too. And is one of the things that makes Torment so compelling. There are definite mysteries to be solved and I love trying to figure them out!

    Torment gives us a new setting...the gorgeous California coast. Shoreline is everything that Sword and Cross wasn't. Sunshine, beaches and a gorgeous building with decks and windows where classes are held. We are also introduced to some new characters at the school...Shelby, Luce's new roommate and Miles, a totally sweet guy who helps make Luce feel comfortable in her new school. And there are two teachers who...well, let's just say they're not your ordinary teachers ;)

    Then of course there's Daniel and his glorious wings. Lauren Kate does an absolutely amazing job of describing them...not only can you picture his wings, she makes you hear and feel them too. As you would expect, Daniel's main goal is protecting Luce from the Outcasts, but he's also protecting her from her past. There are lots of unanswered questions and we are left wondering just what it is that he is hiding from her. I think there are going to be some amazing reveals in book three!

    I was pleased with the growth that Luce did in Torment. Although she does have the habit of doing exactly the opposite of what the people trying to protect her tell her to do, but really that is the most important part of her personality. She has free will, and she acts on it. There are situations she should avoid, but of course puts herself into them, but there is so much about her past that she doesn’t understand and she wants to know. You can’t blame her for that. I also like that, even though she has this great passion with Daniel, she also questions their relationship too. She gets that passion and attraction and history isn’t everything.

    Bottom line...if you liked Fallen, I think you're going to love Torment! Make sure to read Fallen first, and then I made sure to have Passion already before i started (3rd book) so I could keep reading. :) Also she has a 3.5 book, called Fallen in Love, its great too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    this book sounds A LOT like the HUSH, HUSH series

    this book sounds A LOT like the HUSH, HUSH series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    High 5

    Yeah so Luce changes alot in this book. So what? It is still a great book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    Good book.. but not a Must-read...

    I loved this book.. don't get me wrong. I love the characters. And the plot is very original. But, i just don't feel a strong connection between any of the characters, not even the ones that are supposed to be soul mates. To be honest, i could have gone my whole life without reading this and not have been disappointed. Hopefully the next one makes up for the lack of detail and bonds in Torment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    hope the next one's better

    disappointing follow-up. loved fallen, but torment seemed like a filler between the real action and plot development. the hook is a little desperate at the end. might as well say "you must buy the third book in order to have any closure." it kind of seemed like fan-fiction actually.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    Intriguing and Captivating

    A good sequel to the first book, Fallen. Several new characters are introduced as Luce begins to gain a small (severly small) understanding of herself. She has "lasted longer" in this lifetime than in her others and now she begins to question absolutes, ponder the "what ifs?", and demands answers. I won't say too much, I don't want to spoil the book for anyone that hasn't read it. Suffice it to say, that this is not my typical genre of book (love story with a suspense-thriller kicked in <-- not really me). However, with the author's method of writing and her style of conflict-resolution, I find myself thoroughly entertained and highly interested to find what happens in the next installment of the serires.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    Loved it but...

    Daniel seems more and more like a douche. Anyone else rooting for Miles?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    GOOD BOOK BUT VERY DISAPOINTING,

    this book is good don't get me wrong .But the charecters do not make sense any more the more luce finds out about her past the more daniel seems awful i mean could he get a little control. And luce really you love him because i don't think you do i think you just can't control your self around him . is luce even human i mean she has these new powers So i she even human.I will read the next book PASSION because i am hoping its better than this one :( . Also it was hard to get into for readers like me who finsh books in a couple of hours IT TOOK ME 3 DAYS !

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Ok, I loved Fallen. I fall in love with it. Luce was a great chacter. And, I love her background. How her and her true love in the end are never together. But, I'm just wondering what is on her arms. The blue tatto looking stuff. But, besides that I love Lauren Kate.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Seriously CAN'T WAIT!!

    Hey guys, do you know what this one is going to be based on??? I read the last book, actually surprised she is making another one.. But it did leave you hanging. But it's coming out in September! Haha long time from now. Anyways if you guys could tell me what this one would be about that would be great:)The last book left off with Cam and Daniel together in her cabin...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    5/5

    Amazing book, great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Torment - Teaser

    A steady rain fell, splattering onto the ground like tiny explosions. A shadowy figure emerged from the woods, and drew back as a car rushed past, spraying water onto the already soaking creature. It cursed the foul wearher and gazed out from the bushes, brown eyes strong. It raced across, paws skidding on the slippery surface. It reached the shelter of a grove of willows and shook itself out. It carefully ripped some moss off a tree, and messily curled it into a nest. It stepped into the soaking disaster and settled down, unaware of the looming shadow that blotted out the remaining moonlight......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    .

    I had to make myself read it. The only good part was at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Jae

    Good book, least favorite of the 4.. but very good! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    AMAZING!

    That...was...AMAZINGGGGG! :`)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Omg awesome book

    This book is wonderful and is a master piece. I wish i could live in this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3302 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 166