Customer Reviews for

Torment (Lauren Kate's Fallen Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1999)

4 Star

(747)

3 Star

(344)

2 Star

(87)

1 Star

(92)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Spoiler! I found the Torment Summary

Torment Summary
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fa...
Torment Summary
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans. Daniel promises she will be safe here, protected from those who would kill her. At the school Luce discovers what the Shadows that have followed her all her life mean - and how to manipulate them to see into her other lives. Yet the more Luce learns about herself, the more she realizes that the past is her only key to unlocking her future...and that Daniel hasn't told her everything. What if his version of the past isn't actually the way things happened...what if Luce was really meant to be with someone else? This is the real summary for Torment that i happened to find when i was looking for spoilers of Torment, and by the looks of it, this book is going to be amazing!

posted by 694658 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

The First Book Was Far Better

I was very dissapointed in this second installment. I felt as other ratings have mentioned that Luce's character changed too much from the first book and was cheapened. I can't understand either that Luce had no patience waiting for Daniel and had to be getting into som...
I was very dissapointed in this second installment. I felt as other ratings have mentioned that Luce's character changed too much from the first book and was cheapened. I can't understand either that Luce had no patience waiting for Daniel and had to be getting into something every 5 minutes, she was down right mean to him. I felt while reading Fallen that Luce's character was portrayed as a old teen, much more mature and grown up, while Torment took years off of Luce's age to give me more of a tween feel for her. Very immature and some what annoying to read about. Don't get me wrong though I will be holding my breath for Passion, but I just beg the author for Luce to come back around to her original self.

posted by PugMonkey on October 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    Disapointed

    I very much like the first book, Fallen. Torment, left me very disappointed esp. with Luce. Luce's character became very immature, self-absorbed and most of all impatient. She can't even stay put for a very short time (I MEAN A VERY SHORT TIME) while Daniel has to wait every 17 years to meet her!!!!! Fallen described L & D relationship as something almost sacred but I feel in Torment, Luce kind of cheapen those feelings. I feel all she does is doubt everything.... what happen to having "faith" with someone you love. She seems to trust her new friends who she only knew a couple of days/weeks over someone she claimed she loved in all her reincarnated lives. I don't know what Daniel is still hiding but I sensed that all he intended is too keep her safe, plus the-too-much-knowledge-will-kill-her business. Don't even start me with her feelings with Miles! At this point, maybe Daniel should have chosen someone who's a little more worthy after he'd sacrificed so much. I will read Passion and see if that can fix the betrayed feeling I got from Luce in Torment.

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not horrible, but barely good (add half a star to my rating)

    Torment is book two of the Fallen Novels by Lauren Kate. This book picks up pretty much right where Fallen left off. Lucinda (Luce) is sent to a new school, to make new friends and face new challenges. She is lying to her best friend, and her family, and she has no idea what is going on. Daniel is being cryptic about everything that is going on and is just not there whenever Luce needs him. Luce knows that everyone (Daniel, Cam, even her teachers) tell her to stay at school and to lay low is for her own good, Luce still can't help but do a little investigating of her own to try and figure out what the big mystery really is. This sets her off on an exploration of her past lives, and on a path to discover who Daniel really is.

    I am stuck. That is for certain. I must know what happens! The thing is, this book actually annoyed me a lot. To me Luce whined a lot, even if a lot of it was justifiable. She didn't ask enough questions. I mean Steven (super hot demon-angel teacher at the new school) - hello, he was helping you, why not ask him more questions? He may not have answered, but he seemed willing enough to help. Why in the world can't she follow directions? I mean, after the first 'holy crap, I just about got myself killed' moment, you could think she would learn.but nnooooo. Daniel was a big jerk because he just wouldn't talk. Even if he couldn't tell her everything, he could have at least told her some things - like, "oh yeah, there are people out to get you" or "hey, this school we just stuck you in to fend for yourself - it's a shield. It will protect you!" That is the least he could have done. The shadows/announcers/portals. Honestly!? Can we pick ONE THING that they are. I can say much more on this topic - but it would give way too much away, but I did think that they were SO 'useful' in this book, it made them even more unbelievable - even for a fantasy novel.

    So why does every book have to have a love triangle now? That is one plot I could live without. And this is the SECOND one for this series.I really hope a 3rd isn't going to show up. I will say that I really liked Miles. His character was my favorite out of all of them in this book. I want to see good things for him in the future! The Twilight reference in the book "Team Daniel/Team Miles" was funny, and probably a little cheesy. I laughed, because I'm pretty easy going and okay with whatever in books, but I'm betting a whole lot of people rolled their eyes, slapped their head, groaned, etc.

    What I'd like to see in the future? A little more maturity. I mean, if this is a "love of your life" type deal, GROW UP! Both parties! Relationships are based on communication and trust. I'm serious. More Steven. I'm okay with Francesca also, but I like Steven! Less running across time. More answers.like, what the heck, IS Luce human or no? What would have happened if the rebels had taken her? Stop beating around the bush, this isn't LOST.

    One last thing... I was listening to my IPod and this song came on, it seemed perfect for Daniel and Luce's relationship in this book. Maroon 5's How. It's on their new Hands all Over CD (highly recommended btw!)

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    Brief Summary

    Luce being told not to do something (for her own protection) and then doing it anyway...chapter after chapter. Lost my connection with the main characters I loved in the first book. I was left feeling very disappointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    hope the next one's better

    disappointing follow-up. loved fallen, but torment seemed like a filler between the real action and plot development. the hook is a little desperate at the end. might as well say "you must buy the third book in order to have any closure." it kind of seemed like fan-fiction actually.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    GOOD BOOK BUT VERY DISAPOINTING,

    this book is good don't get me wrong .But the charecters do not make sense any more the more luce finds out about her past the more daniel seems awful i mean could he get a little control. And luce really you love him because i don't think you do i think you just can't control your self around him . is luce even human i mean she has these new powers So i she even human.I will read the next book PASSION because i am hoping its better than this one :( . Also it was hard to get into for readers like me who finsh books in a couple of hours IT TOOK ME 3 DAYS !

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    I've only read this Torment and Fallen of this series and so far

    I've only read this Torment and Fallen of this series and so far I can say that I'm not impressed with this series at all. The first book was slow to get into and it took me a long time to get interested in it. The last third of the book got better and I was actually looking forward to reading Torment. Big mistake. Luce's character completely changes in this book. She spent so much time in Fallen trying to get Daniel to want to be with her and in Torment she cheapens those feelings. She becomes immature and bratty towards him and the whole situation she is in with him. Plus while Daniel is out trying to make sure that Luce is kept safe she is developing feelings for another boy! She basically cheats on Daniel who has loved her since the beginning of time and would do anything for her. It doesn't help that she supposedly loves him while she is having feelings for another boy and acting on those feelings.

    Overall, if I wasn't one of those people that had to complete series I would stop reading after this book. I don't like books that are supposedly about this epic through time love, but then the girl that is in love with this wonderful guy finds herself questioning the relationship and having feelings for other guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Why did i pick this series? For the covers

    Ok, first the book is only 272 pg long, usually I can knock that out in less than a day. It took me 2 weeks to finish it.
    Second it's kinda hard to fall in love with a book / series when you hate the female main character. Luce was a freaking brat and I found myself wanting something to happen to her just so Daniel could say "see i told you to stay put" sinc started the series i will see it through, i just hope Luce improves as a character. And for it being a series about a girl in love with an angel, when are we going to see them together for more than a paragraph or two?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    I knew I was in trouble when I couldn't remember the events from

    I knew I was in trouble when I couldn't remember the events from the first book, FALLEN. However, I requested this book, and really wanted to read it. I just had some problems with it.

    First off, Luce is hurried off from Sword & Cross to a school in California. San Francisco to be exact. It's for her own safety and due to a truce that Daniel made with Cam. I can't even remember the name of the school or her roommate.

    I liked FALLEN a lot, but this story was one that I've read before. I've seen before. There is nothing new here. Daniel tells Luce that he has to stay away from her for her own safety. Blah blah blah. Yet, he shows up nearly every other page. Luce is finding out what the black shadows are. And really, the explanation was just about as ludicrous as you could get.

    Even Cam the bad guy who's probably the most interesting character in FALLEN is boring in this installment. I know people are looking forward to this book, but I say skip it and read something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Marceline

    Read my post at Scarlet letter i dont hate u.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Luce

    Luce was sooooooo annoying in this book!!!!!! I hate luce!! But the story was quite interesting. You should read the book only if you have patience because luce is so annoying. Daniel should get a better girl!!! He deserves a better girl. He should date gabby!! They are the same. Nice and kind. Luce is just, ughhhh!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Reading this was TORMENT

    I really enjoy the Fallen Series, I really do. I also really like the first book, but...
    Well, to be frank, I really hated this one. It seemed to drag on forever, and Luce, once relatable and a tragic heroine, seemed whiny. I stopped liking her character at all, but I still look forward to reading Passion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Dissapointing sequel

    Don't get me wrong I do like this series, but this book felt like a filler to me, we don't find out anything new and Luce is starting to really annoy me, I feel like she only knows how to complain and act like a spoiled child who always gets her way, and I felt like screaming at her to grow up!!

    On the other hand we do get a little bit of information (hidden of course but it's there) and we meet more fallen angels and "demons" (well technically there all fallen angels but some are more fallen than others?? That is a bit crazy but...) and the outcasts (the name says it all, their not accepted anywhere and truthfully their really creepy) and we find out a bit more about the announcers.

    Other than that the most entertaining bit is when we meet Luce's new roommate, Shelby who is amazing (I seem to prefer the secondary characters in this series much more than the main) and amazing. Also we finally get to meet Callie (Luce's best friend) and Arriane comes back even if it's for a short period of time and I loved the thanksgiving dinner with everyone it was so funny^^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Supremely Disappointing

    How can a book filled with so my words accomplish absolutely nothing? Boring beyond belief. There was no addition or resoution to the original story. Completely pointless. I hope the next one is better. It certainly can't get much worse. I loved the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    It was alright...

    Kate's writing style was indeed amazing in her first book in the series, "Fallen". After that I, and most certainly others, have raised our expectations to levels that most authors have trouble reaching. Also, this could be somewhat like the sixth book in the "Harry Potter" series. Remember how most readers were dissapointed that not much action/adventure happened in that book, when really it was just preparing readers with the knowledge that one would need to understand certain events that were to come in the last book. I suspect that this is a similar circumstance. On a good note, Kate's detailed descriptions of surroundings and emotions I felt I was experiencing what Luce was going through. Not the most exciting you have done Kate, but I am waiting in eager anticipation for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    Disappointment.

    Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge fan of Fallen and all those other good books like the dark divine and linger and what not, but this was just... annoying. Luce is annoying beyond belief in the beginning making stupid decisions and inquiries and becoming offending at the slightest remarks. Every other word is Daniel which also got on my nerves and the writing just seemed so rushed. This book has been pretty generic so far and there has been nothing particularly special about the story or characters. I had to take like a week's rest between each chapter to let my annoyance steam off, and eventually I just had to stop. I want to finish reading it just because I hate leaving book's unfinished, but if it weren't for that, I would never pick it up again. Major disappointment. I'd give it a one, but I loved Fallen, so I'll be generous and give it a two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The cover looked so good!

    OK it's not really a two star rating but...I was irritated with Luce! she didn't make sense, she blames things on Daniel, she miss him but walks away from him when he's with her, she goes to cruise, beach party while he's fighting to keep her safe yet unhappy with him. She acts like a spoiled, whining brat, I don't remember her being this way in the first book! Passion, the next book better be good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Disappointed

    I loved Fallen. Torment, not so much. The writing felt forced and the plot creeps along at an agonizingly slow pace only to end abruptly with very little solved and even more questions to answer. I expected an amazing journey and instead got one gigantic snooze fest. Hopofully Lauren Kate can turn it around in the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5