Customer Reviews for

Torment (Lauren Kate's Fallen Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1992)

4 Star

(747)

3 Star

(342)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(92)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Spoiler! I found the Torment Summary

Torment Summary
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fa...
Torment Summary
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans. Daniel promises she will be safe here, protected from those who would kill her. At the school Luce discovers what the Shadows that have followed her all her life mean - and how to manipulate them to see into her other lives. Yet the more Luce learns about herself, the more she realizes that the past is her only key to unlocking her future...and that Daniel hasn't told her everything. What if his version of the past isn't actually the way things happened...what if Luce was really meant to be with someone else? This is the real summary for Torment that i happened to find when i was looking for spoilers of Torment, and by the looks of it, this book is going to be amazing!

posted by 694658 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

The First Book Was Far Better

I was very dissapointed in this second installment. I felt as other ratings have mentioned that Luce's character changed too much from the first book and was cheapened. I can't understand either that Luce had no patience waiting for Daniel and had to be getting into som...
I was very dissapointed in this second installment. I felt as other ratings have mentioned that Luce's character changed too much from the first book and was cheapened. I can't understand either that Luce had no patience waiting for Daniel and had to be getting into something every 5 minutes, she was down right mean to him. I felt while reading Fallen that Luce's character was portrayed as a old teen, much more mature and grown up, while Torment took years off of Luce's age to give me more of a tween feel for her. Very immature and some what annoying to read about. Don't get me wrong though I will be holding my breath for Passion, but I just beg the author for Luce to come back around to her original self.

posted by PugMonkey on October 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 342 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    The First Book Was Far Better

    I was very dissapointed in this second installment. I felt as other ratings have mentioned that Luce's character changed too much from the first book and was cheapened. I can't understand either that Luce had no patience waiting for Daniel and had to be getting into something every 5 minutes, she was down right mean to him. I felt while reading Fallen that Luce's character was portrayed as a old teen, much more mature and grown up, while Torment took years off of Luce's age to give me more of a tween feel for her. Very immature and some what annoying to read about. Don't get me wrong though I will be holding my breath for Passion, but I just beg the author for Luce to come back around to her original self.

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Fallen Series

    I enjoyed Fallen and therefore wanted to read the second in the planned trilogy series. I should have reread Fallen before reading this because I was a little lost on the plot, why the Outcasts were after Luce. I felt in the dark about what was happening, much like Luce felt in the book. She gets moved to Shoreline where she will be safe and the whole book revolves around Luce discovering her past lives through the announcers (shadows). She is questioning her relationship with daniel and exploring the possibility that Daniel might not be the only guy for her. I felt like the book was slow moving and you never really learn anything. I like Kate's descriptive wording and it draws you into the story but the story was lacking of any real substance. I also felt like the romance with Luce and Daniel was a bit cheesey and not as authentic as I would have liked. There were parts that I found interesting and I will definitely read Passion when it comes out, just to find out what the heck is going on.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Okay, but enjoyable

    I was skeptical about reading this book because of the reviews all saying it was dissapointing... And it was. Luce changes so much and is always complaining about not seeing Daniel. But when she does see him she seems to think he is ruining her life. For some reason, I am starting to believe that Luce is a brat, the way Shelby see's her, as a selfish person with a, may I say, wonderful life! Daniel clearly loves her, but she shows no love, well, some love back. All in all Luce seems almost mean in a way, and I dont like it. In this book she seems needy and Daniel is crutial to her very exsistance(he is but what I mean is that she needs him every minute of the day) otherwise she has this fit about how her boyfriend is absent, she is just a little crybaby! Other than Luce, I think that the book was good, and worth reading. ALSO I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE MOVIE TO COME OUT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    Good book.. but not a Must-read...

    I loved this book.. don't get me wrong. I love the characters. And the plot is very original. But, i just don't feel a strong connection between any of the characters, not even the ones that are supposed to be soul mates. To be honest, i could have gone my whole life without reading this and not have been disappointed. Hopefully the next one makes up for the lack of detail and bonds in Torment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Jae

    Good book, least favorite of the 4.. but very good! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Tormented!!!!

    Torment is the right title for this book! Torment is what I went through to finish it. Fallen kept me interested this one not some much. I can only hope the next one pulls me back in!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Torment is one of those ¿in-between¿ books.  You know, the kind

    Torment is one of those “in-between” books.  You know, the kind of book where you LOVED the first and third one but the second is just eh.  Well, I haven’t yet read book 3.  But I’m really hoping I’m right.  
    I read Torment when it first came out.  I didn’t like it very much.  So it stayed on my to-be-reviewed shelf for a few years because I really didn’t want to sit and talk about a book that wasn’t that great.  However, recently I picked it back up, wanting to get back into the Daniel and Luce story.  And I found myself flipping through the pages rather quickly--stopping when I couldn’t stand what certain characters were doing--then picking it right back up again after popping some chocolate chips into my mouth.  
    Fallen (book #1) centered on the insta-love of Daniel and Luce.  Book # 2 goes a bit deeper and has Luce questioning whether or not she trusts the mysterious Daniel, who has sent her away to keep her safe.   In the process of trying to figure out who she is and was, she meets and befriends a whole bunch of really awesome people (Miles, Shelby, and a bunch of other angels, nephilim, and demons).  
    So I’m not going to lie, Daniel and Luce have a LOT of problems, starting with their ever-present and growing trust issues.  Daniel spends most of the book trying to stay away from Luce only to fail and visit her while refusing to tell her anything useful other than “I love you.” and “You can’t do that.”  Meanwhile, Luce is falling apart.  She’s having a major identity crisis, which fuels her fights with Daniel.  All the while, she is searching for anything that could help jog her 
    memory of the past.  
    While I definitely related to Luce, I had a hard time accepting some of Luce’s decisions.  It was so obvious what was going on, why she needed to be protected.  But she just kept breaking the rules.  Daniel, too.  He was all “I love you!” but then when asked even a tiny question about what was happening, he was all brooding and distant.  Come on!  
    Even though I wanted to strangle certain characters in this book.  I still liked it and was able to finish it (with interruptions) in a day.  I will FOR SURE be reading the 3rd book in the series.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Books

    Good not great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Its not for everyone

    I think that the book is only for teens i personally liked the book. Its more romance than action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Good read but...

    The main character, luce, is an idiot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Good young adult

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Torment is the perfect word for this book.

    Not my favorite of the series because it literally torments you with how Luce pushes Daniel away and I feel that is obnoxious how at every turn some male is throwing himself at her. For a hopefull romantic like me I kept reading just to get to the good stuff. I also was not as eager to finish this one because the first book didn't really give the greatest foundation for Luce and Daniel's love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Someone

    It was a good book so long as you dont read past the first one. The stpry line begins to get redundant. She misses him and they cant be together same old same old. They just never get anywjere fast and in between the romance not much takes.place. it was just to slow and the plot was lacking excitment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    This booj seems bad! Is it?

    The girl has a fallen angel boyfriend!!!! R u kidding me!? Should I get the book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    No peroxide, luce!!!

    I hated Torment!!!! She did everything wrong! FALLEN ROCKS!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Readable

    never have I ever wanted to smack so many of the characters in a book.... ever. Tho it was readable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Love the series hate luce

    Are U kidding? I know shes only 17... but this is killing me.... Luce is a true moron, and I cant see what Daniel would ever find interesting about her? Her temper tantrums in this love story.... where she pushes the issue in the 1st book, yet this book shes unsure???? I want to smack her silly. The "friend" Shelby makes me physically ill.... too bad she wasnt shot with an arrow and buried next to Penn!!! Must be a sign of a good author that she can make her readers feel so passionately in hate with the characters shes built.... if her goal was to drive us utterly insane trying to swallow this dribble of adolescent "termoil"..... Youve got me.... I will read book three, but pray that the author gives us a heroine we can actually like and comprehend... and agree with inthe 4th book.... ahhhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I expected from Luce.

    I can not even begin to say how much Luce annoys me. Everything has to be spoon fed to her, she can never figure anything out by herself. I can say that the thing that annoys me the most about her is her total lack of faith in Daniel. I mean, I know that she can not remember everything that happened between them in all of her previous lives, and that does give her a little bit of room to be hesitant about a few things. But Luce went from hesitent to just plain idiotic. She blames Daniel for everything, which is extremely annoying.(SPOILER ALERT) Like when Dawn gets kidnapped, she just kept blaming him for even taking her there in the first place, which in her book therefore put everyone else in danger. Even though she is the one who put everyone in danger by going off campus when she was specifcally told not to because it would attract attention to her. She never listens to what Daniel tells her to do because she thinks he is being chauvenistic, which I admit the way that he said some things were a bit so, but he was doing it to keep her safe. And for some reason she just could not comprehend that. As you can probably tell, I have very strong feelings about Luce in this book. It has been a while since I read Fallen, but I am sure I liked her character a lot better in the first installment. But, despite my angry rambling, I did like this book. Not as much as the first, but I believe I will definitely read Passion. Lauren Kate has a very nice writing style. She uses very good descriptive words. I am pretty sure the only reason this book was not amazing is because of Luce's 180 in her personality. She just became so week and idiotic to me, that it was sometimes painful to read. That being said, I loved all of the other characters. Miles and Shelby are totally amazing and I feel as if I really know them. I just really wish Luce would get over Miles and realize Daniel is the only one for her. I do recommend this series, but if you could get one of your friends to tell you what happened in Torment and then go on and read the next installment, that would probably be best. Luce just angered me way too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Ok

    I loved the first book but this one i found myself flipping pages and stoping at the ones Daniels named showed up. Also Luce bothered me alot in this book!!!!! but, it is still worth reading the next book, this series r weird getting mixed reviews on this book and i even saw people either hated or loved the third book, wich ist normal sooooo i guess keep reading to say wat u think of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed but Hopeful!

    After this book this series won't be on my list of favorites unless the next book can blow me away. I agree with some of the other reviews I saw where people were disappointed. I didn't even know what to rate this book to be honest. I liked the first book but I wanted some more good Daniel moments. Torment didn't really give any good ones. I also agree that Luce was annoying. Daniel started to annoy me because the author mainly had him ordering Luce around. I don't see why he had to be as secretive about stuff that where minor. I had to skim thru some pages too that where just boring. With all that said I do want to read the next book because I want to see Daniel happy lol! I'm just praying it's 1000x better than Torment ugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 342 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18