Customer Reviews for

Torment (Lauren Kate's Fallen Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1999)

4 Star

(747)

3 Star

(343)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(92)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Spoiler! I found the Torment Summary

Torment Summary
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fa...
Torment Summary
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans. Daniel promises she will be safe here, protected from those who would kill her. At the school Luce discovers what the Shadows that have followed her all her life mean - and how to manipulate them to see into her other lives. Yet the more Luce learns about herself, the more she realizes that the past is her only key to unlocking her future...and that Daniel hasn't told her everything. What if his version of the past isn't actually the way things happened...what if Luce was really meant to be with someone else? This is the real summary for Torment that i happened to find when i was looking for spoilers of Torment, and by the looks of it, this book is going to be amazing!

posted by 694658 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

The First Book Was Far Better

I was very dissapointed in this second installment. I felt as other ratings have mentioned that Luce's character changed too much from the first book and was cheapened. I can't understand either that Luce had no patience waiting for Daniel and had to be getting into som...
I was very dissapointed in this second installment. I felt as other ratings have mentioned that Luce's character changed too much from the first book and was cheapened. I can't understand either that Luce had no patience waiting for Daniel and had to be getting into something every 5 minutes, she was down right mean to him. I felt while reading Fallen that Luce's character was portrayed as a old teen, much more mature and grown up, while Torment took years off of Luce's age to give me more of a tween feel for her. Very immature and some what annoying to read about. Don't get me wrong though I will be holding my breath for Passion, but I just beg the author for Luce to come back around to her original self.

posted by PugMonkey on October 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 343 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 18
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good

    These books are really long and drawn out. Its hard to follow them also. I mean its not a bad read, but it could stand a little more action. It's like when you start reading it... and say to yourself... when does the good stuff get here. I dont like how Luce ran out on all her friends and frinemies at the end, but I guess that is what leads into the next book. I am undecided if I want to put the money into the next book, because first two havent gotten me all worked up about a 3rd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Good... But not Great.

    I fell in love with the first book. I twisting relationship with Cam and Daniel. However, this book let me down. I was expecting a sequel to Fallen, not another New Moon story. I almost threw the book at the wall. I dislike all the mopping and then she falls for him again, then gets mad at him, repeat. It had very little times in the book where I was purely engrossed. The whole: Boy leaves, girl gets depressed, guy comes back, and they're glued at the hip again is old. Then the ending confused me for a while, then made me mad. She acts like another Bella Swan by only thinking of herself and putting others in danger instead of acting like Luce, the strong-headed brave girl in Fallen. I do not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the 1st

    Definitely better than the Fallen. Also, an easier read. Can't wait for the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good for a Quick Read

    This book is good if you are looking for something that is easy to read. The characters are not very well developed in my opinion and I still don't care very much about them. Maybe it is because this book is directed toward a younger audience, but as a 21 year-old I didn't find the dialogue or plot very satisfying. It is a good story though, and now that I have finished the second book I do want to read the third to find out what happens. If you are looking for something more than skin deep I woulndn't recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Torment

    A good book. Didn't love it, but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Good book

    I didnt like it as much as the first book, burt it was still really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Better than the First.

    This book was better then the first but not by much.
    Pros: Good book with a lot of detail and you can really get into it and a very quick read. More going on in this book and the ending of this book heading to the next leaves the next open for a lot to happen.
    Cons: Luce will begin to get on your nerves half way through and you will start to get sick of her. She is always whining and complaininf about the littlest things and she WILL annoy you. The ending that happens will make you angry if you Luce was getting on your nerves as you read.
    Overall a decent book and I will read the third.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Slow start

    The book started out really slow. I actually put it down and moved onto somethingnelsenfor a while. It had a great finish and left me wanting more, I just wish the whole book had been as good as the last 5 chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Is it just me...

    or is Luce kind of a brat? "Oh, my boyfriend is a gorgeous fallen angel off fighting in a deadly war so we can be together, but he wants ME to stay here and be BORED so that I don't DIE? How dare he? I can't even venture out in the dead of night into the middle of the forest, completely alone and vulnerable." Every time she shut Daniel out, I wanted to scream. Oh, I understand being upset because you don't know the whole truth, but for crying out loud! She'd like him better if he acted like an a$$hole to her again, which is completely sad.
    Otherwise, I enjoyed the story. It is writen well for a YA book. But since it's through the pov of a nitwit, I can't seem to make myself give it more than 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Very different compared to Fallen, Luce sometimes annoying

    I am honestly still trying to make up my mind about this book. I feel so torn on whether or not it was a "good" book, but I do have to admit that I enjoyed reading it. TORMENT picks up where Fallen leaves off, with Luce fleeing Sword & Cross. She travels all the way to California to attend another boarding school, but this time without Daniel.

    A little more than half the time while I was reading, I found myself extremely annoyed with Luce. Daniel's been gone for less than two weeks and she is already questioning their relationship? How can she move so fast from one relationship to another? I know that she and Daniel technically have not been together for very long at all in this lifetime, but I do not like it when female characters in general can just quickly change their mind about a relationship in such a short amount of time. Eighteen days is not that very long to wait.

    I think it's very difficult to retain a reader's attention once the romance has been established between the two main characters. I guess Kate was trying to add more drama to keep the romance interesting to the readers, but in this case, it just made me really annoyed with Luce. Luce and Daniel do have an epic love story, so I don't know why Luce is making it so difficult for the both of them!

    I do love the new characters in TORMENT however. I love Steven and Francesca and the idea that a demon and an angel can be in a relationship. Kate describes a magnetism between the two of them, but they never really showed that the two of them were really in love. True, they were teachers at the school and had to be professional at all times, but I felt like they could make subtle hints at it. Kind of disappointing, but I love the idea of the two of them together. I just wish more would have gone out of it.

    I have to admit that I'm not a huge paranormal genre reader so when I started reading this book and it was already diving into angels, demons, and Outcasts, it turned me off a little. I mostly read Fallen because of the romance, not for the angels specifically. Yet, even if I didn't think I was going to like it, I kept reading anyways. I honestly did not learn much about the whole angels vs. demons and what exactly Daniel is doing until the very end. The book focuses on the "shadows" (that I think of as Dementors) called Announcers. The good thing about TORMENT is that the Announcers get a lot less Potter-y when Luce learns what the Announcers are truly capable of.

    Plotwise, I feel like it really had no build up, similar to the first book. It doesn't really bother me, but it might bother others. However, unlike the first book, I was left completely unsatisfied by the ending of TORMENT. Sometimes, you have these great endings where you just can't believe that was the end of the book and you cannot wait for more. I did have that feeling, but not in a good way. I did not feel satiated at all. I felt like the story had left me hanging completely and I didn't like it. It was completely unresolved and just left an even bigger mess at the end.

    Still, I think I will keep reading the series just because I am already so invested in the series. I just want to see where the story will go at this point. I am truly hoping that it will not turn out to be one of those series that will just go on forever. I want some closure.

    I would recommend this definitely to those who have read and enjoyed Fallen, but I can't exactly say whether or not you'll enjoy it more than

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    cant wait for Passion, but...

    i love the fallen series, but torment just seemed like luce and daniel were so on and off, it was hard to keep track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    Kind of a let down

    I loved Fallen, But Torment was slow and rushed at the same time... It didnt really answer questions from Fallen, its actually just created many more. It wasnt HORRIBLE but it most def. Could have been better.. Still looking forward to the 3rd book but I hope its better than Torment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fail!

    Once again, I was suckered in by great cover graphics and the hope that the story would improve in this sequel. Wrong, wrong, wrong! This is a waste of opportunity. In this book, Daniel has hidden Lace away from their enemies for her safety. Lace becomes completely annoying. She idolizes her true love, Daniel, when he's away, but the moment he risks everything to steal a few minutes with her, she starts a fight in under 60 second flat. She does this every... single.. time. And the moment he leaves, she regrets her actions and goes back to being all dreamy-eyed over him. That is pretty much the entire book. If you're looking for a good Fallen Angel Teen Romance Series, try "Hush,Hush".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    Boring & Slow

    As I began reading this book, I was ready for something similar to the last book, Fallen, that was going to knock my socks off. What I found instead was a sugarcoated version of Stephanie Meyer's New Moon. The whole book, the female protagonist was longing for her angelic boyfriend, moping about, which made the whole book quite slow. And the ending was quite confusing and rushed. I didn't like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best

    I feel as though this book was not as strong as the first. At times, it's slow as she has a tendency to over describe everything, and I hate when older authors overshoot teen jargon using words such as 'like' 'super' and 'totally'. It feels unrealistic that honor students would speak like this. It's a mildy entertaining ride, but not the best. It's worth reading, but if you're looking for something you can't put down look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    Okay...

    Fallen itself had an interesting plot, what with fallen angels. Torment really wasn't as intriguing as the first book. I'm usually really bad at predicting what happens in a novel, but in Torment I correctly guessed everything that happened because the book was just so predictable. I feel like the plot in this story was just a bunch of words; there wasn't a lot of explaining and action that propelled the plot forward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Ehhhh.

    The first book was good enough. I didn't regret reading it, but Torment wasn't as good. The characters were developed a little bit more, but Torment was just the filler for the next book. Lauren Kate could have put more effort into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Read

    Torment by Lauren Kate has to be one of the most awaited books of the year. Fallen was popular for a lot of reasons, including the awesome cover, and some people compared it with Twilight and some even gave the verdict that it was better than Twilight. Somehow I could never get into Fallen, totally. I found Luce infinitely boring, and hated Daniel for the way he treated her. Cam and Arriane were the only characters I even liked. Somehow I managed to get through that book, and couldn't find anything that special about it. So picking up Torment was sort of a half-hearted thing.
    I have to admit that this book was way better than I expected. The author finally brings out the sizzle and superpowers of the fallen angels, not to mention a dash of history. Torment, at least, isn't all about Daniel and Luce and gives some amount of character to Luce, to make us like her at least a bit. Daniel, sadly, is still too irritating according to me. At least Luce has a brain in this book.Again, it's nice knowing she can do things- she's not just sitting around waiting for her immortal boyfriend to get rid of all the (legions of) bad guys. She's not blindly following all the rules (?!) that Daniel set her, and she's even admitting to herself that she may (and I do) like the sweet new guy Miles. We learn more about Luce's past lives with Daniel, and there's some impressive and original kind of supernatural stuff in the book. Written elegantly, the book satisfies the hardcore Fallen fans and gets a vote of passability from those who really couldn't get into Fallen. But it just doesn't make sense that we should like the sweet new dude and not the scary, cold and super-secretive Daniel. He simply annoyed me, and I couldn't understand why he couldn't just stop treating her like a child. Shelby and Miles are both very interesting characters and Arriane, Gabbe and Cam keeps being impressive in Torment as well. Luce finally starts asking questions, a common and frightening enemy is discovered and there's plenty more fantasy elements than we ever saw in Fallen. The ending is pretty great too, Miles playing a curiously big part in saving the day (go, Miles!) and the last part through Daniel's eyes (perhaps to prove he's a great guy, I don't know) is very interesting.
    All in all, much better than its prequel, although it really does nothing to improve my iciness to Daniel. Let's hope the next installment gives him some tenet to really turn my opinion of him.
    Verdict? I'll be picking up the next installment, which is more than what I would have said after reading Fallen.
    Cover: absolutely rocking. Not as great as Fallen's, but still eerie and captivating. Full marks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Was Disappointed

    After the first book, I was so excited to read this book. But I got it and it was like it was written by a different person. Plot details excluded (the locket given at the end of Fallen? Not mentioned in Torment), and Daniel was a completely different person. It was a major disappointment to me. I hope the third book is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not my type of story, but good if you like starcrossed love

    Fallen angel Daniel has taken his mortal girlfriend Luce away from the deadly disaster scene at Sword & Cross Academy and has enrolled her safely at Shoreline, a school for Nephilim, the descendants of angels. Daniel has to leave her alone so he can go fight a heavenly war, and Luce begins to figure out some things about her past lives that make her doubt the rightness of her unending reincarnated relationship with Daniel.

    Some folks enjoy their love stories with a little more, well...torment. It's possible to read Romeo and Juliet and see the tragedy as an enhancement to the romance rather than seeing the romance as a function of the tragedy. Torment, the sequel to Fallen, is a very good story for readers who like darker romances full of doubt, betrayals, high stakes, fated meetings, and ominous separations. I'm not really one of those readers, so while I didn't hate Torment, it's not the type of story I enjoy.

    The worldbuilding details worked out fine. In the first book, there was so much key information that wasn't revealed until late in novel, but here we have it a bit better and we learn a lot of important facts about the angels and their conflict. The Nephilim kids are cool and I was right at home while reading their school scenes, smiling and enjoying the new play of faces and facts. It's a pretty funny moment when Luce finds out that she and Daniel are famous and that their--literally--explosive passion has its own fangirls and legends. I'm also fond of Miles, a nice normal guy with a friendly nature who, due to his uber-diluted angel blood, barely has any powers at all. He's a pleasant sort of character, and Luce finds him easy to talk to, and though she's only at the school for 18 days, she feels a big connection to him.

    I wish Luce had stayed in one place. Even though she's missing a lot of pertinent information, she knows that she's in a life-or-death situation and that Daniel wants to keep her safe. So when he bossily orders her not to leave campus, she proves to him that she won't be ordered around by leaving campus several times. Yes, it was bad that he was bossy, but he's a very old fallen angel who's not completely rational at the thought of his soulmate being in danger, so maybe he should get a pass for ordering her around on this one issue, since he does actually know what he's talking about. But when Luce gets a typewritten, impersonal note supposedly from him, saying they should meet outside the school, she follows it. She's nearly killed. Then, she chooses to go off campus again. And again. To me, these sorts of decisions don't show a heroine's bravery or independence, they show that she's going to do whatever she wants regardless of clear-cut proof that it's not a wise course of action. So, again, I don't hate Luce but I had trouble respecting most of her actions.

    There are bright spots, of course. I was glad to see a little more of Cam Briel. Though he may be a demon and "capable of despicable acts with no remorse," it's nice to have him around, because Daniel and Luce feel remorseful over so many things (ARC pg 5). Cam may be semi-evil, but at least he's level-headed, and in the midst of all the emotional turmoil, it was kind of refreshing to see Cam show up spattered in gore. I also liked the humor shown in various places, especially the great in-universe joke about Team Daniel and Team Miles t-shirts, which is all the more hilarious when you realize that both t-shirt options are

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 343 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 18