Customer Reviews for

Torment (Lauren Kate's Fallen Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1992)

4 Star

(747)

3 Star

(342)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(92)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Spoiler! I found the Torment Summary

Torment Summary
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fa...
Torment Summary
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans. Daniel promises she will be safe here, protected from those who would kill her. At the school Luce discovers what the Shadows that have followed her all her life mean - and how to manipulate them to see into her other lives. Yet the more Luce learns about herself, the more she realizes that the past is her only key to unlocking her future...and that Daniel hasn't told her everything. What if his version of the past isn't actually the way things happened...what if Luce was really meant to be with someone else? This is the real summary for Torment that i happened to find when i was looking for spoilers of Torment, and by the looks of it, this book is going to be amazing!

posted by 694658 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

The First Book Was Far Better

I was very dissapointed in this second installment. I felt as other ratings have mentioned that Luce's character changed too much from the first book and was cheapened. I can't understand either that Luce had no patience waiting for Daniel and had to be getting into som...
I was very dissapointed in this second installment. I felt as other ratings have mentioned that Luce's character changed too much from the first book and was cheapened. I can't understand either that Luce had no patience waiting for Daniel and had to be getting into something every 5 minutes, she was down right mean to him. I felt while reading Fallen that Luce's character was portrayed as a old teen, much more mature and grown up, while Torment took years off of Luce's age to give me more of a tween feel for her. Very immature and some what annoying to read about. Don't get me wrong though I will be holding my breath for Passion, but I just beg the author for Luce to come back around to her original self.

posted by PugMonkey on October 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 747 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 38
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Love this series!

    Love this series and can't wait for the to made into great movies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    A must read!

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Tips on how to handle it :)

    She doesn't know what coming to her, and you don't either what comes next. Probably will:Upset you,put the book down, make you smile from ear to ear,piss on the book, burn it,jump around in you pj's, make you wish upon a star,yell out yessssssssssssss!,Tell the love of your life, lets run off, and get married,run two blocks around your nighborhooh naked eating an apple yelling yeaaaaaaaaa babyyyyyyyyyy!

    All I am telling you is, to be prepared. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Mostly a good read

    Like some reviews said, this second book to the series can get a bit boring and tends to drag on. BUT there are definitely parts in it that are worth reading. An overall good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Started slow

    But keep reading it got really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Good

    Nice follow up to the first. Could use a bit more action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    How?

    How is this book so much like the hush hush books? Its really weird!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Pretty Good

    Torment is a little hard to get into but in the end it pays off. Luce does seem a little whiny but overall it is very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    4stars

    Awesome book!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Good book

    Once again a little slow going but did turn out to be a good book and a good series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Anonoymus

    Wonderful!!!!!! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very good!

    The book was another amazing creation from Lauren Kate! So far im loving this series ^.^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting!

    This time around the book was taking me to a whole new direction. It made me a little mad at the main character and her lover because the communication skills need heavy repair but all in all the new characters and the new environment she is at makes it all worth reading further and finding out the big secret behind the mysterious Luce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Hypnotic (Warning - Spoilers)

    I found Torment a great book itself, but in the end, I think the final confrontation should be held in a different way. What I mean is, the development was very good, but the fight with the Outcasts held in Luce's house should have taken place elsewhere. I would also have liked some more competition for Luce between Miles, Cam and Daniel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay. Better than the first one.

    The cover: Don¿t you love this cover?? The only great thing about these books (the first and this one) are the covers!! I just love it!! The content: This an Angel story in the Fallen series, I thought it was a trilogy but obviously it¿s not. You can say that I disliked the first one, Fallen, from my past review of it. This one is slightly better in the story line. I hate the heroine, Luce, especially in this sequel. She¿s just too stupid and too self absorbed. The other characters are cool, funny, serious, deadly, lovely and also interesting. I would¿ve rated it 2 stars if the story didn¿t get better before the middle. With all that said, I am going to read the the rest of series, hopefully, because I am simply hooked by the story. I am definitely not going to read any other Angel novels, not any time soon, but I¿ll gladly finish this one :). The writing is good, but sometimes it feels like the author explains things too well and exaggerates in describing the surroundings that she leaves nothing to your imaginary :s. I do like all the chapters, they all have something good in them, except for the first few ones, they kind of were slow and long. The conclusion: I do recommend this book to fans of the Hush, Hush series, which I haven¿t read yet and I¿m not planning to do so anytime soon, and for those who love YA Angel/Fantasy books, I know a lot of book readers and reviewers who love it, it¿s just a matter of personal taste and opinion :).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Buy this book

    This series is amazing, Torment was different from the other books in the series, but so important to the story. Could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Good story.

    Better than the first book. It was easier to connect with the characters in this one. Luce's anger and confusion is definitely justified. But like her, I'm growing less and less convinced of Daniel. Still just not buying him. Miles, however... Him I buy as a actual possibility for Luce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very addictive, you won't be disappointed.

    It arrived the day after I finished the 1st installation (Fallen) and I dove in without hesitation. It picks up right where the previous book left off and hurls you into the story. Much more character development and history while still leaving you in suspense. I was addicted from start to finish and purchased the 3rd installation before I was halfway finished! This was a thoroughly enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best yet of the Series!

    When we begin this story, seventeen-year old Luce is not sure who she is, but knows in her soul that she belongs with fallen-angel Daniel. In an effort to protect her while he hunts down those who mean her harm, Daniel takes Luce to a prestigious west coast boarding school called Shoreline. A school where nephilim are taught to hone their abilities by two fallen angels; angelic Francesca and demonic Steven. Luce doesn't know why Daniel brought her here, promising to return to her in 18 days. During this time apart, Luce discovers things about herself and her past that leave her to question her love for Daniel, and why if they are soul mates as he claims, why then is she beginning to have feelings for her new friend and classmate, Miles.

    In this novel we see Daniel's vulnerability to Luce's love, and we see Luce persistence as she tries to uncover her past lives and families she had left behind over the centuries of this curse, and her persistent struggle with a possible love triangle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 747 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 38