Customer Reviews for

Torn

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Nice Quick Read

Mo has been groomed to be a good girl. Quiet, accepting, never talking back, she's been taught not to think not to act. Her demure state becomes the basis for her biggest regret, the night her best friend Verity is murdered in front of her.

Mo wakes in the hospital ...
Mo has been groomed to be a good girl. Quiet, accepting, never talking back, she's been taught not to think not to act. Her demure state becomes the basis for her biggest regret, the night her best friend Verity is murdered in front of her.

Mo wakes in the hospital and finds herself the only lead to the grisly attack but the ambush wasn't normal. She can't exactly tell the police and her family about the unnatural element of Verity's death. Unfortunately the events are being blamed on Mo and her uncle's ties to the mob. Her life is turned upside down as the police stubbornly investigate the wrong angle and her already overprotective family puts her on lockdown. It's not all bad though with the hot and dangerous bodyguard Colin shadowing her every move.

Colin's presence does get a bit inconvenient. Verity was a very special girl. One with power. And that power has somehow passed to Mo. She'll have to trust the handsome mysterious Luc to help her full fill Verity's lost destiny. Mo will be thrust into a magical world that's not quite welcoming and Verity's killer is still out there. The conspiracy is bigger than Mo could have imagined and trusting the wrong person could cost Mo her life.

Torn was a fun read. It was nice to watch Mo break free of the social constraints she and her family imposed on her, growing into a stronger more assertive person not content to living in the shadows and disappearing. There wasn't as strong of a mob presence as I would have thought given most reviews I read prior to my purchase. But the love triangle is one I enjoyed and has the possibility for more in the future. Though this reads like a stand alone the threads where open enough for sequel that I would pick up.

posted by Unwasted_Words on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just okay...

This would have been a really good book if the the main character wouldn't have been so whiney the whole time. It makes me think of when you tell someone not to look back and they do it anyway just because they are so stubborn. Good story but the girl hated how the girl...
This would have been a really good book if the the main character wouldn't have been so whiney the whole time. It makes me think of when you tell someone not to look back and they do it anyway just because they are so stubborn. Good story but the girl hated how the girl was portrayed.

posted by Bmt_Butterfly on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice Quick Read

    Mo has been groomed to be a good girl. Quiet, accepting, never talking back, she's been taught not to think not to act. Her demure state becomes the basis for her biggest regret, the night her best friend Verity is murdered in front of her.

    Mo wakes in the hospital and finds herself the only lead to the grisly attack but the ambush wasn't normal. She can't exactly tell the police and her family about the unnatural element of Verity's death. Unfortunately the events are being blamed on Mo and her uncle's ties to the mob. Her life is turned upside down as the police stubbornly investigate the wrong angle and her already overprotective family puts her on lockdown. It's not all bad though with the hot and dangerous bodyguard Colin shadowing her every move.

    Colin's presence does get a bit inconvenient. Verity was a very special girl. One with power. And that power has somehow passed to Mo. She'll have to trust the handsome mysterious Luc to help her full fill Verity's lost destiny. Mo will be thrust into a magical world that's not quite welcoming and Verity's killer is still out there. The conspiracy is bigger than Mo could have imagined and trusting the wrong person could cost Mo her life.

    Torn was a fun read. It was nice to watch Mo break free of the social constraints she and her family imposed on her, growing into a stronger more assertive person not content to living in the shadows and disappearing. There wasn't as strong of a mob presence as I would have thought given most reviews I read prior to my purchase. But the love triangle is one I enjoyed and has the possibility for more in the future. Though this reads like a stand alone the threads where open enough for sequel that I would pick up.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Fantastic YA Paranormal

    Erica O'Rourke did a fabulous job with this darkly, exciting novel about Mo Fitzgerald who is torn between two guys and worlds she doesn't begin to understand. Torn is definitely addictive. You cannot put it down once you begin. The only thought is to get back and see what is happening next.

    Mo Fitzgerald is a normal seventeen year old about to be senior in high school who is a witness to her best friend, Verity being murdered. Somehow, Mo escapes from the murderers and vows to find them and exact vengeance for Verity. Mo is no stranger to secrets, but learns that even best friends have secrets from one another. Attempting to get vengeance for Verity, Mo has to choose between two men that are both equally dangerous in their own ways. Colin, who is duty bound to protect her, and Luc, well he is very mysterious. In her effort to get revenge on Verity's murders, Mo must enter a world she doesn't know even exists, a world of raw magic and deal with people who aren't everything they seem. Can she do it? No spoilers here!

    O'Rourke has created characters and a story line that is made believable with her masterful crafting. Mo seems likes any other high school senior you might actually meet on the street and the dialogue between characters flows with reality even in the face of the unbelievable.

    This book was provided to me free of charge by Kensington Publishing Corp for an honest review. The opinions are my own.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    check it out:)

    fast read, very easy to read you want to know what happens next unable to put it down. great for adults even though it is considered a young adult book. do not let that let you from reading these books. the teen section has some of the best writers there are. i am amazed that i go to this section first extremly interesting and exciting !!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Excellent YA Novel

    I am under the impression that this novel will be a trilogy and I might be a "Thirty Something" but there is nothing like a great YA novel! A YA novel that has this thirty-something year old wanting MORE! I had never heard of Erica O'Rourke, but she is now on the top of my "to watch out for" list for certain!

    Mo has been dealt a hand of cards that your average teenage girl would not normally be able to handle. Her daddy is in prison, her mother is a workaholic to keep a roof over Mo's head and food on the table, her over protective uncle is part of the mob and her best friend Verity dies in her arms during the summer before their senior year. For most teens, this would be more than they could handle before cracking, but Mo never cracks.

    Mo in on a journey to find out why her best friend was killed; she wants justice and will stop at no ends to find it! However, while searching for this justice, she realizes Verity was not the perfect friend she made herself out to be. She finds herself entangled with an overprotective bodyguard (Colin) hired by her uncle while lusting after Luc, a far from normal young man from New Orleans that not only shows her magic, but sets her heart aflutter.

    Mo's journey leads her to learn how and why Verity was murdered, along with learning new information about her uncle and father, and in between she learns that the world isn't as normal as we all think it is. A little magic here and there can turn a person upside down.

    I'm really looking forward to reading the next novel in this series. I was a bit disappointed at the conclusion until I realized there will be two additional novels. O'Rourke hooked me from the first chapter and I couldn't stop until I put the novel down! I'm certain young teenagers will enjoy this novel as much I have.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Exciting and Fast Paced

    Maura "Mo" Fitzgerald and her best friend Verity get attacked while out one night. With Mo's family connections to the mob, everyone assumes that she was the target of a hit that went wrong and killed Verity instead. Everyone except Mo that is because she saw the creatures that attacked and they may not have been human.

    Mo is a likable, smart girl who is a bit shy but was never jealous of Verity who constantly got the spotlight and the attention. We get to know Verity through Mo's memories and in flashbacks and the two girls have a good, solid friendship. After the attack, Mo struggles to come to terms with Verity's death and the fact that her best friend was keeping secrets from her. One of those secrets is the dangerously handsome and charismatic Luc who may have been Verity's boyfriend and who also holds the answers to Mo's questions. Mo's life is further complicated by the equally handsome Colin who has been hired to protect her but it's hard for a girl to solve a murder mystery when her every move is being watched.


    Torn is a great combination of magic and the mob. The story is fast paced and exciting. Mo finds herself caught up in the dark and deadly world of powerful magic that she never knew existed and the mob world that she always knew but tried to distance herself from.


    Once you start reading Torn, it's hard to put down. I want to know more about the world of magic that Luc grew up in and more about Colin's back story. I loved Torn and can't wait to read the sequel, Tangled, which comes out in February of next year. The covers of these books are so gorgeous and striking...

    Content: Profanity, kissing and violence. More appropriate for older teens.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Terrible

    Remember when a teacher would ask you to write a 10 page paper but you could only come up with 2 pages... so the next 8 pages are BS... that is what happened with writing this book. The dialog between characters were awful, many many many times the author would paraphrase whats already been written... this caused the characters, esp Mo, to become annoying. It took me 3 painful months to finish reading and i was determined to finish it. I realized today because of all of the paraphrasing and wasted words, i can finish the book by skimming it. Thank goodness i am done, and this will be the first author on "writers who needs to pay me to read their book" list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just okay...

    This would have been a really good book if the the main character wouldn't have been so whiney the whole time. It makes me think of when you tell someone not to look back and they do it anyway just because they are so stubborn. Good story but the girl hated how the girl was portrayed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Can't wait for more

    I really enjoyed this story line and I'm looking forward to more books in this series. The book is an easy, fast-paced read. I found myself thinking about the story when I wasn't reading and looking forward to picking the book up again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Stellar

    This doesn't read like a debut novel. From the first pages you root for Mo. Can't wait for the remaining books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I loved Torn. It has a story I couldn't put down.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A super exciting YA paranormal.

    Holy cow this was a super exciting read. I sat down one evening and stayed awake until I read every page. I maybe 30 but I do enjoy YA books and this one is now one of my new YA favorites. I can't wait to read the other books in the series. Mo (Mouse/Maura) tries to go unnoticed all her life except her quietness is what she becomes known for thus the nickname Mouse that is shortened into Mo. Between her sudden new found unwanted 'fame' because of a terrible tragedy and the attention of two slightly older men Mo's life gets turned upside down in a hurry. Trying to resolve the issues at hand, she uncovers family secrets and her best friend's secretive second life. What I loved about it; 1. Torn is very fast-paced. 2. The opening line is unique and grabs your attention. 3. The characters (good and bad) are all well rounded and help make Torn what it is. Without either the good or the evil characters, I don't think this book would have been as great. 4. The ending was perfect and created a level of excitement/anticipation to know more about Mo. 5. The leading men Luc and Colin were both yummy in their own way. Like Mo, I think I would have a hard time choosing between the two men. 6. The romance was sweet, soft, and not rushed to the point it felt unbelievable. 7. The actual plot was crafty and refreshing. 8. There were no slow points. 9. The attention to detail in the book created a very vivid picture in my mind as if I had sat down and watched it on TV. 10. The level of magic and how it was used in the book was also fun and thrilling. I liked the paranormal element Erica, the author, added. The witches (if you call them that) were amazing. The Darklings were just creepy but in a good way for the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Awesome Page-Turner

    Maura "Mo" Fitzgerald sees herself as a nice, quiet, boring Catholic school girl, except for the fact that her dad's in jail, her Uncle Billy might be associated with the Mob, and her best friend Verity was murdered right in front of her eyes. She craves justice for Verity's murder, but the tall, black-clad, monstrous looking killers might not even be human-how can she fight something she can't even understand? Her search is complicated by a relentless police detective, a gruff and sexy bodyguard who's trying to ruin her life, and a mysterious and otherworldly guy who may or may not have been Verity's ex-boyfriend. From page one, this story grabs you and won't let you go. The mystery of who-or what-killed Verity drives the plot, and Mo's bravery, which verges on recklessness at times, makes you fear for her life on every page. The relationship between Mo and her two equally sexy and endearing love interests is incredibly sensual-how will she ever choose between them? I loved this book, and I highly recommend to other fans of paranormal romantic young adult fiction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    My gosh! I really fell into this book. The ending is what got me hooked big time! I really loved reading throughout the whole story and following Mo steps. She is one brave girl.

    First off, the story line was amazing! I loved how easy it was to get into because of the the immediate action the reader is thrown in. As soon as you begin reading this book, you are pulled into this world and you are fighting. I really loved Mo. She reminded me of myself because of how insecure she was. I love that about her. It made her character even more real to the reader because of her flaws. She wasn't strong or out there. She is simple girl caught in a war of a different worlds. What I also liked is how Mo is in so much trouble in both worlds. One with her Uncle and his bad dealings and one with her best friend and bad magic. It all makes the story juicy and exciting to read. No matter where Mo went, troubled always followed.

    The love interest in this book I liked as well. I love how both love interest are from two different worlds. It makes it much more interesting. It also shows you just how much Mo is caught between these guys. I like that she doesn't put herself out there. Both of them fall for her genuinely cause she is a sweet girl.

    Now the ending. For me, I love reading paranormal books. I love magic and all the cool stuff that goes with it. But I especially love it when a normal person, who has no power whats so ever comes out on top. I love that her power is selflessness. When I was reading that part in the book, it gave me goosebumps. She made the biggest selflessness act of all, that I smiled and just kept on reading. I love that while no magic occurred, she changed everything with one simple act.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    AWESOME

    I read all 3 books in 3 days I had the book with me everywhere at work picking my kids up at school cooking dinner lol couldn't put it down sucks its only a trilogy would of loved to read more!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Interesting study of a girl coming of age.

    I got into this by reading the middle book first, so of course I wanted to finish the story. Harry Potter readers will need a new lingo to read these books (compare "appareate" with "beyond") which is OK.
    Still, as regards the fact that sex is primarily for the purpose of pro-creation it seems a little thoughtless that almost non of this found its was into the series. Still, it was nice to give men a little more recognition for beinng able to oppose their passions than is often given them.
    I will not look for more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Great story!

    Can't wait to read the 2nd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Love the series

    Another good one... Number 2 is just as good as Number 1. And if you liked these two, don't forget to move on to the 3rd, it's awesome :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Good series

    Waiting on the next book to come out. Good series, stong storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Mystical

    Great reads can not put down not for teens only

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Good

    Good story. Good characters.
    F 31

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5