Customer Reviews for

Torn: Rescuing the Gospel from the Gays-vs.-Christians Debate

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Finally!

    This book has been a long time coming. I will be giving this to a lot of people. The best work written on gays and the church.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    This was amazing. Must read for everyone on any side of this &qu

    This was amazing. Must read for everyone on any side of this "culture war"!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This chronicles a young man who was brought up in a very conservative Christian family and community and is, in fact, a strong believer having his own personal faith in Christ. As he comes into puberty, he realizes he is attracted only to other males and rather than females. He looks very critically and honestly into God's will for him by looking at scripture. Please read this book... it might surprise you...it might not. But his story and resulting ministry is very powerful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Unbelievably moving, well-written, well-researched, logical... b

    Unbelievably moving, well-written, well-researched, logical... basically perfect. Thank you, sir, for writing this. Thank you so much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Great book for all Christians!

    Loved the way it was written to the last word.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite Justin Lee has

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite

    Justin Lee has known God's love since childhood. He lives his Christianity and it is no secret that this is who he is. He felt the call of the Lord to work in His service and knew that was what he wanted to do with his life. He also knew he was gay, something he kept suppressed for a very long time. Torn: Rescuing the Gospel from the Gays-vs.-Christians Debate is Mr. Lee's story of coming out, struggling with where his beliefs could be found in the Bible, dealing with how people treated him, and how many perspectives there could be in one Body of Christ. Written with the tenderness of heartache and healing, this book helps the reader understand this controversial subject and how God sees it. 

    It had to take a lot of guts for Justin Lee to write Torn. Anybody who has been put in the awkward situation of one Christian denying another will know how deep from the heart this experience comes. This is a very controversial subject in the church but Justin doesn't make the reader feel like they are in some struggle between wrong or right. He has managed to write his experiences with brotherly love and a passion for God. This would make a great gift for family and friends who struggle with their own or loved ones' personal choices. Libraries would benefit in areas where struggling teens can access the book without worry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Lifechanging, Humbling look at Gay/Christian Debate

    This is a must read for all of us! Learning my grandson was gay, i immediately wanted to help "change" him and reassure him that we loved him despite his sin. As if i didn't have any of my own. I need to apologize ASAP!
    This book was easily readable, full of information from "the other side". We need to let these men and women TALK and then we need to LISTEN! READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1