BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Torn (Missing Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

very good read

The series is definitely a must read.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Powerful Agent

I Love the series-why do they insist on keeping us in suspense!!!!!!?Awesome.best author.ever.period.

posted by 16841879 on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Awesome

    Love these books, cant wait to read this one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    To Below

    The next part is at Caught by Margeret Peterson Haddix. It is not actually called book 5!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    To NRM

    So when are you posting phoniex calling?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    The Legend of Samuel Knight part 42

    Well it's 3 A.M. and I can't sleep, guess I'll post a part. Probably not my best idea. Anyway, next part at book 5. This part will be in Sam's p.o.v. Also if you haven't read every part yet go start at The Lightning Thief. MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD! On with the story! --- I woke up with a sharp pain in my stomach. Upon lifting my shirt I saw a long scar. Then, I remembered that I shielded Emily from that knife. I stood up and a spirit joined me in the room. It gestured for me to follow. I followed, and it led me into the throne room. All of my friends were in there, and seated on the throne was my father himself. "Well look who's awake, " Hades said. I approached the throne. "I suppose it's explanation time. So where do you want me to start?" "I want you to give Cary's sister back before anything." "Of course, just get her out of my city," I nodded in agreement. "Guards, fetch the girl. While they do that what are your other questions?" "Why did you never even bother to meet me?" He threw his head back and laughed. "So I never visited you did I?" Hades began to glow white. I turned away, and when I turned back standing before me was an old friend. My old teacher Mr. Hadworth. "This whole time you were Hadworth!" "Yeah, Gods aren't allowed to directly act with our children. It's a shame. I've always felt a connection with you. It hurt to leave you and your mother." That sentenced sparked another question. "Who is my mother?" He actually looked sad when I asked this question. "Your mother," Hades/Hadworth sighed. "She had a strong lineage of Roman blood, but she worshipped the Greeks more. I was just drawn to her. She made horrible choices after you were born though. Things I'd rather not discuss. Anyway, she died in a car accident, and her spirit was sent to the depths of Tartarus. I never learned her last name so you were given the name of where she was sent. The realm of Nyx, better known as Night. The mortals changed the spelling." My world was completely flipped. I was named after the goddess Night, my mother was dead, and in Tartarus none the less. "So," Julia chimed in. "That's why he can speak Greek and Latin." Hades nodded in agreement. "Any other questions?" "Last one, why me? You gave me your blessing, and saved my life on multiple occassions. Why?" "Like I said earlier, I felt connected to you. That's why I have an offer for you," He clapped and was holding two black swords. "I want you to stay here, and rule with me. Become a God, and rule by my side. What do you say?" The offer sounded tempting. Become an immortal God, and help rule the underworld. Then I looked at my friends, and thought about everything I'd been through on this journey. All the friendships I'd formed, the memories I'd made, the battles I'd one. Then I looked at Emily. I couldn't leave her. The choice was obvious. "Sorry, but I have to decline. I've got too much here to leave behind." Hades looked hurt. "I see, we'll if you change your mind the offers always available." Two sets of guards entered the room. "Lord Hades, we have the prisoner. She is coming upstairs now." The first set said. "The palace has been invaded by demigods Lord Hades!" The second set informed us. We all knew who it was. Marcus and his troops were nearby. We had to fight. Then it happened..... --- Well how was it? Get ready for action in the next part! - SK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm-14

    Hey guys! I hope you read the sneek peek and liked it. I'm working on a new story. I have the title! I just need characters! Thats where you guys come in! You can go to the calm before the storm res 2 for more info! Put the characters there also. That would be great! Next part will be at Among the Hidden: shadow children series #1! This part will be in Nicky's pov. ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• I never would've guessed that Merida would've wanted me on her quest. After that argument about my name, I knew she would never ask me to go. But I guess I was wrong. She got over it pretty fast. She is tough sport. Anyway, we were all hungry after two hours of walking.' We really need a source of transportation.', I thought,' This is never going to work'. Merida decided we all stop to make lunch." Austin, can you, please, go get me some food from the packs. I'm going to make sandwiches.", I asked Austin." Ugh! Fine!", he said. He walked off, in search of the packs. About five minutes later, Austin came back and said," Didn't we have two weeks worth of food?"" Yes.", Merida told him." Well we only have one weeks worth now! Someone is stealing our food.", Austin said. I looked at Austin, confused. I was going to figure out who took this food. And whoever did must have a big appetite." Would someone just get me some bread, already!", I yelled." Oh right! Sorry.", said Austin. He ran off again. Two minutes later, he came back with bread, ham, and cheese." Thanks!", I said." No prob. Actually, it was a prob, but whatever.", Austin said. He walked away to help the other boys set up the tents." He's a stinker, isn't he?", Merida asked." He sure is! Hey, Lauren! Can you help me and Merida make lunch!", I yelled over to Lauren." Sure!", she said, running over. She sat next to us and picked up some bread and cheese. All of a sudden, we heard a very faint CRASH in the bushes. I looked around and saw that none of the boys had heard. I grabbed my sword, so did Merida, and Lauren grabbed her dagger. We walked around looking for who made that sound. Finally, we found it. Or should I say them. They looked like minotaurs, but they weren't. They had a hunched back, a long nose like an ant eater, and they liked to eat some sort of plant, like a shrub. I stared at them in horror ( they were really scary, I'm serious) as a long tongue shot out of one of the minotaur things nose, or maybe on propose, and rapped around Merida's leg, hoisting her upside down. She kicked, screamed, and slashed, with her sword, at the minotaur, who held her. He looked at her and she paused. They both looked like they were having a staring contest. The minotaur breathed on Merida and she passed out. The one holding Merida ( he must've been the leader) threw Merida into a tree and commanded the other minotaurs to charge. The others ran at us with their battle axes ready ( yes, they had battle axes. The thing that confused me was that they pulled them out of nowhere. Ugh). Me and Lauren raised our weapons in defense. But the minotaurs just stopped and looked in our eyes. My world went dark. ••••••••••••••••••• NRM I hope you liked this part. This was your character. See ya'll later. SEA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    To SK

    What is book 5 ~ Jack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    To Sk

    Can you have a part that shows that greek, roman, and eygptian gods exist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Loved it

    #1 book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Horrible

    Begining was good but middle and end was boring. I love haddix books but this one was weaker than the other ones

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Good

    Sabotaged is betterbut still it great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Sounds amazing

    I just got done reading the sample and might buy it or go to the library to get it. The dample really left me on a 1,000 ft cliff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Jake Walton Part 15

    Hey guys! Sorry i havent posted sooner been really busy with homework. Question of the post: What is your favorite animal? My responses for the questions are... Song: Tons but if i had to choose it would be anything by Pitbull or Cant Hold Us by Mackelmore! Food: Strawberries and chocolate! Animal: Wolves all the way! Haha and thanks for all the comments! Next part at book 5!!!! --- We take one cautious step at a time. Careful where we step we see wildlife everywhere: scorpions, bugs, bunnies, rats, and even more. "Ewww...Ewww...Ewwwww!" I hear Sam say. "Ok," John finally speaks up. "This is just nasty. Let's find another way to Vegas. Also, its ridiculous we have to walk 20 miles. And its also ridiculous LA is 290 miles away from here.--" He goes on and on and on. While he is blabbing away, i tightly close my eyes and try to talk to my dad. "Hey dad." I say in my mind, even though it sounds ridiculous. "It's Jake. I need a favor of you. Can you by any chance get us a ride to Vegas?" I take off my spirit necklace. I open my eyes and look at the necklace. It was an indian spirit necklace i had ever since i was younger. It was made out of a soft fabric. There is a bag on the end. I open it and take out what is inside. Inside is powder. Healing power, i remember. I sprinkle some of the powder onto the sand. I close my eyes again and say in my mind, "Thank you for listening even if you dont grant my wish." I take a gulp. "I love you." I whisper aloud and not in my head. I open my eyes and see my three best friends staring at me. The ground a few feet from us erupts and sinks below the surface. A car appears out of the ground and the ground goes back to how it was. Everyone stares at the cr then back at me. "He actually listened." I say amazed. We all walk over to the car ad open the doors. It a 1990's nice Ferrari. I take the drivers seat and Sienna takes the passenger seat. John and Sam sit in the back. I open the mirror and find the car keys. I take them out and put them into the key hole. I twist the key to start the ignition. The car starts immediately. We all put on our seat belts and i start driving slowly. I've done this before, i tell myself, im 17, its ok. We get their in 30 minutes in the Las Vegas strip. "Lets go to a hotel." John suggests. "Good idea." I say. We drive around a little bit and find a hotel. The Lotus Casino it reads. We park our car and get out. We all walk in. We find a hotel room and come back downstairs. There is a whole theme park in the middle of the hotel. They give us complementary "Lotus flowers". We decide to take a bite. All of our eyes widen. "Lets stay here for a while." Sam says. Everyone agrees. After we are finsihed we go up to the hotel room and crash on the beds. Everyone falls asleep instantly. I keep hearing a voice in my head. "Get out Jake. Get out." I dont know wht it means so i sleep on it. As soon as my head hits the pillow i knock out cold. --- thks for reading guys. Comments at gods res. 2!!!! Next part at book 5!! •JW :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    To JW

    Cowboy pizza is pretty amazing. Buuuuuuut you cant go wrong with ceaser salad. - harley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    To jw

    Chicken alfredo!!- sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Awesome Book

    This is an amazing book. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Maddie morton

    This series is the best one that i've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Awesome book

    Margret haddix books is the best series of books I have ever
    read. This book series is for people like me that like mysteries
    books, this is the book for u. It is awesome.
    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    H

    H

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Qwrerty

    I read the seiries. Its G-R- Eate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11