Customer Reviews for

Torn (Billionaire Bachelors Club Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

SEXY, FAST, FUN - If you like quick reads, super sexy stories, a

SEXY, FAST, FUN - If you like quick reads, super sexy stories, and guys worth drooling over, you should definitely check this series out. I loved CRAVE and TORN was no exception. This is definitely different from Monica's New Adult series, but in the best way. It gets d...
SEXY, FAST, FUN - If you like quick reads, super sexy stories, and guys worth drooling over, you should definitely check this series out. I loved CRAVE and TORN was no exception. This is definitely different from Monica's New Adult series, but in the best way. It gets down and dirty - for real! I won't give anything away, but watching Marina and Gage spar (and then make up!!) is a whole lot of fun and a great way to spend your weekend. Give it a try!

posted by PubGirl on November 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I just didn't work for me. I like this author, and will probably

I just didn't work for me. I like this author, and will probably keep reading most of the stuff she writes.. but this one was not great. I just wanted more story. The characters start off fighting and hating each other, then 2 seconds later they tumble into sex? Then th...
I just didn't work for me. I like this author, and will probably keep reading most of the stuff she writes.. but this one was not great. I just wanted more story. The characters start off fighting and hating each other, then 2 seconds later they tumble into sex? Then the book glosses over a whole bunch of time, and they are living together? Where is the story? The conflict? The road they travel? Come on. I like the characters and the story line. I just expected more.

posted by karen309 on November 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 33 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    I am a HUGE believer that anything Monica Murphy writes is go



    I am a HUGE believer that anything Monica Murphy writes is gold. She keeps knocking out fantastic book after fantastic book. Torn is no different. In Crave Asher had my heart and I did not think it was possible for anyone of the other 2 to even come close but damn, Gage made it light up even more. Gage is sexy, giving, and wonderful.

    Gage has grown his bank account from real estate. He finds the right property and goes and does a buyout when the seller needs is. The one property he has been eyeing he can't seem to get the deal done,, much less meet with the owner. At a party one night he is enamored by Marina Knight, he soon realizes she is the daughter of the owner and his one way ticket to winning. Marina knows who Gage is and is determined to make him suffer. When these two get together they are combustible, absolutely HOT. They quickly fall in love with each other, but misunderstanding and not being able to trust the other fully their love quickly shatters, but Gage will not go down easily.

    WOW, Monica Murphy, thanks so much for giving us a character like Gage, he is flawed, but so loving and just wants to make Marina happy. Even when she hates him, he does all that he can to make her happy. SWOON!!!!

    This is a must read book, and series. You will love all of them. I can't wait to read Matt's story in Savor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've come to a conclusion. Ms. Monica Murphy cannot write a bad,

    I've come to a conclusion. Ms. Monica Murphy cannot write a bad, or even an okay book. Everything she has written I have loved! And Torn is definitely tied for first, along with One Week Girlfriend right now. Gage? One of my favorite heroes. And Marina? Such a tough on the outside, soft on the inside character. They are two a puzzles pieces that just fit together perfectly. Their relationship was a new experience for me and I loved every minute of it. Gage and Marina set out with opposite goals. He wants to buy the shopping center that her bakery is in, and she wants his connection to Archer Bancroft to help keep said bakery stay afloat. What neither one of them expected was to feel such a strong pull toward the other.

    "For once in my life, I want to leave myself vulnerable when it comes to a woman. But only for this woman. She has be so twisted up in knots I don't know if I'll ever be able to unravel them. I don't know if I want to wither."
    ~Gage

    Gage is a self-proclaimed bachelor for life, and is only looking for another temporary bedmate. Marina, can't be bothered with relationships when her business is barely keeping its doors open. But when they meet, all their rationale goes out the window. When they met in the first scene I think I was as captivated by their banter and attraction as they were by each other. But, the beautiful thing about their relationship is that going into it, they both knew the score. She knew he was after the shopping center, and he knew she was fighting to keep it open. It was a very "eyes wide open" scenario. And slowly Gage and Marina were both willing to give up what they wanted in exchange for a thriving relationship. These two have such warring personalities. Only because they're both so headstrong. At first, there was no give on either end. But, the more they got to know one another and fell for each other, the more they began to give instead of demand.

    "I wish we could go back to the car, where it's just the two of use. Wrapped up in our own little bubble, touching each other, kissing each other... Getting lost in one another."
    ~Marina

    Gage and Marina both evolved so much throughout the book. It became more about being selfless than selfish... unless they were in the bedroom. Then it was fair game for all. And I tell you, this book is HOT! There's a car scene, a bakery scene.... I mean, if everyone had such explosive chemistry as these two we'd all walk around giddy as hell 24/7. Fear not though, there is substance to this story as well. And it's not just a been there done that story, it is a well crafted, humorous and engaging book. I feel like I say this every time I review one of Ms. Murphy's books but, she has outdone herself once again and I cannot wait for Matt to meet his match in the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars  Marina Knight has graduated college and taken over ma

    3.5 Stars
     Marina Knight has graduated college and taken over managing the bakery, one of the businesses owned by her family.  Marina has never felt like her family took her seriously and really wants to do well, proving to her family that she indeed is the businesswoman that she desires to be.  After the economic crises hit, Marina's family took a big loss, and have had to sell off a good bit of personal property.  Unfortunately, one of the prime strips of real estate her family owns happens to include the bakery that Marina loves. The person who has been buying up prime real estate in the area and who wants the strip the bakery is in, is billionaire and business tycoon Gage Emerson.  Determined to protect her family and their assets, Marina embarks on a plan to put Gage Emerson in his place and save her family's business.  What she didn't expect was the way she would react to the just the site of Gage Emerson, and his touch, well, it just about did her in. 




    Gage Emerson is a commanding presence and when he walks into a room, he owns it.  He knows what he wants and he isn't afraid to go after it.  When he sees Marina, he is drawn to her, even though she isn't the typical type of woman he usually seeks out.  She's young, beautiful beyond reason, and carries herself in a way that has Gage wanting to consume her.  The chemistry between them is off the charts and they both can feel it.  This is confusing to both of them, and as strong as the chemistry is, so also is the angst and animosity between them.  Gage manages to offend Marina, and she quickly lets him know what she thinks of him.  When he figures out who she is, he attempts to apologize, and Gage and Marina find themselves in the throws of a passion so great it catches them both off guard.  Neither want a relationship, Marina has the business to think about and Gage has his plans, not to mention the "bet" he made with his friends Archer and Matt.  However,......the heart wants what the heart wants, and the physical attraction is like an all consuming fire, but business is business and sometimes even with the best intentions, things tend to turn around and bite you in the butt, no matter how hard you try.  Will love win or is the love of money to big an obstacle for these star-crossed lovers to overcome.




    I really enjoyed Torn.  The romance is hot and Gage Emerson brings the sizzle to the story for sure.  The book is a light, easy read that is entertaining, fast-paced, and has some really hot scenes that will get your blood pumping, while providing you with that guy that melts your heart and your panties in the process.  Torn is the second book in the Billionaire Bachelor Club Series.  I have not read the first book yet, but this didn't affect my enjoying Torn at all. and it can easily be read as a standalone.  That said however, I will be going back and reading Crave.   The main characters from Crave, Ivy and Archer, are also seen in Torn, and I definitely want to read their story, and Ivy is Gage's little sister while Archer is his best friend.  I enjoyed watching the relationship and the romance between Gage and Marina develop as the book progressed, and Monica Murphy definitely brought on the steam.  The ending was very good and left me feeling completely satisfied with where the story went.  If you are looking for a fun, hot contemporary romance, then Torn fits the bill.  I look forward to the next book in the series.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 33 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2