Customer Reviews for

Torn Away

Average Rating 3
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Great book

    This is a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    There are MUCH better books out there...

    At school we were forced to read this book, and I absolutely dreaded reading it. The plot was simple and predictable. The characters were unreal and hard to relate to. And the violence in the story is unsuitable for children under 13. I did not like this book at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    A Very Outgoing Boy

    The book I read was very adventurous, exciting, and suspenseful. Throughout the book I was on the edge of my seat always guessing what was going to happen next. It began with a boy named Declan experiencing the lost of his father, mother, and sister. Following this he was sent to live with his uncle. Once arriving he tried to escape, but was caught and was taken back to his uncle. When he returned his uncle made a promise that if he stayed till Christmas he would be free to go. In order to figure out if Declan stays or returns to his homeland, you will have to read the rest of the book. If you like to read at all you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    A realistic story

    To my mind the book is a realistic, interesting and dramatic story. The conflicts in Ireland are present authentically. I ate up that book, because the book is full of emotions and the problems, the author describes, aroused my interest in that Irish conflict.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    Nice book!

    'Torn away' is a nice book...its very simple to read. Some passages are a little bit boring but the most passages are very interesting and exciting! Its very funny if you try to identify yourself with the main charakter of the book called 'Declan'. The book is quite 'ok'.... greetings martin P.S. But it doesnt really rule!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    It was worth a try...

    We were forced to read this accumulation of paperbits in our English class. From the first sentence on I was disappointed by Declan's behaviour because of his immature nature. It is understandable that his mother's and sister's deaths made him confused and aiming to take revenge. But this cannot explain either why he isn't able to confide in anyone but reacts aggressively against people who love him, he is not the first one to have lost his parents... Perhaps we didn't appreciate the novel for its protagonist is a know-it-all kid who focuses on HIS problems to make himself interesting and to be noticed and admired for his particularity. Finally, the happy end is farly predictable and sucks so much that even if you liked the rest of the novel, you'll hate the book after it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    I wasn`t really torn away

    Torn away is the sad story of a young irish freedom fighter, who had lost his family in the bloody Northern Ireland conflict and who is therefore forced to live with his uncle Matthew and his family in Canada. He didn`t come to terms living in Canada, until he really notized what terrible events waited for him at home. In my opinion, the author could describe the very emotional feelings which Declan had, but it`s not easy to really feel what moved him, if you are not so involved in the Northern Ireland conflict. (Another reason for my 'misunderstanding' could be my miserable English skills).That is why you should read the book in your mother language as well, if you really want to get everything. To sum up: I´t`s a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    nice, but a rather 'teenage'- plot

    I was reading this book for my English class, and so it seemed to me: a typical reading list book: the teenage reader is meant to get a deeper insight on the conflict in Northern Ireland. This part worked out pretty good, but in my opinion the story lacks some kind of action on the one hand side and a more profound discussion and illustration of Declan's feelings on the other. In addition, I had the impression that this is a typical book for teenagers up to 14-15 years, the way the book was written. This is why I can only recommend 'Torn Away' as a source for better understanding of the Northern Ireland conflict, but not as a good novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    There have been better books!

    In school we were 'forced' to read this book for our English lessons. I read it completely and I have to admit that sometimes it has been attractive. The topic is quite interesting and you learn a lot about Northern Ireland and the youth's problems fighting for the opportunity to take revenge. But the book is written in a very simple way and the expressions of emotions are very neutral. It is a book you can read in class, but if you want to read it alone I can only tell you that you should order more attractive books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    A realistic story full of adventure...

    In my opinion the book 'Torn Away' from the author James Heneghan,who writes very realistic,explain the dramatic experiences of the young boy Declan whos family have been killed in the violence of Northern Ireland.This book is full of feelings and there is on the one side the harmful and peaceful Canada where the Doyles live and on the other side the dangerous fights in Northern Ireland where is Declan's home.Declan is in an inner conflict with himself and this the author presents very authenticly in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1