BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Torn from You

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

You know, I'll be honest. I really wasn't sure if this would be

You know, I'll be honest. I really wasn't sure if this would be a book I would love. I'm not too much into the "dark" sort of thing. Not that I like sunshine and rainbows. Well, yeah so maybe I do. Hey, whatever. At any rate, I wasn't too sure if this would be...
You know, I'll be honest. I really wasn't sure if this would be a book I would love. I'm not too much into the "dark" sort of thing. Not that I like sunshine and rainbows. Well, yeah so maybe I do. Hey, whatever. At any rate, I wasn't too sure if this would be the book for me going into it, but I couldn't put it down! There's different shifts in tone, light to dark then dark to light. It totally sucked me in. I HAD to know what was going to happen with the main characters. I had to know why Logan would do something so horrible to Emily. Why he wouldn't help her. Why? Why? I had to know. Ms. Rose definitely has a talent for hooking the reader, because that's exactly what I was the entire time. I didn't even care the book was written in first person. Another thing I tend to not really gravitate toward in books.

Speaking of first person, the deep point of view seen through Emily's eyes was great. You really got the full effect of all her emotions. Very well done in my opinion.

Now Logan...that dang Logan. I thought I was going to have to hate that dude until I read further. Then I was in fictional love with the man.

Heck, I'm even emotionally invested in the secondary characters. I'm not above admitting I might have contacted the author and begged for teasers for the next book in the series. Because I HAVE to know. I can not wait to read the next book in this series.

Overall, I thought this was a great book. It's well written and entertaining. Pretty much, I'm sold on this series. As long as the author writes it, I'll read it.

posted by Chitsuen on December 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Worst hero ever. EVER


## WORST. HERO. EVER.

I don't care who his guy is (the devil himself?), there is NO WAY any woman would get back together with a man who not only delivered her to sex traffickers but stood by and watched her get whipped, water boarded, starved and sexually assaulted a...

## WORST. HERO. EVER.

I don't care who his guy is (the devil himself?), there is NO WAY any woman would get back together with a man who not only delivered her to sex traffickers but stood by and watched her get whipped, water boarded, starved and sexually assaulted and did nothing to stop it. He even walked away when they put a gun to her head. He treats her worse than dirt, makes her his sex slave and to top it off mentally abuses her as well. And we are to believe that while in captivity she still desires him? Ugh.

Then he has the audacity to show up two years later: "I did it to protect you", "I love you, baby". Are you freaking kidding me ?? He should've broken cover much sooner or not even delivered her in the first place. Just because he had a shi*ty childhood we're supposed to forget these heinous acts and humiliation he put the heroine through? Uh, hell no.

I would've killed this guy if I'd ever seen him again. Literally killed him. DEAD. By any means necessary.

Omg, these reviews are ridiculous. The heroine is TSTL and the guy is absolutely no hero. This book is in no way romantic.

posted by 9394860 on February 27, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    You know, I'll be honest. I really wasn't sure if this would be

    You know, I'll be honest. I really wasn't sure if this would be a book I would love. I'm not too much into the "dark" sort of thing. Not that I like sunshine and rainbows. Well, yeah so maybe I do. Hey, whatever. At any rate, I wasn't too sure if this would be the book for me going into it, but I couldn't put it down! There's different shifts in tone, light to dark then dark to light. It totally sucked me in. I HAD to know what was going to happen with the main characters. I had to know why Logan would do something so horrible to Emily. Why he wouldn't help her. Why? Why? I had to know. Ms. Rose definitely has a talent for hooking the reader, because that's exactly what I was the entire time. I didn't even care the book was written in first person. Another thing I tend to not really gravitate toward in books.

    Speaking of first person, the deep point of view seen through Emily's eyes was great. You really got the full effect of all her emotions. Very well done in my opinion.

    Now Logan...that dang Logan. I thought I was going to have to hate that dude until I read further. Then I was in fictional love with the man.

    Heck, I'm even emotionally invested in the secondary characters. I'm not above admitting I might have contacted the author and begged for teasers for the next book in the series. Because I HAVE to know. I can not wait to read the next book in this series.

    Overall, I thought this was a great book. It's well written and entertaining. Pretty much, I'm sold on this series. As long as the author writes it, I'll read it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ¿You need to fear me, not hate me." This book deserves a


    “You need to fear me, not hate me."

    This book deserves a fabulous review but I just can't write one. Anything I try to write will fail to convey how much I loved not only this story but the journey these two characters travel together. It's difficult to say anything without giving something away and Torn from You is the type of book where the ultimate beauty of the story is in the discovery.

    Here is what I will say: I've read over 300 books in 2013 and Torn from You is one of the top ten books I've read for the year. From start to finish, this book was AMAZING! It had a story line I didn't see coming, solid writing, and a romance that captured me from the beginning. It's shocking, unexpected, sexy...

    There is something in this book for everyone.

    Hot sex? Check! Underground Fighter? Check! Does he ride a bike? Check! Musician/Rocker? Check! Dominating/Alpha Hero? Check! Dark/ Edgy? Check! A supporting cast of characters that you can't wait to read more of? Check! Check! Check!

    I should admit, I normally don't read many books with dark story lines. I'm a little bit of a wimp. I've read a handful but I normally get sweaty palms and start cringing if things get too "dark". That being said, I have no idea what in the world made me pick up this book after reading the blurb. I think it was these two lines

    "When I heard Sculpt's voice, I thought he was there to save me.

    I was wrong."

    I mean, that sounds like a total mind ____ and it totally was! But page after page I kept reading. I had to find out...why? At 4AM I was still up. Where in the heck was this going? How would this end? I had no idea how the author could get from point A to point B...at what point do you give up on redemption and realize all is lost?

    "I can't erase you. I tried, but I can't."

    "You can't erase what's engraved."

    I strongly recommend reading the very short novella, With You, before you read this book. The novella provides the background of the two main characters and describes how they met and how their relationship develops. I can see why the author says it's not necessary, but I thinks it sets up the whole story line for Torn from You and is a must read. The novella aside, Torn from You is a stand-alone novel. Overwhelmed for You will be the second book in the Tear Asunder series and is scheduled for release sometime in 2014. Overwhelmed for You will be Reams story and I cannot wait to get my hands on it. Going to the very top of my MUST READ IMMEDIATELY list!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! I LOVED THE STORY! FIVE FREAKING AMAZING STARS!!

    Nashoda Rose: Yesterday I didn't know who you were. Last night I picked up your book and you proceeded to ROCK MY FREAKING WORLD! I mean seriously, LOVED this book! LOVED these characters! I am delirious with love for you!

    Thanks to Netgalley and the author for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    Review (this is really a review of  Book One and Book 0.5 I read

    Review
    (this is really a review of  Book One and Book 0.5 I read them one after the other)
    4.75 Stars




    Wow this was one Eff'ed up book. Talk about an emotional roller coaster. What Emily went through was horrific not just because of the actual acts but the betrayal BROKE HER.  There is so much I could tell you about Torn From you, but if I did I would be taking a lot of the ummph out of you discovering the many facets that are Torn from You. Unthinkable circumstances, and all the while I was BEGGING to be let into Sculpts head, I had no idea what the EFF was going to happen. That is not something that happens very often to me. What I can and will tell you if you enjoyed books like Captive in the Dark and Consequences or Tears of Tess then I don't see you NOT enjoying Torn from You, NOW those of you who have yet to give books like these a try I would say to start with this one it gives you just enough of everything that it would be a good one to start with. 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    I hate it when people give away everything there is to know abou

    I hate it when people give away everything there is to know about a book, especially a pivotal part of book like a major twist.  That happened to me with this book, so I won't do that in this review.  I will just tell you that this is an amazing book from an up and coming writer.  I can't wait to read more books by her.  The story line was original and the characters were real in their emotions and flaws.  It is dark and does deal with some deep issues.  I will tell you that when you get to these parts to just push through and you will be rewarded.  I liked that this book has no cliffhanger.  It is going to be part of a series, but if you are ones of those readers who like just novels, not sets of books then you can get by with just reading this book.  Everything is solved with these characters in this book.  I hope you choose to give this book a chance, because you will be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Wow! Awsome book.

    This book has every thing i look for in a romance book. Sexy take control alfa male, love that can beat all odds and hot steamy ramance. All rapped up in a very well writen story. What made this book even better was the dark edgy plot that made this book so much more interesting then the books i usually read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    !

    So good. Read this book in one day. Best to read With You first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    :)

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    I can't lie. There are parts of this book that are dark and har

    I can't lie. There are parts of this book that are dark and hard to read. No one likes to think that things like this go on in the world. The book is exciting though and once you start it, you won't be able to stop. Give it a shot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Simple review

    I'm usually much more descriptive but all I can say is this book is really doggone good. It was more suspense than I ever expected in a romance novel. And I know I've read other posts before how characters feel real and they leap of the page. This is the first time I've experienced that to the point when I was yelling at them out loud..:-) The hubby thought I was losing it.
    You won't be disappointed..... buy the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Loved it!

    I'm not usually a reader of darker romances but this book wow'd me! I was struck right from the beginning with the intensity. I can't wait to read more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Fabulous Story

    I first read the novella that introduced me to Emily & Sculpt. I loved it which surprised me since I loath tattoos. The novella and the author's excellent writing style, prompted me to purchase "Torn From You". Now I'm looking forward to buying the 2nd novel in this amazing series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Awesome

    Can't wait for next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Loved it!!

    I loved this book it was such an emotional roller coaster! I could now put it down! So good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    This series should have been one book...but I could not quit reading

    This series should have been one book. With that being said the series is a story that will stick with you for days after reading it. This is not your soft sweet love story. It is a very dark twisted toxic love story. I could not put these books down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Remarkable!

    One of the very best books I've ever read (and I've read a lot)! I am waiting with baited breath for Nashoda's next book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    LOVE LOVE LOVE

    just when you think you, have it figured out ... another twist... what a wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Sexy and Emotional

    I loved the story. Looking forward to more from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Wow

    OMG!!!!!!!! These first 2 books were awesome.....pretty dark read but above that this was a true love story.....can't wait for all the other couples stories to come.....Loved it!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Anonymous

    Glad I read "With You" first. Liked this alot. Could not put this down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Good Read

    Good read,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5