Customer Reviews for

Torrent

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A great urban fantasy adventure

Lindsay Buroker strikes again with another great story. Del, Simon, and Temi are realistic characters with interesting, believable relationships dropped into a fantastic situation. This is an exciting, fast-pacee story that was hard to out down. Highly recommended for...
Lindsay Buroker strikes again with another great story. Del, Simon, and Temi are realistic characters with interesting, believable relationships dropped into a fantastic situation. This is an exciting, fast-pacee story that was hard to out down. Highly recommended for lovers of urban fantasy, or anyone that likes a good story.

posted by 17570771 on September 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hmmm

I am a huge fan of the author and have read all of her books. I'm just not sure about this new series. The intro book just didn,t grab me like the EE books did and I didn't feel as invested in the characters. And the humour, while similar to EE, just didn't seem to f...
I am a huge fan of the author and have read all of her books. I'm just not sure about this new series. The intro book just didn,t grab me like the EE books did and I didn't feel as invested in the characters. And the humour, while similar to EE, just didn't seem to flow as smoothly, and came across as a little silly and forced. Maybe because there was no dour Sicarius foil for it to play against.

Don't get me wrong, it was a good read, and I'm still a fan, but it just fell a little flat for me this go around.

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Good change in writing from steampunk.

    I was hooked on Lindsey's emperor edge and flash gold series. Torrent was a slow start but enjoyable read. Not as fast action as the others but as the plot thickens and things started to move. Was surprised a thrilled that the heroine was not the main character. I am hoping on and waiting for the next book in hopefully a new series by Londsey. Buroker.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    Excellant Urban Fantasy. Can't wait for the next in the series.

    Excellant Urban Fantasy. Can't wait for the next in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Torrent is a brand new direction for Lindsay Buroker. Taking us

    Torrent is a brand new direction for Lindsay Buroker. Taking us out of the past to the present, we now are following two young people, an archaeologist and computer geek, making their way as an antiquity dealer with their start up company Rust and Relics.

    Delia is a strong Greek young woman, who had delusions of Indiana Jones type adventures...only to find archaeology is a lot less glamorous than she believed. She is a vibrant, whip wielding character that reins in some of the impulsive tendencies of her partner Simon.

    Simon is a highly intelligent programming geek, app maker/gamer who has a tendencies to leap before he looks. He is working on a program to map out potential archaeological sights. Sweet and impulsive, Simon and Delia play off each others personalities really well.

    Then Temi busts into the mix. Temi was a world famous tennis star until a tragic accident destroyed her leg. Searching for something to do with her life, she decides that she wants the excitement of Delia's work and comes to the mountains of Arizona to ask Delia for a job. There is a childhood history between Delia and Temi. Simon is enamored by Temi and instantly wants her to offer her a partnership in Rust and Relics.

    As with all new plots, the back ground story did slightly slow down the pace but the witty repertoire keeps you invested till the end. 

    I am highly anticipating another adventure with Delia, Simon and Temi. I would also love more interaction between our core Rust and Relics group and Jakatra, Eleriss and Alektryon (especially Alektryon, I want to know more about Alektryon). I did see hints of those mastermind convoluted plans that we've come to love from Buroker and hope to see more of them as well.

    This is a break from the familiar steampunk adventures of the Emperor's Edge, bringing us into a marvelous modern day adventure. Gruesome murders, a strange creature, beautiful but lethal looking motorcycle riding hunks (Vulcans??? Elves???), and Star Trek obsessed geekiness accents a brilliantly original new storyline. Don't miss Lindsay Buroker's debut book in the Rust and Relics series.

    Written by: Lindsay Buroker
    Series: Rust and Relics
    Sequence in Series: 1
    Print Length: 251 pages
    Rating: 4 Stars
    Genre: Science Fiction
    Age Recommendation: Teen +

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    A new style...

    But I greatly enjoyed it. I'm excited to see where Del, Temi,and Simon go from here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2015

    I loved the first installment! I can't wait to get my hands on t

    I loved the first installment! I can't wait to get my hands on the novella and the next book! Just another example of how great Ms. Buroker is!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Exciting SF/F

    I purchased Buroker's "Torrent" as part of the Nine By Night ebook bundle. I thoroughly enjoyed it. :) Delia, Temi, and Simon are great characters. There are some great action sequences, and lots of humor. I will definitely be purchasing the next book in the series -- if only to learn more about the mysterious Eleriss and Jakatra.

    Highly recommended to fans of Indiana Jones and Lara Croft, as well as Lisa Shearin and Seanan McGuire. -- lyradora

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Another fun series

    I wondered how I would like a departure into a more modern setting. Kudos for keeping me guessing. With relatable characters and a new take on implementing fantasy into today I now have another of this lady's series ill be waiting on the next title of. Im sure my wife and sons will enjoy this as we have Emporers Edge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1