Customer Reviews for

Tortured for Christ

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Tortured for Christ

This book is basically an autobiography by a man who lived in Rumania during the time when the Communists took over the country. He had recently come to Christ, and was preaching at the time. As you may know, the Communists did not approve of religion of any sort. Th...
This book is basically an autobiography by a man who lived in Rumania during the time when the Communists took over the country. He had recently come to Christ, and was preaching at the time. As you may know, the Communists did not approve of religion of any sort. They told him to stop preaching the gospel, but he refused. For this, he was thrown into prison and brutally tortured, yet he held strong to God. I, for the most part, enjoyed this book. However, there are things that some readers might question. I will be frank: some passages may seem 'preachy' to a non-Christian reader. Keep in mind that the writer was trying to spread the gospel. Do not be offended; offence was not his intent. At that time, many Western Churches were, essentially, looking the other way from the struggles of these oppressed peoples, and it may seem as if Wurmbrand comes down on the Western churches. But one must understand that he was trying to promote change; to get people to see the injustice. I liked this book, and I would hope that someone else would enjoy it as well, so I warn people who read this book to remember the context. Thank you.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good book for a dollar

One the one hand to read into a part of history that most americans know little about makes this a good read about Pastor Wurmbrand, the torture he went through was horrible & I won't make light of it. But on the other hand it wasn't very detailed & at times some of the...
One the one hand to read into a part of history that most americans know little about makes this a good read about Pastor Wurmbrand, the torture he went through was horrible & I won't make light of it. But on the other hand it wasn't very detailed & at times some of the things he had describe were on the vague side. I can't complain the eBook cost a dollar & it was a short read, it took about one week to read through it. I was still curious after reading the book so I found more info on-line about the life of this dear pastor & there was even a Facebook page of the pastor & there were some color pictures of the places the pastor talked about in the book which helped me understand his story better.

posted by phalcon87 on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Tortured for Christ

    This book is basically an autobiography by a man who lived in Rumania during the time when the Communists took over the country. He had recently come to Christ, and was preaching at the time. As you may know, the Communists did not approve of religion of any sort. They told him to stop preaching the gospel, but he refused. For this, he was thrown into prison and brutally tortured, yet he held strong to God. I, for the most part, enjoyed this book. However, there are things that some readers might question. I will be frank: some passages may seem 'preachy' to a non-Christian reader. Keep in mind that the writer was trying to spread the gospel. Do not be offended; offence was not his intent. At that time, many Western Churches were, essentially, looking the other way from the struggles of these oppressed peoples, and it may seem as if Wurmbrand comes down on the Western churches. But one must understand that he was trying to promote change; to get people to see the injustice. I liked this book, and I would hope that someone else would enjoy it as well, so I warn people who read this book to remember the context. Thank you.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Eye Opener

    Tortured for Christ is not just a book for Christians. It is a great historical reference, written by a Jewish man R. Wurmbrand. He tells a story that never hit main stream news do to political interference. One will discover a whole chunk of history they never read in their text books in school.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Thought Provoking

    Those written about put "prosperity gospel" believers to shame. This is a must-read for those wanting to delve deeper into living for Christ. I am humbled.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    Tortured for Christ

    This book is awsome and sad. I have cried reading this book. This book open your eyes to what is really going on in other countries concerning christianity and the people that are on the battlefield for the Lord that's dieing and being tortured for Christ sakes but they still have joy it is amazing. It has taught me of God's love for people that hurt us and has given me a heart for jews.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book for a dollar

    One the one hand to read into a part of history that most americans know little about makes this a good read about Pastor Wurmbrand, the torture he went through was horrible & I won't make light of it. But on the other hand it wasn't very detailed & at times some of the things he had describe were on the vague side. I can't complain the eBook cost a dollar & it was a short read, it took about one week to read through it. I was still curious after reading the book so I found more info on-line about the life of this dear pastor & there was even a Facebook page of the pastor & there were some color pictures of the places the pastor talked about in the book which helped me understand his story better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    Excellent! A must-read for all Christians!

    Rev. Richard Wurmbrand's biography is a stirring challenge for American Christians to open their eyes to the reality of suffering experienced by persecuted Christians overseas. As one who was brutally tortured in prison solely for his Christian faith, Rev. Wurmbrand has earned the respect to be heard. After his release from prision, he eventually founded 'The Voice of the Martyrs,' a non-profit Christian organization devoted to informing the world about the existence of religious persecution & to supporting the persecuted believers & their families. He has testified before Congress, while revealing the physical scars of his body, regarding the existence of religious persecution by certain totalitarian governments. Rev. Wurmbrand encourages the Christian Church not to forget our fellow persecuted believers, but to support them with prayer, practical material needs, & Bibles. This book is obviously written for the Christian audience but human rights advocates will find this book relevant for our times. Times that include the Afghan Christian, Mr. Rahman, with similar threats of death & abuse due to one's Christian beliefs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Very Good but a bit out of date in that it is nearly 50 years old

    Good for those interested in the history of religious problems during the time of Communism at it worst in Europe.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    You need to read this book.

    Wonderful compelling book on standing for Christ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Inspiring

    This is an excellant book!! Very inspiring and makes you want to help in someway The forgiveness shown by the persecuted Christians is amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Fantastic in print!

    This book has been used in places where persecution was coming in order to prepare the people. Wurrmband went through it all. Only sometimes, these books have printing errors online...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Elders den

    Elders den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    The author does do a good job at times of refocusing us on thing

    The author does do a good job at times of refocusing us on things that are truly important. He speaks of being tortured for years and praying and loving his torturers and speaking to them about Christ in hopes that they might come to know Jesus. He says that we are to love the sinner but hate the evil.

    On page 51 the author says: "The value of Bibles smuggled in by these men cannot be understood by an American or an English Christian who `swims' in Bibles." That truly is something to ponder. We live in a place that has an abundance of Bibles and many people own more than one and yet we tend to be illiterate when it comes to the Bible. So he does make good points and has given me a lot to think about.

    You really will do well to read this book and perhaps make it a habit to read even once a year a book on martyred Christians to help keep in perspective what is really important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    highly recommended!

    Unbelievable what is happening to Christians!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2