Customer Reviews for

Total Control

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Spectacular

    A riveting story with a plot that kept changing directions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Annabeth

    The story line is good, however, there are many errors, both grammatical and spelling. The transformers thing is cool, but you can't use the term 'autobots' or 'decepticons' or the name 'megatron' because they are copyrighted. Keep going with the story, it could really go somewhere.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Ava

    I love to write and do it frequently. I think your story had promise. It was very unique. But in every great story there are errors. Grammer needs a little work and instead of telling us what things meant after your story, tell us in your story. Dont put it clear but try putting it in subtly. You dont have to put it when you first start but if you wait too long then you will loose the readers grasp. I think you should try doing more or maybe even try a different style of writing. Good job And good luck!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Chapter 1 The Fight For Life

    We found them . They were all right for the moment. The sparklings had a few scrapes and small cuts but nothing bad. I heard a blast coming. I pushed the sparkling infront of me down as i took the full blast to my side. It was painful to move as i got up. I winced slightly from the movement. "Go"! I shouted to them . We started running to get the sparklings away from the decepticons. My side was killing me as i held my side. Vengence looked at me with worried optics. I just looked down and kept running on. " Alpha team push it to the max we gottaget theys sparklings outta of here." I shouted. I heard them closing in. They were coming quicker. The leaking energon in my side was slowing down Alpha team I knew it. "Vengence get them outta of here now! "I shouted to him. "Silentecho come on you can make it another thousand clips and we will be safe. " We wont make it Vengence im slowing you down get them out of sector 4 now!" He gave a sarrow filled look. "You better get back Echo. You better. Alpha team push hard. Commander Silentecho will slow them down." He shouted at them. I watched with a distant look of regreat. I turned after the figures of my team left. I pulled out my two battle blades. My helmet snapped shut. Red optics shined brightly as I saw the first of decepticons. Megatron was in lead. LongHaul and Misfire were the two who follow behind him. "Aww its the Femme officer. What a lovely surprise" Megatron gave a purr in scratchy sinister voice. "Megatron " I snarled. The cannon on my back fired at LongHaul instint statis lock when a blast hit his spark chamber. Misfire was easier. A simple shot to the shoulder joint and to the pelvis joint easyly made him unmoveable. I turned my optics the the decepticon leader infront of me. "Little Femme your not going to best me." "Then i'll die trying ." I growled before charging at him. My sharp stab to his gut was stoped by his jagged sword. I brought my leg up and kicked him back. Being so much smaller then him he barely moved back 5 steps. We both circled each other. Then he charged sweeping my legs from underneath me. His jagged sword was underneath my helmet just by my voice box. With a good angle he could kill me. I brought my palm up and shoved his sword up after i got up. I was picked up by the neck and slammed into the wall. I was struggling to move. My feet no longer touched the floor as he lifted me up from the floor. "Let me go". I coughed. His evil red optics glowed. I had been able to give him a long scar down his face where enegon dripped. "Your a feisty Femme. Now lets see whats under the helmet." My helmet was ripped off of my face. My blue optics glared back at him. "Silentecho Commader of Alpha team". He growled. "We will get good information on the Autobots now. " I spat energon in his face. "Ill never betray the Autobots you scarp metal." I growled at him. He wipped the energon off with a snarl." You will learn your place Femme." That earned me another slam into the wall. He tightened his grip on my neck squeezeing harder. "Ill never tell you" I struggled out as black dots danced across my vision. "But you will ". He purred before he tightened his grip and my vision went black. The last thought on my mind was -Im sorry Vengence take care my brother. - (Femme is girl. Optics are eyes. Sparklings are like kids. Please give me good advice and tell me if i should continue or not.)

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Nightbird

    Cool! Plz do continue!! XD

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Wont to play a game

    Find the Q
    OoOooOoooOOOOOooooooooooooOoooooOooOOOooOoOoOOoOOooOOOoQOOoooOoOoOooOoOoOOoooOOOOoooOOOooOoOOOooOoOOoooOOOOOooO

    0 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Great Book

    Well written, suspenseful book. Keeps you involved, can't wait to see what twists and turns the writer will take you down next. Wello worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Highly recommend book

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspenceful

    I must admit keeping all the characters straight got to be a challenging, ad the main characters were a little too fantastic. The FBI agents gift of guessing and the wife's unyielding luck against trained killers made me say ummm. All in all the author is truly talented and I found this reading adventure suspenceful....go for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting - it will keep you guessing!

    This is only the 2nd novel by David Baldacci that I have read. I enjoyed Absolute Power so much that I decided to read more by this author. This book kept my interest and kept me guessing. It's very suspenseful and exciting. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Recommended, but with some reservation

    This is a rattling good read for anyone interested primarily in entertainment and not overly concerned if plausibility is at times stretched rather too close to the limit. The narrative moves sometimes at almost breath-taking pace, with crisis building upon crisis, a main character endowed with something close to super-hero abilities and intellect and an assortment of villains whose capacity for wickedness is ... well, classic Baldacci. The plot has so many twists and turns and becomes so complicated that one cannot help but wonder how it will all be resolved; except, in the end, that it all falls into place quite logically, which says much for the author's obviously inherent inventiveness. Through it all, of course, we know that all will turn out well in the end. But the ending is well spiced with some engaging surprises of the "twist-in-the-tail" kind and this reader at least was gratified in as much as the denouement did not leave him with an "Ah, how sweet!" taste in his mouth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    BOOK REVIEW - TOTAL CONTROL

    After Baldacci's breakthrough first novel spiraled to the bestseller lists you may have thought a follow up wouldn't stand up with fans. Thank god that wasn't the case. Total Control is a riveting and pulse-pounding thriller with a speed to rival James Patterson. This book fits anyone's needs: beach book, airplane read, rainy Sunday thrill - you name it! Baldacci has gone on to write 20 thrilling novels of intrigue and espionage, and he has nailed the #1 spot on every one... know why?? They are fantastic and Total Control is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    Cleverly written but a tad to much?

    My third book from Baldacci and it was quite the novel. The book is cleverly written but just a little overboard on the heroics of the main character. Sidney - the dainty housewife, mother and part time attorney who doubles as Rambo is a little to much for me to grasp. I believe alot of the scenarios in the book while plausible are a bit to over the top. She is fearless. The other problem with the book I had is. It is just to long. This is a constant issue with many other Baldacci fans - He overwrites. This book definitely has that problem. The paperback was at 700 pages. I would say 100-150 pages of useless banter under the delete key would have made this a better book. I still think he is a great writer. I have decided to read a few more of his since he is quite good at what he does. I can get past the over writing issue I just hope the next book I read the main character is not a super hero like Sidney. If you are looking for a talented writer in this genre you may not need not look any further. He will fit the bill. I have recommended him to several folks and they are all impressed for the most part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    Was pretty good

    The book was filled with twists. A good plot with many sub plots, typical Baldacci. However the ending left me a bit bitter. The ending could have been so much better. I also think the books main character was a bit to bold. She was to strong of a character regardless of the situations she faced in the book. Baldacci's other works are bit better in this regard thankfully. Good stuff except the last 100 pages or so

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Too complicated

    Total Control is not the edge of your seat page turner that Absolute Power is. The ending is too far fetched. Even after reading the end twice, I'm not sure who did what to whom and why. Sydney is a female Rambo but not a very convincing one. Pass on this one unless you have a long plane flight and you picked up the paperback at a discount.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    Extremely Outstanding !!

    I am an avid reader -- Total Control was truly an edge of your seat book AND although it was offering a lot of characters you had to tie together -- it was well done and easy to follow. One reviewer said it was a little un-realistic -- which I believe can be said of MOST fiction with a 'hero' or 'heroine' !! I think Baldacci is RIGHT UP THERE with the other greats -- with possibly the exception of Sidney Sheldon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2006

    Great, edge-of-your-seat thrill ride

    Fast-paced page turner. While some of it was a little far-fetched, this IS a fictional thriller. Of Baldacci's books, I've read this and Last Man Standing. I enjoyed this book thoroughly - Last Man Standing had a very disappointing climax. Definitely a Baldacci fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2004

    The Worst of Five

    Having read and thoroughly enjoyed 5 of Baldacci's books, this one was very disappointing. Sidney was just too strong and fearless to be true. Her taking on such mercenaries almost singlehandedly just seems very implausable. Also, the New England descriptions and geography were inaccurate. Portsmouth is in New Hampshire, not Maine. The city does border, Maine, however. Also, being a native Mainer, I can tell you the entire state does not shut down during a snowstorm. The conclusion was unrealistic. Too many involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    SWG 1997 Gold Medal Award Winner

    Total Control by David Baldacci won the 1997 GOLD MEDAL AWARD for BEST MYSTERY/THRILLER from the Southern Writers Guild.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    Just had to keep reading.

    I saw my sister reading Total Control that I just had to find out what she reads. I bought it and I could not put it down. Day by day as I read my co-workers had to know what was happening. Great book. Must read the winner now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8