Customer Reviews for

The Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness

Average Rating 4
( 338 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

A Workable Plan

What I liked best about this book is that it doesn't just rattle off a bunch of things that we should be doing - saving for retirement, paying off credit cards, investing - we already knew what we SHOULD be doing. This book gives you a gameplan and tells you what you s...
What I liked best about this book is that it doesn't just rattle off a bunch of things that we should be doing - saving for retirement, paying off credit cards, investing - we already knew what we SHOULD be doing. This book gives you a gameplan and tells you what you should do first and why. For instance, my husband and I want to buy our first home, and we wanted to know if we should pay off our student loans first, or save up for a big down payment. The book prioritizes those types of things. It's easy to read, and it makes perfect sense. Dave tells you how everyone, no matter how bad the debt situation, can get out of debt effectively and move towards building wealth.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Weak book

If one can follow Ramsey's advice they will certainly get out of debt and do well financially. The problem is that it takes a great deal of personal responsibility to do so. Ramsey argues that credit cards are bad because most people cannot avoid carrying a balance. ...
If one can follow Ramsey's advice they will certainly get out of debt and do well financially. The problem is that it takes a great deal of personal responsibility to do so. Ramsey argues that credit cards are bad because most people cannot avoid carrying a balance. Those same people are those that cannot stick to a budget. If you can follow his advice, you can also manage a credit card. The key is to pay it off every month. Dave does not seem to think his readers can handle that, but they can handle being on a very strict budget for years. Most of the book is cheerleading for itself. The tenets could be written in a paragraph. They will work, but save yourself the money and you will be 15 bucks ahead on your way to financial freedom.

posted by 891769 on January 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 340 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    A Workable Plan

    What I liked best about this book is that it doesn't just rattle off a bunch of things that we should be doing - saving for retirement, paying off credit cards, investing - we already knew what we SHOULD be doing. This book gives you a gameplan and tells you what you should do first and why. For instance, my husband and I want to buy our first home, and we wanted to know if we should pay off our student loans first, or save up for a big down payment. The book prioritizes those types of things. It's easy to read, and it makes perfect sense. Dave tells you how everyone, no matter how bad the debt situation, can get out of debt effectively and move towards building wealth.

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    Weak book

    If one can follow Ramsey's advice they will certainly get out of debt and do well financially. The problem is that it takes a great deal of personal responsibility to do so. Ramsey argues that credit cards are bad because most people cannot avoid carrying a balance. Those same people are those that cannot stick to a budget. If you can follow his advice, you can also manage a credit card. The key is to pay it off every month. Dave does not seem to think his readers can handle that, but they can handle being on a very strict budget for years. Most of the book is cheerleading for itself. The tenets could be written in a paragraph. They will work, but save yourself the money and you will be 15 bucks ahead on your way to financial freedom.

    14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2004

    Not Exhastive

    I'm facing bankruptcy. This book has lots of scenarios, most very general, and useless to my financial situation. I'm one of the millions working poor buying books to support multi-million dollar authors and this habit has become a financial burden. This is one that will go back to the stores. For those facing hard financial choices highly recommend Surviving Financial Disasters (for the cut throat truth about a way out), The Autmatic Millions (for hope) and The richest man in Babylon (for a good read).

    13 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Easy-to-follow directions

    I purchased this to try to make sense out of some pretty deep debt (80k). Paying minimum payments on each card would have me dying before paying everything off. Using Dave Ramsey's snowball method, I've calculated that I can be debt free in February 2011. This has certainly given me a new "lease on life" and I do not feel the weight of the world on my shoulders. It is simple, straight forward, and does not require that you eat rice and beans for eternity. The tables are simple and easy to understand. The only down side to the book is that there is a bit too much fluff.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Do You Want To Change Your Financial Life Or Not

    Dave Ramsey is a nationally syndicated radio and television host, husband, father, teacher, Christian, and so much more. In the Total Money Make Over, you will learn everything you need to know about getting control of your money, get out of debt, what to do with all the leftover money, and love the people around you. THIS IS HARDCORE TEACHING! SO BE PREPAIRED TO LOOK IN THE MIRROR AND GET FIRED UP!!! If you follow his teaching and principles you will understand that money good or bad is just the tip of the iceberg. As my personal coaches (Mike & Lisa - the couple that gave me this book) keep saying to me, "GOD's economy or man's economy?" It is an understatement to say that this book has revolutionized my existences.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Things I wish I knew 20 years ago

    If you don't have the money to pay for something, then don't buy it. Sounds simple but how many of us really live this way. Credit cards when not used wisley can lead to personal financial crisis. Until I read this book, I thought I'd be paying off debt for the rest of my life. It wasn't until I read this book that I truly understood that I would have to change the way I live and view money before I could start climbing out of debt.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    Ramsey's Simple Approach Is Brilliant

    I purchased this book several years ago. What an immediate impact it made on me however, after several months 'eerrr, okay, years' of coaxing my wife, she is finally on board. The results are astounding. We have paid off over $100,000 in non-secured debt and are well on our way to being debt free including our $250,000 home. Dave, your consistency in delivering a strong message about debt is appreciated.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Amazing !!!

    Loved this book and it inspired me to get going with a debt free plan!!! We do not need government bailout/stimulus....we need to help ourselves and be responsible for our lives and finances!!! Great Book, I'm on Baby Step 2, right now and I can't wait for the Debt Free end result. This book will change the way you do things and it will change the way you think.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    Take our money back!

    Love Dave Ramsey. I listen to him on the radio and decided to read his book. I thought that I would fall asleep reading a financial book but what it did was wake me up. I read this book from cover to cover in a day and now our family is on Step 2. Thanks Dave Ramsey! I 'm telling everyone I know about your book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Excellent Read/Good & Helpful Information

    This book was VERY helpful and easy to understand. It definitely motivated me to move forward with the plan he explained!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    This book smacks you right between the eyes!

    For anyone who has listened to Dave Ramsey on the radio or in person this book may not teach you anything he hasn't already told you. However it's nice to have it all in one place for you to look up any time. For anyone who has debt and has no idea who Dave Ramsey is YOU NEED THIS BOOK! As he explains how to turn your debt into wealth you think to yourself this is so simple. Yet so many people choose to stay in debt. Dave Ramsey teaches you how to pay off your debt, build an emergency fund, and save for college all at the same time. Oh, and possibly pay off your home 10 to 20 years early. He does all this using a process that doesn't overwhelm you, in fact it is done in a way that will keep you motivated throughout the process.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    Good Book

    As a CPA, I wish that all my clients would read this book. I don't agree with everything he says, but if the average person would listen and follow him, they would be much better off financially.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    What an eye opener!!

    I stumbled across this book in the book store before I had ever even hear of Dave Ramsey. I had told everyone I knew about it. This book made me face reality and stop listening to friends and family who had me convinced that debt was just a part of life. This book has done more than put me on the road to financial freedom. It has helped me to not define myself by money. It is just an uplifting book (which is nice when the reality of your debt is getting you down.) This book just gives you direction when you have no idea where to start.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Life changing audio book

    I have owned the hardback of this book for quite awhile but found it difficult to make time to read it with a very persuasive three year old daughter always wanting my attention. So, I decided since my work has me on the road driving long distances I decided to buy the audio book. What a great idea that was! This book has opened my eyes to the dangers I (we, my wife and I both) was in with my spending habits and lack of saving. Actually, I already knew that I was in danger, I just didn't know how to do anything about it. I thought (because I have been repeatedly told my entire adulthood) that credit was a way of life and that I would always be in debt to somebody.

    Well, I learned that it does not have to be that way and I already feel so free! It has done so much for my well being already! My wife and I no longer argue about money, we have a plan now and we are on our way to being debt free. Please! Listen to this audio book (or read the actual book)! It will save you financially and you will be able to "live like no one else" and retire wealthy!

    I personally liked listening to the audio book over reading it. The audio book is narrated by the author Dave Ramsey and when you hear it from him, in his own words, it makes his message all the more powerful! I have listened to it in the car commuting three times in a row!

    The one thing I did like about the actual book over the audio book was that in the back it includes all sorts of the budget and other forms that will be very helpful to you when you plan your total money makeover.

    I am 32 years old and I feel like I found this book at just the right time in my life. However, sometimes I wish I knew some of this when I was younger so I would already be that much closer on the road to financial freedom. Also though, Dave Ramsey lays this book out in a way that works for all ages, even for people in their 50's who are very close to retirement. So, I believe this book is great for all ages! It is never too late to get back on the saddle.

    Anyway, as you can probably tell, I am not much of a review writer; I just wanted to tell everybody how much this book has helped me and if you are looking at books to help you financially then please for your sake, give this one a try. I know that it will help you too!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    THIS MAN CHANGED MY LIFE!!!!

    If you truly want to get out of debt this is the book to read, this man has changed my life and in a year I found financial freedom. If I did it anyone can do it, it wasnt easy but I was tired of being a slaved of credit card company's. This book is a MUST.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Fantastic book.

    I don't write reviews. No really I don't. This would be my first book review and I do this for a reason. It really touched me.

    If you don't want to spend any money, all 7 steps to this book are freely available on Dave Ramsey's website. But this book is more then just the 7 steps. It goes into detail WHY those steps to financial freedom work. The book explains away many myths about credit, fico score, debt, student/car loans etc. It explains why you need an emergency fund and why you really don't need a single credit card.

    This book is more than just a 7 step process to financial freedom, it's a total remake of your life.

    I can't recommend this book enough.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Extremely motivating! We've already started eliminating our debt.

    This book is totally worth reading and following if you want to get on a budget and get your debt paid off. He puts things into perspective and makes you really motivated to getting your finances in order. We've really stopped blowing our money and we actually know where it goes now instead of looking at the bills and receipts trying to figure out where it went after we spent it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Excellent explanation that you don't need credit

    It's funny how we learn that you need to have credit no matter what. I've worked in the financial industry for 12 years and I truly see how the game works now. I'm well on my way with the snowball and can't wait to get to the last stage of the plan!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    A gift from my son (this book) changed my life.

    My 32 year old son gave me this book and it has changed my life. I believed that being in debt and never really paying for anything made sense. I was nearly five hundred thousand dollars in debt (not counting mortgages) and never paid a bill. Now, I am only five thousand dollars in debt and never eat out, never buy coffee, buy used clothes (including undergarments), haven't bought a gift for anyone in years and I am happier than I've ever been. Ramsey's ideas on reading old newspapers, taking an occasional cigarette butt from an ashtray for a 'short smoke,' and taking the bus or hitchhiking are small sacrifices to make to be where I am today. Thank you, Mr. Ramsey. And, thank you to to my son, Reston, for showing me the way.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    Everyone Needs this book

    This book is amazing! Get it! Read it! Get started on your TMMO today! A common sense guide to getting out of debt forever & making your money work for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 340 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17