Customer Reviews for

The Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness

Average Rating 4
( 339 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

A Workable Plan

What I liked best about this book is that it doesn't just rattle off a bunch of things that we should be doing - saving for retirement, paying off credit cards, investing - we already knew what we SHOULD be doing. This book gives you a gameplan and tells you what you s...
What I liked best about this book is that it doesn't just rattle off a bunch of things that we should be doing - saving for retirement, paying off credit cards, investing - we already knew what we SHOULD be doing. This book gives you a gameplan and tells you what you should do first and why. For instance, my husband and I want to buy our first home, and we wanted to know if we should pay off our student loans first, or save up for a big down payment. The book prioritizes those types of things. It's easy to read, and it makes perfect sense. Dave tells you how everyone, no matter how bad the debt situation, can get out of debt effectively and move towards building wealth.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Not Exhastive

I'm facing bankruptcy. This book has lots of scenarios, most very general, and useless to my financial situation. I'm one of the millions working poor buying books to support multi-million dollar authors and this habit has become a financial burden. This is one that wil...
I'm facing bankruptcy. This book has lots of scenarios, most very general, and useless to my financial situation. I'm one of the millions working poor buying books to support multi-million dollar authors and this habit has become a financial burden. This is one that will go back to the stores. For those facing hard financial choices highly recommend Surviving Financial Disasters (for the cut throat truth about a way out), The Autmatic Millions (for hope) and The richest man in Babylon (for a good read).

posted by Anonymous on October 24, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 341 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    You can do this!

    When I first read this book, it spoke about people who were thousands of dollars in dept. I am about 10,000 in dept and can't seem to keep a saving's account and we are living pay check to pay check. Now I have saved my 1,000 for my emergency fund. I have also paid halph of my medical bills. I was mostly impressed in how easy it was to save the 1,000. I am also learning what an emergency is. If people who are thousands of dollar's in dept, then I can surly do this. So yes this book really encouraged me. It is very practical so anyone who really wants to get out of dept can do this. And I'm learning how to keep a budget.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    One of the best books out there on personal finances

    Dave Ramsey incorporated enough humor to make the subject of finances enjoyable and to hold your interest, while providing a good, basic personal financial management program. I've put to use a lot of his program, and found that he's definitely right when he says that if you use cash for most of your daily purchases, i.e. groceries, fuel, clothes, etc., you will save money since it's harder to part with actual cash than to blithely sign your name on a credit card slip you barely look at. Also when you know that you only have so much cash with you, you can't go off the deep end and buy way more than what you have money to cover.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    A must read for everyone, especially in this economic climate.

    I think Dave Ramsey has the solution to people's financial difficulties. He has helped thousands of people learn how to get themselves out of debt and into financial freedom. His no nonsense approach to finances, leaves the reader with the tools to gain control of the money that flows in and out of their households. This book is full of practical principles and common sense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    The Total Money Makeover

    You can read the book in simple terms and understand it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Life changing!

    This book gives you the steps to get your financial life on track. If you ever wondered how to get ahead financially, this is the plan for you. Check out the chapter on 'baby steps'!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    BEST EVER FINANCIAL ADVICE

    Best financial advice because he not only tells you what to do but HOW to do it. He also lays out percentages for you, like how much your hosue payment should be in relation to your income and how much your food bill should be etc.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    Money Advice Your Parents Should Have Given You

    A common sense approach to paying off debt and gaining wealth. Dave Ramsey is an authority at messing up his money (in his past)and rebuilding for his future. He'll tell you himself on his radio show. Dave shows you step by step how to save for your emergency fund, how to get out of debt and stay out of debt as well as saving for retirement, college and more! Worksheets are included in the book and are helpful. You must buy this book and decide for yourself. It is fabulous. I think every parent should teach their children these principles before they become adults.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Reality Check...

    If you owe money to anyone, you need this cd. Dave Ramsey doesn't mess around, he tells you how it is and how to fix it. When you're done feeling sorry for yourself or if you feel you just can't get a financial break, listen to this cd. When you're done - listen to it again and again and again. If you feel yourself weakening, play it again. He has a very animated voice, so it doesn't put you to sleep with monotone dialogue. He is real and to the point. He will tell you what your friends and family won't. He will tell you how to work with what you have and not ponder on what you don't have. He gives explicit direction and you won't be guessing what to do when you're done listening to this cd-set. So buck up, take the criticism and make it work for you. He will change your life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    Best thing to come along in a long while

    My wife and I started 2 months ago and are well into step two. This really opened our eyes to the money we were wasting. If you have debt, this book is for you! Dave's honesty is refreshing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Easy principles, really hard work

    The book has really cool principles that can apply to anyone, but mostly to young people that want to start taking care of their money. It really points out that in order to biuld wealth it is necessary to never overspend and always save. The real life stories are boring, repetitive, and pointless. This book is mostly motivational and its main idea is that we must control ourselves and make sacrifices in order achieve our goals.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    Highly Recommended for EVERYONE

    I thought this was the best strategy hands down... The books can relate to any level of personal finance. Ive read a ton of personal finance books, from Orman to Kyosaki and have never been so enamored with such an easy concept. The baby steps go in depth and the focus is always there with stories of others taking the TMMO. Im finally starting to paying off my mortgage.... My wife and I have never been happier. Thanks Dave

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    Great for First Timers and Teens

    Ramsey's Total Money Makeover is really a souped-up version of his earlier work, Financial Peace. It is a great tool for those new to this kind of thinking. If you are deep in debt and have never read a book on how to be free of debt, this is a good start. Discipline and self-control are key. Ramsey's steps are basic,logical, and doable. In addition, I have purchased copies for my 17-year-old son and nephews to read because I wish I had known these principles when I was a young man. I might be retired now doing nothing but writing books and reviews by now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Outstanding Until the Investment Part

    I wish everyone in America was required to read this book prior to high school graduation. Wouldn't everyone be in better shape? This book is outstanding as a foundation book to build on. The debt reduction techniques and the overall guiding philosophy are superb. However, I strongly disagree with the investment advice, as not everyone belongs in an all equities portfolio. Kudos to Dave for a great book and an excellent support system online and on the radio.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Changed our lives....

    This book gives step by step common sense on how to get out of debt. It also helps you take responsibility for and control of your money. It's changed our lives and we've paid off nearly $12,000 since we started our TMMO in Feb. 2004. We are well on our way to financial freedom and we are changing our family tree!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2004

    Lots of good examples

    This book is filled with good examples of people facing various financial situations. Direct advice on the best solutions for those people in debt. I had trouble making the connection to my financial problems.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    A bookseller and a mom :)

    This is a great book that tells us what we might not want to hear but really inspires us to do the right thing and live 'like no on else' so that later we can 'live like no one else.' Dave Ramsey has a friendly style that helps us to see how sticking with it can really pay off. While I am insisting on paying off the higher interest loans we have first, we are following most of the other items and finally see a light at the end of the tunnel we've created! Read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    This book has changed our lives.

    Perhaps it is all simple common sense as one reviewer said however the author does not hide that fact. He openly says this is nothing new its your grandmothers budget. But its well organized and authoritive. We have been on the program for a month and a half and we've already paid off a student loan and two credit cards. We've found $1000+ in our budget every month to pay down debt just by setting up the budget described in this book. My wife and I are now working together rather than at each others heels about money. And we plan on being debt free in 18months rather than 18 years. It's great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    The ordinary man's handbook for financial liberty

    Forego all the other books written by millionaires who became millionaires by selling millions of books on how to become a millionaire! If you've ever set goals and accomplished them as well, you will relate immediately to Dave's step-by-step process to getting rid of debt and staying out of debt. This is a book for those overwhelmed by consumer debt as well as those free of it; with insightful information for anyone with an open mind. 5 stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    We're debt free!

    I enjoyed this book very much. It's a simple read, but the concept is profound. This book is more about changing our over-consuming behavior and our view of debt as a tool. I'm a fiscal conservative and very frugal with my family's money, so I very much agree with Dave's plan and advise. Dave compares financial health to physical health, and it makes complete sense. In order to lose weight over time, you eat right and exercise; you don't eat more. Well, it's the same concept for wealth. In order to accumulate wealth over time, you get rid of debt completely by using the debt snowball (perhaps Obama should read the book), save what you would be paying out to debtors, pay cash for purchases, and invest in long-term goals. This is no get-rich-quick scheme, which means it will probably work for you if you have the discipline to stick with Dave's seven baby steps.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Extremely excellant reading !!

    I enjoyed reading this book by Dave Ramsey a lot. It tells you how to get out of debt. If you follow his plan, you can get out of debt and not need credit cards or auto loans. It details the gazelle like intensity you need to overcome the normal lifestyle a lot of people have come to expect in their lives (myself included). Dave had a plan that will not only get you out of debt but also help you build savings funds, emergency fund, college and retirement funds. The details for Baby steps to get your life on track and hard but will work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 341 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18