Customer Reviews for

The Touch: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    A great read!

    What a wonderful story! The reader becomes entranced by the characters and the story! I have already cast the book for the picture that will surely come! The beautiful untouchable wife is Nicole Kidman. The husband-entrepreneur should be Russell Crowe. The good-hearted former hooker who loves the entrepreneur should be Geena Davis. There. When will it be on the screen?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Boring............I skipped more paragraphs than I read. Way to

    Boring............I skipped more paragraphs than I read. Way too much information. Alexander was a jerk and Elizabeth was just weird. It ended ok but you had to suffer through the whole boring ass book to get there. I always hated the man has a mistress thing and this pushed it too far. Please don't make a movie out of this trash

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    One of the Best!!

    I have a voracious appetite for period and historical fiction and was very satisfied after reading this novel. In several scenes i actually felt it was myself having the experiences and thoughts of the characters. This novel was magnificently written and brought to life in my imagination and i advise all people to read this novel for the pure joy of life, love and happiness. Enjoy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

    Boring!!!The characters are interesting but they get lost in all the tecchnical talk.I felt like I was reading a school study book.I loved The Thorn Birds but this is a snorer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    AN EPIC STORY ADMIRABLY READ

    Australian writer Colleen McCullough (author of the memorable 'Thorn Birds') has crafted another epic novel sure to win hearts. Her characters are once again compelling drawn, and commendably intriguing. Voice performer Jenny Sterlin gives admirable voice to this century spanning story. Protagonist Alexander Drummond is a complex individual and larger than life (perfect for the big screen). Never having known his real father he runs away from his home in Scotland to escape his cruel step-father. He was only fifteen, little knowing that the hurts of his childhood would drive him to become one of the wealthiest men in the world. Just prior to his 30th birthday fate takes him to Sidney, Australia, when that country is experiencing a gold rush. He strikes it rich once again, and builds an opulent mansion atop a mountain. He has begun a torrid affair with the rough but beautiful Ruby Costevan, madam of a local brothel. This is a woman Alexander deeply loves but knows he can never marry. Instead he dispatches a sum of money to one of his uncles in Scotland, asking that the man send a daughter in return. Enter young, lovely and obedient Elizabeth whom he quickly marries. It's a union bound to fail, bring only unhappiness to both and bearing heavily upon their offspring as well as Ruby's son. Colleen McCullough once again proves just what an extraordinary writer she is with 'The Touch,' a story all will be drawn into and few will forget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Loved this book! Another great story by a great author.

    Loved this book! Another great story by a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Good book

    As enjoyable as the thorn birds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    Enjoyable

    This is the first novel by the author that I read but I did enjoy the Thorn Birds movie. This book was well written and had great character development and an enjoyable story line. The only downfall was the tangents about the mining industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2005

    Amazing

    I believe the writer knew exactly what life was all about during that time period of the book and was able to portray the characters effectively and give them life that I was able to understand and agree with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1