Customer Reviews for

The Touch

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging inspirational second chance at life tale

    Both from Appalachia, Faith Thomas and Andrew Jones fell in love while attending medical school. They lay on the floor of the Sistine Chapel looking at the "Divine Touch" in awe; both Faith and Jones know this moment will be with them forever. Driving in the back roads of Virginia, in an instant Faith was gone as was Jones' faith. Though already regarded as a talented physician with the healer's touch, Jones quits medicine and becomes a teacher; their close friend Luca Manzi offers solace but cannot explain why God allows bad things happen to good people like Jones' Faith.

    Chicago based Blair-Bio-Med wants the best to test a new robotic device that duplicates the hands of a surgeon without the human error. Driven to succeed and help people in need, Dr. Lara Blair has turned to the best surgeons in the world, but none have made her tool work properly. She knows the best is Jones with his healing touch. Pleading with him, Lara wants him to be the blueprint of her gizmo. As she bullies him, he thinks what Faith would want him to do with what she considered his divine healing touch.

    This is an engaging inspirational second chance at life tale starring two wounded warriors struggling to move on from emotional issues. Ironically the Michelangelo masterpiece is the fullest developed "character" although Jones is not far behind. The rest of the cast including the two women in his life pales in comparison. Still The Touch is a warm entertaining drama.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Good read

    My biggest complaint about this book is that it was too short. Other than that, it was a super easy (not light!) read. I loved the efforts the author took to keep the romance pure without being too obvious about it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Short but amazing!

    Amazing story

    Couldn't put it down. Fast read that I will read again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    THE TOUCH is one of the most compelling and meaningful books I'v

    THE TOUCH is one of the most compelling and meaningful books I've read. I think Randall Wallace's writing is amazing. He pulls the reader right into the story.

    I've told a lot of people about this novel. Some are listening to it on as an audio edition and really like it.

     Having read reviews by other readers, I prefer they don't tell so much of the plot.  Randall Wallace planned suprises, and I don't think those should be spelled out by readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Great read

    I loved this novel. It is wonderful story line, character and surprises. I would recommend it as a wonderful bad weather day read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    I loved the aspect of "secret giving" and how we can m

    I loved the aspect of "secret giving" and how we can make a huge impact on others by loving them and giving of ourselves. I was a little annoyed at the beginning of the book as they mention Faith has died but it takes till almost halfway through the book before explaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    The Touch

    Doctor Andrew loses a loved one and refuses to do surgery again. Lara owns a research company that is developing a surgical tool and needs a surgeon to test the tool. When she hears about Andrew's surgical skill, she wants to work with him at her company, but he refuses.

    I thought this book was interesting. Medical research has come quite far in recent years, and this book shows how one tool can help save lives.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    I just read The Touch by Randall Wallace. Andrew Jones was once

    I just read The Touch by Randall Wallace. Andrew Jones was once one of the few surgeons in the world to have that rare, God-given ability called The Touch. But after failing to save his young fiancée, Faith, at the scene of a car accident, Jones abandons his gift and shuns the operating room.

    Lara Blair owns a Chicago-based biomedical engineering company developing a surgical tool that will duplicate precisely the movement of a surgeon’s hands, reducing or eliminating failed surgical procedures. Lara has pursued the best surgeons in the world to test this surgical tool, and all of them have failed.

    As Lara pursues Jones’s skill for her project, Jones’s stubborn resistance cracks, and he begins to open up to her about the wounds that still haunt him. But when Jones discovers the urgency behind Lara’s work, he must choose to move beyond his past. As each is forced to surrender secret fears, they are bonded together through the lives of the people Jones serves and by the healing secret that Faith left behind.

    This is a really good book. There are many twists and turns that I didn't see coming. Lara and Andrew were so much alike that it was hard to think they could get along. But in the end they each needed love that they had been denying themselves for so long that they couldn't stay apart. It reminded me that your faith can really help you get through anything. You just need to keep looking up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    The Touch by Randall Wallace I really enjoyed the book more tha

    The Touch by Randall Wallace

    I really enjoyed the book more than I thought I would. Throughout the novel it was hard to actually get inside the head of Andrew Jones (or Jones, as his colleagues call him) Faith Thomas or Lara (Laura without the u) Blair. So why did I like it in spite of that fact? Or why did I not really connect with them? All three of these characters were wrapped up in their professions as doctors, Lara being a researcher. They were well developed, but I seemed to miss that part that brought them into my life for me.
    The story line was well written, and flowed rather like a river, but I am thinking that it could have had more depth, and the suspense could have been more developed. Actually, on second thought, perhaps it just was that it is a short story, easily read in an afternoon. As that, it was clearly a great little book.
    Having said that, I am not criticizing the author or the editors...and the surprises were there. Randall clearly shows “The Touch” from the time Jones and Faith see the painting by Michelangelo in the Sistine Chapel until the end of the novel. It is understood that The Touch is the touch of God's hand to man's hand, as the artist portrayed it. Both Jones and Lara grow from being rather reclusive and selfish to learning more about God's great love and plan for them.
    I will definitely be telling others about Randall Wallace and The Touch, and will be looking for more novels by him.

    The opinions stated in this review are my own, and this is an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Entertaining, Not Inspiring

    Dr. Andrew Jones has incredibly skilled hands, able to surgically operate on the most inaccessible areas of the human brain. After traumatically losing his fiancee in a car accident, he finds himself unable to perform any sort of surgery and relegates himself to teaching other young doctors.

    Dr. Lara Blair is the heir to a biomedical research company. Extremely driven, intelligent, and skilled, her life revolves around the research she is doing and the donations she gives through the company's foundation. Dr. Blair discovers that Dr. Jones has a skill for brain surgery beyond what she is capable of, and devices to convince him to participate in her life saving research.

    I carelessly picked up and finished this book before bothering to read the inside cover flaps. My initial impression that this book would make a great movie was entirely validated when I discovered that this is by the same author who wrote the script and novelization of the Mel Gibson film Braveheart. This book has nothing to do with that film, but the polished character descriptions, well rounded plot lines, story pacing, and portions of the narrative denote a writer with a lot of practice pleasing people. It is a nearly flawless presentation.

    The flaws begin to surface when examined from a spiritual standpoint. The statement repeated throughout the book "All we need to know it that God exists and He loves us" does not exactly ring true. What about our sinful condition and our need for the salvation which can only be found at the cross? Also, a scene depicting the removal of a brain dead patient from life support seemed inappropriately handled. Many Christians have convictions regarding this subject, and the way the author added it to the story without having the incidence either further plot line or character development made it seem as though he seized a quiet opportunity to promote his own opinions without giving the reader any of the supporting arguments. In the end - despite scenes in churches, praying, offering anonymous acts of love - the book felt like a 'clean' read with some Christian flavor thrown in.

    Finally, this book feels slightly rushed. The reader is often jumped from scene to scene without any time to let the emotional impact of what is happening unfold. The writer employs some literary techniques such as naming the fiancee Faith (Dr. Jones' faith has died) and having Dr. Blair leave her large office building to do free medical work in the Virginia countryside (coming down from an 'ivory tower') but doesn't allow them to color the story. Jones has a lot of faith in other people and often portrays something approaching hope for others as well. Blair finds fulfillment, not a fundamental change, in dealing with the real world. By making the emotions motivating the characters already present instead allowing them to wax and wane, the author sacrifices some reader buy-in for clarity. And by failing to allow his own metaphors and plot devices to spin out with the rhythm the story seemed to have established, he sacrifices possible depth to maintain novella length.

    The ultimate messages that pain and suffering can be healed with love, and that life has purpose and meaning resonate deeply with me. Unfortunately, I don't feel this book dealt with them on a deep enough level to leave any sort of last impression beyond that of a pleasant, well written read on your evening in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Inspiring! This is a great story that reminds us how we can allo

    Inspiring!
    This is a great story that reminds us how we can allow life situations and fear to block us from using the gifts God has given us. Dr. Andrew Jones is a gifted surgeon who has stopped doing surgery. Lara Blair is a research doctor who is looking for a talented surgeon to perform an near impossible surgery. As these two become friends, we learn about the trials both have faced. This is a moving story about faith and courage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    You will love it!

    Dr. Andrew Jones, "Jones" to most everyone who knows him, has a gift. An off the charts, special-like-no-one-is-special, gift. However, a tragedy in his life has impaired him in a number of ways, and he is teaching others - but not practicing personally.

    Dr. Lara Blair is the intensely smart and seeking researcher that on the surface has everything - beauty, brains, billions - and she is not truly satisfied in life or with herself.

    The author employs a tiny twist and we are taken on a journey to discover that the most important "touch" of all.
    I really enjoyed this book. I would highly recommend it - it's a great, fairly quick read - and hopefully it will make you think as it did for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    This is a very good book right from the start. The characters a

    This is a very good book right from the start. The characters are warm and engaging, yet human. The plot is easy to follow with some twist and turns along the way. The author uses his words to paint a very vibrant picture of his characters and their world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully woven story of faith, hope and love

    I read all the time, but I've never come across a book like this before. When I first came across this novella and saw that it was *just* a small book, I figured it wouldn't be that great of a book, because don't you need a lot of space and words to create your characters and build up the story?
    But I was wrong. Although this book is extremely succinct and to the point, its not lacking in heart, plot or character development; in fact, far from it. I honestly don't want to say too much about the plot or storyline of this book, as I don't want to spoil any of the surprises and twists and turns. However, I will say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book and did not want to put it down, although I had to a few times just to process what had just transpired.
    If you want to have your heartstrings tugged, catch a glimpse of hope in this gloom and doom world, or just want to escape for a few hours, you will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Randall Wallace in his new book, "The Touch" published

    Randall Wallace in his new book, "The Touch" published by Tyndale House Publishers gives us a contemporary story into the lives of two doctors.

    From the Inside Flap: Andrew Jones was once one of the few surgeons in the world to have that rare, God-given ability called The Touch. But after failing to save his young fiancée, Faith, at the scene of a car accident, Jones abandons his gift and shuns the operating room.

    Lara Blair owns a Chicago-based biomedical engineering company developing a surgical tool that will duplicate precisely the movement of a surgeon’s hands, reducing or eliminating failed surgical procedures. Lara has pursued the best surgeons in the world to test this surgical tool, and all of them have failed.

    As Lara pursues Jones’s skill for her project, Jones’s stubborn resistance cracks, and he begins to open up to her about the wounds that still haunt him. But when Jones discovers the urgency behind Lara’s work, he must choose to move beyond his past. As each is forced to surrender secret fears, they are bonded together through the lives of the people Jones serves and by the healing secret that Faith left behind.

    Everything hinges on the beginning of "The Touch" where Andrew Jones gets to see the Sistine Chapel and, in particular, the scene where God is reaching down to man to touch him while man is reaching up to God to touch Him. The tips of the fingertips are inches apart and the relationship is just about to begin. Once the relationship starts then what flows from God to man and from man to God will also overflow to others. That is the gift that Andrew Jones has and the one he walks away from after the tragic death of his fiance. It takes the new relationship with Lara Blair to see what is needed. "The Touch" is a book about destiny, what God means for us to have. This is an incredibly well-written story about love and faith and will touch you deeply. I recommend it highly!

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended....You won't be sorry!

    The book was beyond my expectations for what I expected from a medical background book. It covered love, loss, faith, mystery, giving of one's self to others, but mostly the story just carries you along in a most enjoy able way,full of surprises, and a range of emotions that we go thru in life. Hated to put it down. Great story. I am going to look for other books by this author. I would recommend this book for club discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Enjoyable Read

    A story of faith, hope, and love. Looked forward to finding time to read this book each day; loved the spirituality delicately weaved throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1