Customer Reviews for

The Touch

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging inspirational second chance at life tale

    Both from Appalachia, Faith Thomas and Andrew Jones fell in love while attending medical school. They lay on the floor of the Sistine Chapel looking at the "Divine Touch" in awe; both Faith and Jones know this moment will be with them forever. Driving in the back roads of Virginia, in an instant Faith was gone as was Jones' faith. Though already regarded as a talented physician with the healer's touch, Jones quits medicine and becomes a teacher; their close friend Luca Manzi offers solace but cannot explain why God allows bad things happen to good people like Jones' Faith.

    Chicago based Blair-Bio-Med wants the best to test a new robotic device that duplicates the hands of a surgeon without the human error. Driven to succeed and help people in need, Dr. Lara Blair has turned to the best surgeons in the world, but none have made her tool work properly. She knows the best is Jones with his healing touch. Pleading with him, Lara wants him to be the blueprint of her gizmo. As she bullies him, he thinks what Faith would want him to do with what she considered his divine healing touch.

    This is an engaging inspirational second chance at life tale starring two wounded warriors struggling to move on from emotional issues. Ironically the Michelangelo masterpiece is the fullest developed "character" although Jones is not far behind. The rest of the cast including the two women in his life pales in comparison. Still The Touch is a warm entertaining drama.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    THE TOUCH is one of the most compelling and meaningful books I'v

    THE TOUCH is one of the most compelling and meaningful books I've read. I think Randall Wallace's writing is amazing. He pulls the reader right into the story.

    I've told a lot of people about this novel. Some are listening to it on as an audio edition and really like it.

     Having read reviews by other readers, I prefer they don't tell so much of the plot.  Randall Wallace planned suprises, and I don't think those should be spelled out by readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Great read

    I loved this novel. It is wonderful story line, character and surprises. I would recommend it as a wonderful bad weather day read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    I just read The Touch by Randall Wallace. Andrew Jones was once

    I just read The Touch by Randall Wallace. Andrew Jones was once one of the few surgeons in the world to have that rare, God-given ability called The Touch. But after failing to save his young fiancée, Faith, at the scene of a car accident, Jones abandons his gift and shuns the operating room.

    Lara Blair owns a Chicago-based biomedical engineering company developing a surgical tool that will duplicate precisely the movement of a surgeon’s hands, reducing or eliminating failed surgical procedures. Lara has pursued the best surgeons in the world to test this surgical tool, and all of them have failed.

    As Lara pursues Jones’s skill for her project, Jones’s stubborn resistance cracks, and he begins to open up to her about the wounds that still haunt him. But when Jones discovers the urgency behind Lara’s work, he must choose to move beyond his past. As each is forced to surrender secret fears, they are bonded together through the lives of the people Jones serves and by the healing secret that Faith left behind.

    This is a really good book. There are many twists and turns that I didn't see coming. Lara and Andrew were so much alike that it was hard to think they could get along. But in the end they each needed love that they had been denying themselves for so long that they couldn't stay apart. It reminded me that your faith can really help you get through anything. You just need to keep looking up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    You will love it!

    Dr. Andrew Jones, "Jones" to most everyone who knows him, has a gift. An off the charts, special-like-no-one-is-special, gift. However, a tragedy in his life has impaired him in a number of ways, and he is teaching others - but not practicing personally.

    Dr. Lara Blair is the intensely smart and seeking researcher that on the surface has everything - beauty, brains, billions - and she is not truly satisfied in life or with herself.

    The author employs a tiny twist and we are taken on a journey to discover that the most important "touch" of all.
    I really enjoyed this book. I would highly recommend it - it's a great, fairly quick read - and hopefully it will make you think as it did for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Randall Wallace in his new book, "The Touch" published

    Randall Wallace in his new book, "The Touch" published by Tyndale House Publishers gives us a contemporary story into the lives of two doctors.

    From the Inside Flap: Andrew Jones was once one of the few surgeons in the world to have that rare, God-given ability called The Touch. But after failing to save his young fiancée, Faith, at the scene of a car accident, Jones abandons his gift and shuns the operating room.

    Lara Blair owns a Chicago-based biomedical engineering company developing a surgical tool that will duplicate precisely the movement of a surgeon’s hands, reducing or eliminating failed surgical procedures. Lara has pursued the best surgeons in the world to test this surgical tool, and all of them have failed.

    As Lara pursues Jones’s skill for her project, Jones’s stubborn resistance cracks, and he begins to open up to her about the wounds that still haunt him. But when Jones discovers the urgency behind Lara’s work, he must choose to move beyond his past. As each is forced to surrender secret fears, they are bonded together through the lives of the people Jones serves and by the healing secret that Faith left behind.

    Everything hinges on the beginning of "The Touch" where Andrew Jones gets to see the Sistine Chapel and, in particular, the scene where God is reaching down to man to touch him while man is reaching up to God to touch Him. The tips of the fingertips are inches apart and the relationship is just about to begin. Once the relationship starts then what flows from God to man and from man to God will also overflow to others. That is the gift that Andrew Jones has and the one he walks away from after the tragic death of his fiance. It takes the new relationship with Lara Blair to see what is needed. "The Touch" is a book about destiny, what God means for us to have. This is an incredibly well-written story about love and faith and will touch you deeply. I recommend it highly!

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended....You won't be sorry!

    The book was beyond my expectations for what I expected from a medical background book. It covered love, loss, faith, mystery, giving of one's self to others, but mostly the story just carries you along in a most enjoy able way,full of surprises, and a range of emotions that we go thru in life. Hated to put it down. Great story. I am going to look for other books by this author. I would recommend this book for club discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1