Customer Reviews for

A Touch Mortal

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book is AMAZING. <3 it!

Eden is snarky and spunky, able to handle herself in an array of situations, and both relatable and likable from the start. When Az first comes walking up, right on page one, her reaction to him is amusing and starts pulling the reader in right away. Clifford doesn't bo...
Eden is snarky and spunky, able to handle herself in an array of situations, and both relatable and likable from the start. When Az first comes walking up, right on page one, her reaction to him is amusing and starts pulling the reader in right away. Clifford doesn't bother with unnecessary build up in their forming relationship, shifting quickly to the root of their relationship and the launching point of the story itself. Eden's quips provide plenty of humor and build her character, and the reader sees several different sides of her as the story progresses, not all of them flattering.

Despite the large number of important characters, the personalities are all distinct enough to keep the characters straight and introduced in a staggered manner to keep there from being an information overload. There is strong character development throughout, many coming full circle and showing several sides, all handled amazingly well.

There are some gritty undercurrents to this book, with an overall darker and sad air, but several huge points of deeper meaning. Some are given in a subtle manner and others more straightforward, but the thought and reason Clifford put into things is very clear and worthy of praise. There is a big air of suicide in this book, stemming from what happens to people who commit suicide in the world Clifford has built. Clifford has done something different with suicides in her world, and handled it gracefully without glorifying the act. The different angles and views even within the world and characters are presented throughout the book, from reasons that seemed important when someone committed the act to later realizing maybe it wasn't so great. I truly appreciated the way all this was handled and explained, without sugarcoating. The aftermath is handled in a different but well done way, and even the way one person can be the only reason someone doesn't fall into the temptation is presented in such an unflinching manner.

The ties to real life, particularly the innumerable views, beliefs and mindsets about suicides, are perhaps one of the reasons I felt so much for and with this book. Clifford has blended the fantasy with the real in a very smooth fashion, and there are huge connections and implications into every day experiences and life, coming from different sides, that will give something for most every kind of reader. Even with the gritty notes and the honest and unadulterated look into the deeper parts of everyone, Clifford handles it gracefully and inoffensively.

The overall plot is brilliant, and steadily builds with subtle hints to the future and deep intricacies, leading to an explosive, lengthy climax that keeps things moving at a deliciously rapid pace for the last hundred pages or so of the book. The final build up is well worth it, with many completely unexpected twists and turns and shocking truths throw out of nowhere. Even with the strong plot, there is also a constant focus on the characters and their development and reactions, and these two aspects are handled and blended strongly and nearly flawlessly.

posted by A_Good_Addiction on February 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

okay book

While I am for fallen angels stories, the fight between heaven and hell, for some reason I just could not get into this story. I felt like it was dragging, but more that the wasn't enough happenings to grab me.

One thing that bothered me the most was the cursing. I a...
While I am for fallen angels stories, the fight between heaven and hell, for some reason I just could not get into this story. I felt like it was dragging, but more that the wasn't enough happenings to grab me.

One thing that bothered me the most was the cursing. I am all for the characters cursing here and there because I know that it is that characters showing his/her emotions. But this book was just too much. Every other word was a curse word. To me it seems like these angels were not that heavenly at all.

My other problem was the plot. While the storyline is good the plot failed to grab me. I had a really hard time getting in to this book. I found myself re-reading parts just to understand the siders, touch part. I have to admit that all of that was interesting but the way it played out was not.

I really wish I could say that I enjoyed this book, but I could not. It was okay but not something I read again.

posted by BooksWithBite on April 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book is AMAZING. <3 it!

    Eden is snarky and spunky, able to handle herself in an array of situations, and both relatable and likable from the start. When Az first comes walking up, right on page one, her reaction to him is amusing and starts pulling the reader in right away. Clifford doesn't bother with unnecessary build up in their forming relationship, shifting quickly to the root of their relationship and the launching point of the story itself. Eden's quips provide plenty of humor and build her character, and the reader sees several different sides of her as the story progresses, not all of them flattering.

    Despite the large number of important characters, the personalities are all distinct enough to keep the characters straight and introduced in a staggered manner to keep there from being an information overload. There is strong character development throughout, many coming full circle and showing several sides, all handled amazingly well.

    There are some gritty undercurrents to this book, with an overall darker and sad air, but several huge points of deeper meaning. Some are given in a subtle manner and others more straightforward, but the thought and reason Clifford put into things is very clear and worthy of praise. There is a big air of suicide in this book, stemming from what happens to people who commit suicide in the world Clifford has built. Clifford has done something different with suicides in her world, and handled it gracefully without glorifying the act. The different angles and views even within the world and characters are presented throughout the book, from reasons that seemed important when someone committed the act to later realizing maybe it wasn't so great. I truly appreciated the way all this was handled and explained, without sugarcoating. The aftermath is handled in a different but well done way, and even the way one person can be the only reason someone doesn't fall into the temptation is presented in such an unflinching manner.

    The ties to real life, particularly the innumerable views, beliefs and mindsets about suicides, are perhaps one of the reasons I felt so much for and with this book. Clifford has blended the fantasy with the real in a very smooth fashion, and there are huge connections and implications into every day experiences and life, coming from different sides, that will give something for most every kind of reader. Even with the gritty notes and the honest and unadulterated look into the deeper parts of everyone, Clifford handles it gracefully and inoffensively.

    The overall plot is brilliant, and steadily builds with subtle hints to the future and deep intricacies, leading to an explosive, lengthy climax that keeps things moving at a deliciously rapid pace for the last hundred pages or so of the book. The final build up is well worth it, with many completely unexpected twists and turns and shocking truths throw out of nowhere. Even with the strong plot, there is also a constant focus on the characters and their development and reactions, and these two aspects are handled and blended strongly and nearly flawlessly.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The plot was very intresting; unlike any other angel type book I've ever read. Definitly worth your time! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    My favorite angel book!

    I have deep interests in ghosts, the afterlife and angels. It's not easy to pick up a YA book that can easily feel that need of mine. I really wasn't expecting much when picking up A Touch Mortal. I was terribly excited about the concept but wasn't sure anyone could pull off something original, something to make my gears turn again. I had never finished a book based on the afterlife, I was looking for something to change that.

    The book had a bumpy start; I'm not going to lie. I remember thinking "Oh God, not another love story." But I kept pushing myself through the book, by the third chapter I was completely sucked into this new world. A world full of Touch, Siders, The Fallen-a world that is so much more than 'just an angel book.'

    The book kept me thinking "What next?" which in turn kept me turning pages. Clifford gives the reader several pieces of the massive plot puzzle and slowly puts the pieces together around the middle marking point of the book

    I was very pleased with this book. It was nice to pick up a book with twists and turns that actually took you by surprise. It was a beautiful debut novel. I can't wait for the sequel. A Touch Mortal isn't a small book, it's a book you want to dedicate a book to because I assure you won't want to put it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Wow wow wow

    Wow. I'm trying to think of how to write this review, and that is all that comes to my head, just wow! This book was so intense, so crazy, so exciting. I flew through this book in record time and it left me dying for more!

    This is not just another angel book. This is a whole new paranormal type that is in a league of it's own. I don't want to spoil anything, so I can't tell you what our new paranormal is, but I absolutely loved it. Eden is a great lead female. She was so strong, and so smart. There was a great tete a tete that went on between her and another character throughout where one would say a qoute from a poem, and the other would guess who wrote it. I loved trying to see if I could figure it out as well. (They are so much smarter than me....lol). Eden was deterinded and independent, but also knew when to lean on others to make herself stronger.

    Our male leads in this book were great as well, although my favorite guy wasn't even the love interest! They were so smart and sexy. They were also completely mysterious and kept me on the edge of my seat trying to figure out what had actually happened and what might happen next.

    This book had a really dark feel to it, but it wasn't heavy or hard to read. I loved the dark and crazy feel. The ending was amazing! I loved that a lot of the threads were wrapped up, but I was left hanging on the edge of the cliff, dying for more. The ending was so shocking that I'm still reeling from it! This book releases tomorrow and I'm telling you all that you NEED to go and get a copy now!!! You won't regret it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Huh?

    So I just have the sample but it's confusing can't really keep the characters sperate. It sounds cool but it's too confusing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Gets better dont worry keep reading

    Trust me i put this book down after abot 20 pages i couldnt follow along and was confused as to what was happening but then a few days later i picked it back up and got to the better part and it was way better and easier to undersatnd so trusr me keep reading it will get better ..... hopefully

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    okay book

    While I am for fallen angels stories, the fight between heaven and hell, for some reason I just could not get into this story. I felt like it was dragging, but more that the wasn't enough happenings to grab me.

    One thing that bothered me the most was the cursing. I am all for the characters cursing here and there because I know that it is that characters showing his/her emotions. But this book was just too much. Every other word was a curse word. To me it seems like these angels were not that heavenly at all.

    My other problem was the plot. While the storyline is good the plot failed to grab me. I had a really hard time getting in to this book. I found myself re-reading parts just to understand the siders, touch part. I have to admit that all of that was interesting but the way it played out was not.

    I really wish I could say that I enjoyed this book, but I could not. It was okay but not something I read again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Breathless!!!!!

    I couldn't put this book down once I started. Makes me think of all the things that are really out there, and we might never find out. Grab hold of your seats, and make yourselves comfortable my friends because this is one ride that will keep you coming back for more.
    I can't wait for the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Hmmm...

    I may have to read this, just because the main character and I have the same first name. Will review when I finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Amazing

    The book was pretty awesome! Cant wait to finish the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Awesome

    This a total sexy read if you have read it it starts out with a girl who honestly feels like crap turn out to have he worst life ever her hole world has been turned upside down she was forced to kill her self so one of the bounded luke did not end up ripping herto sherds to get az another thing is that nobody remembers who she is th only peole that knpw who she is are az gabe and herself . tthe cool thing i the way the siders atay alive is that tey give humans stuff called th touch it comes othe tips of there fingerd she meets new pwople like kirsten and adam lilly jared and many ohers .this is the life of eden

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Horrible

    Dont read it I could't get into it and like the other posters said.......DONT WASTE YOUR TIME IT SUCKS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Couldnt finish

    Poorwriting and unbelievable, confusing terms. Very disapointing to pay for and not like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    An intriguing world

    When I read that stories are about angels and/or fallen angels, I tend to think that the story is going to follow a fairly familiar pattern. A Touch Mortal was definitely something different and gave more complexity to the age-old good vs. evil battle.

    Eden's life isn't what she would call happy. It seems as though she's becoming more and more invisible to everyone around her, and she's struggling to find something to live for. Then she meets Az and Gabe. There's something different about them, but she can't quite place it. Against her better judgement, she goes to dinner with Az. Two weeks later their relationship has become very involved, but Az knows this can't happen. To protect Eden, Az does the unthinkable... Eden is suddenly plunged into an unknown world, one of good and bad angels (Bound and Fallen) and Siders, other people like her. As Eden spends more time in this new world, she finds herself at the center of an old battle, unsure of whom she can trust with her life...or her heart.

    A Touch Mortal is a new take on an angel story, one with a much darker edge. I enjoyed the inventiveness of this story as well as the gradual transformations of Eden and Gabe. They both grew stronger throughout the book, proving that what is expected is not always what's right or what will happen. I also especially liked Kristen's character and her poetry quotations. Her interesting shopping habits and her snappy dialogue with Eden added yet another dimension to the book. The suspense of what side would win built throughout the book, and I was kept guessing until the end about what exactly would happen and what the truth behind everything was.

    However, I did have a few problems with this novel. I felt as though it was missing some important connections and explanations, causing the world-building to feel incomplete. While the story is worth deciphering things, there were several scenes that still left me confused. It is worth noting that there are several mentions of suicide in the book, and while the the subject is not explored, it is not treated lightly either. Finally, there are two time skips in this book, but rather than hurt the story, they actually move it forward.

    With interesting characters and an even more intriguing world, A Touch Mortal is the first book of what promises to be a good trilogy. I'll be looking forward to reading A Touch Morbid!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Good thing I got this at the library

    This is seriously one of the worst books I've read...
    As previous posts have mentioned, every other word is the F bomb. I'm all for the occasional curse word for punch, but this book was ridiculous with how many words were used, and at inappropriate times. Some of the characters are supposed to be angels and even they're cussing. Not appropriate. I could not get into the plot at all. And I really tried. I read almost half before I gave up. I never give up, but between the same recurring events (Touching people over and over) and having to re-read things to understand them (like Siders, etc.), I couldn't continue. I hated Eden's character from the beginning and I was hoping she would change. Instead, I changed my book to a new one. If you are looking for a great read, this read is not it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Fantastic start...

    I read A Touch Mortal about six weeks ago and I have never had such a difficult time writing a review. Why, you ask? Well, I just want to gush about it to no end. It was so incredibly good that it truly left me speechless.

    I absolutely and without a doubt love Leah Clifford's style of writing. It flows so easily from page to page that it was difficult to put the book down (even to go eat or sleep). The world and atmosphere that she has created is so fascinating and striking. It's eerie and awesomely creepy.

    I thoroughly enjoyed not only the world but her characters as well. Eden is another ferocious kick-ass MC, just how I like 'em. I know that I say this a lot but I am in-love with another fictional guy. This time it's an angel named Az. He is super-duper delicious. His best friend is another angel named Gabe but he plays for the other team so I can't have him but he's sounds pretty hot, too. There are so many awesome characters I wish I could name them all but see this part of the reason why I've had such a tough time writing this review. I could go on and on about it. Okay back to characters-there are a couple of delectably sinister characters that I love to hate.

    I loved that this novel was a bit grittier than other YA I've read. So if you are sensitive to the occasional F-bomb or gory descriptions beware. But I just loved it!! I can't wait to read A Touch Morbid, which is due to be released February 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Darkly Captivating and Entirely Unique

    4.5 stars

    A Touch Mortal is easily one of the most unique and interesting angel books I have ever read. Leah Clifford was very ambitious in writing this one, with her world-building and new creations, but she delivers with force. Not only is A Touch Mortal well-paced, dark, and captivating, but Eden, the main character, is badass with a kind heart. She runs the story, carries it on her back, and does so with ease. That's not to say things are easy for her. Because they aren't. Not by a long shot.

    In the beginning, we are introduced to a depressed Eden, then a flirty Az and his friend Gabe. After a quick date and a flash forward in time, Eden and Az are in love and we discover that both Gabe and Az are angels. Well, Gabe is a Bound angel and Az is sort of in between that and Falling. The beginning is a bit rough because things happen quickly and with little explanation, but it made me want to know more. And fast.

    Once Eden becomes a Sider - an immortal someone born of her own suicide, who must infect people with Touch in order to survive - things begin falling into place. Touch and Siders and then the angels and the Fallen can be a bit confusing, especially since the terms are discussed, but not really elaborated on. Everything is eventually explained though and I was kind of in awe of how well Leah Clifford pulled it all together.

    On top of a fantastically complicated story, is an even better cast of characters. I loved Eden. Main characters hold so much weight in a story, but Eden is perfectly flawed and strong, but fragile at the same time. Gabe is also one of those perfectly flawed characters, being inherently good, but not exactly forthcoming to his Upstairs people. Now Az is the big love interest and I liked him enough, but I never really felt much towards him. For me, Adam was a much stronger character. And Kristen. Words cannot describe Kristen - okay, they can because I'm going to try. She's insane (schizophrenic), but beautiful in her craziness. Her vintage style and grave-robbing and poetry-quoting ways made her my favorite character. My fingers and toes are crossed that she comes back in a big way in the next one. So yeah, the characters are boss!

    A Touch Mortal is everything I hoped it would be and a billion things more. Leah Clifford has created this world that is our own, but has molded a dark layer beneath it filled with angels and Siders, good and bad, life and death. I could see some things coming, but the way the twists were handled astounded me. I will say that I didn't exactly like how a certain character's arc played out. The conflict felt too easily wrapped up and the character's actions didn't ring true to me, but that could just be because I'm a little biased and love the character. In the end, A Touch Mortal leaves the reader begging for more and I for one, will be sure to devour A Touch Morbid the moment I get my hands on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark and Sexy Read

    I was thoroughly entertained by A Touch Mortal. This book was a dark, sexy and intriguing read. I really loved the world that Leah Clifford created. I loved the Siders. They were a very interesting and new type of paranormal creature. The whole idea of the power of the Touch was awesome. I really felt like Leah Clifford created her own new type of supernatural creatures.

    While I did really like the Siders and the power they had, I will admit for the first hundred pages or so I was bit confused by what was going. Like the main character Eden, I was confused by what was going on, but as Eden learn who she was and more about the powers she had, I too was no longer confused. Once I really understand about the Siders and the Touch I started to really get into this book and engrossed in the story and could not put it down. The story just captured my attention and I wanted to see where Leah would take us.

    A Touch Mortal is definitely a darker YA read, but I love it! Eden was a very conflicted main character. She has this power stronger then most people, is basically immortal because she herself died and must deal with the boy issues. I loved that all the Siders became Siders if they committed suicide. Imagine wanting to end it all only to wake up after you killed yourself and find that your immortal. God that would suck. But I really liked that darker, more morbid element to the Siders and the book itself.

    My one wish in with this book was that the pacing in the beginning was slower. I think part of my confusion in the first hundred pages was that everything happened bam, bam, bam in a row. After those first hundred pages I felt the book slowed down and really found it's pace. I really wish that in the relationship between Eden and Az was more developed in the beginning. I felt like as a reader we never saw their relationship grow. One minute they meet and then the next minute they were in love. I just wish I saw more of their relationship so I could understand why Eden loved him so much.

    I loved the ending of this book. I loved how the everything in the book slowly built up to the moment in the end. And I feel I should talk a bit about Gabe now. I love Gabe and so much more than I thought rested on him and his actions. Gabe really is one of the best characters in the book. I don't know why I liked him as much as I did, but I think a lot of it has to do with his actions at the end of the book. The ending really took me by surprise. I really want to read A Touch Morbid to see where Leah Clifford takes these characters next, especially with how she left them at the end of this book.

    A Touch Mortal is a dark, stunning, and sexy debut. And while it wasn't perfect I was just drawn into it and loved it. I highly recommend it, even if you feel like your not really into the darker paranormal or darker YA. It definitely is unique and will leaving you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great%21

    Read+this+book+in+a+couple+of+days.+I+couldnt+put+it+down%21+Im+in+love+with+Az+loved+all+the+charcters+escpecially+how+Enden+is+super+strong+willed+and+Not+whiny+at+all.+Loved+it+and+would+recommed+this+book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Amazing%21

    I+absolutly+love+this+book%21+It+was+a+page+turner%2C+i+couldnt+put%21+it+down%21+Ive+never+heard+of+siders+before+there+new+to+the+supernatural+world+for+me%2C+they+were+very+interesting+characters+and+the+way+they+used+luke+i+wouldnt+have+seen+him+like+that+i+pictured+him+scary+and+monstrous+but+he+came+off+hot+and+seductive.+You+wont+regret+it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3