Customer Reviews for

A Touch of Dead: The Complete Stories (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series)

Average Rating 4
( 905 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(383)

4 Star

(228)

3 Star

(180)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

This is a terrific introduction to the few people in the country who have not visited the urban fantasy world of Sookie Stackhouse

"Fairy Dust". Claudine asks Sookie for a favor to read some people who have agreed to do so; of course this simple request turns deadly.

"Dracula Night". Vampires celebrate the Count on his birthday with Eric organizing quite a bash on "Dracula Night", but Sookie...
"Fairy Dust". Claudine asks Sookie for a favor to read some people who have agreed to do so; of course this simple request turns deadly.

"Dracula Night". Vampires celebrate the Count on his birthday with Eric organizing quite a bash on "Dracula Night", but Sookie as a guest never expected to attend a biting gala.

"One Word Answer". Sookie learns that her cousin Hadley died so she must attend the funeral not expecting to meet the vampire Queen of New Orleans.

"Luck". Insurance agent Greg Aubert hires roommates Sookie and Amelia the witch to determine who is breaking into his files as "Luck" is running out on residents of Bon Temps.

"Gift Wrap". Sookie is lonely for Christmas as she has no family to share the holidays with; depressed, she finds a wounded were outside whom she takes into her home.

This is a terrific introduction to the few people in the country who have not visited the urban fantasy world of Sookie Stackhouse. The five entries are reprints from other collections, but not placed in one anthology before. Each tale is fun to read as even when the heroine tries to mind her business, she ends up in the middle of a paranormal fiasco.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected...

Now I know this isn't supposed to be the next installment in the series, but it was seriously a disappointment. The stories are short, there is no climax, and the "issues" are resolved in a matter of lines. If you are a die hard Sookie series fan, you won't love this....
Now I know this isn't supposed to be the next installment in the series, but it was seriously a disappointment. The stories are short, there is no climax, and the "issues" are resolved in a matter of lines. If you are a die hard Sookie series fan, you won't love this. It's a really quick read, so if you are looking for something to quench your Sookie thirst until May 2010 when the 10th installment comes out then you should pick this up.

posted by SookieFanatic on October 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Collection of Short Stories

    It is just a collection of the short stories that have already been published in other books. The stories are cute and one is little disturbing about her grandfather and Christmas. But it is realy not worth purchasing, get it from the library or a friend. It is only 192 pages, one sitting and it is done.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    "A Touch of the Dead" Is just what it claimes!

    When I found out that Ms. Harris was putting out a new book clearing up some loose ends from the Stackhouse series; I was over-joyed. That enjoyment was short lived! When I went to pick up my reserved book at B&N, I looked at it with disbelief. It was very small, and after reading it though in less than an hour, I could't believe that Ms. Harris felt that this book was necessary. I am a recent devotee to the Stackhouse series, having consumed the seires in 10 days, then just to make sure that I didn't miss anything I reread them again. I thoroughly enjoyed each book. That was not the case with this book.

    If I had to label this book anything it would be "REVENUE", does Ms. Harris have a bill due?

    The thought previous displayed in Ms. Harris's work was not shown here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed this collection, however $18.99 for an e-book that is three years old is absurd! I checked it out from the library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    wish it had more short stories

    I bought this and really enjoyed the short novella in the beginning, but the since I have read and own all the other Sookie Stackhouse books, the majority of the book was a waste. I did not need a synopsis of each book. The recipes were ok , but I would have preferred to have all the Sookie Stackhouse short stories that were previously printed in anthologies. The book does mention them along with the anthologies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Read but not worth the price.

    I expected this book to be 192 pages. It is not. It barely makes 93 pages and too much of that is the fluff stuff of books intros. The price of 17.99 for a Nook book is ridiculous. I am left with an enjoyable read but bad taste and empty feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Alright

    Expensive and short... Not worth it to buy. Check it out at you're local library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The short stories, in my opinion, aren't as much fun to read.

    A Touch of Dead is a compilation of already published Sookie Stackhouse short stories that were part of anthropologies. Since I almost never read anthropologies, I decided to give this book a shot. Short stories aren't usually my thing, but I love everything Sookie. There are five shorts in A Touch of Dead, and it took me one afternoon to read it.

    The short stories, in my opinion, aren't as much fun to read. They are super light and kind of confusing with the details. They usually involve Sookie in some solve-the-mystery scenario where her mind reading abilities are needed. And reading them in a row and out of order with the books can make it difficult for the reader to remember what information is current. Granted, that was not the point of this book. The point was to allow Sookie fans to get easy access to even more Sookie stories. And in that aspect, it certainly succeeded.

    Conclusion:
    If you are a diehard Sookie fan like me, you will want to read every last bit you can get. However don't expect too much out of this book. It was entertaining but not as much as the regular books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Deep Enough to Satisfy

    Ok, that headline makes me giggle. I usually giggle a couple of times during a full serving of Sookie Stackhouse and the gang. This offering of short stories just didn't measure up. I was hoping to fill in a few gaps here and there, but the stories didn't do that for me, either.

    The stories are romantic. The Christmas gift from Sookie's fairy grandfather was especially romantic. What a thoughtful gift! The story featuring Eric showed a different side of his character, but it didn't add anything of value to his character.

    The storylines weren't deep enough to satisfy my curiosity and love of Charlaine Harris's characters.
    I would recommend this to a die-hard fan of the series, but it is NOT a must-have addition to your collection. I'm a re-reader. It is highly doubtful that I will re-read this collection of short-stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Could have been better.

    I think it would have been better if it provided more information on the backgrounds of the characters. It was difficult to try to fit the stories into the overall time line, and one story seemed to be a rewrite of what already happened. It was a very quick read. I think it was overpriced. I still cannot wait for book 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    Worth the read only for the lovers of the Sookie Stackhouse series.

    Being a huge fan of the sookie stackhouse series, this book is not really that great, i read it because it contains small short stories of the series. not bad but nothing like the excitement of the series itself. i cant wait till may '10!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    Very short

    I bought this as an eBook for my Nook, and was disappointed that it contained only 93 pages, and those were "Nook pages", which have less text than paperback pages. I'm not sure how it ran to 228 pages in hardback. Did I get ripped off? I'm a diehard Sookie fan, though, so I enjoyed the little taste I did receive. Cannot wait for #10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for Feeding your Sookie Desires Between Books

    A compilation of Sookie short stories that is a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    A collection of previously published short stories

    Some of the short stories in this collection I had already read in the past so this collection was a little disappointing for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Boring and Disappointing for Charlaine Harris

    I'm a huge fan of the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris, but this book was boring and disappointing. This was a collection of short, relatively unrelated stories that put me to sleep. I think these were quite simply some stories that Harris had started writing...but never published until now. Further it seems as though these were only published for Harris to CASH in on the the loyal followers of HBO's "True Blood". I would not recommend buying this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good Sookie Fix

    By no means does A Touch Of Dead even come close to reading an actual Sookie novel, this book does give you a little taste/fix to keep you statisfied until May 2010 for Dead in the Family (pretty sure that is the title for the next book if I read her site correctly? don't qoute me though).

    Although they are complete stories, not much action happens and there is no character growth for any of them.

    Overall, I would definitely suggest adding to your Sookie collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Short stories leave one wanting

    While I did enjoy the short stories included in this book (and others) They were too short. Too little detail. It was somewhat disappointing after reading her other works. I felt like this was thrown together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Huge Sookie Fan but short story collection a let down!

    I am a huge Sookie Stackhouse fan, enjoying these more than the Twilight series. However, this book was a bit of a let down even for me the "die hard" fan. These stories were very short even for short stories and lacked any real substance. Although they were good for explaining small tidbits in the original series as the presence of the twins, I am glad I only bought the cheaper ebook and not the hardback. I cannot wait for the next installment of the Sookie Series after the last book left us hanging with her still between Eric and Bill. However, this book did its job and gave us just a little taste to make it till the next REAL one is released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For Sookie Stackhouse junkies

    Some good stories that fill in some of the gaps in the novels, but I wanted more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Must have for any fan of the Southern Vampire series

    I got this book to complete my collection of the Sookie Stackhouse novels. As with short stories that follow a series of books, it can be quite confusing what's going on when you haven't read the book the short story came from in quite some time. I'm a big fan of romance novels and I was hoping for some "insider action" which this book does not deliver. Overall, I was dissapointed and I think the short stories were irrelevant and the book was published just so the author could make more money. I love the series and I will continue to be a loyal fan but this book really was a waste of time and did no justice to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    I love the Sookie Stackhouse series!

    Charlaine Harris' other books are better honestly but I bought this because I'm addicted to this series and I needed something to tide me over until her next book comes out in 2010. The stories were good, albeit short. Its what you would expect in a book of short stories. Personally I prefer entire novels over short stories but this was just enough to hold me over until next year. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9