BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Touch of Dead: The Complete Stories (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series)

Average Rating 4
( 905 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(383)

4 Star

(228)

3 Star

(180)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

This is a terrific introduction to the few people in the country who have not visited the urban fantasy world of Sookie Stackhouse

"Fairy Dust". Claudine asks Sookie for a favor to read some people who have agreed to do so; of course this simple request turns deadly.

"Dracula Night". Vampires celebrate the Count on his birthday with Eric organizing quite a bash on "Dracula Night", but Sookie...
"Fairy Dust". Claudine asks Sookie for a favor to read some people who have agreed to do so; of course this simple request turns deadly.

"Dracula Night". Vampires celebrate the Count on his birthday with Eric organizing quite a bash on "Dracula Night", but Sookie as a guest never expected to attend a biting gala.

"One Word Answer". Sookie learns that her cousin Hadley died so she must attend the funeral not expecting to meet the vampire Queen of New Orleans.

"Luck". Insurance agent Greg Aubert hires roommates Sookie and Amelia the witch to determine who is breaking into his files as "Luck" is running out on residents of Bon Temps.

"Gift Wrap". Sookie is lonely for Christmas as she has no family to share the holidays with; depressed, she finds a wounded were outside whom she takes into her home.

This is a terrific introduction to the few people in the country who have not visited the urban fantasy world of Sookie Stackhouse. The five entries are reprints from other collections, but not placed in one anthology before. Each tale is fun to read as even when the heroine tries to mind her business, she ends up in the middle of a paranormal fiasco.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected...

Now I know this isn't supposed to be the next installment in the series, but it was seriously a disappointment. The stories are short, there is no climax, and the "issues" are resolved in a matter of lines. If you are a die hard Sookie series fan, you won't love this....
Now I know this isn't supposed to be the next installment in the series, but it was seriously a disappointment. The stories are short, there is no climax, and the "issues" are resolved in a matter of lines. If you are a die hard Sookie series fan, you won't love this. It's a really quick read, so if you are looking for something to quench your Sookie thirst until May 2010 when the 10th installment comes out then you should pick this up.

posted by SookieFanatic on October 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 912 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    Not what I expected...

    Now I know this isn't supposed to be the next installment in the series, but it was seriously a disappointment. The stories are short, there is no climax, and the "issues" are resolved in a matter of lines. If you are a die hard Sookie series fan, you won't love this. It's a really quick read, so if you are looking for something to quench your Sookie thirst until May 2010 when the 10th installment comes out then you should pick this up.

    28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific introduction to the few people in the country who have not visited the urban fantasy world of Sookie Stackhouse

    "Fairy Dust". Claudine asks Sookie for a favor to read some people who have agreed to do so; of course this simple request turns deadly.

    "Dracula Night". Vampires celebrate the Count on his birthday with Eric organizing quite a bash on "Dracula Night", but Sookie as a guest never expected to attend a biting gala.

    "One Word Answer". Sookie learns that her cousin Hadley died so she must attend the funeral not expecting to meet the vampire Queen of New Orleans.

    "Luck". Insurance agent Greg Aubert hires roommates Sookie and Amelia the witch to determine who is breaking into his files as "Luck" is running out on residents of Bon Temps.

    "Gift Wrap". Sookie is lonely for Christmas as she has no family to share the holidays with; depressed, she finds a wounded were outside whom she takes into her home.

    This is a terrific introduction to the few people in the country who have not visited the urban fantasy world of Sookie Stackhouse. The five entries are reprints from other collections, but not placed in one anthology before. Each tale is fun to read as even when the heroine tries to mind her business, she ends up in the middle of a paranormal fiasco.

    Harriet Klausner

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Collection of Short Stories

    It is just a collection of the short stories that have already been published in other books. The stories are cute and one is little disturbing about her grandfather and Christmas. But it is realy not worth purchasing, get it from the library or a friend. It is only 192 pages, one sitting and it is done.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For diehard Sookie fans

    Some of you may have seen my posts about Sookie Stackhouse and the Southern Vampire Novels. This is an addition to the collection. Be aware before you get too excited: this is a collection of short stories already published in various anthologies! Nevertheless, I am a diehard fan of the series (aka I cannot WAIT for more!) and loved getting to stave off my craving for a little longer. The wait between books can sometimes feel like forever so a little extra Sookie was nice. That being said, if you're NOT a diehard fan just looking for every last little bit of Sookie you can get, this will probably not be satisfying for you. The stories are pretty short (even as short stories go) and don't really have much to them. They feel more like deleted scenes from previous books (which I happen to like to watch in movies so that works for me). It fills in some interesting tidbits. You get to see when Sookie first hears about (and then meets) Claude. You also get to see her first encounter with Mr. Cataliades and her first run-in with the Queen of Louisiana. There's also a little bit of Bubba (and who doesn't love that?) and some insight into Eric's personality. There's also a part where you realize that Niall actually is a pretty cool guy to have as a great-grandfather (if a bit unconventional in the way he handles Christmas gifts...).

    All in all I liked it a whole lot but will tailor my recommendation just for people who feel the same way I do about picking up every little bit possible. Enjoy these deleted scenes and I'll be back in May when the next book comes out!

    PS - The short story collections are Wolfsbane and Mistletoe, Many Bloody Returns, Bite, Unusual Suspects, and Powers of Detection.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing based on price

    I am a huge Sookie fan so I paid the very high price for this ebook. I was very disappointed. It was on 94 pages long with 5 short stories. They were cute, but very little development. Worth it for maybe 5.99 or less, not 18.99.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A touch of good...

    I really liked this offering from Charlene Harris. Having been a True Blood fan, I, of course, want to read more about Sookie and the gang. This is short and sweet and really is very fun to read. It keeps you turning the pages, that's for sure!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a let down

    At first, I was sooo excited to find this book. As soon as I opened the box from UPS, I saw how short the book was. I read it in one sitting... what a disappointment. The stories didn't really give me any additional, interesting info on her wonderful characters. I read all nine of the Sookie Stackhouse books in 2 weeks! I coulnd't put them down! I wish I wouldn't have wasted my money on this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Series Ever!!

    I have been waiting for this book to come out for forever! I finished reading all 9 books in the Sookie Stackhouse series and didn't know what to do with myself lol. I then found out this book was soon to be released and i've been counting down the days until i can read it! If you have not read this series you'll love it! This book is not a continuance of the story but deals with the characters in short stories!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    the short stories were uneven in quality. not her best work

    the short stories were uneven in quality and not her best work. two of the tales were very disappointing. the rest of the stories were uninspired. too bad.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    My Least Favorite Sookie

    I love Sookie, and have followed her before she became HBO. However, these short stories are just not enough. It's hard to place them in time and I just couldn't get into some of them. I found the stories lackluster. No one will be missing out on much by skipping this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    Very Very Disappointed/Stories from the Book series already written..

    Huge disappointment........... Was wanting for the next book in the series and what I received was a recap of the books that I have read.......
    Please do not buy if you already read the series up to date..... Very Sad... The Author and Publisher are taking the dedicated readers....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Quick Look at Soakie Stackhouse

    This a great book for fans of Charlotte Harris. It is like a teaser with little stories involving Soakie with many of the regular characters of the series. Although I have read all the series, I found it entertaining and fun. The Soakie Stackhouse series is available in an 8 bookset, plus two more books have followed. If you like the romance of the south, some fang carying vampires, a bit of sex, a little humor and a young woman with a lot of gumption you will enjoy the books. They are an entertaining read and reread.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    I adore Sookie Stackhouse! This book was great and left me totally yearning for the next one! We really got to see Eric and Sookie's relationship get taken to the next level, I love him and they just seem so great together. Cannot wait to see what happens in the continuum of the fairy war!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This book was wonderful to read because it helped to explain in more detail some interesting parts from the whole series. Each story was just as interesting and will hold you interest just like the books do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series

    Great writing, story line, characters and one of the best series out there. A must read. Sookie makes friends with vampires, werewolves, faery... and just about everybody. Sookies is a very stong-willed woman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    "A Touch of the Dead" Is just what it claimes!

    When I found out that Ms. Harris was putting out a new book clearing up some loose ends from the Stackhouse series; I was over-joyed. That enjoyment was short lived! When I went to pick up my reserved book at B&N, I looked at it with disbelief. It was very small, and after reading it though in less than an hour, I could't believe that Ms. Harris felt that this book was necessary. I am a recent devotee to the Stackhouse series, having consumed the seires in 10 days, then just to make sure that I didn't miss anything I reread them again. I thoroughly enjoyed each book. That was not the case with this book.

    If I had to label this book anything it would be "REVENUE", does Ms. Harris have a bill due?

    The thought previous displayed in Ms. Harris's work was not shown here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love it!

    omg...this series gets better and better. i loved these short stories and i always ended up sad becuz they didn't continue into one of the long books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    SERIOUSLY I WAITED 3 MONTHS FOR THIS!!!!

    Well after reading TWILIGHT I fell in love with this series.. I could not wait till the next book came out in the series but BOY WAS I VERY VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED.... All it did was go over what we all have ready READ in short story form.. So I took it back to the book store and got my money back..Unless you want to reread everything you have already I would not buy this book.. Its nothing new.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    major disappointment

    HUGE Sooke fan. Couldn't wait for the short stories to come out even though I had read 2/5 before in other books. But was very disappointed in the out come. While it did work in some finer details that I had questions about it lacked what Harris is known for: Sookie's quick whit, romance and vampires. Most of the book was about Sookie using her "skills" to solve the who did it's. Still can't wait for next installment in series but felt like I wasted my money on this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    this is not the 10th book

    There are currently 9 books in the Sookie/Southern Vampire series. Book 10 is due out in May 2010 (year after the last one)
    This is supposed to be a collection of Sookie shorts. There are short stories that were published (mostly?) as part of Anthologies or collections of stories by various authors. For instance, Many Bloody Returns is a collection of short stories by several authors, the stories have a theme and are all vampire stories. Now pull out the Sookie stoy from that book and all the other Sookieverse shorts in other publications, ad compile them in one place and you have A Touch of Dead. This is MY understanding. I love the books! Charlain Harris has a website, Google her! I have not gotten to actually read this publication, though I have read some of the shorts. This book is due out 10/6/09. I just pre ordered it. I hope it atrives fast!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 912 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46