Customer Reviews for

A Touch of Dead: The Complete Stories (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series)

Average Rating 4
( 905 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(383)

4 Star

(228)

3 Star

(180)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

This is a terrific introduction to the few people in the country who have not visited the urban fantasy world of Sookie Stackhouse

"Fairy Dust". Claudine asks Sookie for a favor to read some people who have agreed to do so; of course this simple request turns deadly.

"Dracula Night". Vampires celebrate the Count on his birthday with Eric organizing quite a bash on "Dracula Night", but Sookie...
"Fairy Dust". Claudine asks Sookie for a favor to read some people who have agreed to do so; of course this simple request turns deadly.

"Dracula Night". Vampires celebrate the Count on his birthday with Eric organizing quite a bash on "Dracula Night", but Sookie as a guest never expected to attend a biting gala.

"One Word Answer". Sookie learns that her cousin Hadley died so she must attend the funeral not expecting to meet the vampire Queen of New Orleans.

"Luck". Insurance agent Greg Aubert hires roommates Sookie and Amelia the witch to determine who is breaking into his files as "Luck" is running out on residents of Bon Temps.

"Gift Wrap". Sookie is lonely for Christmas as she has no family to share the holidays with; depressed, she finds a wounded were outside whom she takes into her home.

This is a terrific introduction to the few people in the country who have not visited the urban fantasy world of Sookie Stackhouse. The five entries are reprints from other collections, but not placed in one anthology before. Each tale is fun to read as even when the heroine tries to mind her business, she ends up in the middle of a paranormal fiasco.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected...

Now I know this isn't supposed to be the next installment in the series, but it was seriously a disappointment. The stories are short, there is no climax, and the "issues" are resolved in a matter of lines. If you are a die hard Sookie series fan, you won't love this....
Now I know this isn't supposed to be the next installment in the series, but it was seriously a disappointment. The stories are short, there is no climax, and the "issues" are resolved in a matter of lines. If you are a die hard Sookie series fan, you won't love this. It's a really quick read, so if you are looking for something to quench your Sookie thirst until May 2010 when the 10th installment comes out then you should pick this up.

posted by SookieFanatic on October 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 912 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 46
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sookie Stackhouse Rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I can't wait for this collection of short stories. Some of the stories contain Sookie and some don't. The Southern Vampire series is the best. Buy this. October 6 is when it comes out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Very short book

    This is ridiculously expensive...a very very small book. RIP OFF

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Not worth the money

    94 page for $18.99 the stories are cute but not that cute

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed this collection, however $18.99 for an e-book that is three years old is absurd! I checked it out from the library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    DO NOT PAY THAT MUCH FOR THIS BOOK!!!

    SO NOT WORTH IT! It's a collection of stories and you don't know where thet fit into the other books. Don't buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Really

    For $18.99 you get to read 93 pages and many of those have no reading i am very disapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Amaziiiiing!!!!!

    When i first started the series, this book came out so i was able to read these as they tok place between the actual novels. Each story is fun and really good. Im glad i bought it. A must have for Sookie/True Blood fans!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    When to read.

    I think a good place to read this is after the fith book. Then when getting into the sixth book you wont feel lost about Sookie's cousin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Go Read

    Nice Sookie extras

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    If you are a Sookie Stakhouse fan, you need this one too.

    I ordered this book of short stories to read after I finished the latest installment. Sadly, I had already read it, but I did enjoy staying in Sookie's world just a little while longer. I still feel like I'm missing some stories along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Any bit of Sookie!

    These must have been hard to write for Charlaine Harris. To go back and not cloud details from previos books... While the stories are clever enough to hold your attention, at least mine, they are not enough to starve off what really captivates you in the series. I started reading the series this summer and finished all eleven books in one month. It was just so hard to put them down. So I guess if you need something to help get over that anxious waiting for the next book, than A touch of Dead will help and I found them entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    wish it had more short stories

    I bought this and really enjoyed the short novella in the beginning, but the since I have read and own all the other Sookie Stackhouse books, the majority of the book was a waste. I did not need a synopsis of each book. The recipes were ok , but I would have preferred to have all the Sookie Stackhouse short stories that were previously printed in anthologies. The book does mention them along with the anthologies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Timekiller

    shoddy writing and worse editing, but it was nice to have a little fresh, new sip of sookie while I wait for my turn at the library's copy of dead in the family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Not worth the price

    I enjoyed the srories but sure not worth the price,!,,, only 93 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Read but not worth the price.

    I expected this book to be 192 pages. It is not. It barely makes 93 pages and too much of that is the fluff stuff of books intros. The price of 17.99 for a Nook book is ridiculous. I am left with an enjoyable read but bad taste and empty feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    Not worth the price!!!

    For $18.99???? Paid way too much for this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    To much $$$$$$$$$$

    I love this book series, and I read the reviews and thought before buying this book. Unfortunatly I bought it and I am terribly disappointed. $18.99 for 5 short stories. I feel ripped off. It should have been no more then $5.00.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Why pay more than print?

    Why would I pay more than the hardcover price for this? Even if it were a Lend Me title, I could read and share the print version for much less money. Regretting my Nook Color purchase more and more every day. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Liked+it

    I+liked+it%2C+but+the+full+books+are+mmuch+better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more than 18$ in electronic format, it's like daylight robbery!

    it's even more expensive than the hardcover version

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 912 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 46