BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Touch of Frost (Mythos Academy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 293 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!

Reviewed by Valerie:

Disclaimer: I am NOT a mythology expert, nor do I claim to be one in any way!

Review: Okay, now that that's out of the way, here's the good stuff. This book blew me away! I absolutely and totally loved it. I am NOT an expert in mythology, not ...
Reviewed by Valerie:

Disclaimer: I am NOT a mythology expert, nor do I claim to be one in any way!

Review: Okay, now that that's out of the way, here's the good stuff. This book blew me away! I absolutely and totally loved it. I am NOT an expert in mythology, not even an amateur student so I did NOT compare this book to the actual myths or mythological lore. I simply read the book for its own story, which was amazing. What's wonderful about reviewing for this blog is being introduced to new authors and Jennifer Estep is now on my radar. I love the young adult genre, fantasy especially. This book has all the elements of a good story: lovable characters, characters you just hate with a passion, mystery, sadness, suspense...I could go on and on (hence the gush alert).

Gwen amazed me. She has the power to touch an object, psychometry, and know who touched it and what they were feeling, doing, thinking, etc. It's a very powerful ability to have and possess yet she doesn't really feel special compared to her classmates. Before, when her mom was alive, she shared the feelings of being special with her grandmother and mom, who also had abilities, but now she's thrown into the drama at Mythos Academy and things are very different. There are all sorts of students from amazons and valkyries to Spartans and ninjas, besides other types of warriors, but only one gypsy, her. She's different and alone.

When a young girl on campus is mysteriously murdered, in the library, Gwen cares. She doesn't know WHY she cares, no one else seems to care. The girl who died was not her friend, in any way, yet she cares. She starts to dig into the girl's life trying to find out who would have wanted her dead. Secrets emerge, lies are exposed, and danger lurks the closer she gets to the truth. As Gwen continues to try to find answers, she grows in many ways. She has to decide when to use her gift and when to avoid touching anyone or anything. It's a hard choice sometimes - the ability to know how someone really, really feels about you and others. She has to decide who she can trust. It seems even her own family is hiding things from her. She grieves over her mom's death and her part in it. She's a complicated character with all the angst that teens face when making really hard decisions. Yes, there is a bad boy who she keeps bumping in to and. yes, she does want to get to know him better but even though he defends her with his life, he has no interest in "gypsy girl." Gwen simply cannot understand him.

The Mythos Academy world that Estep has created is truly enjoyable and this was one book that I just could not put down. I read it from beginning to end, staying up late to do so. I look forward to the sequel scheduled for later this year!

posted by RtBBlog on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Terrible, just terrible

This book is the perfect example of everything wrong with this genre of books. The woe-is-me, nobody-likes-me, I-am-such-an-outsider type of heroine (Gwen) who somehow manages to catch the eye of a hot (but not in the least little bit interesting or appealing other than...
This book is the perfect example of everything wrong with this genre of books. The woe-is-me, nobody-likes-me, I-am-such-an-outsider type of heroine (Gwen) who somehow manages to catch the eye of a hot (but not in the least little bit interesting or appealing other than his looks) stud muffin all while battling to save the school full of people who don't even care that she exists.

The book would have been 1/3 of the length that it is if all the repetitive ideas and words had been eliminated. I am not sure why readers needed to know the inner dialogue about what happened to her mom over two dozen different times or reminded how filthy rich everyone else was in comparison to Gwen with every other sentence, but it really drove the story into the ground. I am pretty sure that the words "expensive" and "gypsy" make up about 60% of the words in the book. Readers are informed multiple times that Gwen doesn't really buy into the whole magic and myth thing, yet students have sparks flying out of their finger tips and jump out of 3rd story windows and are inhumanly strong....and she doesn't buy into it??? How ignorant of her surroundings can Gwen be and still be an interesting character to read about? Not very.

The book was slow, repetitive, predictable, badly planned and badly written, and I can not recommend it.

posted by citykate on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Terrible, just terrible

    This book is the perfect example of everything wrong with this genre of books. The woe-is-me, nobody-likes-me, I-am-such-an-outsider type of heroine (Gwen) who somehow manages to catch the eye of a hot (but not in the least little bit interesting or appealing other than his looks) stud muffin all while battling to save the school full of people who don't even care that she exists.

    The book would have been 1/3 of the length that it is if all the repetitive ideas and words had been eliminated. I am not sure why readers needed to know the inner dialogue about what happened to her mom over two dozen different times or reminded how filthy rich everyone else was in comparison to Gwen with every other sentence, but it really drove the story into the ground. I am pretty sure that the words "expensive" and "gypsy" make up about 60% of the words in the book. Readers are informed multiple times that Gwen doesn't really buy into the whole magic and myth thing, yet students have sparks flying out of their finger tips and jump out of 3rd story windows and are inhumanly strong....and she doesn't buy into it??? How ignorant of her surroundings can Gwen be and still be an interesting character to read about? Not very.

    The book was slow, repetitive, predictable, badly planned and badly written, and I can not recommend it.

    26 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    Reviewed by Valerie:

    Disclaimer: I am NOT a mythology expert, nor do I claim to be one in any way!

    Review: Okay, now that that's out of the way, here's the good stuff. This book blew me away! I absolutely and totally loved it. I am NOT an expert in mythology, not even an amateur student so I did NOT compare this book to the actual myths or mythological lore. I simply read the book for its own story, which was amazing. What's wonderful about reviewing for this blog is being introduced to new authors and Jennifer Estep is now on my radar. I love the young adult genre, fantasy especially. This book has all the elements of a good story: lovable characters, characters you just hate with a passion, mystery, sadness, suspense...I could go on and on (hence the gush alert).

    Gwen amazed me. She has the power to touch an object, psychometry, and know who touched it and what they were feeling, doing, thinking, etc. It's a very powerful ability to have and possess yet she doesn't really feel special compared to her classmates. Before, when her mom was alive, she shared the feelings of being special with her grandmother and mom, who also had abilities, but now she's thrown into the drama at Mythos Academy and things are very different. There are all sorts of students from amazons and valkyries to Spartans and ninjas, besides other types of warriors, but only one gypsy, her. She's different and alone.

    When a young girl on campus is mysteriously murdered, in the library, Gwen cares. She doesn't know WHY she cares, no one else seems to care. The girl who died was not her friend, in any way, yet she cares. She starts to dig into the girl's life trying to find out who would have wanted her dead. Secrets emerge, lies are exposed, and danger lurks the closer she gets to the truth. As Gwen continues to try to find answers, she grows in many ways. She has to decide when to use her gift and when to avoid touching anyone or anything. It's a hard choice sometimes - the ability to know how someone really, really feels about you and others. She has to decide who she can trust. It seems even her own family is hiding things from her. She grieves over her mom's death and her part in it. She's a complicated character with all the angst that teens face when making really hard decisions. Yes, there is a bad boy who she keeps bumping in to and. yes, she does want to get to know him better but even though he defends her with his life, he has no interest in "gypsy girl." Gwen simply cannot understand him.

    The Mythos Academy world that Estep has created is truly enjoyable and this was one book that I just could not put down. I read it from beginning to end, staying up late to do so. I look forward to the sequel scheduled for later this year!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    I had heard good thing sabout Jennifer's YA series Mythos Academ

    I had heard good thing sabout Jennifer's YA series Mythos Academy, and it sounded like something I would typically enjoy; a story inspired by mythology with a misfit heroine trying to figure out her role in a new chapter in her life. Most readers who have read a good amount of YA can name a handful of series that follow this formula; but there's something about this familiarity of a story that works in Mythos Academy's favour, something that makes it as charming and enjoyable as its predeccesors.

    Reasons to Read:

    1.A new spin on an old tale:

    There's no shortage of books involving extraordinary teenagers in boarding school, where they need to learn to defend themselves and ultimately defeat their mortal enemies. But I think part of the reason there are so many books like this is because they're read often and sell well. The plot relies on a number of archetypes, but what I particularly enjoyed about Jennifer Estep's version in Touch of Frost is that she does not heavily rely upon any one kind of mythology, the way that Percy Jackson does for example. Mythology clearly influences the story and plays an important role, but the story stands on its own very well. The mythology, in this case, almost seems to take a backseat to the rest of the story rather than being the driving force for it. That's something truly remarkable and rather unheard of in these types of books.

    2.A heroine with her head on straight:

    'Kay, this was easily my favourite thing about Gwen, but I LOVED how level-headed she was! She'd get sidetracked by the cute boy in front of her for about a minute, then go right back to whatever it was she was doing. She's incredibly focused, and I liked that instead of moping around about how life isn't fair and she's drawn a poor hand (which I truly wouldn't judge her for, because it's true) she focuses her energy into her own projects. I also found Jennifer's writing to be enjoyable, and rather clever in dry-wit, punny kind of way which clearly came through as Gwen's voice. But that's exactly the kind of humour I appreciate, so I thought it was great!

    3.Super-sleuth girl:

    I have a weakness for books that follow a "whodunnit" mystery storyline! I love trying to piece together all the pieces of the puzzle, to see if I can guess who the bad guy is. I tried really hard this time, honest. But even then, my guess was just a tad off. I WAS able to figure out the first half of it, and I even figured out the right person... I just had the wrong plan entirely. Bonus points for Touch of Frost since it DIDN'T end up being totally predictable and surprised me.

    4.Some unexpected secondary characters:

    I also liked getting to see some unexpected sides of characers I initially thought would remain rather two dimensional through the series; to be fair, I did find the villain in this first book to be rather bland but I think the secondary characters that we got to know better as the story progressed made up for it. Gwen makes some surprising friends, and it's a relief to see an author willing to break some stereotypes.

    Touch of Frost easily incorporates anything and everything one would expect from a paranormal romance YA read; it's fun, exciting, with a healthy dose of mystery and romance.

    There are a number of elements found in Touch of Frost that readers will be familiar with; it's fairly predictable, and similar to any Harry Potter or Percy Jackson book, there's plenty of foreshadowing in the information provided at the beginning of the book for what is to come by the end of it. So don't expect anything earth shattering or incredibly creative; it's a fault I also find in the aforementioned series as well. This is still a fast-paced read that's well worth reading, and one that had me going to the bookstore to buy the sequel as soon as I finished this one.

    Paperback copy received as gift.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    An exceptional book- hard to put down. Enjoyed it

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    This was a great read I truly enjoyed. Can only recommend

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Clash of the Teenage Titans

    TOUCH OF FROST GAVE ME CHILLS, it was so good. And what's not to like in a world filled with pale pink computer-hacking warrior princesses, moody talking swords, a deliciously crush-worthy bad boy spartan who can turn anything, I mean anything into a deadly weapon, and one unlikely heroine in a school full of heros, a geeky gypsy girl who might just save the world. This book was truly awesome.

    Mythology meets modernity at Mythos Academy. The nefarious Loki and his Reapers of Chaos are in a constant battle with the Pantheon. So naturally the forces of good and evil are staging their latest battle... in a high school. In an institution filled with warrior whiz kids, ironically the fate of the world rests with an odd girl who thinks all myth and magic is a load of bunk, and who can't fight for squat. But her gypsy gifts are only the start of her powers and she may just find that she's a lot stronger and braver than she thought, more of a warrior then she could have imagined, the perfect champion.
    Jennifer Estep's first foray into YA was excellent. Anything with a strong mythological base is always a treat, but Estep really made it fresh and different by only focusing on the soldiers of lore and champions of the gods, instead of the usual heros. The storyline was great, definitely not what I was expecting. I feel like where Estep took the story stayed true with the YA genre, it had believable teenage motivations, while managing to weave in some more mature villains. Gwen is a wonderful character she was witty and a bit snarky without being annoying. If her development is anything like Gin Blanco, then I'm sure with each book her powers will grow and evolve until she's become the powerhouse heroine to match any god. I can't wait for the future tomes to see how her skills will build. Daphne was an equally fun character, the prissy pink princess valkyrie who happens to also be a total computer geek. And then there's Logan. I'm not entirely sure he's the playboy everyone makes him out to be, plus he's got some secret that will keep me interested in this series. I thought the beginning felt a little weird, because Gwen is very lonely with her social exile and the grief she's going through. You can really feel the absence of companionship. Then she starts hanging out with Daphne and the solitary strangeness ends and much needed secondary characters emerge. So stick with it the awkwardness rights itself. Plus there's a wonderfully long battle scene toward the end.

    The only thing I really didn't like was Estep's repeated use of certain descriptives and catch phrases. I don't like reading how Logan has ink-black hair, or how Gwen's eyes are the color of twilight EVERY time it comes up. And it came up a lot. I get that warrior whiz kids, and magic mumbo jumbo has good alliteration but these phrases where too redundant. I think writing flows better when the author finds new ways of saying the same thing. My rating is 4.5 stars because of this repetition.

    Great Book. Exciting New Series. Highly Addictive Read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Twists and surprises

    Gwen Frost knows secrets just by touching items belonging to other people. But she doesn't know why she's in Mythos Academy with the too rich, too beautiful, and too snotty. They're rumored to be descendants of mythological warriors, and Gwen is a descendent of gypsies. She doesn't belong here. Still mourning the death of her police detective mother, Gwen is stuck in this place. And for some reason Logan freaking Quinn, the baddest and sexiest Spartan at Mythos, is flirting with her. Then the most popular girl in school is killed. I want to say "and the fun begins," but the fun begins at page one. I love the twists, turns, and surprises of this book. I empathized with Gwen and admired her for her toughness along with the vulnerabilities she won't even admit to herself. Though this is a YA book, adults will enjoy it just as much.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Touch of Frost was an enjoyable paranormal read with a great mys

    Touch of Frost was an enjoyable paranormal read with a great mystery and a fun new twist on mythology.

    I've always been a huge fan of mythology so the idea of Mythos Academy; an elite school for the descendents of Amazons, Valkyries and Spartans was a well developed and unique one. I loved learning about the school, its history, and all the different myths that tie into it.

    I liked the MC Gwen a lot. I think she's easy to relate to if you've ever felt like an outsider or had to be the new kid at school. Gwen is independent, smart and cares deeply for her family. She also has a great sense of humor, always poking fun at people especially herself. My only complaint with Gwen is that I wish she had been more confident in her gypsy gift and herself. She keeps seeing all this crazy stuff happen around her and sometimes to her, but then just lets it go because she can't figure it out. This becomes more frustrating by the fact that Gwen already knows the answer but can't grab onto what it is.

    The supporting cast of Daphne, Logan, and Professor Metis all help bring out a new side of Gwen and its fun to see her explore all these different relationships. Professor Metis tries to help Gwen be more comfortable with her abilities, while Logan adds a bit of intrigue with his bad boy ways. However, its Daphne who surprised me the most. She's much more then the mean girl she appears to be and had easily won me over by the end of the novel.

    I think the murder mystery side of the story was well paced and featured a few surprise twists, some which I never saw coming. In fact I only figured out the mystery shortly before its reveal, which is actually a bit late for me.

    A few themes do get repeated several times throughout the novel, most notably Gwen's feelings about her gypsy gift and how it landed her at Mythos. While it's a bit distracting I don't think it hurts the novel to much. Instead, it just kind of slows down the pacing for a bit.

    I think a Touch of Frost will definitely appeal to any fan of paranormal, mythology or mystery books. Its a great start to a fun new YA series and I'm looking forward to reading the next book, Kiss of Frost.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm sure this book had a split personality or the characters did

    I'm sure this book had a split personality or the characters did at least. The premise of this book of Jennifer Estep's intrigued me enough to want to read it. But, it was hard work. Just when I started liking the main character she threw a curve ball at me that made me hate her. On and on this went right throughout the book.

    Gwen had to go to Mythos academy after her mother died and her grandmother decided she should go. But, this school was not a normal school. It was made up of mythological types - Spartans, Valkyries and others. Gwen was a gypsy.

    Gwen was a character you love to hate. There were moments when she was kick-ass - just how you wanted a heroine - and then she was a complete (insert appropriate swear word here). She was so judgmental about some of her classmates and she didn't even know them. Plus, whatever her classmates did were actually none of her business. You don't get to call a person a 'raging slut' when you don't know them from a bar of soap. In fact, you have no right to judge them like that at all.

    Anyway, enough of that - I think you get my meaning.

    Logan was a character I actually liked a bit. He was tough, but he also loved to tease Gwen. He was quite a funny character actually. Although I think he could have been a lot better.

    The book was filled to the brim of stereotypes. You have the rich, mean girls, the girl with no friends (Gwen), the hot boys who slept with every girl they could (Logan) It just so frustrating coming across so many types of it. The plot was somewhat original - the characters, well, not so much. And the ending, although fascinating, had elements of a cliche. But, I won't say what because you need to read the book to guess what I mean.

    In this case, it was the plot that made me keep reading. I really liked the story line, mostly because it seems to be based on Norse mythology. I like reading about different types of mythology so to come across this book was great. And, it had all the elements I liked. Suspense, action, romance and the mythology aspect.

    Among the several things that annoyed me about this book was that there seemed to be a lot of info-dumping in the form of dialogue or in the thoughts Gwen had. I know that it was to set the scene of what was happening or what was going to happen, but it just seemed too much. I lost my concentration several times because I got bored with it. There's only so much I want to know about mythology before I feel like I should just read the myth instead of the book.

    But, even with all that, I'll still go on to read the sequels, not because of the characters, but because of the plot.

    Book Review by Sandy at Magical Manuscripts

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You don't have to be a Young Adult to love this novel

    Gwen Frost has had a lot to contend with in her young life, her mom dying tops that list, but what she didn't expect was what happened after that when her Grandma decided she need to attend Mythos Academy, a place where Gwen is an automatic outcast a place that's as mysterious as the students who attend here and the real reason she's here too. Mythos Academy is nothing like any high school we've ever seen, it's sort of a prep school for how to be a Titan, that's right the students are living breathing descendants of Amazons, Vikings, Spartans and Valkries among other myth busting species, and they're here to learn how to be warriors to stop another Chaos war by keeping Loki in his magical prison and his minions at bay. But what does this mean for Gwen, well she's about to find out as she tries to solve a murder at the school and gets pulled deeper into the reality that things are not always as they seem and sometimes all it takes is a "Touch of Frost".
    Jennifer Estep is no stranger to me as I love her adult urban fantasy Elemental Assassin series. This series takes place in close proximity to that one and she even mentions the prolific Pork Pit from that series in this one, but that's where the similarity ends because she floats from adult to YA with the ease of a surfer catching the perfect wave. Her story line is just as incredible as the adult series filled with all mythological beings from our high school ancient history classes and yet she fills those pages with characters that pop off the page with their realism and their believability. Her narrative is very "high school", well I think it is anyway, since I'm way over that limit, but it seems very hip and very young to these aging ears. Her heroine Gwen Frost is such a likable character, needy and yet brave at the same time. She shows us very different sides of Gwen which makes me all the more impressed with her. She fills the pages with fast paced action, danger and more myth come to life beings on both sides of the good vs evil fence.

    If you like YA, this one will rate right up there with the best, if you're a fan of urban fantasy, or paranormal adult or YA you'll like this one. If you are just a lover of a great story told by an amazing storyteller, pick this one up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So first off... Thank you to Erica from The Book Cellar for this

    So first off... Thank you to Erica from The Book Cellar for this fantastic recommendation because I absolutely loved this book. It was everything I was expecting and more! Once I started I honestly couldn't get enough of this book. The world is amazing. Mythos Academy is amazing. The characters are all brilliant in their own way. I absolutely loved Gwen right from the start and her story is purely addicting.




    So the romance part... yeah well there isn't too much. Well, I take that back. There is a good amount of romance I just think most of it happens between the secondary characters. Which wasn't necessarily a bad thing, I think it was a smart move on Jennifer's part to not have Gwen rush into a hot and heavy romance knowing there's so much more ahead. That being said there is still Carson, who I absolutely loved and of course our hero hunk-a-sexy-boy Logan. Unf, I love that spartan and want so much more of him! He's one of those super strong bad boys yet you know there's so much more lurking beneath his exterior. And plus, with a story so good who needs a strong story line? There's a kick-ass main character.




    Overall this story just flows so perfectly. Touch Of Frost is one of those books where you just HAVE to know what's coming next. It's thrilling and mysterious yet at the same time there's so many laughs. It's one of those books where you love every character for different reasons. Take Daphne for example... I thought she was going to be one of those characters I was going to have to hate, yet I ended up loving her in the end. That being said, the ending was definitely intense. I read this book from beginning to end without stopping and instantly bought book two. Loved, loved, loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I can always tell how much I like a book by how often I put it d

    I can always tell how much I like a book by how often I put it down. I put Touch of Frost down because I had to leave for work, came home intending to read it, couldn't remember where I put it, and read another book until I found it a few days later.

    It neatly summarizes what I thought about it. I liked it enough to want to keep reading, but not having it around wasn't really that big of a loss.

    The main problem I have with this book isn't the school (it's awesome) or the mythology (it's cool) or the kick ass fight scenes (they're, well, kick ass). It's the main character and her love interest.

    I like Gwen, don't get me wrong. And I like Logan. (Please, this isn't a spoiler; if you can't figure out he's going to be the love interest from the first time he's introduced, you're dull.) It's the entire way it was set up.

    The thing about this book is that I would have loved it had the love bit haven't been emphasized. And the good thing about this book is that the characters [SPOILER ALERT] don't even date or kiss or anything by the end. They're just plodding along being romantic-ish. [/SPOILER ALERT]

    But they're so OBVIOUSLY going to end up together at some point. The killer boy and the Gypsy girl!? Oh, and she keeps LITERALLY running into him. And he's all SMOLDER SMOLDER and she's all BLUSH GEEK WHOOPS and I'm all I'VE READ THIS IN EVERY OTHER PARANORMAL ROMANCE OUT THERE PLEASE GIVE ME SOMETHING NEW.

    I would have much preferred to learn more about Daphne's love story. That I liked. It was interesting and cute.

    But besides that, I did like Touch of Frost, at least enough to be interested in what might happen in the sequel. Everything seemed a little cliche and cheesy at times, but that didn't stop me from enjoying it. (Maybe it's because I adore the name Gwen and any variation thereof.) I liked the way the mythology was brought in and I LOVED the teachers, absolutely adored them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I’ve been meaning to read this series for quite a long tim

    I’ve been meaning to read this series for quite a long time. I mean, it’s about an academy with teen mythological warriors. (What better than Valkyries, Amazons, Vikings, Romans, and Spartans to lure you in?) And a hot guy. And a spunky heroine. What’s not to like? So when I finally found this at the library, I grabbed it immediately.

    I’m sad to say, however, that I was a little disappointed.

    The protagonist, Gwen Frost, is a Gypsy with a psychic power–psychometry, the ability to read an object’s history if she touches it. It’s pretty cool, but it can be pretty annoying. Her mom and her grandma both had psychic abilities too, which comes with being a Gypsy. But Gwen’s the only Gypsy at Mythos Academy–and that makes her feel left out. ‘Cause who wants to hang out with the poor Gypsy? She’s the only one in the school who doesn’t take to a weapon like it was made for her, and she’s not rich.

    Boohoo. Why should she care about being rich? Thankfully, she doesn’t worry TOO much. But while I love Gwen’s snarky personality, sometimes I find her a little bit too stupid for her own good. That’s probably because of how predictable this book was. (More on that later.) She honestly should have connected the pieces together before she was in danger and a hot dude had to save her. Again. (Ever the damsel in distress.)

    And, obviously, there’s romance here. Duh. (It’s a school full of teenagers–what do you expect?) Gwen finds herself attracted to Logan Quinn, a handsome but deadly Spartan–a warrior who can grab any object and instantly know how to kill you with it. (You better not get on his bad side.) And while I did love Logan, I thought he was a little bit too bad boy–a little bit too cliché. Especially with that mysterious secret that he doesn’t want her to know…

    Can I talk about how much some characters bothered me? For instance: the Valkyrie princesses (aka the typical mean girl clique). How many times have YOU seen this cliché in books? For me, I’d say at least ten by now. I’d be surprised if it was less. Because I am so tired of it: how the mean girls treat the heroine like dirt, and then either the mean girls turn good or the heroine gets revenge. Something of that sort, hmm?

    To be honest, my favorite character was a talking sword. Interesting guy.

    The mystery in this book really let me down. I’d been hoping for this epic fight between the gods in the Pantheon and Loki’s Reapers, but well…It didn’t quite turn out that way. See, in the beginning of the book, Gwen (who works in the library) discovers a girl’s dead body next to the Bowl of Tears, a mythical artifact that everyone but her believes to be stolen by the Reaper who must have killed Jasmine too. But Gwen isn’t so sure, and she’s going to use her psychometry to get to the bottom of this.

    Two ways I was disappointed: (1) the motive behind the murder mystery was incredibly stupid, and (2) I figured it out loooong before the solution was revealed. Why, you ask? Because the clues were repeated OVER and OVER again. They clearly stood out in Gwen’s head, and she didn’t get a thing out of them. (Hence why I thought she was not so bright.) I think the question that went most through my head while reading this book was, “Really, Jennifer Estep, couldn’t you be a little more subtle?”

    Touch of Frost was a light read; the concept was great and the characters were entertaining, but the characters were clichéd and the mystery was lacking in an important characteristic: surprise. However, I did love the romance, and I’m hoping that Jennifer Estep can redeem herself in the future with the sequels.

    Source: Paperback borrowed from library

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Ok

    Ok

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Repeat and repeat, and repeat again!

    Ok I think I like the storyline. It has a good grip on the reader as long as you can get passed all the flash-thought. Okay we get it...she looses her mother, she thinks it's her fault, but why must the reader need to be reminded in every chapter about her (Gwen's) woes? (And sometimes more than once per chapter) I would give this book a higher rating if it wasn't for this.

    So buyer beware! Good potential story, poor exicution. The story is different enough to be original, so I guess you could buy this book, but don't say I did'nt warn you of the writting style. Good Luck! You'll need it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I dunno. Series has promising premise and after reading all the

    I dunno. Series has promising premise and after reading all the reviews from others I had an inkling what I was getting into. Possibly after this first entry series gets a move on and characters develop. Good news I guess is that this is not a total ripoff of the worldbuilding seen in Orson Scott Card's Mither Mages series about Loki and the Norse gods (some older short stories and the fairly recently published The Lost Gate), Clash of the Titans author notes as inspiration, Percy Jackson and the Olympian Thiefs, or Vampire/Other Academy/school series. It do stand alone. Blessedly no love triangles or suddenly in middle of book out-with-the-old-in-with-the-new love interest (yet).

    I really seriously wanted an app to highlight whole phrases/paragraphs of information that were endlessly repeated, over and over and over so I could skip highlighted bits. Maybe a text version where I could write a script/macro to delete it out automatically and then read the story. Character kept a chip on shoulder all thru this first volume which also did not help. Sudden friendships and deity involvement towards the end did not flow well. Not sure about one reviewer's ranting on about the pumpkins (sympathetic about the endless, heavy handed repeating of things like "...violet eyes are smiling ..." and "freckles on winter white skin" -- but the pumpkin reference was her grandma's nickname for her so that made some sense; one mention only pumpkin roll and fudge dessert and one mention of something that was pumpkin-colored at October dance -- considering all else that was endlessly repeated, I was fine with the pumpkin nickname). I realize that she was recently orphaned and guess that's why the Mom's recent death kept being mentioned; but, it was the same few sentences over and over and over -- not getting into characters head/emotion or even lots of fresh memories grief awakens, just repeat-repeat-repeat. Don't even get me started on the bored-with-=this-class-lecture-about-blah-blah-blah paragraphs; if character was so bored with that she mentally blah-blah-blah'ed -- why do we want to keep hearing about it?

    I would not exactly call this YA genre despite age of main character; it was set more like an upper graduate college dorm or high end frat house type of setting with lots of student misbehaving and sneaking around (surprisingly uninteresting as little of text given over to other than repetitive mentioning of how spoilt, slutty, drunken, sexually-active the cliques were; written for YA audience so guess author felt could not be explicit).

    I guess the author definitely writes from a keyboard and has really mastered the art of the cut and the paste. Must have made the editing for typos easiers; book was just fine in terms of typos and other crud getting in the way like some of the recently published books in the genre. May get next book from library and read beginning to see if series continues all the repeating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Ok

    The story line was interesting with a slight twist of originality, but I just found the main character anoying. One moment she is eloquent if not a little brash andthe next...well she's not. I cringed every time she said "yucko", what is she five. I just got the feeling the author was trying too hard to make her seem younger. Either way, whatever she was supposed to be was not consistant. Also, it was a bit repedative as far as explanation of her back story and abilites, but like I wrote earlier interesting...just not my favorite and I'm still debating whether its worth buying the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    :)-

    Best book ever!!!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Why bother

    I agree it copies percy jackson i hate this book dont get

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Ok

    .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15