Customer Reviews for

Touch of Power

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book! It's the first time I've read anyth

    I really enjoyed this book! It's the first time I've read anything written by the author, Maria V. Snyder, and I must say I truly appreciate her style of writing! Fantasy is one of my favorite genres and Ms. Snyder did not let me down.

    The characters are developed nicely. Each has his or her own quirks that makes them unique individuals. Yes, there's a romance, but it doesn't get in the way of the story.

    The story is well-paced, without being rushed, so it's easy to keep up with the action. It's an interesting premise, healers who may be guilty of spreading the plague. They must sacrifice all to heal anyone stricken with it. It reminded me of one of my favorite original Star Trek episodes where the alien species can heal, but must learn to not be afraid of the pain they take from the sick and wounded. Will Avry heal the prince? Find out for yourself, I'm not telling! It's definitely worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    I loved the book but I found it in the romance section of my boo

    I loved the book but I found it in the romance section of my bookstore and I don't really fell it is a romance novel more like a fantasy. Not that there wasn't love, it just wasn't what the story was about. But still definitely worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Not the best romance I'v read

    I love the heroin but the guy thats in love with her treats her like scum so it was hard to get into the romance side of this, but the adventure was what made me keep reading. So for me abuse isn't romantic or charming so don't expect too much romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Avry is the last of her kind. A healer who was once praised but

    Avry is the last of her kind. A healer who was once praised but it now feared and hunted as being the cause of the plague. When Avry is on deaths doorstep the night before meeting her fate with the guillotine, when a crew of men come bursting into the jail and free her. The one thing they ask in return for her freedom is to heal their friend who has the plague. However, once Avry finds out who the "friend" is she is hell bent on doing anything BUT heal him. It's up to the guys to convince her but it's hard to do when you are being hunted by not only one ruler of the Fifteen Realms but two rulers.

    The world Snyder creates is amazing. She really knows her way around words and can instantly take the reader into her world with ease. I was a little skeptical on reading this novel, I thought it would be a mediocre YA story but the story that the Snyder wove instantly captures you. She has the perfect balance of details without being too wordy, witty dialogue and a slow kindling romance in the background.

    This story flowed a lot like Poison Study. You have a feisty heroin who is in a bind and a brooding male who is pretty much her captor. However, I enjoyed the action that this novel had as well as the addition of the gang (Flea, Vinn, Quain and Belen). With having the extra characters as well as the constant traveling and fighting, it really took a step up from the other novel. Do I even need to mention the gorgeous cover?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Wonderful!

    As a fan of the study series, I was blown away by Snyder's new world, characters, and the tale they wove. Simply magical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Reviled for her healing gifts, Avry is kidnapped for just those skills.

    Ever since the plague decimated the population of the kingdoms, Avry has searched for other living healers and her lost family. Each time she gives in to the demands of her gifts and heals someone, she has to run again.

    Now, she has been kidnapped for those very gifts. She needs to heal the one king, she hates the most. Every escape attempt she makes is thwarted. When she learns what the other kings are doing, she decides that the one is stasis is the best of the two bad options she is presented with.

    Along the journey, Avry will learn the source of the plague and find her beloved, younger sister; only to be betrayed by her.

    Ms. Snyder writes a powerful story of what can be done with unlimiited power and the choices that those so blessed must make. Avry is forced to make a decision which could end her own life but with the knowledge that by doing so, she will leave behind a better world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    L-O-V-E-D IT!

    I came across Maria a little over a year ago. I started with her Poison Series. My cousin and I both fell in love with her writing. I stopped after that, wanting to read on to the Glass Series, and maybe Inside/Out. I just never got around to it. When I first got the email with the clip of this book, I wasn't thinking about buying it. I bought out of pure impulse. And I'm so happy I did! Her writing has just gotten better and better as the years have passed, and this book blew my mind. ( Although I did call Avry;'love interest before the second chapter ) It' worth the money,and I can't wait for 2013 to roll around for the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Another awesome book by Maria Snyder!

    4.5 stars. I’m a fan of Maria V. Snyder. Poison Study and Inside Out are two books I absolutely love so I was excited to see that she has a new fantasy series for me to get lost in. Touch of Power is classic Snyder and it does not disappoint.

    No doubt, Snyder is a master at world building. The plague ravaged Fifteen Realms is in shambles and the political leaders that are left alive are scrambling to grab as much power and territories as they can. Avry, who has been hiding and on the run for years, becomes a pawn in this political game. Throw in characters with special magical abilities and carnivorous flowers big enough to swallow a person whole and you have an unputdownable book that will keep you absolutely engaged to the end.

    Speaking of characters with special abilities, Avry’s healing is very cool. She is also snarky and having the story told from her perspective is a treat. My only complaint is that at times, Avery’s narration is a bit too modern and out of place with the rest of the fantasy setting. Still, I love Avry, she is definitely another wonderful and memorable character that Ms. Snyder has created.

    Kerrick is a huge jerk at the beginning of the book. He’s a brooding kill-joy and a bit of a bully at first, but thankfully, he fully redeems himself by the end. While I know I shouldn’t, I did compare him to Valek from Poison Study and while I don’t love him as much as Valek, Kerrick does have his own kind of awesome going for him. The secondary characters are very well written as well. Kerrick’s men are so lovable and the bad guy is especially pervy and awful. He is definitely the guy you love to hate.

    As an escapist reader, I really enjoyed getting lost in another of Maria Snyder’s fabulous worlds. I highly recommend this book to fantasy lovers everywhere, and even if you don’t usually read fantasy, you should try Touch of Power. It’s that good!

    Content: Kissing, sexual situations, implied sex (no detailed descriptions) and violence. This is not a YA novel and most of the characters, including Avry and Kerrick, are in their twenties. I don't think it is appropriate for younger teens but older, more mature teens should be fine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Draws You In

    Avry has spent the last few years on the run. In a world with filled with magic, her particular brand of talents are feared. Healers are hunted and put to death for their response to the great plague that has swept the lands. Avry cannot escape the call of helping though, and is soon imprisoned when she is caught healing a young child. Much to her surprise, Avry is broken out of jail by a band of men who seem to have their own reasons for freeing her. Now Avry has to decide whether her freedom and even her life are worth saving someone who may be able to save the world.

    I have heard of Maria V. Snyder from other people, but I never read one of her books. Wow. That is all I can say. I was drawn into this book from the start, and I probably wouldn't have stopped reading if I didn't have other things to do. Everything was just so beautifully done. The pacing was fantastic- lots of action, but plenty of chances to breath and get to know the characters some more. There were moments that were hilarious, and moments that just break your heart. The world was so well developed, and that really helps you get lost in it from the very beginning. There were a couple of twists and turns, and I was definitely left wanting more in the end.

    I am keeping this review a little shallow on purpose. There were so many things that I loved about this book, but a lot of the fun was in discovering them. Just know that I highly recommend this book, and it's probably in the top of the books I've read this year. I am definitely adding more books by Maria V. Snyder on my to-read list. This book was so absorbing, I didn't even know where the time had gone. It is a great book, and I can't wait to see what the next one in the series holds!

    Galley provided for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Loved It!

    This book reminded me of why I started buying books from this author.
    Still have fond memories of Poison Study and this one is riht on par wih it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Don't wait!

    As always Maria V. Snyder's latest does not disappoint. I found the main character's constant struggle to not use the gifts she was born with thought provoking and the politics well written. One character was truly offensive to me and I found myself mentally yelling at the author for including him...I'm sure you'll be able to guess who he is as you read... Overall I loved the book and cant wait to see where the story goes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Maria does it again!

    It's been over a week since I finished this book and I still get a silly grin on my face when I think about it. This book has everything I love in a book- a strong, independent heroine, a moody, brooding love interest, a set of sidekicks that are loyal and funny, a villain that makes my skin crawl, magic and lots of action and adventure. I loved being in this new world that Maria has created! I don't want to say much because I will spoil things (which is why I'm terrible at writing reviews). Just trust me on this one- if you are fan of Maria's Poison Study series you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Another great book

    Really loved this book. Wish it went into a little more detail about the lillys but im sure that it will in the second book. Cant wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    She does it again. I loved the Study and Glass trilogies and I find that I once again love her newest book. I will be waiting on pins and needles for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Fantastic

    Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    review courtesy of One Book At A Time

    I've been eagerly awaiting this book for several reasons. First, I've yet to come across a book Maria has written that I didn't like. Second, this sounded more like the type of story in The Study series which is my favorite. I was not disappointed.

    I was immediately drawn to Avry's character. I liked that she's a healer, which has put her on the run for the past years. But the fear of death doesn't overpower her need to help people. She's especially drawn to children close to death. When she's "rescued" from prison, she doesn't know what to expect. And it's definitely not the idea of traveling across half the country to heal a man she's has no intention of healing. But, it's either that or risk being caught by the bandits chasing them. She's got a hefty bounty on her head, and she's worth more if she's brought in alive.

    I loved learning about the world Avry lives in. It's in complete turmoil since the plague devastated most of the population. There are a few people willing to go to great lengths to control it all. Turns out these people are connected in ways you wouldn't imagine, and they're playing a game for the ultimate prize. Avry has to decide who to trust, what previous notions she has to let go, and most of all what might be best for the country as a whole. Imagine being able to influence something on that level.

    The story is full of characters I loved. I enjoyed Kerrick and his band of men. I think Avry was so use to being alone, that this group showed her what it was like to have people care about you. I also enjoyed their devotion to Ryne not matter what it cost them. It's truth faith in some, even if it can be some what blinded. I enjoyed the intrigue and even the deviousness of the "bad" guys. I never knew what to expect.

    It's a wonderful fantasy story full of magic, suspense, and romance. I highly recommend it, especially if you enjoyed The Study series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Perfect Fantasy Book.

    I've now read 6 books from Maria V. Snyder, and I have just loved every single one. My book love started with Poison Study, and continued all through the trilogy. Then she came out with a second trilogy, starting with Storm Glass, but I (embarrassingly!) haven't gotten around to reading it. And then came the two books, Inside Out and Outside In, which I fell into completely. Those books were SO good. So I was looking forward to Touch of Power, even though the cover art is too cheesy for my tastes. It did not disappoint.

    Is it possible to get your heart rate up from reading? The first chapter had me biting my nails and sweating from the action and tension. Maria V. Snyder can write action sequences like no other. And fantasy really is her strong suit. Another trait of Snyder's writing that I can look forward to is the strong females. I loved the character of Avry, with her healing touch and wise intellect. She was an incredible woman that never backed down from a fight or doing what was right. And then there was Kerrick, who had plenty of flaws, but also a tender side to him that made him a most interesting character to play opposite Avry. Even the minor characters were completely fleshed out - like Belen and Tohon. Each one of them had specific reasons for doing what they were doing.

    I already mentioned how I think the cover art is super cheesy, but it does a good job in representing the story. Can't give away too much, but I sure hope I never run into a Death Lily!

    So thank you, Maria V. Snyder! This book was fun, exciting, scary, and soft-hearted, all at once. I can't wait for the next installment in the Fifteen Realms!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review from MajiBookshelf Blog

    When I first started reading "Touch of Power", it wasn't that of an attractive story to me. I didn't get what the story was about, I didn't understand the concept, and I didn't even know where the story happened, and in what year. After reading more, I got to understand a bit more about what was going on. I extremely loved the magic in it, and i loved how the story was filled with creativity, love, and sadness. The story might have struck me as boring at first, but towards the middle and end, I enjoyed it tremendously.
    The story revolves around Avry. Avry is the only healer alive from the 15 realms, and some people want her dead. Healers can heal anyone they want. When Avry heals someone, with scars for example, the person no longer has the scars, but Avry gets them instead of him. The only advantage is that, being a healer means the scars on her will heal much faster.
    Avry is a very interesting character. She is very strong, very kind-hearted, and does what she sets her mind to do. She didn't let any guy or man boss her around, and she never showed that she needed any help from anyone. She has always wanted to heal people, but due to the bounty on her head, she couldn't heal people but in the end have them chase her.

    Kerrick, the leader of the group, and one who wanted Avry to heal someone for him, started off as an annoying person. I don't know how old he is, and that was one of the major things that annoyed me in this book, but I'm guessing he's old. He was constantly rude to Avry, even though HE needed HER. However I loved the other guys, especially Flea. I loved how the characters were so diverse and fun, and how exciting it was to read about their adventures.

    In the end, I never thought I would have liked Touch of Power as much as I did. The ending was great and so unexpected. I am really looking forward to reading the second book and finding more about what happens with Avry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Touch of Enthrallment

    Touch of Power is a terribly romantic political thriller set in a fantasy world filled with warfare, intrigue, and the kind of weak in the knees passionate romance that has one saying, I hate you because I love you to a point that unhinges my soul..... I just haven't realized it yet.

    Avery has been on the run for years. The once revered healers of The Fifteen Realms have been slaughtered to near extinction. One mistake and Avery will surely join her fallen brethren. But that one mistake will fling her into the political underbelly of warring realms each posturing for power. And Avery's particular talents have become a much desired asset to the various factions. But only Avery has the right to decide who's worth saving, and her choices could determine the future of the realms.

    Fans of Maria Snyder's Study Series and it's spin off spawn of Glass books will be extremely happy about her return to fantasy with Touch of Power. The first in what I hope will be a long series, runs along the same lines as the author's Study trilogy with it's similar tone, magical abilities, and world building. There were lots of wonderful personalities, set in an interesting world, and an amazing romance within an attention consuming plot.

    Touch of Power is quite possibly my favorite MVS book yet. And I'm pretty much a slave to her words already. So look out fellow fangirls and boys because this one has a touch of enthrallment about it, compelling you to keep reading until the very end and even then it's just not enough. This is stalker worthy writing that will have you constantly checking for future releases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    YA Fantasy; Plus a Hell Lot More Awesome-ness

    I have never really been taken by the whole Fantasy genre with their olden kingdom politics and magicians running amok, bonding together, rebel against some crazy, evil king, then The End. But this, this book has changed my perception of it.

    I loved it how Snyder didn't rush thru with the romance. (Sorry I kinda always start off with the romance part of the books I review. What can I say? I'm a romantic person. Lol, pfft. Yeah right, coming from a person who have never had a bf. Heh. Confessions of a nun, huh.XP No offense meant to any nuns out there) Lover boy and Avry started out hating each other, but we all know that they were going to end up together, so it was fun watching them piss each other off. She dragged out the tension between them, Lover Boy only softening towards her about a little more than halfway thru the novel, but when they finally admitted their feelings for each other.. Wow, you'll be thinking how worth the wait was. It was amazing, magical, and one of the sweetest love scenes I've seen in a long while.

    The antagonist - Tohon. Very evil, very crazy, very greedy, and very powerful. A very dangerous combination. What's worse is that he isn't all old, wrinkly and gnarled, clawed hands. Instead, he was so very handsome, and his charming personality a terrifying arsenal that he uses with ease. He even convinced me at some points that he was one of the good guys!

    I liked Avry a lot. She was smart, very smart actually, very brave, very righteous, just, compassionate, witty, and self-sacrificing.

    I thought that the plot and storyline were very convincing and believable for a Fantasy novel. Very political and there were the usual amounts of skirmishes between the countries, bounty hunters, merceneries, etc.

    I loved Snyder's humor and wit in TOUCH OF POWER. It's so........fantasy-like. Lol, um duh, yes I know. But well, it's such a cute way of putting things. Cute, yes, that's the word I was searching for. A cute, witty humor.

    I've told you that I don't usually like Fantasy novels, right? I'll tell you why I loved this book: Snyder can WRITE. Even tho the plot wasn't all that different to any other Fantasy novels, it never, never got boring. Her description of the lush forests, the adrenaline-pumping actions scenes, and romantic scenes... They were absolutely, wonderfully delivered, and her words carried me to the end.

    Anyway, I loved it, and would recommend this to all Fantasy fans. Maybe if you would like to tone down on the gore and eroticism factor, you can try this YA Fantasy one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5