Customer Reviews for

Touch of Power

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Holy Awesome Book Batman!

    This book is astoundingly awesome! I happened upon it by accident and am so glad I did. I am a die hard Maria V. Snyder fan, I loved the Study series it was incredile. I was not as impressed with her tie in series (Glass series with Opal) as I was with the study series So i was worried about this. I was duly impressed with the story telling skills in this book. Avry's story grabs you by the shoulders and jerks you into her world for a fast paced, but not too fast (like the kind that you don't understand anything because it jumps from one thing to the next too quickly), adventure. I can't recommend this enough! Stunning!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Live To Read

    This book is wow-worthy. The main character, Avry, is clever, brave, and witty. She is the readers' guide through a world where healers are loathed and killed on sight. A healer herself, Avry will impress the reader with her depth of compassion and ability to put aside her own personal emotions-even if it means her life. This world created by Snyder is a harsh one; a plague has swept through the land, killing every single person it infects. Healers are powerless against this plague, dying in exchange for the plague-stricken person. Healers are reviled because the average person in this novel suspects healers of deliberately starting the plague.


    The reader is taken right into the action of the story; the author provides background knowledge along the way. Avry is captured by people who intend to trade her in as a healer for a reward. Expecting death, Avry is instead captured by a group which has a specific purpose in mind for her. They demand Avry heal a plague victim-a prince. Avry knows better, she realizes that to do so would mean her life. What will Avry decide?


    As a character, Avry was wonderful. She wasn't too perfect, but she was very endearing and completely likable. Kerrick, the love interest, will likely rub the reader the wrong way-he rubs Avry the wrong way much of the book as well. Stubborn, cruel at times, and unyielding, Kerrick is not a character the reader will take an instant liking to. The other characters of the motley band are interesting, they each have very different traits that the reader will find memorable.


    The events are extremely fast-paced. The characters do develop along the way, they are very dynamic and thus more interesting and fun to the reader. Readers can be extremely happy when they put this book down-there is another book in the series to look forward to! This book is recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great start to a new fantasy series!

    I love, love, love Maria V. Snyder¿s Poison Study (and her Inside Out) series, so was very excited to hear about her new book, Touch of Power, featuring 20 year old Avry, a healer on the run from those that would have her executed because of her power. After healing a child in the town she¿s hiding out in, she¿s arrested and sent to the guillotine, but rescued by a band of men that value her power. It doesn¿t seem to make much sense that people would want to execute a healer, does it? No, it doesn¿t, however, healers are thought to the be the cause of a plague that has decimated the human population, to the tune of about 6 million dead. That is why they want to execute healers. However, there are certain people in power that would love to have a healer at their disposal, so there is also a significant bounty on Avry¿s head. So, Avry goes on the run with the mysterious (and initially annoying) Kerrick, and his group of friends, and that¿s when the story really takes off.

    See, Kerrick and Co. want her to heal someone, but this someone is a person that Avry doesn¿t have that great of an opinion of (to say the least), but who may hold the key to peace, so convincing her he¿s worth healing will be hard. Rival mercs and bounty hunters are around every corner, and that¿s not counting the deadly Death Lillies that litter the valley, but there¿s more to those than meets the eye too. Ms. Snyder has a talent for storytelling, and she manages to do it very well without a lot of the flowery prose that you see in fantasy novels. I love that, and she really has a knack for getting you to turn the pages. Avry reminded me a little of Yelena in Poison Study, but she¿s definitely very much her own woman. There¿s plenty of action and intrigue, and some twists that I honestly didn¿t see coming, also a bit of romance. Ms. Snyder¿s baddies are bad (with maybe a touch of gray, but just a touch), and her good guys are really good. This is so refreshing for me, amongst the dark fantasy full of gray characters. Don¿t get me wrong, I loves me some gray, but sometimes a story with a really strong glimmer of hope is much needed! Also, I believe Touch of Power is aimed at adults, but other than some violence and a bit of gore (and sex references, but , but no details-Avery is 20 after all), I really think teens would enjoy it as well. It¿s a great start to a new series by one of my favorite authors, and I¿ll look forward to continuing Avery¿s adventures in Scent of Magic in 2013 (yarg, but all good things, right?)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another amazing read from Maria V. Snyder. I read her magic stud

    Another amazing read from Maria V. Snyder. I read her magic study series and fell in love with her writing then. I saw this book and had to read it. Avry is an incredible heroine and narrator. She has trust issues yet she makes such great relationships and bonds and cares selflessly for so many people. She heals even though she knows how damaging the effects will be to herself, yet it does not faze her in the slightest. Even though she has a bounty over her head, she still has a sense of humor. Avry is a great role model for all ages of readers. Beyond Avry, I felt as if I knew every character well because of the great descriptions and scenes. The book ended on such a great note I may not even read the sequel because I am so happy with it. I'd recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What can I say? Touch of Power is powerful! It has a little bit

    What can I say? Touch of Power is powerful! It has a little bit of everything for the reader that likes to dabble in, but isn’t wed to, different genres: magic, romance, suspense, mystery, and action. As my first Maria V. Snyder novel, it really packed a punch for me and I can confidently say I will be back for more.
    Touch of Power follows after a terribly plague has swept across the lands of the Fifteen Kingdoms, for which the healers, like Avry of Kazan, are blamed, and thus extinguished. She’s remained in hiding for the last three years, desperately trying not to give herself away until the compulsion to heal is too much, sending her packing before she can be caught once again. Her luck runs out however, when she’s captured and forced on an unwelcome journey to heal the very man she despises.
    I really enjoyed Touch of Power. I love the fantasy genre in general, but this novel is exceptionally well-done. Maria V. Snyder has built a vivid, fascinating world, with flowing descriptions of the lands and people within it. I especially found the Peace Lilies and Death Lilies so creative and awesome! They absolutely fascinated me. It’s a book I hope never makes it to the big-screen, because anything Hollywood comes up with can’t possibly match what Snyder has created within her pages and my imagination. There is also no shortage of spunk and fun throughout the story, with snide comments, jokes and laughter. Everything is just incredibly well-balanced.
    Her characters are simply amazing and full of life. Avry is our smart, spunky heroine, without having too much of both. She’s got her sarcasm down pat, and I loved that. She’s also very strong and smart (I really hate having to root for the dumb guy).
    Kerrick is sexy and brooding, and I know that sexy and brooding is overplayed right now, but hey, when something fits, it fits, and nothing else would have fit Kerrick. He was also loyal to a fault, determined and and damned pain in the ass and I loved him for it.
    Tohon is an excellent “bad guy.” He’s sinister and sweet in that sociopathic kind of way that leaves Snyder’s readers guessing what he’ll do next, which tickled my fancy quite a bit. I think beyond any personal vendetta, he actually does like Avry quite a bit, in his own way. Their relationship was especially dynamic and I enjoyed it.
    In short, Touch of Power is awesome and I am so glad I saw it in another blogger’s IMM and nabbed it, because it was a blast to read. For MVS fans, you’ll love it; for Fantasy fans, you’ll love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    best books review.

    Avry of Kazan is a healer at one stage there was many people like her but now she is the last of her kind. She has been running since the healers were blamed for starting the plague that killed so many people. Avry did the only thing she could run and hide.

    The only problem is as a healer it's not always easy to watch people die when you know you can save them. When Avry slips up and heals a dying child you would think people would be grateful but no the town turns her in for the promise of gold and Avry is left waiting for her death.
    The most shocking thing happens next she is rescued from the town but what do her rescuers what and what will it cost her.

    Avry is a strong minded lead character from the start you really did feel for the character. She is one of those women you want to be. She is smart and she has hidden all this time without being court. She is strong minded even when faced with the worse. The author really does know how to make her characters stand out. There were a lot of unforgettable people in this book and at times you wished you could meet them face to face. You become attached to the people you're reading about and you don't want the adventure to stop.

    The story line of the book was just brilliant it was a fantasy to remember there was the world it was based in. There was a raging war going on the common people are struggling to survive while the royals are all about winning no one seems to care about the people they are ruling. The book was packed with interesting things like the healers and magic and what people will do with their abilities.

    The story worked really well and it had my interested from the very start. I loved learning about the people and the world the book was set in. There was none stop action and some of the funniest comments from characters. There was lies and back stabbing. I really did fall in love with the book.

    By the end you are going to be holding your heart in your hand you might even cry but most of all your going to have the need to know what will happen next.

    Maria V. Snyder is the queen of fantasy and Touch of power proves it.
    5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Such a wonderful book. Couldn't put it down!

    Such a wonderful book. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Musr Must read

    Was a wonderful book kept me intetested to the end 280 pages loved it cant wait to read the next book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Great Read

    This book was a great read for teens and adults alike. Cant wait to read the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Entertaining read

    This was quick and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Touch of Power begins with our heroine healing a young girl in a

    Touch of Power begins with our heroine healing a young girl in a world where Healers are hunted, executed, and feared. She has been running for three years, from town to town, healing when she can and knowing as soon as she does, she must run again.




    In the not-so-distant past, Healers were respected and appreciated until they were deemed useless when unable to eliminate the plague wrought on The Fifteen Realms. So, quickly made the villain, they were slain, bounties were raised, and Avry's life was forever changed.




    Soon after her most recent healing, Avry is turned into the guard, by the parents of the little girl she saved, and sentenced to death. And this is where Avry is "kidnapped" by the terrifically warm, frustrating, and lovable characters in our story.




    I adored Avry. She is a strong-minded heroine who refuses to allow anyone to negate or control her power. She makes her own choices and is constantly thinking ahead. The reader is easily attracted to her humor and honesty but also her rationality and intelligence from start to finish. That's not to say that she isn't distracted by a nice upper body every now and again. ;)




    Touch of Power is an amazing adventure filled with natural emotional growth, epic adventure, and the healing power of love and friendship. Ms. Snyder creates beautiful imagery throughout the journey but even more than that, her character development is simply astounding. This is a book that refuses to be put down, with multiple plot twists and a creative flow leaving the reader engrossed in its world and  fiending for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Love for Avry and Touch of Power

    As a fan of the Study series but not the Glass series, I was unsure of how I would recieve this one. So far, I'm hooked! I love Avry's spirit and wit. Can't wait to get my hands on the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Another Winner!!

    I have read everything Maria Snyder has written, and she continues to please! Well developed characters, smooth topic transistions, and fantastic world building all lead to books I will read over and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Amazing

    Great world building. Characters were true to their natures, so they were believable. A really terrific read. I am looking forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    On par with poison study. No annoyingly weak female protagonists

    On par with poison study. No annoyingly weak female protagonists here! This is not a romance though, you will be disappointed if you're expecting a bare chested male book cover type.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Amazing

    I have read all of Maria V. Snyder's books. They are outstanding in an alternate universe type of read. Her characters are so believable. I am truly sad that she doesn't write faster. It is very difficult to begin a new book...she is one tough act to follow. All of her books should be made into big budget films.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Amazing

    So well written! A quick read for me, but kept me fascinated till the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    What an exciting start to this series. I absolutely loved this


    What an exciting start to this series. I absolutely loved this book. I loved the characters, the story, the originality, wonderful!! Well done Maria!!


    I received an ARC from the publisher and I am so glad that I did. I have read Inside Out by Maria, a dystopian and really enjoyed it.


    Touch of Power has danger, betrayal, magic, magicians, healers, Death Lilies, Belen ( this guy is just a big teddy bear, I love him!) the fight for power, trust issues, Princes, pain, bounties, a plague, Kerrick ( Mr Cranky Pants...), the two monkeys and Flea and some juggling...oh and a psycho King and 15 Realms that are being fought over.


    Avry is a 20 yr old healer who has been on the run for three years , she is a survivor, until her luck runs out. Healers are no longer in favour and are being executed. Avry is a very selfless character who is rather excellent at using knives, even though she doesn’t want to kill anybody, after all it goes against being a healer.


    Enter Kerrick ,Mr Cranky, Mr Moody, Mr Do As I Say, but does Avry of Kazan do as he says.....nope! I can’t wait to read more about Kerrick, he is the guy you know Avry will love, eventually, they have that relationship where they refuse to agree with each other. But of course there is a lot more to Kerrick , as that unfolds, you just love him. Kerrick has some secrets of his own that he keeps close.


    Belen, is just the most awesome guy and loyal friend of Kerrick. Avry without really trying has him wrapped around her finger.


    The two monkeys, Vinn and Quain are quite funny when they feed off each other and Flea, he is the little brother you want on your side. He has had it tough and he knows how to survive, what to look out for.


    Touch of Power is a means to finding Prince Ryne , rescuing him and saving his life. This is a tall glass to be filled as Avry well understands. She must be convinced he is worth saving.


    A bounty has been put on Avry’s head. Mercenaries are out to bring her in. King Psycho ( Tohon) he adds a nice mad scientist , creepy, sometimes smexi, but then back to being loopy ,addition to this book. I quite enjoy his psycho character.


    This is a wonderfully fast paced adventure, with Kerrick and his crew trying to keep Avry safe, get to Prince Ryne and hope that all ends well.


    But! King Psycho has his own agenda.


    I am looking forward to the next book rather eagerly. I think I miss these guys already. Maria has written a story with wonderful characters you will love. I could very easily see this as a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    i am off to buy the next in series--the best review for the book

    i am off to buy the next in series--the best review for the book!

    Excellent storytelling that grips you from the first page and never lets up. Vivid characters. Rich worldbuilding. Synopsis at this site accurate (although the "traversing...mountains" verbiage had me unwarrantedly concerned might degenerate into one of those books--you know, the ones where a band of intrepid stock characters endlessly wander about places on author's imagined map. Despite world recovering from plague, did not degenerate into formulaic dystopian type of world--an original, vibrant world system with realistic characters and politics).

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book from an already favorite author. Regret putting off reading because I had formed the opinion it was just her entry into the Young Adult market.

    Heroine (book told very well from first person narrative) too "real" to pigeonhole into categories like "kickass" or "compassionate" and (a lovely switch from too many of my recent reads) did not just drift along without trying to take control of her own life nor falling inexplicably for someone because "fated"--and neither omnipotent or mewling weak. Ending not a complete surprise; reader may not have known exactly how everything fit but you will pretty much know what will be involved. Enough left open that you know can be more in series without the cliffhanger non-ending that would force you to buy next book to get the story.

    I would not classify this as YA genre (nothing too graphic or explicit that the age group could not read; but, this is not about teenagers or typical teenage angst stuff. The youngest main characters were in their twenties) although author/publisher markets as such. Strictly "fantasy" genre for me; but, oddly I read as a book club (well, goodreads group) bingo game choice as being "ya paranormal" genre/shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Adicting! Definatly worth the time to read!

    Adicting! Definatly worth the time to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5