Customer Reviews for

The Touch of Twilight (Signs of the Zodiac Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A kick-butt heroine with attitude and sophistication

    In this third installment of the Zodiac series, Joanna Archer finds herself being stalked by a mysterious female otherworldly being that is neither Light nor Shadow. Is this creature friend or foe?
    Pettersson delivers action, twists and turns and a touch of romance leaving the readers wildly entertained.
    She's got the gift of getting you to really care about the main characters, feeling for them, and wanting to know more.
    Like the rest of the series, this was a real page-turner.
    Read the first two before you read number 3.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    read the other previous books of this series before this one...

    Once again great reading material, make sure you read the books in the order they came out in the series or it will be hard to follow the plot and lessen the experience.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this series!

    If you haven't read the first two books in the series...buy them! In fact, I suggest that you purchase all three books currently in the series at once! It was a refreshing change of pace to read a paranormal book that didn't contain vampires, werewolves, and witches! I love the main character Joanna Archer. She is a strong, independent woman that doesn't mind getting her hands dirty, or taking care of her own problems. What I like about the series is that the storyline is unique, the characters each have their own strengths, and villains that you'll love to hate, like Regan! These books will have you laughing, loving, hating, and crying! I was very impressed by this series and have recommended it to all of my friends. I am axiously awaiting the next book in the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Vickie Pettersson Gets Better and Better!

    I absolutely love all of Ms. Pettersson's Zodiac Series. Please write more and more. I usually don't gush over much of anything but these book are some of the best fantasy I've read. Move over Charlaine Harris, this could be a great television series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    I Love this Series, The Zodiac Series

    Joanna/Oliva Archer is part light and part shadow. In this book she is being stalked by a doppelganger from a preternatural realm. She is still fighting off her Father, the Tupla and trying to protect her old boyfriend Ben from the Shadow Agent, Regan. We meet up again with all of the agents of the light and some of the shadow agents. These books are fast paced and great fun. Once I pick one up, I have a hard time putting it down. I guess I will have to wait at least a year for the next one in the series. What a great series, so different. I love the Zodiac Series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I was happy with the outcome of this book. I loved what happened in the end between Ben and Johanna but I hated the way Hunter was treated. Johanna has grown as a person. She is finally coming to terms w/ her new life. If you are a Johanna Archer fan, you will be extremely happy with this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    Wanted it to be over but didn't want it to be over!

    This book drove me crazy (in a good way)! The story was not going the way that I really wanted it to go but then I couldn't think of a better alternative. Pettersson really does a good job giving the reader just enough without making the whole story sugary-sweet. The third installment in this series still finds Joanna (and others in her troop) questioning her shadow side's dominance. Some questions are finally answered but the ending definitely left an opening for the next book...can't wait!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a tale that is impossible to down

    Light and Shadow are constantly are war with one another. In Las Vegas, Zodiac Troop 75 keeps the Shadows in check protecting mortals from adversaries who would harm, kill, or convert them to evil. One of the newest members of the unit is Joanna Archer, who now looks physically like her dead sister Olivia. No longer mortal, she cannot have a relationship with the love of her life Ben, but she refuses to let her evil Shadow counterpart Regan lure him into something malevolent.---------- A doppelganger is being formed in an alternate reality, but is investigating Joanna before coming to our realm by tearing holes in reality and if not stopped the world will cease to exist. Her father, the evil Tulpa, meets the doppelganger and knows Joanna who is part light and part shadow can stop it. He wants them work together to destroy it. The troop leader wants Joanna to let him change Ben¿s memories forgetting Joanna from the time she changed into a superheroine. The moves Joanna makes will determine who rules. She must find the strength to let Ben forget her, but doesn¿t know if she can.-------------------- Part urban fantasy, part mystery and part pulp add up to a tale that is impossible to down as the audience will want to know how the problems are resolved. Vicki Petterson keeps readers¿ attention with several red herrings and unexpected twists. Fans will feel for the heroine who has so much on her plate topped off with what to do with the man she loves.------------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Addictive and Frustrating

    Vicki Petterson has created a leading character that absolutely gets under your skin in more ways than one. You truly sympathize with this heroine, yet at the same time can't help but want to slap some sense into her. The ups and downs in this particular book of the series are truly frustrating. The love triangle keeps you on a tight edge. Over all, I enjoy the way this author ensnares you with her plot and enjoy it every time it all comes together in the end. I love it when a book makes me forget that its characters are not just characters in a book. Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Good read

    Book three has 343 pages. On to book four. Very good series, a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Great book

    This is a great book hard to put down. Dont miss out on this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    FUN READ

    Takes you into another world for good vs evil without all the religious stuff. Vicki is redundant about previous happenings (must be because they are meant to "stand alone") and Joanna aka Olivia seems to whine alot. I keep expecting the heroine to learn from her mistakes and smarten up, maybe she will. Her attitude about Hunter seems very immature. Over all the action is fun and the characters wonderfully detailed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Awesome

    I totally recommend this awesome read. In order to appreciate the story, you should read the first two books in order. This will not disappoint. I'm soo thrilled with this series and can definately add to my lists of favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Very Enjoyable

    I have really enjoyed this series this far. I love being able to follow characters as the change and grow across a series. Olivia/Joanna has a lot of angst that I can relate too. I have been immediately starting on the next book in the series because I just have to know how she is faring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Pace slowing...

    ... compared to first two books in the series, felt like it dragged at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Most frustrating heroine EVER-Skip this...

    Book 1...I was willing to give her the benefit of the doubt, she was new to the super heroing business, was bound to make mistakes but surely she'll learn from them and grow as a character.
    Book 2...hmmm wait, still making the same mistakes, putting herself, mortals, and the light in danger. She's not growing as a character, not becoming any better of a hero.
    Book 3....hrmmmm, still the most worthless hero ever. I was willing to chalk up the mistakes she makes in the first two books to being new to the hero business, but by book three I believe she's been at it for a year now, and she is STILL MAKING THE SAME HORRIBLE decisions. I mean if I was the tulpa I'd tell her to stay on the Light side, Id be afraid of the damage she do to my team if we let her come over. Over all she's got the most out of control obsession with Ben, she doesnt learn from her mistakes, she constantly threatens her "arch nemesis" but is so easily beat down ever time I dont understand why any of the shadow's take her seriously, she's screwed up the lives of multiple mortals, and ruined the life of one of the changlings and the changling's sister (which im sure she'll eventually bungle around to fixing sometime in a future book). More often than not she has to be rescued by someone or let go by the shadow. The only good thing that came out of this book...we finally get done with Ben, I was actually hoping someone would kill him off by the end of this book if some other resolution wasnt found. Dont read this book, chalk up the first 2 as a loss and move on. From what I understand from reading reviews the very tiny little itsy bitsy bit of growth we got out of her in this book all reverts in the next one anyways. Meh Im done with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Series seems to be slowing down

    When I first began reading Vicki Pettersson's Signs of the Zodiac series, I was thrilled. The characters were compelling enough to get to know and the storyline concept of urban superheroes of the Zodiac was something new in the realm of paranormal fantasy fiction. Now in Book Three, the series seems to be slowing down with not much plot development and less character growth. The personality of the protagonist, Joanna Archer, is also beginning to devolve into the usual bitchy and bitter attitude that dominates female protagonists of most urban fantasy/paranormal fantasy series. Do all modern female protagonists have to be bitchy towards their colleagues/friends/family in order to have the storyline revolve around them?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10