Customer Reviews for

Touch the Art: Count Monet's Lilies

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Big hit with toddler

My daughter received this when she was a little over a year. She has loved this book since then, and she wants to read it again and again (she's now 17 months). We just recently purchased the Pop Warhol's Top, which she also loves. I'm online now to order this as a g...
My daughter received this when she was a little over a year. She has loved this book since then, and she wants to read it again and again (she's now 17 months). We just recently purchased the Pop Warhol's Top, which she also loves. I'm online now to order this as a gift for a first birthday and to purchase the Matisse book for my daughter.

posted by 1120620 on March 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

not as good as "Make Van Gogh's Bed"

This was not as good as "Make Van Gogh's Bed" in the same series. It is not as engaging, especially the touch and feel. Its just not as cute and clever as our other book is.

posted by slpreader on October 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    Big hit with toddler

    My daughter received this when she was a little over a year. She has loved this book since then, and she wants to read it again and again (she's now 17 months). We just recently purchased the Pop Warhol's Top, which she also loves. I'm online now to order this as a gift for a first birthday and to purchase the Matisse book for my daughter.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Catch Picasso's Rooster

    This board book was a great gift for my 14 month old granddaughter. It is an almost indestructable board book, so she can look at it and experience the tactile features independently or with someone reading to her. She already loves books, having been exposed to them at an early age. I think this book is an excellent introduction for toddlers to the world of fine art. When she grows older, I think she will remember her introduction to fine art with fondness. This early exposure will hopefully lead to a lifelong love of art. As expected from Barnes and Noble, the books arrived in excellent condition.I purchased 4 books in the series, and will await her responses before buying more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Undercover Educational!

    We were first introduced to this art book series in our Art class at Gymboree Play and Music. My 3 yr old immediately loved the Van Gogh book which was the first. She came home talking about Van Gogh, Renoir and watercolor painting. Of course, anything that catches her attention, I am all for it, so I ran out and bought her her own copy. She took it to her preschool class for show and tell and she took it everywhere else for about a month! I am now online ordering the Matisse and Mona Lisa books which are also part of the class. She is learning about fine art and she is having a great time doing it! I highly recommend this collection to parents and educators! The price is right and they are highly durable board books, (which is a top priority for me!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Love this one too

    This series is wonderful!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    A great gift for a young art lover!

    I gave the entire collection to my nieces who recently moved to Paris and are just discovering art. These books are the perfect compliment to their growing enthusiasm and appreciation for art. They both love all of the titles in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Brilliant!

    What a great idea for a book! The book is thoroughly engaging both for children and adults! Apart from being fun, the book contains a lot of information about art. Completely fabulous.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Terrific Book!

    My daughter is 2 and knows everything in this book, we love the series. It's perfect to teach important art, and history pieces. This is a terrific way to teach toddlers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Saving the Kingdom using classic art

    Each book combines historical paintings with different developmental skills that help to keep your child's attention and teach them as well as introduce them to classic art. Out of the two books I received, one helped with counting and the other book was all about texture and working though an adventure.
    I love how they use classic art work while incorporating textiles in a different way on each page. Lee Lee and Moo both loved turning the pages and feeling the different textures. The stories are easy to read with your child. My favorite part of the books are the last few pages which show the real artwork and give the history behind each of them, adding another learning tool to the books.
    These are very well built board books and each page is nice and thick, meaning they will be able to last through for many years.
    These books are on my Holiday list and I would recommend these for yours as well
    -------------------------------
    Disclaimer / Disclosure: I received a free sample to facilitate my review. This post reflects my honest, personal opinion and experience with the product which may differ from yours. No monetary compensation was provided for this post.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Learn to Count with Art

    Each book combines historical paintings with different developmental skills that help to keep your child's attention and teach them as well as introduce them to classic art. Out of the two books I received, one helped with counting and the other book was all about texture and working though an adventure.
    I love how they use classic art work while incorporating textiles in a different way on each page. Lee Lee and Moo both loved turning the pages and feeling the different textures. The stories are easy to read with your child. My favorite part of the books are the last few pages which show the real artwork and give the history behind each of them, adding another learning tool to the books.
    These are very well built board books and each page is nice and thick, meaning they will be able to last through for many years.
    These books are on my Holiday list and I would recommend these for yours as well
    -------------------------------
    Disclaimer / Disclosure: I received a free sample to facilitate my review. This post reflects my honest, personal opinion and experience with the product which may differ from yours. No monetary compensation was provided for this post.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    As a art teacher - I love this book and so do the kids in my classes.
    Easy and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Brush Mona Lisa's Hair

    This board book was a great gift for my 14 month old granddaughter. It is an almost indestructable board book, so she can look at it and experience the tactile features independently or with someone reading to her. She already loves books, having been exposed to them at an early age. I think this book is an excellent introduction for toddlers to the world of fine art. When she grows older, I think she will remember her introduction to fine art with fondness. This early exposure will hopefully lead to a lifelong love of art. As expected from Barnes and Noble, the books arrived in excellent condition.I purchased 4 books in the series, and will await her responses before buying more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Feed Matisse's Fish

    This board book was a great gift for my 14 month old granddaughter. It is an almost indestructable board book, so she can look at it and experience the tactile features independently or with someone reading to her. She already loves books, having been exposed to them at an early age. I think this book is an excellent introduction for toddlers to the world of fine art. When she grows older, I think she will remember her introduction to fine art with fondness. This early exposure will hopefully lead to a lifelong love of art. As expected from Barnes and Noble, the books arrived in excellent condition.I purchased 4 books in the series, and will await her responses before buying more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Touch the Art

    This series of books is very helpful in giving young children an introduction to famous works of art. We purchased this book for one of our granddaughters and it seems the parents were as pleased with it as she was. The "feel" of the pages interested her, while the parents were surprised and appreciated the familiar paintings. As our granddaughter gets older, our hope is she will remember the artist's work when visiting museums or seeing copies of the paintings. Our children read to their children every day and these Touch The Art books are a positive addition to the reading material that is available to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Touch The Art

    This book is an excellent way to introduce small children to the classical arts. We gave it to our young granddaughter and she liked the "feel" of the pages. The parents appreciated the art work, and our hope is that she will also develop an appreciation for art. I can see this book used as a companion on a trip to an Art Museum where one or more of these works are displayed. I was pleased to see the reaction of the parents when they opened it, since reading to the children is an integral part of their day. We will look for more of these books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    My Daughter's Favorite Book

    My kids loved the first four "Touch The Art" books and we've been waiting for the new ones for a long time. The wait was worth it. Tickle Tut's Toes is another winner. The book is fun, interesting, great to read over and over again and my daughter loves the touch spaces. I'm going to buy this fabulous book (and the other titles too) for all my friends. I wish there were more books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Love it!

    I love art and art history and feel it is important to teach my children. These books are wonderful for that purpose but are also fun for my kids to touch and interact with. My 4 year old is so proud when he can identify the artist of a painting and so am I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Great tactile introduction to art for young kids

    I bought this book for my 2 year old nephew and was really impressed with how much he enjoyed it. I think it's a great way to introduce young children to great works of art by turning visual masterpieces into a tactile experiences. These are icons of painting and it's nice to think that you can help kids begin gaining cultural literacy in a easy, fun way. This book has the added benefit of being enjoyable to adults who like art, making reading to little ones a lot more fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2