Customer Reviews for

Midnighters #2: Touching Darkness

Average Rating 4.5
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Touching darkness

Jessica and her frineds are part of a secret world. A world of special ablities and meatls that destroy. A world that only opens at the stroke of midnight and last for only one hour each day, halting time in the daylight realm, and opening the door was to the blue hour ...
Jessica and her frineds are part of a secret world. A world of special ablities and meatls that destroy. A world that only opens at the stroke of midnight and last for only one hour each day, halting time in the daylight realm, and opening the door was to the blue hour of midnight. Jessica and her midnighter friends are faced with a major problem, a daylight person knows of the secret midnight hour, and is stalking Jessica! Now it is a rush aginst time as they learn of a deadly plot, of the secrets of the darklings, and a grusome fate that could await one of their friends. Can they save him in time, or will he fall, helplessly, into the hands of their darkling enemys and their daylight allies. Can they save him? Find out in. Midnighters #2: Touching Darkness.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good, But The First Was So Much Better

Touching Darkness by Scott Westerfeld was the second in the Midnighters Series. When you start this book, it starts you out about a day after the end of the first one, which wants you to believe that the events are happening in a perfectly created, chronological order. ...
Touching Darkness by Scott Westerfeld was the second in the Midnighters Series. When you start this book, it starts you out about a day after the end of the first one, which wants you to believe that the events are happening in a perfectly created, chronological order. With Jessica so in love with Jonathan, Rex so in love with Melissa, and Dess all alone in her own little secret math world, the book has many stories going on at once. Yes, it can be confusing and yes, they do all eventually connecting, but this can be very confusing. One minute with Dess, the next with Jess, the next with Rex. I had to reread many of the things. Another problem that I have with this book is that Jessica, the main protagonist, is very dislikable at times. And I'm not sure if this is done on purpose on not, but I really do despise her at times. I think my favorite character in the book is probably Rex. He is the only one that doesn't really bother me. I did enjoy the ending of this book though. It did leave me wanting to read the next one, so I will. I hope that I am not disappointed.

posted by emma-bear_ on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Much Better than Book 1

    This second book in the Midnighters' Series delivered more than the first one could ever have hoped. In my review of book 1, I indicated that the characters were unlikable. They still are - which is sad because a reader should be able to connect with at least one character. However, the story has perked up and makes more sense which makes this book more pleasant reading. I will be reading the 3rd book. Let's see if Scott Westerfeld can deliver a clear, concise and satisfying ending to a series that struggles to make good.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching darkness

    Jessica and her frineds are part of a secret world. A world of special ablities and meatls that destroy. A world that only opens at the stroke of midnight and last for only one hour each day, halting time in the daylight realm, and opening the door was to the blue hour of midnight. Jessica and her midnighter friends are faced with a major problem, a daylight person knows of the secret midnight hour, and is stalking Jessica! Now it is a rush aginst time as they learn of a deadly plot, of the secrets of the darklings, and a grusome fate that could await one of their friends. Can they save him in time, or will he fall, helplessly, into the hands of their darkling enemys and their daylight allies. Can they save him? Find out in. Midnighters #2: Touching Darkness.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Good, But The First Was So Much Better

    Touching Darkness by Scott Westerfeld was the second in the Midnighters Series. When you start this book, it starts you out about a day after the end of the first one, which wants you to believe that the events are happening in a perfectly created, chronological order. With Jessica so in love with Jonathan, Rex so in love with Melissa, and Dess all alone in her own little secret math world, the book has many stories going on at once. Yes, it can be confusing and yes, they do all eventually connecting, but this can be very confusing. One minute with Dess, the next with Jess, the next with Rex. I had to reread many of the things. Another problem that I have with this book is that Jessica, the main protagonist, is very dislikable at times. And I'm not sure if this is done on purpose on not, but I really do despise her at times. I think my favorite character in the book is probably Rex. He is the only one that doesn't really bother me. I did enjoy the ending of this book though. It did leave me wanting to read the next one, so I will. I hope that I am not disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    touching darkness

    In TOUCHING DARKNESS, the Midnighters no longer just have the darklings to fear; now normal people are hunting them. When Jessica gets stalked by one of them, Melissa and Rex follow him into a nightmare. But not only Jessica is threatened by the stalkers, Rex is in trouble too because they need a new Seer. Dess finds a new friend who knows how the old Midnighters disappeared and can help her battle Jessica's stalkers. We learn more about the old Midnighters and why they disappeared so long ago. This Midnighters book was a lot darker than the other one and a little better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD BOOK!

    This is the second book in the Midnighters trilogy! It was awesome,this series is starting to grow on me. I'm gonna be sad when I finish reading the third and final book :(. Although I'm gonna say Jessica kind of got on my nerves just a lil in this book,that being said it's still an awesome book!! The plot is still original,fun, and fast paced. In the second book they find out there are daylight people who know about the secret hour and Midnighters, who are contacting the darklings. Dess discovers a Midnighter from an older generation(they had never met one before). She learns what happened to the older generations and that the Darklings want a Midnighter to make a halfing(half Midnighter, half darkling). Rex and Melissa get closer and Melissa learns how to deal with her gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    A Book of True Thought

    This book was clear and well thought out. It is a mystery intertwined with science and math. I enjoyed how the characters interacted with each other to learn the secrets within the secret hour. The conjoining of trigonometry and calculus was ingenious. This book contains a great storyline that isn't too difficult to follow. I didn't like the writer's description of the Darklings. His description never gave a good visual experience of how they look. How Scott Westerfeld ends this book with a cliffhanger leaves readers demanding to buy the next installment. His way of twists within the book creates thrilling tension for the reader. The unreal world of the secret hour gives the perfect scene for the Midnighters, Rex, Melissa, Dess, Jonathon, and Jessica. The author creates a shield of secrecy for these main characters in the extra hour. I appreciate how the author writes the chapters through each individual main character. How he ends each chapter with each characters own sign was well thought out because the reader doesn't understand until mid-book what the symbols mean. This page-turner leaves each chapter with an unsettled mystery. I very much liked how there were different places with more time than others in the town of Bixby. The book focuses on multiple points, the characters' development, the history of Bixby, and the mysteries of the secret hour all combined into one unforgettable book. It creates a whole new world for the reader to think about and follow. I would recommend this book to anyone who is creative, has clever thinking, or people who just enjoy fiction. This book is an excellent read and Scott Westerfeld has done a great job with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    INCREDIBLE!! EVEN BETTER THAN THE FIRST ONE!!

    This book kept me awake at night wondering what will happen next!! If u didn't like the first book than i am sure that u will enjoy this one!! it is infinite times better than the first one!! PLEASE READ!! MUST READ!! If u r a die hard scott westerfeld fan then u better rad this book!! but read the first one of course!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    MUST Read Sequel!!!

    if you read and enjoyed the first book (Midnighters: The Secret Hour) then you MUST read this sequel. it is great if you liked the first one. although i do think the first one was better overall, i still really enjoyed this book. this series is the kind that i wish would never end, but unfortunately there is only one more book for me to read (Midnighters: Blue Noon).

    if you enjoy this series, you may also enjoy the Wicked Lovely series. Beginning with Wicked Lovely, the Ink Exchange, and followed by the most recent Fragile Eternity, it is a great series. there is less action (but its still there) and more romance (not a dominating romance series) and i highly recommend it to Midnighters readers. Happy Reading!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    I liked this a lot more then the 1st book. This one was pretty i

    I liked this a lot more then the 1st book. This one was pretty interesting and kept me wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Better Than the First "Touching Darkness" is a more m

    Better Than the First

    "Touching Darkness" is a more mature sequel that highlights the secret history behind the Midnighters. Also the group's conflict that stems from their different personalities come to light. Some minor curse words pops-up now and then in the narrative and euphemisms to sex are present. The story and characters are still good and I can't wait to see how it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Disappointed.

    I loved the 1st book and was super excited to read this one but was disappointed. I suffered through the 1st 110 pages and then gladly called it quits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Good, mostly fast paced book.

    It was a pretty good book, just got slow at some points, but I can't say I didn't like it, I read it in two and a half days.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Enjoyable

    Liked this one but Jessica is a little to cocky for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Cool!!!

    This book had an awesome storyline! It was unpredictable, full of suspense, and somewhat creepy. An amazing second book to the Midnighters Trilogy by Scott Westerfeld!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Better than the first...

    Touching Darkness is much better than Secret Hour. There seems to be more action, and you also know the characters a little bit better at this point. I have to admit that it was somewhat difficult to finish Secret Hour, but it was worth it to get to Touching Darkness. Now we'll just have to see what number three has in store!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC

    much applaudes. this was the best fallow up ever . crazy good. i dont know how else to say how much i loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!!!

    This is a wonderful book. It is much more upbeat than the first book and very interesting. A bit more romance in this book compared to the first book but, I only noticed because I do not like romance stories. A good book for any fantasy reader (just make sure to read the first book to the series before this one). Can't wait until I start reading the third and final book to the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a good follow up to the first book

    It was good. You found out a little more about why this happened to these kids and why they were singled out. I wish there were more than just 3 books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    Kick ass book!

    Um I personally think that touching darkness was an amazing book but i am also a huge twilight fan and i would advise you not to buy theese books but simply check them out at a library. That way you're still giving the author credit, just not your hard earned cash. Twilight on the other hand, well just empty your pockets lol. Great book all in all but i dont want to give away details, spoiling the book for you is no fair!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    A Wonderful Read

    I love this book soooo much. It's Wonderful! You wont want to put it down. I loved it when Jessica locked Beth in the closet. I just hope I never have to experiance flying through a windsheild at 80 MILES AN HOUR!!! Well anyways its a great book and I hope you enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11