Customer Reviews for

Touching Spirit Bear

Average Rating 4.5
( 567 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(361)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Animal Spirit

Touching Spirit Bear is truley an inspiring book. What the author is trying to get across in this awesome book is that even though you may feel abondened and as if know one loves you, the author is saying no there is someone that is there that cares for you. The story t...
Touching Spirit Bear is truley an inspiring book. What the author is trying to get across in this awesome book is that even though you may feel abondened and as if know one loves you, the author is saying no there is someone that is there that cares for you. The story takes place in Minniapolis,Minnesota but the action takes place on a remote island in Alaska. The only reason I say the action takes place there is because that is where the main charcter Cole Mathews, a young man whose life has been miserable ever since his father would beat him senceless while his mother would simply do nothing and drink away her problems,has an encounter with a mistacle bear. He is sent off to this island for beating up a classmate from school. The motive, he snitched on cole and so cole beats him up bad. I believe this book is best for a young audience because they can relate more to this beacuse they seem to go through problems such as the one portreyd in this book. This book fulfills its purpose by having coles angry heart turned to a soft loving heart. I loved this book from beging to end because i could relly relate to what cole sometimes went through while i was growing up. I totally agree with the message the author gave which is to control your anger with all people. What I liked most was when cole and the person he hurt so bad made up and forgave eachother. This author did an awesome job in my opinion because i really enjoyed this book. Young people I recommend this book I know you will love it just as I did.

posted by READ-O-LOTS on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Nope

I havent finished reading it but im almost done. I have to read it for school. I absolutely hate it! Cole is such a dumb character with mood swings! Who learn to love life after nearly dieing from an attach of a fake mystic bear and then hate life again!!!! I would have...
I havent finished reading it but im almost done. I have to read it for school. I absolutely hate it! Cole is such a dumb character with mood swings! Who learn to love life after nearly dieing from an attach of a fake mystic bear and then hate life again!!!! I would have put it down ages ago if i didnt need it for school! :(

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 569 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Animal Spirit

    Touching Spirit Bear is truley an inspiring book. What the author is trying to get across in this awesome book is that even though you may feel abondened and as if know one loves you, the author is saying no there is someone that is there that cares for you. The story takes place in Minniapolis,Minnesota but the action takes place on a remote island in Alaska. The only reason I say the action takes place there is because that is where the main charcter Cole Mathews, a young man whose life has been miserable ever since his father would beat him senceless while his mother would simply do nothing and drink away her problems,has an encounter with a mistacle bear. He is sent off to this island for beating up a classmate from school. The motive, he snitched on cole and so cole beats him up bad. I believe this book is best for a young audience because they can relate more to this beacuse they seem to go through problems such as the one portreyd in this book. This book fulfills its purpose by having coles angry heart turned to a soft loving heart. I loved this book from beging to end because i could relly relate to what cole sometimes went through while i was growing up. I totally agree with the message the author gave which is to control your anger with all people. What I liked most was when cole and the person he hurt so bad made up and forgave eachother. This author did an awesome job in my opinion because i really enjoyed this book. Young people I recommend this book I know you will love it just as I did.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching Spirit Bear

    I was told to buy and read this book as part of my summer reading list for pre-Ap English 1, I'm in 9th grade and I absolutley loved this book, at first I read the book expecting the same as any other book, Only doing it for a grade but as I got further into the book I began to enjoy reading it. This book is amazing, touching, thrilling, beautiful, heart-warming and a book that WILL keep you reading, needless to say I now read the book everytime I get bored or just need something to do, I suggest the every parent get's this book for their child and vise-versa...

    Taryn Danielle

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Touching spirit bear

    Im reading this book right now in school and in chapter 14it got me so engaged into the book i reccomend this book

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Nope

    I havent finished reading it but im almost done. I have to read it for school. I absolutely hate it! Cole is such a dumb character with mood swings! Who learn to love life after nearly dieing from an attach of a fake mystic bear and then hate life again!!!! I would have put it down ages ago if i didnt need it for school! :(

    14 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Loved it

    In 4th grade my teacher read this to my class. Some parts where disturbing but the book is really good. I would read this book over and over and over again. If you are looking for a good book to read, with awesome details. Read it.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Best

    Best book ever I read it last year in sixth grade

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was great! I read it for a reading competition and loved it. The author could really paint a picture in your mind. I could see Cole on the island so clearly!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Great book

    Great descriptions, great message. This is a book good for kids and adults.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful Piece of Work

    I also had to read Touching Spirit Bear for our summmer reading. I LOVE to read and was thrilled when i got this book. I heard so many things about it from my Language Arts teacher. At first, it took a minute to grasp what was going. But as the story goes on and I got more of a understanding of where he was and how and why he got there, it became more and more exciting. The end of the book ends very very wonderful. Anyone who reads this will definetly be satisfied with the ending. The story is beautifully written. Now, you might think, "how is a story about a violent teen beautiful?" This story really grasp nature and beauty and really deepens into the inner soul. The discription of scenes, thoughts, and feelings all come together as one. Cole's change is astonishing and even gave me a peacful state of mind and the will to change myself. It truley will give a deeper understanding of life. If you ever get the chance to read this, please, read it all the way through. This is a story of a confused teen who changes in the soul and spirit because of one mythical Spirit Bear.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    the best book ever

    its my fourth time reading the book and im not much of a reader could not put it down.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Amazing open your eyes story

    I thought that Touching spirit bear was an amazing book. It covered everything, never left loose ends. It really taught me how much people can change with dedication and good advice. Gary Paulsen fans will love Touching spirit bear its a story of revival and dedication set in a perfect place. I could tell that Ben Mikaelson thought this story through, beginning to end. You have to read this book it will open your eyes and teach you. I hope you will like it as much as i have.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    I think it sucked really bad

    I think it sucked really bad

    8 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great

    Great book

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Great book!

    This was a great story of a young mans passage to adulthood.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2002

    Touching Spirit Bear

    "Touching Spirit Bear" is a very good book suitable for kids of all ages.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    TSB

    Touching spirit is amazing!Great book for finding that "reason to live":) very touching and inspiring, made my cry a little, just a little:) only two words of advice though, READ IT!
    :)))))

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is freaking amazing! My teacher read it for read aloud in class and now we are on the second book. Even though it can be very gory because the author writes this book so discriptive. For all the people that enjoyed this book; read ghost of spirit bear because it is just as good as the first. I loved this book because it doesn't exactly have a happy ending even though it seems like it. You still have yet to go. What happens to peter and cole after the island? Find out in gohst of spirit bear.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of Touching Spirit Bear

    Touching Spirit Bear is one of the best books I¿ve read so far in my life. This book involves a 15 year old, whose name is Cole Matthews, who has been in trouble wit the law half his life. His latest crime has been the worst of all. Cole had attacked Peter; another student at his school. Peter was not only scarred physically but he had been scarred mentally. Peter even comes to a point where he wants to do physical harm to himself.<BR/> To help Cole control his anger a parole officer came up with the idea of putting Cole in a program called ¿Circle Justice¿. This program was a healing form of justice used by native cultures thousands of years ago.<BR/> I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read books with lessons and action because it is very well detailed. The biggest reason I like this book is because it shows how someone can make drastic changes after something bad happens to them. Ben Mikaelsen makes a lot of the important events very vivid and it feels as if there was a movie in your head.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    touching spirit bear

    i thought that this book was very good. although some of the characters were hard to follow. the auther did a great job. one of my favorite parts was after he was attacked by the bear and what he had to do to survive and realize their was a purpose in life for him. i still dont understand how rolling the stone up the hill everyday helped him in reality but it was still a great book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Jaybird

    I love this book!!! Clole is a trobled boy. He has stolling many things in his life, and has beaten many people. He blames everone but him self. His father had beaten himto wear he cant even hide the bruses. His mom to drunk to defend her son.One day he stoll from a store. The next day,cops arive and guestion him. He latter finds out that a smart boy, alex, had sniched. After school he cornered alex and smashed his head into a side walk making sure to spite on him. Alex now has perminet brain damage. Cole gets sent to a remote iland in alaska. In one year, he sees life anew. Alex comes to the same iland. As a test to see if cole has changed. When there left alone he aplagises. Alex then beats cole to a polp. Then they start to become friends. I love this book so much!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 569 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29